Stats: 3,150,312 members, 7,808,052 topics. Date: Thursday, 25 April 2024 at 06:06 AM

True Value Of Friends - Nairaland / General - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / True Value Of Friends (1730 Views)

Different Categories Of Friends. Where Do You Belong? / Types Of Friends / 8 Types Of Friends You Should Avoid In 2014. (2) (3) (4)

True Value Of Friends by Tallesty1(m): 11:07am On Sep 22, 2014
I was standing close to an older woman who queued up to enter a bank today. She struck up a conversation with a young man next to her.

The you man noticed that she had ATM card and asked why she wants to go inside. She replied that she just needed to withdraw small money.

"Ma'am, you must be tired standing here. Did you know there's a machine over there in the corner?" He pointed to the machine built into the wall. "Go over there, insert your card and withdraw the amount you want. This banks opens by 9am and this is just 8:15

"Why yes, thank you," the lady replied, "but I'll just wait here a little while longer. 9am is just a few minutes away."

The guy became insistent.

"But it would be so much easier for you to avoid this long line and withdraw money from the machine and go home before it starts raining"

The woman patted him on the arm and answered, "Oh, I know. But that machine would never ask me how my grandchildren are doing."
==========================
She had a need greater than the need for ATM -- a need to feel connected to other people. And it was a need that could not be met by a machine.====================
We need friends. Someone to ask how we're doing. Someone to call on us every now and then. Someone to care. Someone to stick by us at our worst. Someone that will always find a way to make time for us. Someone who will inspire us to be who we always knew we could be.

A few close friends meant more than the best machines in the world but unfortunately some have replaced their true friends with gadgets.

Who is such a friend to you? That person is more valuable than your greatest possession.

Have you said ... Thanks?.

Re: True Value Of Friends by MizMyColi(f): 11:13am On Sep 22, 2014
Hmmmm, I can relate.

Especially seeing as I'm a minister for human beings affairs. cheesy

Re: True Value Of Friends by Nobody: 11:17am On Sep 22, 2014
*signs*
Re: True Value Of Friends by priscaoge(f): 11:18am On Sep 22, 2014
@Op and MizMyColi will u guys be my friend? angry angry

Re: True Value Of Friends by MissSlimbody(f): 11:20am On Sep 22, 2014
I don't really have close friends.
D only one i had, died last year in a car accident cry
Re: True Value Of Friends by MizMyColi(f): 11:22am On Sep 22, 2014
priscaoge: @Op and MizMyColi will u guys be my friend? angry angry

[size=3pt]I'm about to write in bold fonts, but I'm darn serious[/size]

[size=14pt]Most Def Hun cheesy
I'm Humbled at this.

I don't know about OP o, but as for me, gladly, I accept.
I hope you're good dear?
How are you feeling today?

Bia!angry
Nne, remove that frown from your face na cheesy
[/size]

Re: True Value Of Friends by Nobody: 11:24am On Sep 22, 2014
The value of a true friend cannot be over-emphasized in one's life but seriously they are not so easy to find. sad
Re: True Value Of Friends by MizMyColi(f): 11:24am On Sep 22, 2014
MissSlimbody: I don't really have close friends.

[size=14pt]Dafuq!!!!! angry sad shocked cry[/size]

I'm so sorry about that Hun.
I'm actually in the market for friends grin

Will you be my friend? embarassed
Re: True Value Of Friends by Nobody: 11:29am On Sep 22, 2014
cnt you make new friends?
Be social, go outting, and be open to strangers.
Re: True Value Of Friends by MissSlimbody(f): 11:31am On Sep 22, 2014
MizMyColi:

[size=14pt]Dafuq!!!!! angry sad shocked cry[/size]

I'm so sorry about that Hun.
I'm actually in the market for friends grin

Will you be my friend? embarassed

Sure dearie

Re: True Value Of Friends by jennylove7575(f): 11:34am On Sep 22, 2014
I used to think I have closed friends until I became broke, then I realised they are fair wheather friends..now am wiser. I have friends but not carried away I often watch with... grin
Re: True Value Of Friends by MissSlimbody(f): 11:36am On Sep 22, 2014
urhoboman: cnt you make new friends?
Be social, go outting, and be open to strangers.

I do av friends, buh we're not jst close.

We dnt connect. ...dnt knw if u understand wat i mean
Re: True Value Of Friends by MizMyColi(f): 11:40am On Sep 22, 2014
MissSlimbody:

I can relate with that joor.

Most people I know offline are into me, but I can't say the same for them.
It's not pride, it's just me.

What I do is try to reach out to them, hang out, gist about our common grounds etc.
Buh that's once in a while.

I have very few inner circle friends.
I met the one closest to me online, before meeting offline.
God! I am blessed cheesy
Re: True Value Of Friends by priscaoge(f): 11:42am On Sep 22, 2014
MizMyColi:

[size=3pt]I'm about to write in bold fonts, but I'm darn serious[/size]

[size=14pt]Most Def Hun cheesy
I'm Humbled at this.

