Stats: 3,161,599 members, 7,847,522 topics. Date: Saturday, 01 June 2024 at 07:50 PM

Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks - Health - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Health / Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks (17569 Views)

Lady Commits Suicide Hours After Her Boyfriend's Death In Adamawa / Coronavirus: Marcelo Rebelo, Portuguese President To Be Quarantined For 2 Weeks / See 7 Ways To Stay Safe And Healthy During This Dangerous Heat Waves (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (Reply) (Go Down)

Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by ManirBK: 10:07am On May 18
No fewer than 200 people have been killed by a dangerous humid heat that has been experienced from the 1st to 13th of this month in Yola, the Adamawa State capital.

Residents who spoke to our correspondent complained about a combination of high temperatures and relatively humid air, causing an approximate 47 to 50 degrees centigrade, which experts describe as a danger level, saying such could cause high risk of heat cramps and exhaustion.

Unofficial records at the Yola Cemetery Corporation (YCC), located in Damare area of the capital city, put the death toll from the unusually experienced excessive heat from May 1 to 13, 2024 at 400.

A former permanent secretary who was one of the eyewitnesses said: “I think 400 could have been a slight exaggeration, but surely, the number of people who died in these circumstances was as high as 200. At some point, up to 20 deaths were being recorded per day within that period.”

Many other persons who spoke with our correspondent said such unusual heat-waves were a seasonal occurrence in Yola and some other parts of Adamawa State, but that this “Even people who are up to 80 years of age said they had not experienced the excessive heat-waves we witnessed this year,” the former permanent secretary said.

During her visit to Damare cemetery on Thursday, some attendants told her that an average of 35 bodies were taken for burial at the facility on some of the days within the time under review.

Halliru Jauro Usman and Musa Umar, members of the YCC, attributed the increased deaths to hot weather.

Umar said the deceased’s ages were between 50 and 70.

“The actual number of deaths could be as high as 300 or even 400 from May 1 to 13, considering the number recorded daily,” he said.

Umar said the cemetery needed to be expanded in order to contain dead bodies.

His colleague, Usman, said people from numerous parts of Yola brought bodies of their deceased relatives to the cemetery.

A consultant at the Modibbo Adama Teaching Hospital (MAUTH), Yola, who spoke to our correspondent on condition of anonymity, said the surge in deaths could be attributed to high temperature, “leading to high level of infections affecting mostly the elderly.”

The consultant said the hospital had never recorded such a high number of deaths before.

He said high temperature could lead to dehydration, septicemia (also known as sepsis – the most extreme response of a person’s body to an infection) and measles.

We’re handling the situation – Head of epidemiology

Damba Kwenke, the Head of Adamawa Epidemiology, had earlier described the death toll as a rumour. But an investigation team he dispatched confirmed the rising deaths as a consequence of the heat-waves.

Kwenke later urged for vigilance from members of the public, assuring that the state government would manage the situation.

He said public health threats would be taken seriously, and promised to enhance more surveillance to investigate the issue further.

Death toll worst in decades – Ward head

Speaking to Daily Trust Saturday on Thursday, the ward head of Damare community, Ismaila Muhammed Barkindo, similarly said they had not experienced a staggering death toll within a short time as this since 1976.

He said many people were attributing the occurrences to high temperature.

Recalling the past, Barkindo said that in 1976, people had to resort to digging holes under bridges next to rivers to find cold places due to the extreme heat.

In the last few weeks, he said temperatures went beyond 45 degrees in the early hours of the morning in Yola.

He said most of those who died recently did not exhibit any symptom prior to their demise.

“In some cases, people died suddenly without any prior sign of distress or illness,” he said.

According to the ward head, the Damare cemetery was almost at full capacity and that a committee set up was contemplating closing it.

He said the YCC officials were currently considering opening a new cemetery in either Yolde Pate or Mbamba community due to the increased number of deaths.

“A final decision has not been made yet,” he said, adding that he is a member of the committee responsible for finding a new cemetery since the current one is almost filled up.

Extending condolences to families of the deceased, he urged people to minimise their movements under the scorching sun and increase the intake of water and fluid to prevent dehydration. He also advised people to take cold baths to cool their bodies.

