Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 2,992,441 members, 7,289,491 topics. Date: Friday, 03 February 2023 at 09:36 PM

Please Help Review My CV - Career - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Career / Please Help Review My CV (22830 Views)

How do I add over 125 online certificates to my CV / Update: I Need Help In Tweaking My CV / Please I Need Help With My Cv (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (Reply) (Go Down)

Please Help Review My CV by publicworky: 3:05pm On Oct 29, 2016
Greetings fellow nairalanders, I have decided to start seeking for another job and as usual, I need help from senior friends here on this great forum.

Please help me review my CV.
Also, don't go easy on me and at the same time kindly encourage the good things.

Thank you as you help a brother.

4 Likes 1 Share

Re: Please Help Review My CV by Nobody: 5:56pm On Oct 29, 2016
You could add in some deliverables to the tasks you have listed in the CV. You did all these things to what end? How did these help the organisations you worked for? What value(s) did your tasks create?

See the ''Professional Experience'' section of the attached.

6 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Please Help Review My CV by publicworky: 7:46pm On Oct 29, 2016
OmaniPadmeHum:
You could add in some deliverables to the tasks you have listed in the CV. You did all these things to what end? How did these help the organisations you worked for? What value(s) did your tasks create?

See the ''Professional Experience'' section of the attached.

I once had something like that on my CV, the problem was length, I couldn't keep it on 2 pages, then some people said it looked like newspaper (not concise).

Thank you so much for your contribution, I really appreciate. What else do you think needs adjustment?

1 Like

Re: Please Help Review My CV by Nobody: 8:05am On Oct 30, 2016
publicworky:

I once had something like that on my CV, the problem was length, I couldn't keep it on 2 pages, then some people said it looked like newspaper (not concise).

Thank you so much for your contribution, I really appreciate. What else do you think needs adjustment?


1. And you are sure it wasn't because:

i. You were not concise enough?
ii. You tried to put in everything, instead of selecting two or three core activities and the value you added on these?
iii. Your arrangement of the points was unappealing to the eyes?

I will rather sacrifice things like ''Hobby'', ''Character Disposition'' etc for this part.

2. Your character disposition could be made to reflect in your opening statement on your objectives.

3. You could also make your achievements appear in the professional experience area. Besides if you want to really keep the achievements section, it should come directly after Professional Experience. Its contents show that these are mainly professional achievements.

4. In the skills section do you really need the word transferable? Secondly, you gave brief highlights on other skills, but when one reads to communication skills, nothing. You did not highlight this part. In order not to seem as if you have nothing to write there, just add ''Good Writing and Oral Communication Skills. You can also highlight ''Paper Presentation Skills''.

6 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Please Help Review My CV by myrrtle(m): 8:18am On Oct 30, 2016
I think your cv is good to go. http://careersome.com
Re: Please Help Review My CV by publicworky: 10:24pm On Oct 31, 2016
Thank you so much sir for taking out the time to help me out, I really appreciate. I would like if you can shed more light to the areas below

OmaniPadmeHum:

3. You could also make your achievements appear in the professional experience area. Besides if you want to really keep the achievements section, it should come directly after Professional Experience. Its contents show that these are mainly professional achievements.
I just did the restructuring (placing the achievement section directly after professional experience), but I guess I wouldn't need to replace the task area of my experiences? I'm a little confuse sir.


4. In the skills section do you really need the word transferable? Secondly, you gave brief highlights on other skills, but when one reads to communication skills, nothing. You did not highlight this part. In order not to seem as if you have nothing to write there, just add ''Good Writing and Oral Communication Skills. You can also highlight ''Paper Presentation Skills''.
I've now added "Good writing and..."
One of the reasons I use "transferable skills" is because some of the skills there are not directly relating to my job focus (accounting) however, they come in handy and makes me stand out, as it can be seen in my listed achievements, offering engineering service for free even as an accountant.
What do you think sir?

Again, thank you sir for taking your time to help me out

1 Like

Re: Please Help Review My CV by publicworky: 10:27pm On Oct 31, 2016
myrrtle:
I think your cv is good to go. http://careersome.com

Thank you for the encouragement, but anything for me to take note, correct or replace?

1 Like

Re: Please Help Review My CV by Nobody: 9:43pm On Nov 01, 2016
publicworky:
Thank you so much sir for taking out the time to help me out, I really appreciate. I would like if you can shed more light to the areas below


I just did the restructuring (placing the achievement section directly after professional experience), but I guess I wouldn't need to replace the task area of my experiences? I'm a little confuse sir.


