Stats: 3,148,899 members, 7,802,902 topics. Date: Saturday, 20 April 2024 at 02:40 AM

Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? - Food (6) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Food / Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? (57151 Views)

This Plant Is Called “god’s Gift” As It Can Cure Diseases! / Who knows this plant? / What Is This Fruit Called In Your Local Language? (2) (3) (4)

Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by Kobojunkiee: 7:12pm On Feb 14, 2022
chatinent:
Hi, you want Achara?
Hi! Abeg, you fit help me get picture of the plant or know someone who fit abeg? undecided

The Achara plant mystery... I want to solve it once and for all abeg. undecided
Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by chatinent: 7:24pm On Feb 14, 2022
Kobojunkiee:
Hi! Abeg, you fit help me get picture of the plant or know someone who fit abeg? undecided

Unless I go villa.

How much will my services cost?
Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by Kobojunkiee: 7:30pm On Feb 14, 2022
chatinent:
Unless I go villa.
How much will my services cost?
Take am say you dey do am for the good of mankind now.. grin

By the way, do you live around the Umuahia area? Or where exactly are you located on the east coast? undecided
Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by Mariangeles(f): 7:32pm On Feb 14, 2022
Kobojunkiee:
Take am say you dey do am for the good of mankind now.. grin

Kobo alaroro! grin
Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by Kobojunkiee: 7:35pm On Feb 14, 2022
Mariangeles:
Kobo alaroro! grin
i am not being stingy at all. This information is for the benefit of us all, isn't it? grin

Speaking of, are there meetup areas here on nairaland where members living in certain cities come together to identify themselves by location? undecided
Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by Mariangeles(f): 7:40pm On Feb 14, 2022
Kobojunkiee:
i am not being stingy at all. This information is for the benefit of us all, isn't it? grin

They’ve told you it’s elephant grass, you no gree take am. cheesy

Have you thought maybe it’s a different specie of elephant grass compared to the one you know?

Speaking of, are there meetup areas here on nairaland where members living in certain cities come together to identify themselves by location?

I’m not sure.
Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by Kobojunkiee: 7:43pm On Feb 14, 2022
Mariangeles:
They’ve told you it’s elephant grass, you no gree take am. cheesy

Have you thought maybe it’s a different specie of elephant grass compared to the one you know?
That is exactly why telling me it is elephant grass means nothing then. Telling me a flower is a flower does not help me narrow down to finding the name of the particular flower that I seek, does it? undecided
Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by Mariangeles(f): 7:45pm On Feb 14, 2022
Kobojunkiee:
That is exactly why telling me it is elephant grass means nothing then. Telling me a flower is a flower does not help me narrow down to finding the name of the particular flower that I seek, does it? undecided

Ok. What about mangoes?
There are different varieties, but we know all of them as mangoes.
Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by Kobojunkiee: 7:52pm On Feb 14, 2022
Mariangeles:
Ok. What about mangoes?
There are different varieties, but we know all of them as mangoes.
If I was looking for a particular species of mango, announcing they are all mangoes wouldn't really help now, would it? undecided

It's the same thing. I know Achara is definitely not Elephant grass (pennisetum purpureum), nor the common species found all over Nigeria. Telling me that it is Elephant grass does not help me as I would need more information than that to go on. That is why I asked for help in obtaining an image of the actual plant. undecided
Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by Munzy14(m): 8:12pm On Feb 14, 2022
Mariangeles:

A ma’m a ma kpoputara Kobo gi ma lakpuru. grin
Okwa i ma ihe i mere.. grin

Agwala m ya si ihe o wu, wu achara...Onye na ekwehu, ya guagharia ya aha.. grin
Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by Mariangeles(f): 8:32pm On Feb 14, 2022
Munzy14:

Okwa i ma ihe i mere.. grin
Yeah. grin

Agwala m ya si ihe o wu, wu achara...Onye na ekwehu, ya guagharia ya aha.. grin

Gi kwukaria ugbu a, m kpo ra gi Kobo, ya e were ajuju juzugbuo gi ahu. grin
Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by Mariangeles(f): 8:34pm On Feb 14, 2022
Kobojunkiee:
If I was looking for a particular species of mango, announcing they are all mangoes wouldn't really help now, would it? undecided

It's the same thing. I know Achara is definitely not Elephant grass (pennisetum purpureum), nor the common species found all over Nigeria. Telling me that it is Elephant grass does not help me as I would need more information than that to go on. That is why I asked for help in obtaining an image of the actual plant. undecided

I hope Chat is able to get what you need sha.
Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by Munzy14(m): 8:38pm On Feb 14, 2022
Mariangeles:

Yeah. grin

Gi kwukaria ugbu a, m kpo ra gi Kobo, ya e were ajuju juzugbuo gi ahu. grin
cheesy grin
E chere la m ya na spinach thread... cheesy

Happy val.

I mekwere val taa?
Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by Kobojunkiee: 8:38pm On Feb 14, 2022
Mariangeles:
I hope Chat is able to get what you need sha.
Me too! undecided

But I am now interested in knowing how people here hook up by location. undecided

Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by Mariangeles(f): 9:08pm On Feb 14, 2022
Munzy14:

cheesy grin
E chere la m ya na spinach thread... cheesy

Happy val.