I don't know about OP o, but as for me, gladly, I accept.
I hope you're good dear?
How are you feeling today?

Bia!angry
Nne, remove that frown from your face na cheesy
[/size]

Oh! This sounds so sweet!+Am more than goodgringrin

Am doing very well and I trust u are cute today!
Re: True Value Of Friends by MizMyColi(f): 11:44am On Sep 22, 2014
priscaoge:

Oh! This sounds so sweet!+Am more than goodgringrin

Am doing very well and I trust u are cute today!

Like To'ally, yeah cheesy
Thanks for asking Hun smiley

Re: True Value Of Friends by Nobody: 11:50am On Sep 22, 2014
MissSlimbody:

yeah, I understand, a "HI HI" thingy.
It takes time to replace a very close friend. But u can, u just have to let down your guards, learn to trust and see if the new "very close friend" to be is mutually on the same page.
Sorry about your frnd#
Re: True Value Of Friends by MissSlimbody(f): 11:55am On Sep 22, 2014
urhoboman: yeah, I understand, a "HI HI" thingy.
It takes time to replace a very close friend. But u can, u just have to let down your guards, learn to trust and see if the new "very close friend" to be is mutually on the same page.
Sorry about your frnd#

Thank you
Re: True Value Of Friends by Tallesty1(m): 12:13pm On Sep 22, 2014
MizMyColi: Hmmmm, I can relate.

Especially seeing as I'm a minister for human beings affairs. cheesy
Where did you get this onecheesy
Re: True Value Of Friends by Tallesty1(m): 12:14pm On Sep 22, 2014
Harbosede02: *signs*
Care to share?
Re: True Value Of Friends by Tallesty1(m): 12:15pm On Sep 22, 2014
priscaoge: @Op and MizMyColi will u guys be my friend? angry angry
We are friends alreadykiss

Re: True Value Of Friends by Tallesty1(m): 12:16pm On Sep 22, 2014
You can always make new friends
Re: True Value Of Friends by Tallesty1(m): 12:18pm On Sep 22, 2014
Elantracey: The value of a true friend cannot be over-emphasized in one's life but seriously they are not so easy to find. sad
It is easy in a way, Just be a good friend to someone and the rest will take care of itself.
Re: True Value Of Friends by littlemistress: 12:18pm On Sep 22, 2014
friends? had a couple of close friends that were more like family.
we watched out for each other., but ever since i fell terribly ill sometime ago and never heard from them for over 2 weeks till i recovered and showed up @ their door., i stopped having close friends!! angry

i prefer casual friends., opposite sex actually.

i've learnt to keep friends @ bay
Re: True Value Of Friends by MizMyColi(f): 12:21pm On Sep 22, 2014
Tallesty1: We are friends alreadykiss

[size=14pt]Evidence of you following her

or

You Just Lied tongue

Wait angry

Who's That @DP? shocked
[/size]
Re: True Value Of Friends by Tallesty1(m): 12:21pm On Sep 22, 2014
urhoboman: yeah, I understand, a "HI HI" thingy.
Sorry about your frnd#
Your siggyshockedshockedshocked
Re: True Value Of Friends by Nobody: 12:22pm On Sep 22, 2014
Tallesty1: It is easy in a way, Just be a good friend to someone and the rest will take care of itself.
true but it's not as easy as you say tho
Re: True Value Of Friends by MissSlimbody(f): 12:24pm On Sep 22, 2014
Tallesty1: You can always make new friends

I never said i don't have friends, they are jst not close.
Re: True Value Of Friends by Nobody: 12:27pm On Sep 22, 2014
Tallesty1: Your siggyshockedshockedshocked
lol, a fo.ol here on NL was on my neck. he thought I was their kind.
Re: True Value Of Friends by chibwike(m): 12:35pm On Sep 22, 2014
have got some great frnds in school though, more like a clique
Re: True Value Of Friends by rafeelly(m): 12:42pm On Sep 22, 2014
I think I wud stick with d saying"keep ur friends close but ur enemy closer" I had Dis friend during my days as an undergraduate... we met during post-ume... we were like brothers pple Cald us twins... his parents were lyk mine and vice versa.. Buh when he betrayed me it was like world just ended... learnt my lesson big time... we are close though but not dat close
Re: True Value Of Friends by Tallesty1(m): 12:42pm On Sep 22, 2014
MizMyColi:

[size=14pt]Evidence of you following her

or

You Just Lied tongue

Wait angry

Who's That @DP? shocked
[/size]
lmao.

Ok I'll do the needful.

Oh! One rich dude that just came back from S Agringringrin

Shocking Video: Mother Mary Started Single Mother-nigerian Ashawo Backs Her Job / Fumigation And Pest Control / Photos From Dr. Tunji Braithwaite Night Of Tribute.

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 34