Stats: 3,149,696 members, 7,805,855 topics. Date: Tuesday, 23 April 2024 at 07:22 AM

Seized $9.3million Controversy: APC Raises 15 Questions For President Jonathan - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Seized $9.3million Controversy: APC Raises 15 Questions For President Jonathan (1035 Views)

APC Raises Alarm Over Governor Fayose’s Mental Condition / What My Uncle Told Me About The Missing $9.3million / Two Nigerians And An Israeli Smuggle $9.3million Into South Africa (2) (3) (4)

Seized $9.3million Controversy: APC Raises 15 Questions For President Jonathan by Nobody: 2:54pm On Sep 18, 2014
The All Progressives Congress (APC) has urged President
Goodluck Jonathan to come clean on the circumstances
surrounding the 9.3 million US dollars that was impounded in
South Africa, which has become the latest in a series of global
ridicule to which the scandal-prone Jonathan administration has
subjected Nigeria and her people.
In a statement issued in Abuja on Thursday by its National
Publicity Secretary, Lai Mohammed, the party also called on the
National Assembly to launch an urgent investigation into the
issue, saying the silence of the peoples’ representatives on the
issue is deafening, unfathomable and unacceptable.
It said there is no doubt that the President is at the centre of the
whole issue, considering the presidential treatment given to the
plane and its cargo, since the plane departed from the Presidential
wing of the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport in Abuja, away
from the reach of the Nigerian Customs Service which could not
therefore have cleared the plane and its passengers.
”It is absolutely urgent for President Jonathan to clear the air on
this alleged off-the-shelf equipment or arms purchase, which runs
against all known protocol for such purchases anywhere in the
world. Military equipment and weapons are not bean cakes to be
purchased by the road side. There are globally-acceptable
protocols for such purchases by governments, otherwise what
differentiates a government from an insurgent group that is
shopping for arms?
Questions for the President:
1. ”Is the Jonathan Administration not aware that the UN General
Assembly on April 2nd 2013 adopted a landmark Arms Trade
Treaty (ATT) precisely to regulate the international trade in
conventional weapons by avoiding the kind of road-side purchase
that the Nigerian government is said to have been involved in?
Though the ATT has not come into effect, the fact that Nigeria is
among the few countries to have signed and ratified the treaty
shows that the country is concerned by unregulated arms trade,’’
the APC said.
The party said the resort to ”procedural error” to explain away the
whole issue cannot work, because Nigerian authorities cannot
pretend not to be aware that currency brought into or taken from
South Africa is monitored by law, and that anyone bringing into
that country more than R25,000 in South African currency or U
$10,000 or the equivalent thereof in foreign currency must
declared such.
2. It said that in any case, those who are using ”procedural error”
as an alibi are being too clever by half. This is because if entering
or leaving a country with undeclared $9.3 million is mere
”procedural error”, why was Sule Lamido’s son convicted for not
declaring a mere $50,000 dollars at the Mallam Aminu Kano
International Airport?
The APC said in the spirit of fairness, it has however decided to
give President Jonathan and the government he heads the
opportunity to make urgently-needed clarifications by answering a
number of questions relating to the $9.3 million scandal.
3. “Is the money indeed meant to purchase a helicopter as has
been reported?
4. “To which arm of the government or security force does the
money belong?
5. “Who appropriated it and for what purpose?
6. “Why was the money being ferried in cash by the same
government that has been spending huge time and money to
promote a cashless policy? Is the resort to cash to avoid a paper
trail for the transaction, in which case it is illegal?
7. ”Mr. President, we are aware that each arm of security has an
account with the CBN for the purpose of arms purchase and such
transactions are properly documented, so why was this not the
case in this instance?
8. “Mr. President, why did it take your government all of 10 days to
admit its involvement in this scandal, considering that the
embarrassing incident happened since Sept. 5th and was not
known until Sept. 15th?
9. “Does this saga not give credence to the widely held view that
you are indeed benefitting from the the Boko Haram insurgency
and that you have deliberately allowed it to escalate to this level?
10. ”Mr. President, has this saga not confirmed the suspicion that
your 2015 reelection bid has been factored into your handling of
the Boko Haram insurgency?
11. “Has this saga not given more credence to revelations that the
sponsors of Boko Haram are those closest to the President?
12. Has this saga not finally confirmed that the President knows
more than he is telling the nation about the sudden escalation of
the Boko Haram insurgency, especially in the run up to the 2015
elections?
13. ”Mr. President, has this saga not confirmed that powerful
forces in your administration are all working in concert to use the
Boko Haram insurgency to secure tenure extension for President
Jonathan?
14. “Is not clear now why the Senate President infamously
declared two days ago that election is not on the table since the
country is in a state of war?
15. “Have we not been proven right in our declaration at the panel
discussion in the British House of Commons on Sept. 8th 2014 that
the Jonathan administration will attempt to cash in on the Boko
Haram insurgency to postpone elections?”
The party said the answers to the questions raised would go a
long way in showing Nigerians that their government is not
clandestinely buying equipment and weapons to fuel the Boko
Haram insurgency and then profit from its own act of perfidy.
It said while the President is compiling his answers to the posers,
he should ask his spokespersons to stop adding insult to injury by
saying the CIA, FBI, Mossad etc also travel abroad with undeclared
cash, in clear violation of the laws of their destination countries, to
buy arms.
”Mr President only gangsters and terrorists conduct their
businesses in this manner. Therefore, please call your
spokespersons to order, while you are preparing to come clean to
Nigerians on this latest scandal,” APC said.
https://m.premiumtimesng.com/news/top-news/168315-apc-challenges-jonathan-to-come-clean-on-us9-3million-controversy.html

