Stats: 3,143,495 members, 7,781,482 topics. Date: Friday, 29 March 2024 at 03:18 PM

What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? - Music/Radio (5) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Music/Radio / What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? (17137 Views)

Naija Hip Hop And Its Emptiness (Stroking The Admiration Of The Shallow Minds) / What Are Your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2011? / What Are Your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2010? (2) (3) (4)

Re: What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? by lalaboi(m): 11:36pm On Dec 17, 2009
About the Nairaland!. . . .Am on it . . .and i'll get back to you!

About the tracks

Da grin - pon pon pon by SO ssick
Undarated by ID cabasa
Re: What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? by ridex: 6:30pm On Dec 19, 2009
p squre possibilite 2 p squre eno essy 3 timaya god u too much 4 p squre trow ur hand 5wande coal u bad
Re: What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? by lalaboi(m): 6:38pm On Dec 19, 2009
RapJ. . . .

The nairaland name is a NO GO. . .

make up a name or sumn!. . . just put a note on the artwork as voted by nairaland music members. . .
Re: What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? by DisGuy: 8:09pm On Dec 20, 2009
rapjunkie:

The Nairaland Mixtape will be dropping very soon ( did u think I forgot?) and this is the artwork for the front cover.

HOWEVER, I need help from you guys to tell me the names of the producers of the songs below so we can credit them on the back cover of the mixtape.

Badman - Mode 9
Somebody wants to Die - MI feat Ice prince
Heading for a Grammy - Skales
Gbu Madu – 5 mics, Terry the rapman, pherowshuz
Sample-terry the rapman, pherowshuz, stereoman
Mathematical Sege - Mode 9
If I catch U – OD, Terry the rapman

THANKS FOR YOUR HELP

@lalaboi 

Do we need clearance from the top to use the name 'Nairaland' for this?. . . . undecided

RapJ, please don't do the usual naija album cover, 4get the pictures you can use some dark art or something simple but bold
something simple not 1000pictures of rappers like naija home videos

or lets transfer that to the guy in the graphics section!
Re: What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? by lalaboi(m): 9:41pm On Dec 20, 2009
Dis Guy:

RapJ, please don't do the usual naija album cover, 4get the pictures you can use some dark art or something simple but bold

Those guyz are baaahd guyz!! You should do that!
Re: What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? by rapjunkie(m): 4:52pm On Dec 21, 2009
Dis Guy:

lalaboi:

Those guyz are baaahd guyz!! You should do that!

Do any of you know somebody in particular  OR should I  just post a general thread asking for urgent help?
Re: What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? by lalaboi(m): 8:12pm On Dec 21, 2009
I knwo of D1klevera! But there is a badder guy! Kemjisuper!! I'll set up the thread on there now
Re: What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? by Nobody: 8:24pm On Dec 21, 2009
Re: What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? by lalaboi(m): 8:27pm On Dec 21, 2009
RapJ. . .

Am thinking if we can get permission from all these artistes for their work to be part of the mixtape then we can use the name NAIRALAND!. . .New year is almost here oh!. . .we need to work fast!
Re: What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? by lalaboi(m): 11:07pm On Dec 21, 2009
Jassie is cooking up sumn for the artwork!. . . .
Re: What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? by NIGboi(m): 12:58am On Dec 22, 2009
Jamix, Terry G, 9ice n MI - Omo Naija
I no send you remix - suspect, feat. wyclef ( plus everybody else)
Ajuju and Jesse jags - Pass me the MIC. .
osondi owendi-mc loph ft.flavor (love this, heheheh)
Illbliss feat. Terry G- Aye Po gan
Somebody wants to Die- MI feat ice prince
illbliss-side of your mouth
Re: What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? by rapjunkie(m): 10:59am On Dec 22, 2009
lalaboi:

I knwo of D1klevera! But there is a badder guy! Kemjisuper!! I'll set up the thread on there now

nice. . . . . .
Re: What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? by javalove(m): 5:56pm On Dec 22, 2009
Wooooooooowwwwwwwwwwww u guys have gone far. . .kudos to everyone. . .eldee, lalboi, Sauron, RapJ, tosin, Rhymestein etc. . .

Then we need 2 do this yearly. . .

@eldee

elbow room is by faaaaaarrrrrrrrrrrrr better than Somebody wants to die. . .u kidding me??

And MI's OMO line wasnt bad. . .just a normal naija rap line. . .

@Sauron

Modenine has more than 30 of those timbs. . .
Re: What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? by rapjunkie(m): 6:08pm On Dec 22, 2009
lalaboi:

RapJ. . .

