Stats: 3,148,900 members, 7,802,915 topics. Date: Saturday, 20 April 2024 at 03:12 AM

How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? - Culture (5) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Culture / How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? (18574 Views)

Do You Think In English Language Or Your Mother Tongue? / Yoruba Is My Mother Language. / Isn't It A Shame When You Can't Speak Your Mother Tongue?! (2) (3) (4)

Re: How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? by viciati(m): 4:29pm On Nov 06, 2012
nyin kukan akwa-ibom odo isi kot IKAGN AKPO.
Re: How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? by BashMe1(m): 4:31pm On Nov 06, 2012
Law-confessor:

Yeye dey worry U die

Hw na?
Re: How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? by jemkob: 4:32pm On Nov 06, 2012
offa
Re: How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? by maki(f): 4:37pm On Nov 06, 2012
i knw it as katapot (suppose pidgin)....
Re: How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? by JallowBah(f): 4:42pm On Nov 06, 2012
elo thaddi:
@ Jallowbah, Are you related to Jerry Jallow.

No, sorry. He live in Norway? If so; I probably know who he is.
Re: How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? by nusirat(m): 4:43pm On Nov 06, 2012
tunapawizzy:
ofa
it is call kanna kanna
Re: How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? by nusirat(m): 4:43pm On Nov 06, 2012
tunapawizzy:
ofa
it is call kanna kanna in Yoruba
Re: How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? by jtroy(m): 4:47pm On Nov 06, 2012
in igbo languagw it is called NKPEKE
Re: How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? by BashMe1(m): 4:49pm On Nov 06, 2012
jtroy: in igbo languagw it is called NKPEKE

Ehen, u no like Okpekete?
Re: How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? by guddy4real: 4:55pm On Nov 06, 2012
mimima:

You're correct
very correct.http://www./goodnews.php?r
Re: How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? by ubong560(m): 4:56pm On Nov 06, 2012
IKANG AKPÓR in ibibio/efik. Lovely dialect
Re: How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? by ubong560(m): 5:04pm On Nov 06, 2012
@PRETTIEST1, ARE U FRM AKS OR CALABAR? CAN WE RUN THINGS?
Re: How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? by sKeetz(m): 5:05pm On Nov 06, 2012
am English, we simply call it catapult, no strings attached grin grin grin grin grin cool
Re: How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? by fflamingo(m): 5:06pm On Nov 06, 2012
i killed million of bird with tkis instument unclad
Re: How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? by abuhabib(m): 5:16pm On Nov 06, 2012
seunfly: It is called ófáa ó ni robá, you can also call it kànàkànà in yoruba language.
you are correct.
Re: How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? by Sunebanty(m): 5:20pm On Nov 06, 2012
prince FAD:
Are u from Ondo?
yeap,proudly Ondo.
Re: How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? by doublecross(m): 5:24pm On Nov 06, 2012
we call it G - STRINGS
Re: How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? by TonyEben(m): 5:30pm On Nov 06, 2012
"Uta" ka anyi na -akpo ya na ala IGBO
ZUBBYNWA: How do you call it in your mother language?
Re: How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? by Shine1177: 5:35pm On Nov 06, 2012
Kana-kana (Yoruba language)
Re: How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? by Ogojohn(m): 5:39pm On Nov 06, 2012
TonyEben: "Uta" ka anyi na -akpo ya na ala IGBO
you got. t wrong. In IGBO Uta is arrow while slings is called DOTI . I come from ANAMBRA state. DOTI is d name. CATAPOT is a borrowed English conversion.
Re: How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? by Laitesmart(m): 5:43pm On Nov 06, 2012
Remii: kanna kanna - YORUBA (dodo dodo)
POINT OF CORRECTION... The sound is "rere mimi"
Re: How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? by EzePromoe: 5:55pm On Nov 06, 2012
el_nino:
How I carry curse you
That thing be like curse
Re: How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? by EzePromoe: 5:56pm On Nov 06, 2012
el_nino:
How I carry curse you
That word be like curse, if no be for the topic, some oyibo wey dey this site go think say na racial abuse grin grin grin
Re: How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? by EzePromoe: 5:57pm On Nov 06, 2012
el_nino:
How I carry curse you
Re: How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? by wengerjay(m): 6:11pm On Nov 06, 2012
Tako tako in some parts of Ekiti.
Re: How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? by felifeli: 6:11pm On Nov 06, 2012
Shollypopz: lol @ katapot!!

I don't know what it's called in Yoruba
It is also called katapot or roba
Re: How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? by Nobody: 6:19pm On Nov 06, 2012
Calabar people call it Ikang Okpoh
Re: How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? by ijawcitizen(m): 6:25pm On Nov 06, 2012
Its called okuta teinye in Ijaw (Mein dialect)
Re: How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? by stacomaster(m): 6:43pm On Nov 06, 2012
Doti
Re: How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? by claremont(m): 6:51pm On Nov 06, 2012
odumchi: Katapọt.
Correct!

I can vividly remember using it to declare war on lizards and birds back in the good old days. grin
Re: How Do You Call It In Your Mother Language? by Lexo22(m): 6:55pm On Nov 06, 2012
We use to cal it Cp then in Uwani secondary school Enugu .. oga nwachukwu (da gate keeper) use to use it in mahandlin ppl dat misbehaved around School gate..... Bt unto mother' tongue tins we call it katapot or ro'ba' Enugu south ....... uta is bow & nt catapult!

Does A Widow Need To Return Bride Price For Her To Date Another Man? / Who Are The Agbo (Legbo) People Of Cross River State? / How Many Languages Can You Speak Fluently?

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 14