Stats: 3,150,312 members, 7,808,051 topics. Date: Thursday, 25 April 2024 at 06:01 AM

US State Department's Statement On Kaduna White Paper On Zaria Massacre - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / US State Department's Statement On Kaduna White Paper On Zaria Massacre (20158 Views)

White Paper That Indicted Amaechi Of Embezzling N500bn Rivers Fund - ScanNews / President Buhari Meets With Security Chiefs On Kaduna Killings / Why PMB Is Silent On Kaduna Killings- Presidency (2) (3) (4)

US State Department's Statement On Kaduna White Paper On Zaria Massacre by crosbreaka: 6:45am On Dec 10, 2016
Press Statement
John Kirby
Assistant Secretary and Department Spokesperson, Bureau of Public Affairs
Washington, DC
December 8, 2016

On December 5th, the Kaduna State Government in Nigeria issued a long-awaited White Paper on clashes last year that resulted in the deaths of a reported 348 civilians and one soldier. We fully agree with the White Paper’s recommendation that members of the military who were involved in the unlawful killing of civilians must be held accountable and punished appropriately. As the one-year anniversary of this tragic event approaches, we call on the federal government to be diligent, transparent, and expeditious in following through on this recommendation.

We are concerned by the White Paper’s characterization of the Islamic Movement of Nigeria (IMN) as an “insurgent group,” and urge the Nigerian government at every level to seek pathways for non-violent engagement with all citizens, including minority religious groups. We also encourage the federal government to act on the Abuja high court’s decision on December 2 that IMN leader Ibrahim Zakzaky and his wife should be released from prison within 45 days, as they have been held without charge since the events of last December.

We note reports that the IMN has taken actions that have undermined public order and safety. We call on the IMN to respect public order and cooperate with law enforcement authorities as they carry out their lawful duties.

Respect for the rule of law and the civil rights of all segments of society is a hallmark of democracy. As the White Paper notes, “the right to freedom of worship is a cherished constitutional right” in Nigeria that must be protected. We encourage the people and the government of Nigeria to support these fundamental principles, regardless of religion, ethnicity, or region.

http://www.state.gov/r/pa/prs/ps/2016/12/264991.htm

8 Likes 2 Shares

Re: US State Department's Statement On Kaduna White Paper On Zaria Massacre by bonnybonco: 7:59am On Dec 10, 2016
That's good development from US. I think Amnesty Int'l and other members of the internatinal community should lend their vioces to these wantom killings of innocent citizens of these country by the govt that is suppose to protect them. IPOB, Southern Kaduna, Zaria (shite) and other massacre that happened within the last 18 months should be probed and perpetrators adequately purnished.

Meanwhile this is my first to comment since the past 9 years I joined this forum. Pls show me some likes is not easy. Seun should send my recharge card immediatly.

42 Likes 2 Shares

Re: US State Department's Statement On Kaduna White Paper On Zaria Massacre by ShootToKill: 9:06am On Dec 10, 2016
Strongheaded dull-harry please don't release your political prisoners. You'll have yourself to blame in the future.

62 Likes 4 Shares

Re: US State Department's Statement On Kaduna White Paper On Zaria Massacre by talktimi(m): 10:06am On Dec 10, 2016
Th madness of APC, Buhari and el Rufai. Fulani herdsmen can kill, maim and destroy in any part of the country while the Shia muslims cannot practice their faith in peace. Fvck this change cool

75 Likes 1 Share

Re: US State Department's Statement On Kaduna White Paper On Zaria Massacre by FSBoperator: 10:17am On Dec 10, 2016
El Rufai, as you sleep and wake up every morning in your protected Govt palace, know that each passing day brings you closer to the day you vacate office and closer still to the day you finally face the hang man.

53 Likes 2 Shares

Re: US State Department's Statement On Kaduna White Paper On Zaria Massacre by herzern(m): 3:33pm On Dec 10, 2016
Re: US State Department's Statement On Kaduna White Paper On Zaria Massacre by Godprotectigbo2(f): 3:33pm On Dec 10, 2016

what am i even doing here

Re: US State Department's Statement On Kaduna White Paper On Zaria Massacre by Ezenwammadu(m): 3:35pm On Dec 10, 2016
I wonder how the midget sleep at night after supervising and covering up the massacre in Zaria

When the shitte turn into another Boko Haram I trust trump presidency to leave these murderers to their fate

35 Likes 1 Share

Re: US State Department's Statement On Kaduna White Paper On Zaria Massacre by Firefire(m): 3:35pm On Dec 10, 2016
“the right to freedom of worship is a cherished constitutional right” We encourage the people and the government of Nigeria to support these fundamental principles, regardless of religion, ethnicity, or region.

23 Likes 2 Shares

Re: US State Department's Statement On Kaduna White Paper On Zaria Massacre by BornStunner1: 3:36pm On Dec 10, 2016
ABEG I NEED USA VISA! undecided

Re: US State Department's Statement On Kaduna White Paper On Zaria Massacre by SycophanticGoat: 3:37pm On Dec 10, 2016
Dear International Criminal Court,

We, the concerned citizens of this country, call on you to come to our rescue. We are presently living in fear as our government have practically encouraged the security forces to exterminate civilians in order to douse the slightest opposition or tension.

Many have lost their lives while many will continue to die by the bullets of guns meant to protect us from oppressors. This present government practically looks the other way when Fulani terrorists attacks citizens of the country only to spring to action when Shia Muslims or IPOB take to the streets to conduct peaceful protests or procession as the case may be.

