Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,148,899 members, 7,802,908 topics. Date: Saturday, 20 April 2024 at 03:01 AM

Awolowo Coined The Name 'Naira' For Our Currency - Politics (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Awolowo Coined The Name 'Naira' For Our Currency (22446 Views)

The Newly-coined Full Meaning Of B-U-H-A-R-I / Who Coined The Word '9ja' and 'Naija'? / What Does 'Lagos' Mean & Who Coined The Name? (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Awolowo Coined The Name 'Naira' For Our Currency by alosnika: 1:11pm On Mar 01, 2013
Awolowo was the best president Nigeria never had. Deep inside of us, we all know it.Many of our present leaders and politicians live on his achievements and legacy. Just as many of us....I graduated from the great Obafemi Awolowo University as at the time there was nothing like school fees in Ife and I paid N90 as accommodation fee throughout my studies. Till now OAU remains amongst the best in Nigeria. All with cocoa and agriculture money. what has our present politicians and leaders done with oil money? They cannot even fund our universities anymore. They cannot provide jobs for graduates coming out of those universities.....Appreciate Awolowo please, sentiment apart.

15 Likes

Re: Awolowo Coined The Name 'Naira' For Our Currency by solomon111(m): 1:14pm On Mar 01, 2013
jadakiss213: Awolowo died Wretched ke that must be a joke.what he left behind will feed u and ur generations yet unborn.hehehe
where is the so-called wealth he left behind?
Which of his descendants are relevant in Nigeria today?

1 Like

Re: Awolowo Coined The Name 'Naira' For Our Currency by Nwaoguta(m): 1:17pm On Mar 01, 2013
Na dat man bring poverty and division in nigeria.

3 Likes

Re: Awolowo Coined The Name 'Naira' For Our Currency by Freiburger(m): 1:18pm On Mar 01, 2013
It is just a waste of time wondering why the country look the way it is.