Re: Seized $9.3million Controversy: APC Raises 15 Questions For President Jonathan by Nobody: 3:01pm On Sep 18, 2014
Is there anyone that will come to this man's rescue?

Re: Seized $9.3million Controversy: APC Raises 15 Questions For President Jonathan by Jnrbayerno(m): 3:04pm On Sep 18, 2014
This APC sef una no dey rest...anyway its none of my business
Re: Seized $9.3million Controversy: APC Raises 15 Questions For President Jonathan by eph12(m): 3:10pm On Sep 18, 2014
First time am speaking on this matter. I don't know all the facts but I think Jonathan and his squad makes mistakes meant for amateurs. Am just angry with this present administration.

Re: Seized $9.3million Controversy: APC Raises 15 Questions For President Jonathan by Nairalane: 3:12pm On Sep 18, 2014
E we eh.
Re: Seized $9.3million Controversy: APC Raises 15 Questions For President Jonathan by EzzyIzzy: 3:19pm On Sep 18, 2014
The funny thing all of you dont realise is that the money wasnt meant to buy any arms. That money was being taken out from the country. From the charter details, the aircraft was supposed to get to South-Africa and return the next day with the passengers. We all know that you can conclude such arms deal in 24hrs. The arms deal angle was introduced as part of the cover up. The guy who chartered the flight, John.Ishyaku, is he a government contractor or is he a known arms dealer? People Decieving People

Re: Seized $9.3million Controversy: APC Raises 15 Questions For President Jonathan by otipoju(m): 3:20pm On Sep 18, 2014
To think that a representative of christ was involved in this mess shows how low Nigeria's version of Christianity has descended to.

Nigerian Men of God are now involved in Arms smuggling to kill innocent people.

Nigerian Men of God now Own and maintain a Harem of beautiful sexy ladies while desecrating marriages.

Nigerian Men of God now take advantage of younger and emotionally unstable ladies by taking them to higher levels of grace.

Nigerian Men of God now encourage the congregation to steal from their offices and bring it to church for spreading the gospel using the mantra "you shall eat the wealth of the gentiles".