Am thinking if we can get permission from all these artistes for their work to be part of the mixtape then we can use the name NAIRALAND!. . .New year is almost here oh!. . .we need to work fast!

how can we get permission?. . . . . that sounds like a looooooooooong tin.

anyways . . . . . . there is more than one way to skin a cat. . . . . . . . . . .

What if we use the naira symbol and the word Land after it?. . . . . . who go sue us?
Re: What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? by tosinaded(m): 6:13pm On Dec 22, 2009
[flash=425,350]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2ddBIdoP3GM&hl=en_US&fs=1&[/flash]

gotta be my best modey track!!
but common M.I's somebody wants to die beats it IMO

[flash=425,350]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oQo9nFOhWvM&hl=en_US&fs=1&[/flash]

M.I shits on elbow room tongue
Re: What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? by javalove(m): 6:47pm On Dec 22, 2009
lyrics wise. . .delivery wise. . .man!!!!!!!!!!!!! Elbow Room beats it hands down!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

enuff punchlines, metaphors. . .!!!!!!!!!!

Omo tosin c'mon man. . .u joking or smtn?
Re: What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? by tosinaded(m): 6:50pm On Dec 22, 2009
modey sounds like noise tongue

seriously, i feel SWTD than elbow room cool
Re: What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? by javalove(m): 7:08pm On Dec 22, 2009
tosinaded@:

modey sounds like noise tongue

seriously, i feel SWTD than elbow room cool

dont die hating. . .!

I tell u guys no matter what new thing MI does, there is an old modenine work that will match it. . .

Modenine don set pace for lots of cats to come. . .

Even upcoming rappers now use Modenine in their lyrics (when using metaphors). . .

I heared one cat on radio that just used it. . .

Please SWTD is cool. . .very cool sef. . but not anywhere near ELBOW ROOM. . .if na lyrics we wan talk sef, it doesnt come anywhere close
Re: What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? by tosinaded(m): 7:19pm On Dec 22, 2009
javalove:

dont die hating. . .!

I tell u guys no matter what new thing MI does, there is an old modenine work that will match it. . .

Modenine don set pace for lots of cats to come. . .

Even upcoming rappers now use Modenine in their lyrics (when using metaphors). . .

I heared one cat on radio that just used it. . .

Please SWTD is cool. . .very cool sef. . but not anywhere near ELBOW ROOM. . .if na lyrics we wan talk sef, it doesnt come anywhere close

pheeeeeew
ther he goes again!!!
Re: What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? by eldee(m): 7:42pm On Dec 22, 2009
javalove:

lyrics wise. . .delivery wise. . .man!!!!!!!!!!!!! Elbow Room beats it hands down!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

enuff punchlines, metaphors. . .!!!!!!!!!!

Omo tosin c'mon man. . .u joking or smtn?

Are you being serious??
Come on . . . SWTD has everything Elbow Room had and the extra M.I Factor.

M.I made it sound like he wasn't even trying . . . 'coming at me is the only way you'll ever approach a star'
Elbow Room was prolly the best till M.I redefined Nigerian Hiphop.

And the delivery?? Don't even go there M.I murks it. Delivery is one aspect M.I kills every other Nigerian rapper.
The beat?? I can't even start on that one. Are you seriously comparing them?? Haba!!!

Somebody Wants To Die is sex to the ears of every listener, the Encore half was like orgasm. grin grin

BTW . . . you're my new Campaign Manager for my Face Of NL Music Awards.
I need to reach the Modenine fans . . . you're the man for the job. wink wink
Re: What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? by Sauron1: 7:49pm On Dec 22, 2009
javalove:

@Sauron

Modenine has more than 30 of those timbs. . .

Intel says he's got only one pair.
Mode-9 is broke. grin
Re: What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? by javalove(m): 7:51pm On Dec 22, 2009
~Sauron~:

Intel says he's got only one pair.
Mode-9 is broke. grin

lwkmd!!!! i havent laffed dis way in a long time. . .lmao!!!!

for God's sake make una free modenine na. . .

he is not broke!!!
Re: What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? by eldee(m): 7:55pm On Dec 22, 2009
javalove:

lwkmd!!!! i havent laffed dis way in a long time. . .lmao!!!!

for God's sake make una free modenine na. . .

he is not broke!!!

Talk true . . . you take your own money join before e even fit buy that one pair from Yaba.
So technically you own half of that pair of timbs grin grin
Re: What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? by Sauron1: 7:57pm On Dec 22, 2009
eldee:

Talk true . . . you take your own money join before e even fit buy that one pair from Yaba.
So technically you own half of that pair of timbs grin grin

That's HARSH!!!