A bereaved family member shared a heart-breaking account of how she lost her brother to sudden death.

She recounted how he was feeling hot and sought water to take a bath but could not find any.

“He developed fever and went to the Modibbo Adama University Teaching Hospital (MAUTH), Yola for some tests. While waiting for the results, he suddenly slumped and died on the spot,” the woman recounted.

Hafsat Kawu, a housewife in Yola, said frequent power outage experienced in recent times in and around the city also compounded the situation for most residents, saying that people needed electricity to pump water from their boreholes, use fans and refrigerators, among others.

“It is a distressing moment for many families. We hope the government at the state and national levels will do something,” she said.

Humid heat-waves are reported by experts to be extremely dangerous, and these are common occurrences in parts of Nigeria at certain periods of the year.

https://dailytrust.com/heat-waves-kill-200-in-adamawa-in-2-weeks/

2 Likes

Re: Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by ManirBK: 10:07am On May 18
chineke God o

8 Likes

Re: Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by eweqwatr: 10:15am On May 18
And no one heard about this. No this is very sad

30 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by helinues: 10:16am On May 18
Climate change. While some places across the world have experienced and still experiencing heavy rain

58 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by 72virginGATEWAY: 10:18am On May 18
helinues:
Climate change. While some places across the world have experienced and still experiencing heavy rain

My God

Helinues get a job na

56 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by BossGerald: 10:38am On May 18
helinues:

Hunger are killing people under ebin pawa tinupoo government and you're here blaming climate change...I thought you're hiding

When 200 people were kidnapped in zamfara 2days ago why didn't you come out of your hiding to blame climate change

BATeria

56 Likes

Re: Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by MrIcredible: 10:44am On May 18

Their blood is on this evil government and every individual that has played a role in making Nigeria not to have stable electricity.
MAY YOU ALL NOT HAVE PEACE OF MIND AND MAY GOD NEVER FORGIVE YOU.

What is heat wave?
Most arab countries are extremely hot, but they manage it will fans and air conditioners.
There are air-conditioning system even in some public places.

If power is stable in this country, this nonsense will never happen.

10 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by Sirheny007(m): 10:44am On May 18
Omo! But the heat in the North is something else.
I remember I nearly ran mad at Dakin Gari camp in Kebbi State then.
Kai.

Rest in Peace.
cry cry

14 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by heniford2: 10:44am On May 18
Too bad
Re: Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by ruggedboych: 10:45am On May 18
I doubt is heat wave that killed them angry

4 Likes

Re: Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by AbuTwins: 10:45am On May 18
Something go always kill human!

Even if person die while asleep na something/someone kill am!

My Cantry people!
Re: Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by melodyogonna(m): 10:45am On May 18
We need to plant more trees in this country

14 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by Risingblue008(m): 10:45am On May 18
Roasted
Re: Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by JoeEeL(m): 10:45am On May 18
When we call nigeria a zoo, we have every reason to.

In a true country, first of all, there would have been weather forecasts of a dangerous heatwave and the zones already specified. Then the govt would have provided methods to safeguard yourselves against it.

- Cooling centers would have been provided already. In advanced countries like Canada, USA, they experience deadly heatwaves too. Your car can effectively become your cooling center, or your house. But most public spaces like libraries and community centers with reliable air condition systems are effectively cooling centers.
- Functional water systems can encourage locals to take regular baths.
- Education to the locals and good network for real time display of temperature / humidity details and label worse-off potential zones.
- Enable special hotlines to alert and prevent danger and victims.
- Declare public holidays if possible.

But the stupidity of somd of these nigerians amazes; you'd see the locals hailing and fighting for their oppressors. For others, its religion that full their dummy head. Stupid fools.

I heard one viral note during the elections that all that concerns the mofos is muslim-muslim ticket. That their agenda is not for good roads or improvement of facilities but to further the agenda of islam. Since that day I swear, to rate black people just hard me. Especially the idiots wey carry religion ontop. I just always hope that I can have a country without them... even if that country is just 50 sqkm in territory size.