Religion and Politics have always been a dangerous mix.

While our politicians steal us blind, our pastors cunningly convince us to hand over the remaining to them so that we can have access to the basic amenities in heaven when we die because our politicians are too busy governing the country to provide them here on earth for us.

Re: Seized $9.3million Controversy: APC Raises 15 Questions For President Jonathan by Chanchit: 3:21pm On Sep 18, 2014
Na this kyn thing APC dey like. But truth be told our government sef too dey mumu...

Re: Seized $9.3million Controversy: APC Raises 15 Questions For President Jonathan by Omen100(m): 3:23pm On Sep 18, 2014
Over to Jonathan & his paid goons,

modiga(the douchebag), you can of cause help the president with an answers to some of the questions begging for answers..

Re: Seized $9.3million Controversy: APC Raises 15 Questions For President Jonathan by obailala(m): 3:31pm On Sep 18, 2014
The incompetence of GEJ knows no bounds. Always giving the opposition APC genuine and legitimate reasons to shine and also further making his die hard supporters look like dolts.

I really pity GEJ supporters sometimes. undecided

Re: Seized $9.3million Controversy: APC Raises 15 Questions For President Jonathan by Nobody: 3:35pm On Sep 18, 2014
Chanchit: Na this kyn thing APC dey like. But truth be told our government sef too dey mumu...
True, apc are talkative but that doesn't change the fact on ground

Re: Seized $9.3million Controversy: APC Raises 15 Questions For President Jonathan by BOAR: 3:39pm On Sep 18, 2014
”Mr President only gangsters and terrorists conduct their
businesses in this manner. Therefore, please call your
spokespersons to order, while you are preparing to come clean to
Nigerians
on this latest scandal,”

That in bold will never happen, this is a govt that believes in hoarding information from the citizens, despite the passage of the FOI bill.

Re: Seized $9.3million Controversy: APC Raises 15 Questions For President Jonathan by Oklander: 3:44pm On Sep 18, 2014
”Mr President only gangsters and terrorists conduct their businesses in this manner. Therefore, please call your spokespersons to order, while you are preparing to come clean to Nigerians on this latest scandal,” APC said.

grin...Chaai!!!

Re: Seized $9.3million Controversy: APC Raises 15 Questions For President Jonathan by amiskurie(m): 3:46pm On Sep 18, 2014
Ya!

PDP to the rescue.

Re: Seized $9.3million Controversy: APC Raises 15 Questions For President Jonathan by Alphaoscar: 4:22pm On Sep 18, 2014
WHY ALWAYS GEJ??

he was accused by Henry Okah of sponsoring October 1, Abuja bomb blast, Asari dokubo was arrested in Benin Republic for arms & gun running, Gej not only got him out of the hook Gej's official presidential jet was used to convey him back to Abuja. His spiritual father is the latest to be associated with money laundering/ illegitimate arms purchase. why always our own President and his associates? Buhari, Atiku and APC never go this far and we have tagged them terrorist, what should we call Gej now? This 3 incidents can't be accident and I suggest its high time this man is investigated by impartial bodies devoid of imput of Nigerian biased security bodies .

Re: Seized $9.3million Controversy: APC Raises 15 Questions For President Jonathan by Nobody: 4:31pm On Sep 18, 2014
yemaldo: Is there anyone that will come to this man's rescue?

Shey na me go come to his rescue when his attack dogs and silly ranters like Charlatan Doyin okupe, Turn-Coat Reuben Abati, Rabblerousing LIEbaran Maku, Terrible oLIEsa Metuh, Despicable FFK and not forgetting Truth-Hating SincereLIEgerian have all gone into eternal PAUSE mode since this scandal broke

Re: Seized $9.3million Controversy: APC Raises 15 Questions For President Jonathan by SLIDEwaxie(m): 4:35pm On Sep 18, 2014
Let me guess: both Okupe and abati will come up something like;
"Jonathan is the overall head of Nigeria, he will not answer to any political party, especially the one like APC which sponsors boko haram"...