I've now added "Good writing and..."
One of the reasons I use "transferable skills" is because some of the skills there are not directly relating to my job focus (accounting) however, they come in handy and makes me stand out, as it can be seen in my listed achievements, offering engineering service for free even as an accountant.
What do you think sir?

Again, thank you sir for taking your time to help me out

Ok. Then it is all good for the first part.

Does the word Transferable reflect the notion you are trying to portray about you other skills not directly related to your discipline? If it does and can be used in that context then, no wahala.

1 Like

Re: Please Help Review My CV by publicworky: 8:23am On Nov 02, 2016
OmaniPadmeHum:

...
Does the word Transferable reflect the notion you are trying to portray about you other skills not directly related to your discipline? ...
Not really, transferable skill are simply universal skills ( my definition tho), "not directly relating" is just one of the reasons I decided to use "trans..."

Should I leave it as just "skills"?

Thank you once again sir for being interested in improving my CV.
Re: Please Help Review My CV by publicworky: 7:33pm On Nov 04, 2016
Please help out oo, good people of Nairaland

Or does the silence means, nothing more to correct?
Am I good to go?
Re: Please Help Review My CV by publicworky: 11:21pm On Nov 07, 2016
Since I'm only getting views but no comment, I want to believe that apart from all that has been mentioned by OmaniPadmeHum there is nothing more to be corrected.

Thank you all for the time, I really appreciate, while my special appreciation goes to OmaniPadmeHum for taking out time to help a brother out I really appreciate the effort sir, thank you so much.
God bless you sir.

1 Like

Re: Please Help Review My CV by Nobody: 10:43am On Nov 08, 2016
publicworky:

Not really, transferable skill are simply universal skills ( my definition tho), "not directly relating" is just one of the reasons I decided to use "trans..."

Should I leave it as just "skills"?

Thank you once again sir for being interested in improving my CV.

Well, If the word transferable bears the message you want to convey and it is appropriate in this context. Then it can be left alone.

That is my only concern.

So after the corrections, can you present a final view of the CV for us to see. Remember a CV is a live and working document and you will need to review, edit and update. So your work is not yet done. If you know what I mean.

2 Likes

Re: Please Help Review My CV by herzern(m): 6:14am On Nov 09, 2016

Re: Please Help Review My CV by Nobody: 6:15am On Nov 09, 2016
Just saying, but do you need to add years behind the 23?
Re: Please Help Review My CV by takenadoh: 6:16am On Nov 09, 2016
why are you hiding vital info.
Re: Please Help Review My CV by Kunleskey(m): 6:17am On Nov 09, 2016
.
Re: Please Help Review My CV by Benjom(m): 6:19am On Nov 09, 2016
I quite agree with OmaniPadmeHum. He made valid points that should not be overlooked.

• Let your “Achievements/Accomplishments” come immediately after each work experience.

• Remove some inconsequentials such as “23 Years”, hobbies (no direct relevance to your career status), character disposition, etc.

• Refine your job responsibilities.

You may read this comprehensive article I wrote on writing an effective CV here on Nairaland:

https://www.nairaland.com/3168032/complete-step-step-guide-writing

Or to see specific samples, visit: www..com/cv-samples/

.

3 Likes 1 Share

Re: Please Help Review My CV by Welcomme: 6:29am On Nov 09, 2016
U are 23 and u started working since 2005....Kontinue....

15 Likes 1 Share

Re: Please Help Review My CV by Sixkobo(f): 6:35am On Nov 09, 2016
Publicworky

1. Don’t include your contact details in the header of your resume as Employers now uses Recruitment software to filter resume and sometimes these software find it difficult to read information on the header.

So in order to avoid the softwares missing your contact details, it is advised to add contact in the main body of your document/resume.

2. Mission statement/Objective
Don't use same Objective for all job you are applying., tailor it to suit the one you are applying...

Your mission statement is a summary of who you are, where you’ve studied and have worked, and what you will be bringing to the job if hired.


Mission statement or objective should start with one sentence about who you and what you will be bring to the job, then explain the skills and experience you have that you will use in achieving that.

3. Skills.
Apart from Sage 50 and IQ Business I think others are irrelevant to your field.
What about Good Numerical Skills or anything related to account or the job you are applying.

Your resume should include a list of between 10 and 15 skills that link your experience to the job you’re applying for.

If the job you’re applying for was advertised, search the ad for the position description listed skills and experiences that are essential for doing the job.

The advert may provide a list of desirable skills and experience. So your list of main kills and strengths needs to rhyme to all of the items on the list in the advert.

