Stats: 3,149,972 members, 7,806,827 topics. Date: Wednesday, 24 April 2024 at 02:41 AM

UTME 2017: 8 Latest Updates Candidates Must Know Today! - Education - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Education / UTME 2017: 8 Latest Updates Candidates Must Know Today! (28285 Views)

Bayero University Kano Post-UTME 2017/2018 Aptitude Test Announced / Top 15 Most Selected Courses By Students In JAMB UTME 2017 / UTME 2017: Thread For Science Jambites (2) (3) (4)

UTME 2017: 8 Latest Updates Candidates Must Know Today! by dammy13(m): 10:36am On Feb 16, 2017
We hereby announce eight (cool latest updates from JAMB regarding the forthcoming UTME 2017 for all candidates wishing to sit for this years Unified Tertiary Examination Examination for admission into Universities, Polytechnics and Colleges of Education in Nigeria.

While many are gearing up to complete registration for UTME 2017 and prepare academically for the examinations, here are some vital updates they must keep in mind:

1. Registration has not started
It is vital that we begin with this, because many have put up posts that the registration has begun. However, in his latest discussion with the press, the JAMB registrar stated clearly that registration has not commenced , but will commence soon. UTME 2017.

Therefore, ignore any other news to the contrary as we will be breaking the news, when registration commences.

2. 1.7 million candidates are expected
In 2016, the number of candidates that registered for the exam was: 1,561,443, this year about 200,000 more people are expected.

The registrar of JAMB, Prof Ishaq Oloyede himself gave the figure while speaking with students and other bodies . This means that you need to ensure you begin registration as early as possible to get a good centre and avoid been caught in last minute rush.

3. Mock UTME to be conducted
This is also good news for those who are taking the exam for the first time as it will help them have a feel of what it is like, before the pressure of the real thing.

Plans are in place for a mock UTME and this might explain the delay in beginning the sales of the examination forms. So if you are preparing, start your preparations now, so you can do well in both the mock and the real deal.

4. CBT Centres
As the number of expected candidates has increased the board also has plans in the works for more Computer Based Testing (CBT) Centres in order to the make examination exercise far better.

Since there is only one week to satisfy, 1.7 million students, it is totally understandable that more centres will be brought into play.

5. There Will Be CCTV
Another key feature of the 2017 UTME that students need to keep in mind is that cheating and any other form of examination malpractice is really frowned upon.

To ensure this is enforced, the guideline for CBT centres include: The adoption of CCTV cameras for all of them. This means one thing, the exams will be closely monitored.

6. Technology Will Be Deployed
Also, technology will play a big role in this year’s exam. This is the type of hall to expect as a UTME 2017 candidate:

A single hall containing 250 functional desktop or laptop computer systems with extra 25 as backups.

The computers must be minimum 15 inch screens and must be connected to robust computer server with capacity to carry a minimum of 250 systems concurrently.

7. Validity Duration
Another wonderful news for students is that unlike previous years, the result they get from this year’s exam will now be valid for 3 years and not one year as it was previously. The Nigerian Senate passed the extended validity period into law on Thursday, October 13, 2016.

8. Harmony of timetables
Lastly, the organizers of the major examinations, including JAMB met to avoid a clash in schedules and in order to have a harmonized timetable. An agreement was reached at the national headquarters of the Board in Abuja on Tuesday, January 24 , after a meeting with National Examination Council (NECO), West African Examination Council (WAEC) and National Business and Technical Examination (NABTEB) to harmonize the timetable.

http://www.kikiotolu.com/2017/02/utme-2017-8-latest-updates-candidates.html

Lalasticlala Mynd44 seun Dominique

8 Likes 4 Shares

Re: UTME 2017: 8 Latest Updates Candidates Must Know Today! by Nobody: 10:53am On Feb 16, 2017
Points 5&6

Re: UTME 2017: 8 Latest Updates Candidates Must Know Today! by veekid(m): 10:53am On Feb 16, 2017
Are pple still writing jamb?

Re: UTME 2017: 8 Latest Updates Candidates Must Know Today! by mrsuccessful(m): 10:54am On Feb 16, 2017
Re: UTME 2017: 8 Latest Updates Candidates Must Know Today! by olaolulazio(m): 10:55am On Feb 16, 2017
K
Re: UTME 2017: 8 Latest Updates Candidates Must Know Today! by stevenson007: 10:55am On Feb 16, 2017
We hear

Re: UTME 2017: 8 Latest Updates Candidates Must Know Today! by morounkeji18(m): 10:56am On Feb 16, 2017
Its a good move by jamb
Re: UTME 2017: 8 Latest Updates Candidates Must Know Today! by oladapoa1(m): 10:57am On Feb 16, 2017
Oloyede... Am always fascinated about his technology initiative... UNILORIN still enjoys that
Re: UTME 2017: 8 Latest Updates Candidates Must Know Today! by mrsuccessful(m): 10:57am On Feb 16, 2017
CCTV camera for where and where?