And the supporters will cheer at the foolishness staring in one's eye from such a shameful comment.

Oya, 'wash-out'
Re: Seized $9.3million Controversy: APC Raises 15 Questions For President Jonathan by Nobody: 4:37pm On Sep 18, 2014
otipoju: To think that a representative of christ was involved in this mess shows how low Nigeria's version of Christianity has descended to.

Nigerian Men of God now Own and maintain a Harem of beautiful sexy ladies while desecrating marriages.

Nigerian Men of God now take advantage of younger and emotionally unstable ladies by taking them to higher levels of grace.

Nigerian Men of God now encourage the congregation to steal from their offices and bring it to church for spreading the gospel using the mantra you shall eat the wealth of the gentiles.

While our politicians steal us blind, our pastors cunningly convince us to hand over the remaining to them so that we can have access to the basic amenities in heaven when we die because our politicians are too busy governing the country to provide them here on earth for us.

The part bolded got me reeling with laughter.....Yet it remains a naked truth
Re: Seized $9.3million Controversy: APC Raises 15 Questions For President Jonathan by mistudreh(m): 4:38pm On Sep 18, 2014
Why is this happening... You are killing innocent individuals just cos u want to stay in power. So many kids have been made hopeless and now living a miserable life while you are smiling as their loved ones are being killed!
Remember, we all die... The goal isn't to live forever but to create something that will live forever!!!
We all need to forget party affiliation and sentiments now and say the truth.
Re: Seized $9.3million Controversy: APC Raises 15 Questions For President Jonathan by obailala(m): 4:48pm On Sep 18, 2014
otipoju:
Nigerian Men of God now encourage the congregation to steal from their offices and bring it to church for spreading the gospel using the mantra you shall eat the wealth of the gentiles.
Chaii! grin grin
Re: Seized $9.3million Controversy: APC Raises 15 Questions For President Jonathan by OrlandoOwoh(m): 4:50pm On Sep 18, 2014
How I wish our National Assembly is like the United States' Congress that put pressure on Richard Nixon and his deputy, Spirow Agnew to resign of the Watergate scandal.
Re: Seized $9.3million Controversy: APC Raises 15 Questions For President Jonathan by BOAR: 5:05pm On Sep 18, 2014
otipoju: To think that a representative of christ was involved in this mess shows how low Nigeria's version of Christianity has descended to.

This is nothing but the truth.
Re: Seized $9.3million Controversy: APC Raises 15 Questions For President Jonathan by size38: 5:07pm On Sep 18, 2014
Where is that man called Edwin Clark that is due for quarantine? What has he to say on this matter? Mr Edwin clark, ur boy for Aso Rock dey f**k up ooo! The guy dey fall our hand for this country oooo!
Re: Seized $9.3million Controversy: APC Raises 15 Questions For President Jonathan by kwanKwasiyya(m): 5:07pm On Sep 18, 2014
Am waiting for the jonathanian security service to come and tell us lies
But wait have all the PPP TAn agents on sabbatical ne. Wht a coincidence
Re: Seized $9.3million Controversy: APC Raises 15 Questions For President Jonathan by Nobody: 5:29pm On Sep 18, 2014
kwanKwasiyya: Am waiting for the jonathanian security service to come and tell us lies
But wait have all the PPP TAn agents on sabbatical ne. Wht a coincidence
Am waiting too bro.
Re: Seized $9.3million Controversy: APC Raises 15 Questions For President Jonathan by Mprex(f): 7:00am On Sep 19, 2014
Im simply dumbfounded

corruption has eaten into the very fabrics of Nigeria

God save our Soul

Only Respond Tribalist Threads In Order To Refute Lies Against Buhari / APC / Former President Of Nigeria Olusegun Obasanjo Ties Woman Wrapper / Ohanaeze Fails To Endorse Jonathan

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 56