Welcome, Guest: Join Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 2,738,502 members, 6,493,173 topics. Date: Friday, 17 September 2021 at 04:31 AM

Dollar Falls As Naira Increases On Demand - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Dollar Falls As Naira Increases On Demand (1467 Views)

NERC Increases Electricity Tarrifs, Scraps Fixed Charges   / National Assembly Increases Fuel Subsidy To N521bn / Naira Falls As S&P Predicts Devaluation By 15% (2) (3) (4)

(1) (Reply) (Go Down)

Dollar Falls As Naira Increases On Demand by irririchris(m): 2:08am On Jan 08, 2014
Being a website designer, i was to bill a client in dollars, the last time i checked, the naira was about 1.70 to a dollar, luckily for him, he was with the dailies so he decided to confirm the rate of the dollar, that was when i found out the dollar has fallen and on making inquiry..i found out it is true, so i decided to bring it to the notice of my readers....

The nation’s currency naira yesterday weakened against the US dollar losing 52 kobo at the interbank as it closed at N159.72/$ compared to N159.20/$, data from Financial Markets Dealer Quotations (FMDQ) have revealed.

Victor OFILI, research desk, Cowry Asset Management Limited attributed the naira depreciation to demand not being met by adequate supply.

He anticipates an appreciation of naira tomorrow as the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) will sell forex at its Retail Dutch Action System (RDAS) window.

According to him, once the funds enter the market, it will supplement the amount available in the alternative segments which include bureau de change and parallel market.

However the CBN on Monday offered $350 million but sold $349.8 million to 20 deposit money banks at the rate of N155.72/$ at its bi-weekly RDAS window.