Stats: 3,161,616 members, 7,847,579 topics. Date: Saturday, 01 June 2024 at 09:23 PM

How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? - Business - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Business / How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? (12881 Views)

Is It Possible For Her To Lay Claim On My Shop / How Do I Get My Money From Debtors Without Involving The Police? / Share Your Experience Collecting Your Money Back From Your Debtors (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (Reply) (Go Down)

How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by Testiebobo(m): 9:38am On May 18
I'm a retailer of foodstuffs which is a combination of raw foods and manufactured products. But due to this harsh economy, some of my regular customers are already misusing the opportunity of paying back later. Some of them even goes to extence of lieing they'hv forgotten they were oweing me. And you know that if i dont sell those products regularly especially raw foods, i will be at lost. Because i will sell it cheaper to people not knowing it as already increase in price at the market. What do i do? How do i discourage debtors from coming near my shop?
Business genius in the forum!

13 Likes 1 Share

Re: How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by Sonnobax15(m): 9:39am On May 18
lipsrsealed
Typical Nigerians....

Well, I'm not surprised at all..

If people can barb their hair on credit,why won't they buy food stuffs on credit? cheesy

Op, sometime,if you don't hold your ground,there are lots of people out there who are ready to run your business down.......

Funny enough,na the same people wey run you down go still go talk for your back say you no sabi trade market grin

Omoh,you better dey wicked for this life,if not,na sorry go steadily dey be your name..

125 Likes 3 Shares

Re: How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by Johnson225(m): 9:40am On May 18
Small bread and fanta make i collect on credit, you don carry my matter come nairaland.

Bros you no try o

90 Likes 2 Shares

Re: How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by RoyalUc(m): 10:06am On May 18
By paying them what you owe them

1 Like 2 Shares

Re: How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by 2aces(m): 10:12am On May 18
Diversify your market instead of sitting in one place waiting for the debtors to come patronize you before you sell, nowadays you can sell anything online.
You can as well patronize a storage like cold room if you are into live stock, or seek for a processing plant near you if your perishables is plant base.
Also join associations that sell to exporters or rather get my course on mini exportation and earn foreign currency in return.

4 Likes

Re: How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by Kobicove(m): 10:16am On May 18
Put up a sign that says "No credit today, come tomorrow" grin

82 Likes 3 Shares

Re: How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by EmmyMaestro(m): 12:45pm On May 18
Which one is " you forgot you were owing me " okay, now that you know, pay me back, you will not but you want to collect another one.

The worst part is that they will be using religion to guilt trip you if you do not give them credit knowing fully well they have no intention of paying back. grin grin grin grin grin

In this life, you need balls of steel when dealing with human beings especially in Nigeria. Not that it is bad to give credit, but it cannot be done to everybody.

17 Likes 1 Share

Re: How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by IyaTola: 12:49pm On May 18
Testiebobo:
I'm a retailer of foodstuffs which is a combination of raw foods and manufactured products. But due to this harsh economy, some of my regular customers are already misusing the opportunity of paying back later. Some of them even goes to extence of lieing they'hv forgotten they were oweing me. And you know that if i dont sell those products regularly especially raw foods, i will be at lost. Because i will sell it cheaper to people not knowing it as already increase in price at the market. What do i do? How do i discourage debtors from coming near my shop?
Tell them straight up you are not selling on credit, it kills business 😭. If you sell on credit how do you restock, pay light and rent.

You have to be bold enough to tell you are not giving any credit facilities otherwise in few months down the line you will be out of business

21 Likes 2 Shares

Re: How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by MarketDispatch: 2:41pm On May 18
Testiebobo:
I'm a retailer of foodstuffs paying
If you are doing credit, you are not in business

10 Likes 2 Shares

Re: How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by dominique(f): 3:01pm On May 18
Just tell them point blank that you're no longer selling on credit as it is affecting your business. They will adjust, anyone not comfortable with your terms and conditions should go elsewhere. It's better to have 10 good paying customers than 100 useless customers who won't rest till they've crippled your business with debt.

65 Likes 2 Shares

Re: How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by Nazgul: 3:04pm On May 18
1. Stop laughing and gisting with anyone who comes into your shop. Just greet them, ask them what they want, give them and take your money. Limit unnecessary gists. Cos if you keep laughing with them, they would take advantage of your friendly nature and wait for you to package the items they requested for inside a nylon before telling you that they'll pay you on Monday.

2. Let them know that things are hard. With the current situation in the country, if you keep on being soft on customers, they'll take advantage of you. Even if they have money, they'll still buy on credit so that they won't pay. That's how wicked some people can be. Stand your ground and respectfully decline their request to buy on credit. Remind them of the economy. It's better for your provisions to be in your shop, than for customers to buy them on credit and weeks later they still haven't paid you back.

3. Place a notice that reads "Pay before Service" or "No Credit Today Come Tomorrow"

4. Reduce the way you relate with people in the neighborhood were your shop is located. The more popular you make yourself, the more you'll have jobless people lurking around your shop begging for credit which they won't pay back.