It is better to live in a small island with sensible "islanders" than to have a vast territory with black religious dumbos. There is no going-ahead. Their backwardness will be like an anchor to your own progress and state of mind.

10 Likes 1 Share

Re: Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by EasternActivist: 10:45am On May 18
Seems all the bad luck has been unleashed in Nigeria
Re: Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by jmoore(m): 10:46am On May 18
Una dey wear hijab when heatwave dey.

Wear clothes that are loose, make air see space to enter.

Drink water always to stay hydrated.

12 Likes

Re: Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by KendoRide: 10:46am On May 18
The kind heat this period, sweat will be raining down my body from head to toes, try enter kitchen say you wan boil water or cook anything

4 Likes

Re: Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by EmiloCorn: 10:46am On May 18
BossGerald:

Hunger are killing people under ebin pawa tinupoo government and you're here blaming climate change...I thought you're hiding

When 200 people were kidnapped in zamfara 2days ago why didn't you come out of your hiding to blame climate change

BATeria

Leave my esteemed member helinues alone angry he was attending to another issue on another thread about Peter obi and igbos at the time undecided

The importance of that particular thread superceded this one you're lamenting about where you didn't see him cool

4 Likes

Re: Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by Gentleman88(m): 10:46am On May 18
Chai... This is too much, God!
Re: Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by Godswillu(m): 10:47am On May 18
wow
Re: Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by fineboynl(m): 10:50am On May 18
How are they sure it's the heatwave? No doubt 45c is a killer. But they need to be sure it's the heat. I couldn't stand 39c I was just bathing every 20 minutes. Even the air conditioner was struggling to cool the house during the peak of the sun in the afternoon. The heat stored in the wall releases themselves into the house during the night. Not to talk of 45-47c

4 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by Belurved1(m): 10:51am On May 18
Why not cos you've not been there before.
ruggedboych:
I doubt is heat wave that killed them angry

4 Likes

Re: Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by meobizy(f): 10:53am On May 18
It makes one wonder if only the weak and elderly die during these heatwaves or if everybody is equally susceptible. With the many deaths these days, it was obvious high blood pressure wasn’t the only factor at play.

2 Likes

Re: Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by Mathain19(m): 10:53am On May 18
I would have suggest they drink more water to avert the situation, from the look of things, is like death will take more of them oooo
Due to Sahel Savannah .
Re: Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by 9japride(m): 10:54am On May 18
Why can't the government provide subsidized solar powered fans for them?
But if it's to sponsor religious pilgrimages they can do that one.

4 Likes

Re: Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by Daviestunech(m): 10:55am On May 18
Instead you guys should tell us the truth dat it's was hunger that killed them, u guys are saying heatwave...ok oo

4 Likes

Re: Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by tubolancer(m): 10:57am On May 18
I would have been affected if I live in that state, I remembered serving in Sokoto and having heat covering my body, I couldn't bear it and I ran down to Lagos.

4 Likes

Re: Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by id4sho(m): 10:57am On May 18
tongue
Re: Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by Capernter111: 10:57am On May 18
The only disease that reduces the north population..
It was terrible that year in sokoto state
May God grant them enternal rest

2 Likes

Re: Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by just2endowed: 11:00am On May 18
eweqwatr:
And no one heard about this. I'm sure Tinubu wherever he is dosen't know that almost 400 Nigerians died from heatwave in one State this month.

No this is very sad

President that doesn't connect with his people. Any death that occurs on a large scale doesn't concern him. If bandit or terrorist kills many people, he won't alter a word not to talk of visiting the bereaved. Buhari was worst in showing no concern but this tinuju no send una papa

2 Likes

Re: Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by Dshocker(m): 11:01am On May 18
Terrible.
Re: Heat-Waves Kill 200 People In Adamawa In 2 Weeks by 11Monkeys: 11:06am On May 18
This is nothing new. And do not agree with anybody to sell to you that crappy climate change storyline.

Visit the North especially this period, it is always very hot due to little to no rainfall.

1 Like

(1) (2) (3) (Reply)

US Approves First Gene Therapies To Treat Sickle Cell Patients / The Issue Of Female Circumcision: Your Opinion? / Ebola: Can We Now Begin To Eat Our Bush Meat?

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 43