The federal government and government officials have no regard for court orders and project themselves beyond democratic principles in a manner that suggest tyranny.

Elections have been rigged recklessly with little or no regard for the choice of the masses and in most cases, the ruling government engage(s) the supposed "independent body" meant to conduct free and fair elections criminally.

So we ask, is it not yet time for you come to our rescue? Please prosecute the following individuals in order to ensure that peace and justice reigns supreme in this country: the president, Kaduna and Kano state governors, DSS boss, the COAS, the transport minister and many other criminals parading themselves as leaders of this country.

Thank you as I anticipate your kind assistance.

Yours Faithfully,

A Concerned Nigerian Citizen.

46 Likes 4 Shares

Re: US State Department's Statement On Kaduna White Paper On Zaria Massacre by balanceofterror1(m): 3:37pm On Dec 10, 2016
Hmm
Re: US State Department's Statement On Kaduna White Paper On Zaria Massacre by mccoy47(m): 3:37pm On Dec 10, 2016

Good. The short man terrorist called El rufai should be impeached n thrown into jail where he belongs

Re: US State Department's Statement On Kaduna White Paper On Zaria Massacre by Olukat(m): 3:41pm On Dec 10, 2016
The TRUMP scare don dey catch these people o grin grin grin grin grin

14 Likes 1 Share

Re: US State Department's Statement On Kaduna White Paper On Zaria Massacre by PappiSnow: 3:41pm On Dec 10, 2016
Re: US State Department's Statement On Kaduna White Paper On Zaria Massacre by Akinwerndey: 3:41pm On Dec 10, 2016
Never take the US statement with honesty kuz they are the underground planers... If they love the shiites and also practise what they preach, let the leave syria alone!
Then I'll knw they are serious.

Re: US State Department's Statement On Kaduna White Paper On Zaria Massacre by Omeokachie: 3:42pm On Dec 10, 2016
This report shows that the world is indeed watching.
ICC loading..

Re: US State Department's Statement On Kaduna White Paper On Zaria Massacre by Scream(m): 3:42pm On Dec 10, 2016
Good one from the US Government! Over to the governments of trial and errors in the state and federal levels...

Re: US State Department's Statement On Kaduna White Paper On Zaria Massacre by Pylony(m): 3:43pm On Dec 10, 2016
This is how the same politicians will end up producing another set of evil terro group, then dust their dry asses pretending they know nothing about its existance.

Re: US State Department's Statement On Kaduna White Paper On Zaria Massacre by Nobody: 3:44pm On Dec 10, 2016
To the so called human right proponents...UN,USA etc.

When extremist unleash their mayhem on the society, u call it terrorism.
When govt deals with extremists,u say Human right violation.

Arent nonsense!!!!

Re: US State Department's Statement On Kaduna White Paper On Zaria Massacre by faaz24: 3:44pm On Dec 10, 2016
US....stay clear of naija please, let's deal with ourselves.
Libya, Iraq, syria are all in crisis all because of your 'concern'
If any US citizen is a memberof the shiites tell them to return home.

5 Likes 2 Shares

Re: US State Department's Statement On Kaduna White Paper On Zaria Massacre by Sunnyja: 3:48pm On Dec 10, 2016
The country has sunken to a level that only few people can whether you stay alive or not and you can only practice your faith if they so desired. I fear for the future of this country

Re: US State Department's Statement On Kaduna White Paper On Zaria Massacre by NairaMaster1(m): 3:50pm On Dec 10, 2016
Personal or religious splinter interest must have led to these. It's a bad name to us. Authorities must drop personal interest for the image, peace and unity of our country. Time is going.
Re: US State Department's Statement On Kaduna White Paper On Zaria Massacre by SmartMugu: 3:50pm On Dec 10, 2016
They have started again, disregarding their own issues like curruption, killings and racial discrimination in their own country. Yet they have time to talk about other sovereign countries that are not anywhere under them. Gaddafi was right afterall.
They need to fix their home first and let others worry about their internal issues.

Re: US State Department's Statement On Kaduna White Paper On Zaria Massacre by Sunnyja: 3:51pm On Dec 10, 2016
The country has sunken to a level that only few people can decide whether you stay alive or not and you can only practice your faith if they so desired. I fear for the future of this country
Re: US State Department's Statement On Kaduna White Paper On Zaria Massacre by chemicalDisease: 3:53pm On Dec 10, 2016
danjumakolo:
To the so called human right proponents...UN,USA etc.

When extremist unleash their mayhem on the society, u call it terrorism.
When govt deals with extremists,u say Human right violation.

Arent nonsense!!!!

Shatap!

Re: US State Department's Statement On Kaduna White Paper On Zaria Massacre by Myself2(m): 3:54pm On Dec 10, 2016
ShootToKill:
Strongheaded dull-harry please don't release your political prisoners. You'll have yourself to blame in the future.

Buhari cannot escape trial at The Hague and subsequent imprisonment.By January, the conniving asshole called Obama that had been protecting,aiding and abetting him will leave office and Trump doesn't give a hoot about the dullard

10 Likes 2 Shares

Re: US State Department's Statement On Kaduna White Paper On Zaria Massacre by Nobody: 3:55pm On Dec 10, 2016
What goes around comes around. lipsrsealed

Atiku Abubakar Commissions Peacock College Of Education (Photos) / Hezbollah Military Training Nigerian Shiites In Lebanon – Mei.edu / Fire Outbreak At Ayede Power Station, Akinyemi, Ibadan (Video)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 25