Re: UTME 2017: 8 Latest Updates Candidates Must Know Today! by johnjay4u2u(m): 10:59am On Feb 16, 2017
God answer her prayer this year and make her wish come to pass.
Straight merit list AMEN.

Re: UTME 2017: 8 Latest Updates Candidates Must Know Today! by Maxcollins042(m): 10:59am On Feb 16, 2017
Wailers won't buy this

Re: UTME 2017: 8 Latest Updates Candidates Must Know Today! by SyberKate(f): 11:00am On Feb 16, 2017
Getting admission into the university is difficult, yes but if you don't study a good course then you will find it even more difficult when time comes to look for a job.

Seeking for a job in the time of recession can be a very difficult task, as much as we wish we could glimpse into the future, evolution hasn’t provided for such inclinations yet. So, despite obviously trustworthy predictions, it can be complicated to predict when the economy will improve.

It's important for you to try and study a course which will give you access into a Recession Proof Job >>> http://syberkart.com/blog/current-recession-proof-jobs/

Re: UTME 2017: 8 Latest Updates Candidates Must Know Today! by Laple0541(m): 11:00am On Feb 16, 2017
Thanks for the timely info.
Re: UTME 2017: 8 Latest Updates Candidates Must Know Today! by Saucekide25(m): 11:04am On Feb 16, 2017
Re: UTME 2017: 8 Latest Updates Candidates Must Know Today! by ItzHoludex(m): 11:04am On Feb 16, 2017
noted
Re: UTME 2017: 8 Latest Updates Candidates Must Know Today! by Onyejemechimere(m): 11:08am On Feb 16, 2017
Koscieny was holding Arsenal's defense the same way Okonjo Iweala was holding our economy.
He left and RECESSION came upon Arsenal

Now it's 5 (hundred naira) to 1 (dollar) Arsenal fan.. I dey airport road if you like come beat me

Re: UTME 2017: 8 Latest Updates Candidates Must Know Today! by IYANGBALI: 11:08am On Feb 16, 2017
Fabfunmi,ajepako,vickyrotex,funjosh, osusumustflow and rokiatu will you be able to cope with all these?e je lo wa ise ko
Re: UTME 2017: 8 Latest Updates Candidates Must Know Today! by Runaway: 11:08am On Feb 16, 2017
isorite. But wen r dey going to start the sales if form and wen is the exams? that is the question we are asking?
Re: UTME 2017: 8 Latest Updates Candidates Must Know Today! by StupidYorubaFool: 11:15am On Feb 16, 2017
FG should scrap jamb and re-introduce postutme. jamb is useless

Re: UTME 2017: 8 Latest Updates Candidates Must Know Today! by Nuel25846(m): 11:20am On Feb 16, 2017
undecided cry my face when I saw mock exam.
Re: UTME 2017: 8 Latest Updates Candidates Must Know Today! by Nobody: 11:28am On Feb 16, 2017
iyaffdo
Re: UTME 2017: 8 Latest Updates Candidates Must Know Today! by freddyna: 11:31am On Feb 16, 2017
Goodto hear.
Re: UTME 2017: 8 Latest Updates Candidates Must Know Today! by ibkenny2(m): 11:54am On Feb 16, 2017
how much and where are you. Can i see he picture?
Re: UTME 2017: 8 Latest Updates Candidates Must Know Today! by Nobody: 11:55am On Feb 16, 2017
SyberKate:
Getting admission into the university is difficult, yes but if you don't study a good course then you will find it even more difficult when time comes to look for a job.

Seeking for a job in the time of recession can be a very difficult task, as much as we wish we could glimpse into the future, evolution hasn’t provided for such inclinations yet. So, despite obviously trustworthy predictions, it can be complicated to predict when the economy will improve.

It's important for you to try and study a course which will give you access into a Recession Proof Job >>> http://syberkart.com/blog/current-recession-proof-jobs/
That sounds true... But there has to be a balance. What happens when you earn a high income only to spend half of that trying to buy unusually expensive household stuff due to recession...
Re: UTME 2017: 8 Latest Updates Candidates Must Know Today! by babybrace(f): 11:56am On Feb 16, 2017
Can someone who took jamb last year use the result to apply for school this year?
Re: UTME 2017: 8 Latest Updates Candidates Must Know Today! by Kolade9(m): 11:59am On Feb 16, 2017
Hope they wont do the screening bullshyte they did last year.
Bring back putme.
Re: UTME 2017: 8 Latest Updates Candidates Must Know Today! by hoover420: 12:05pm On Feb 16, 2017
please how do I print my admission letter of 2012
Re: UTME 2017: 8 Latest Updates Candidates Must Know Today! by Nobody: 12:09pm On Feb 16, 2017
hoover420:
please how do I print my admission letter of 2012

Goto www.jamb.org.ng

28 Most Published Scholars In Nigeria / My FUTO Lodge-Mate's Roommate Is A Child Trafficker / Occupy UNILAG: Students Protest MAU Renaming

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 24