I mekwere val taa?

I dikwa sure si I ji ike ya? cheesy

Happy Valentine’s Day.

Low key.
One of our orders couldn’t be delivered on time because the dispatcher was held by traffic.
Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by Mariangeles(f): 9:11pm On Feb 14, 2022
Kobojunkiee:
Me too! undecided

But I am now interested in knowing how people here hook up by location. undecided

How about you create a thread for that?
Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by Kobojunkie: 9:16pm On Feb 14, 2022
Mariangeles:
How about you create a thread for that?
Where? undecided
Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by Mariangeles(f): 9:31pm On Feb 14, 2022
Kobojunkie:
Where? undecided

Any section you prefer.
Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by Munzy14(m): 9:58pm On Feb 14, 2022
Mariangeles:

I dikwa sure si I ji ike ya? cheesy

Happy Valentine’s Day.

Low key.
One of our orders couldn’t be delivered on time because the dispatcher was held by traffic.
Ike ya gwu m, mu a ghostuo ya.. grin

Nnooor.

Lagos wahala...I can't live in that city...traffic is one thing I hate with passion.

Here in Owerri, m hu haala traffic...Reverse gear immediately.. grin

Follow shortcut.

I hated that in PH as well...all thanks to Amaechi and Wike administrations...That air force raod gosh! undecided

Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by ndbros4justice: 7:32pm On Jul 06, 2022
Kobojunkiee:

I have it growing like weeds besides my shop in my village. I am about to harvest some tomorrow.
I'll get you some pictures
Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by Kobojunkie: 7:58pm On Jul 06, 2022
ndbros4justice:
I have it growing like weeds besides my shop in my village. I am about to harvest some tomorrow.
I'll get you some pictures
Harvest! shocked

Abeg, help me with pictures of every aspect of the plant make me too know am well well. I just cut down some elephant grass in the backyard here and it looked nothing like a charm, not even close to its roots. undecided
Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by Cousin9999: 1:48pm On Jul 07, 2022
It looks more like lemongrass than leeks or scallion.
Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by Kobojunkie: 8:44pm On Jul 07, 2022
Ndbros4justice, any updates available for us on the Achara plant and its harvesting? If you get even video, abeg make you post am make we see.. grin
Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by ndbros4justice: 2:59pm On Jul 10, 2022
Kobojunkie:
Ndbros4justice, any updates available for us on the Achara plant and its harvesting? If you get even video, abeg make you post am make we see.. grin

Sorry I didn't give update but I'll try to get some pictures. I totally forgot because of my activities. Actually the Achara can grow beyond being edible and will look like a flexible sugar cane
Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by Kobojunkie: 3:02pm On Jul 10, 2022
ndbros4justice:
Sorry I didn't give update but I'll try to get some pictures. I totally forgot because of my activities. Actually the Achara can grow beyond being edible and will look like a flexible sugar cane
Oh wow... I didn't know that. undecided

I desperately want to see pictures of the plant so I can investigate and learn what it is from what it is not. Your effort is much appreciated. undecided
Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by ndbros4justice: 7:52pm On Jul 10, 2022
Kobojunkie:
Oh wow... I didn't know that. undecided

I desperately want to see pictures of the plant so I can investigate and learn what it is from what it is not. Your effort is much appreciated. undecided

This is elephant grass

Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by Kobojunkie: 7:58pm On Jul 10, 2022
ndbros4justice:

This is elephant grass
Ok. And Achara is not elephant grass, right? undecided
Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by ndbros4justice: 8:32pm On Jul 10, 2022
Achara

Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by ndbros4justice: 8:35pm On Jul 10, 2022
Kobojunkie:
Ok. And Achara is not elephant grass, right? undecided
I know the other as Elephant grass we call it Achara NWA nkita meaning Achara for a puppy.
Achara has meatier stem.
Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by Kobojunkie: 8:54pm On Jul 10, 2022
ndbros4justice:

I know the other as Elephant grass we call it Achara NWA nkita meaning Achara for a puppy.
Achara has meatier stem.
That is what I have been saying but weirdly, I can't really spot the difference between the pictures you posted. undecided
Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by ndbros4justice: 7:04am On Jul 11, 2022
Kobojunkie:
That is what I have been saying but weirdly, I can't really spot the difference between the pictures you posted. undecided

From a distance you can hardly tell the difference but Achara has a fatter stem that makes it look like corn
Re: Who Knows What This Plant Is Called In English? by Kobojunkie: 12:47pm On Jul 11, 2022
ndbros4justice:
From a distance you can hardly tell the difference but Achara has a fatter stem that makes it look like corn
Interesting! undecided

So how do you plant achara? undecided

What’s The Difference Between The Red Colored Apple And Green Colored Apple? / (PHOTO) If You Havent Take This Before, Then You Need Deliverance / See What I Bought For Just Fifty Thousand Naira(photo)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 35