Excessive credit kills business. So if you don't want your business to collapse stop giving out things on credit.

56 Likes 8 Shares

Re: How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by Telltruth123: 3:05pm On May 18
Write NO CREDIT boldly in front of your shop, after that some close customers will still approach you, tell them that you borrowed money to do business and you are paying back daily, you can only give them grace of two days.

1 Like

Re: How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by FreeStuffsNG: 3:05pm On May 18
Kobicove:
Put up a sign that says "No credit today, come tomorrow" grin
There's another one that requires you to bring your ancestors before you can buy on credit

62 Likes

Re: How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by MaziObinnaokija: 3:06pm On May 18
sad E nor HARD.Go buy that sticker with NO CREDIT TODAY,COME TOMORROW. 2,CREDIT CAN ONLY BE GIVING IF U COME WITH YOUR 100 YEARS OKD FATHER. 3,Get yo wife to sell for them
Re: How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by israelmao(m): 3:06pm On May 18
Place no credit inscription
Re: How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by Okortor: 3:07pm On May 18
Be strict..no credit for whatever reason.
Re: How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by GloriousGbola: 3:07pm On May 18
hard face

it is what it is

1 Like

Re: How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by Kirchoffs: 3:07pm On May 18
Testiebobo:
I don't know why nairalanders keep commenting on this guy's thread, dude is a chronic attention seeker going by over 203 topics he has to his name. Always making foolish topics to generate stupid talks

1 Like

Re: How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by faithfull18(f): 3:07pm On May 18
The best way is you shouldn't have started it at all.
Re: How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by strangest(m): 3:07pm On May 18
Bring a book for them to sign before you give them credit
Re: How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by strangest(m): 3:09pm On May 18
Kirchoffs:
I don't know why nairalanders keep commenting on this guy's thread, dude is a chronic attention seeker going by over 203 topics he has to his name. Always making foolish topics to generate stupid talks

Dude is a content creator... Facebook pays guys like him

1 Like

Re: How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by id4sho(m): 3:09pm On May 18
Give them stories too that you have debt to pay. You've got a huge loan to pay up, You are really in need of cash tongue

Most debtors are out to cheat you 💯

3 Likes

Re: How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by IyaTola: 3:09pm On May 18
wink
faithfull18:
The best way is you shouldn't have started it at all.
Re: How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by Deogratiasfx: 3:09pm On May 18
Testiebobo:

This is what you get when u mix business with pleasure. Take ur stand, when they come and u don't give them, they will become angry, you see that anger? When it colds after some days, they will never near you with that nonsense again.
I am a business person and I know what customers can do when u allow them. The
ones that will go let them go

4 Likes

Re: How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by Stevenbright(m): 3:11pm On May 18
Testiebobo:

Simply don't sell on credit again.

Just tell them you need to pay up your suppliers and gathering the money now and hence can't afford to sell on credit.

2 Likes

Re: How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by Savedday2: 3:11pm On May 18
Na 9ja girls hand work be that ! Buying on credit. They will even come and price one single pant and buy it on credit!

2 Likes

Re: How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by TableLeg(m): 3:11pm On May 18
Testiebobo:

Pack shit put for front door.
Re: How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by Talkisneeded: 3:11pm On May 18
2aces:
Diversify your market instead of sitting in one place waiting for the debtors to come patronize you before you sell, nowadays you can sell anything online.
You can as well patronize a storage like cold room if you are into live stock, or seek for a processing plant near you if your perishables is plant base.
Also join associations that sell to exporters or rather get my course on mini exportation and earn foreign currency in return.

I know you are a business consultant, but what's the correlation between what she posted and your reply

6 Likes

Re: How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by Legitz: 3:11pm On May 18
Employ sales rep in your shop and give the sales Rep instruction not to sell on credit, once those debtors are coming to your shop to buy on credit and they are meeting your sales Rep, they'll be forced to buy the little quantities of good with cash

3 Likes

Re: How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by Blitzking: 3:12pm On May 18
Testiebobo:
Just go to business centre type the following boldly "NO CREDIT TODAY COME TOMORROW" "CREDIT KILLS BUSINESS" print it boldly and place it in a place where everyone would see it.

3 Likes

Re: How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by Deogratiasfx: 3:12pm On May 18
MarketDispatch:

If you are doing credit, you are not in business

It depends on the kind of credit. That kind of his customers' credit can fold a business
Re: How Can I Stop Debtors From Coming To My Shop? by id4sho(m): 3:12pm On May 18
Kirchoffs:

Read btw the line and learn. This is a great topic

3 Likes 1 Share

(1) (2) (3) (4) (Reply)

Nigeria To Begin To Supply Gas To South Africa From 2024 / How Safe Is Internet Banking In Nigeria And Which Bank(s) Will You Recommend? / Money Laundering: US Slams Criminal Charges On Kucoin's 2 Founders

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 56