To be fair, Mode-9's previous works are brilliant.
I am not too sure who would murk who in a freestyle battle between Modenine and M.I.
Re: What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? by javalove(m): 8:29pm On Dec 22, 2009
@Sauron

Well. . .its ur opinion. . .But i finl I agree cos the best track to ever come out of naija and in indeed africa is found in modenine's previous works. . the track is CONTRADICTION on EPL album. . .

and

i just downloaded the track he did with Proverb. . man!!!!!!!!!!!!! dat track na faya. . i have it on reply since on sunday!!!!
Re: What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? by Sauron1: 8:30pm On Dec 22, 2009
javalove:

@Sauron
Well. . .its your opinion. . .But i finl I agree cos the best track to ever come out of naija and in indeed africa is found in modenine's previous works. . the track is CONTRADICTION on EPL album. . .

Contradiction ke? I disagree.
There are some mad tracks on M.I's album that murks Contradiction.
Re: What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? by javalove(m): 8:34pm On Dec 22, 2009
~Sauron~:

Contradiction ke? I disagree.
There are some mad tracks on M.I's album that murks Contradiction.

Lie!!!! In the next 10 yrs, MI cant spit that tight. . .pls go and re-listen to the track. .

lets analyse it and then analyse MIs'
Re: What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? by DisGuy: 8:40pm On Dec 22, 2009
Unknow--Collabo!! grin

2shot ---commercial!

how videos has MI done they keep repeating that same 'safe on Hitv
abi they guy dey fear make he no mes up him name?
Re: What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? by Sauron1: 8:41pm On Dec 22, 2009
javalove:

Lie!!!! In the next 10 yrs, MI cant spit that tight. . .pls go and re-listen to the track. .

lets analyse it and then analyse MIs'

Print the lyrics and lets analyse. . . . .
Re: What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? by eldee(m): 8:51pm On Dec 22, 2009
Come on . . . Contradiction had a good concept, same with Alphabetical Slaughter but you can't call them great hiphop songs. Nah!!!

There's nothing special about 'I'm smooth but I handle my friction' or 'lyrical beast rise like yeast on the low' . . . that's just someone putting everyday words together.

It's a good concept . . . yep but apart from the concept, it's got nothing else working for it.
It's just like when people where screaming about Papoose' Alphabetical Slaughter when anyone with a dictionary coulda done that.
Now Lagos State of Mind, Elbow Room, Cry . . . those are Modenine's good songs.

Saying Contradiction is Mode's best song is like saying Rewind is Nas' best track.
Re: What Are your Top 10 Naija Hip Hop Tracks Of 2009? by javalove(m): 8:58pm On Dec 22, 2009
Well, CONTRADICTION, modenine wud spit a verse and contradict it the the bext, YET still makes sense. .

[B]call me the NICEST with the WICKED lyrics - -  u cant be nice and wicked at the same time, so nicest contradicts wicked

listen UP as i throw DOWN at my release

i'll bring the crowd to LIFE, by KILLING them with the flow

i swon not to take an oath to always keep it REAL/ but most times i'm dropping FICTION to prove skill/
example, the mode rap WELL but I'm ILL

hip hop is BAD OFF i see nothing GOOD ON, diss me and FALL OFF before u get PUT ON

WALK with me as i RUN things/ LOCK IT DOWN with the FREESTYLE that i spit/

i'm rushing, all those who oppose/ the ones keeping FLAT FOOTED rappers on their toes/

the black knight could wish you good night so have a bad day/

ur resume got the NAKED truth COVERED UP/ i'm RAW but i keep my private part RUBBERED UP

[/b]

i just posted dem randomly. . .just post from any of MI's work and lets analyse too. . .waiting

@eldee

eldee:

Come on . . . Contradiction had a good concept, same with Alphabetical Slaughter but you can't call them great hiphop songs. Nah!!!

There's nothing special about 'I'm smooth but I handle my friction' or 'lyrical beast rise like yeast on the low' . . . that's just someone putting everyday words together.

It's a good concept . . . yep but apart from the concept, it's got nothing else working for it.
It's just like when people where screaming about Papoose' Alphabetical Slaughter when anyone with a dictionary coulda done that.
Now Lagos State of Mind, Elbow Room, Cry . . . those are Modenine's good songs.

Saying Contradiction is Mode's best song is like saying Rewind is Nas' best track.

that line is. . .[B] lyrical BEEFS rise like YEAST on a LOAF[/b]. . .Contradiction is his best (to me) and i havent heared any other nigerian rapper spit that tight and intelligent. . .concept, delivery, lyrics. .all on point

Did Jay-z Mean To Offend Christians On 'Empire State Of Mind'? / Nigerian Entertainment Awards Nominees #NEA2015 / Ruggedman Responds To Death Blow (the Mode9 Diss Song)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 47