4. Other Skills (Technical/software skills)
This is a short list of the names of software or technology you know how to use. So tailor it to suit the ones you will be using if successful. Examples:

Word processing
Power point
Programming languages etc.

Microsoft Excel
Sage 50
Quick book
Peachtree etc..
But don't mention what you don't know.... Just mention those that are relevant to the job you applying.
5. According to your CV you started working at the age of 11 where you are suppose to be in school... Please delete the age above... Let them invite you for interview to know instead of lying on your CV.

There's so much to correct... Help yourself here http://sixkobo.com.ng/resume-write-good-resume-cv-sixkobo/

Last Bullet This CV Template is Obsolete as I have been seeing it over 10yrs now.

3 Likes

Re: Please Help Review My CV by Morhziez(m): 6:36am On Nov 09, 2016
Nice cv

1 Like

Re: Please Help Review My CV by midolian(m): 6:39am On Nov 09, 2016
publicworky:

I once had something like that on my CV, the problem was length, I couldn't keep it on 2 pages, then some people said it looked like newspaper (not concise).

Thank you so much for your contribution, I really appreciate. What else do you think needs adjustment?
hahahahaahhahaa cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy

1 Like

Re: Please Help Review My CV by Fairgodwin(m): 6:49am On Nov 09, 2016
Please take note of these minor but hugely significant errors:
"precedes over community development meetings" - you preside not precede. So it is, 'presides over community development meetings.'
"boasting record integrity by 95%" - you boost not boast. So it should also be, 'boosting record integrity by 95%.'

I love your CV by the way, and I admire it.


Cc: publicworky

4 Likes

Re: Please Help Review My CV by OgidiOlu3(m): 6:49am On Nov 09, 2016
Welcomme:
U are 23 and u started working since 2005....Kontinue....

Sales boy na
Re: Please Help Review My CV by T4kbaba(m): 6:50am On Nov 09, 2016
Presides not precedes over community development.
Check it under NYSC
.

1 Like 1 Share

Re: Please Help Review My CV by oluwatosin67: 6:50am On Nov 09, 2016
U shud replace bi for multilingual., Yoruba is a language too.,yes,,its not an offiicial lang. But its a language,,it means u can work conveniently in SW part of the country.

1 Like

Re: Please Help Review My CV by MilesLamar(m): 6:51am On Nov 09, 2016
Nice


Guys check my signature out ... Tnkx
Re: Please Help Review My CV by bamidele74(m): 6:53am On Nov 09, 2016
publicworky:
Greetings fellow nairalanders, I have decided to start seeking for another job and as usual, I need help from senior friends here on this great forum.

Please help me review my CV.
Also, don't go easy on me and at the same time kindly encourage the good things.

Thank you as you help a brother.

(1) I think that Educational and Professional Qualifications should come immediately after Bio-data.
(2) You need to make use of REFEREES and not REFERENCES in a CV.
(3) You work 2010 - Date and not 2010 - present.
Take note.

1 Like

Re: Please Help Review My CV by kazyhm(m): 6:54am On Nov 09, 2016
Welcomme:
U are 23 and u started working since 2005....Kontinue....

cheesy
Welcomme:
U are 23 and u started working since 2005....Kontinue....
Re: Please Help Review My CV by Welcomme: 6:54am On Nov 09, 2016
OgidiOlu3:

Sales boy na
Sales boy at 12 years...make e continue

1 Like

Re: Please Help Review My CV by Vinakok: 6:58am On Nov 09, 2016
publicworky:
Greetings fellow nairalanders, I have decided to start seeking for another job and as usual, I need help from senior friends here on this great forum.
Please help me review my CV.
Also, don't go easy on me and at the same time kindly encourage the good things.
Thank you as you help a brother.
Change the verbs in all your past work experience to past tense.

Why is your ICAN qualification showing "in view" as at 2015? Just curious

1 Like

Re: Please Help Review My CV by emsquare(m): 7:15am On Nov 09, 2016
Good One... Just make use of the contributions....
Re: Please Help Review My CV by ogunsbanjul(m): 7:18am On Nov 09, 2016
publicworky:
Greetings fellow nairalanders, I have decided to start seeking for another job and as usual, I need help from senior friends here on this great forum.

Please help me review my CV.
Also, don't go easy on me and at the same time kindly encourage the good things.

Thank you as you help a brother.

1 Like

(1) (2) (3) (Reply)

Nigeria Customs Top Management In Age Falsification And Corruption Scandal / Being A Graduate Is Not Enough! You Need Skills? / What Can Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Do For You?

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2023 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 157
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.