Stats: 3,148,634 members, 7,801,828 topics. Date: Friday, 19 April 2024 at 12:56 AM

Is Rapping In Vernacular Whack? - Music/Radio (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Music/Radio / Is Rapping In Vernacular Whack? (2915 Views)

Ruggedman Reacts To Aq’s Calling Him Whack. / Top 5 Whack Rappers In Nigeria / Check These Whack Rappers Out (2) (3) (4)

Re: Is Rapping In Vernacular Whack? by Rhymstein(m): 1:19pm On Feb 11, 2010
And rapping in pidgin or ur local language in no way means u r keepin it real,wot r dey keeping real?a rap culture dat they dnt own,so rapping in ur local language means u r keepin 9ja rap real,dat only changes d genre,hop u knw,ragga n reggaeton r sub genre of hiphop,they r all rap influenced
Re: Is Rapping In Vernacular Whack? by dawhizkid1(m): 2:44pm On Feb 11, 2010
@Rhymestein
Ur arguement dey always dey logical until dat element of hate is added. How the hell do Ruggedman sounds American, even when he raps in English all thru, he doesn't hv an iota of American Accent, O.D, GINO, PHEROW, CARTIAIR, MI, ICE PRINCE fake American accent n Mode9 to an extent 2, I don't need to mention Iceberg Slim because na him be 'baba fake accent', Rapping in Pidgin doesn't make You Wacker neither does rapping in English or Faking accent(altho it's annoying) "My rule is, spit in WHATEVER language but make SENSE" - Ruggedman.
Re: Is Rapping In Vernacular Whack? by Rhymstein(m): 3:00pm On Feb 11, 2010
@da whizkid
How does mode9 sound american?pherow wey get aboki accent,da grin fakes accent,
Listen to mode n sauce kid n tell me if d accent resemble?, he speaks english,

All of them are guilty of using american slangs,if dats wot make em fake accent.
Re: Is Rapping In Vernacular Whack? by Genuflect(m): 3:20pm On Feb 11, 2010
Rhymestein, what are you driving at?
Re: Is Rapping In Vernacular Whack? by shotster50(m): 12:12am On Feb 12, 2010
Da Whiz na for your own i dey oooo, spit in whatever language but make sense, real talk.
Re: Is Rapping In Vernacular Whack? by Myself2(m): 10:10am On Feb 12, 2010
Who're we kiddin'?,

VERNACULAR:The language or dialect spoken by the ordinary people of a country or region.That said;

REALITY CHECK:The best rappers in the world rap in vernacular,snoop dog,KRS1,P diddy,Nas,Dr Dre,Jay Z and co all rap in their vernacular;American slang

Pitt Bull,Daddy Yanky and co rap mostly in latino

Da grin raps in Yoruba

Are you telling me,the above rappers are wack?

Let's stop all this uninformed stereotyping that makes people think that vernacular just refers to Nigerian languages(which by the way is lovely to rap in,provided the lyrics are laced with deff punchlines and delivered superbly)
Re: Is Rapping In Vernacular Whack? by HJ1(m): 11:02am On Feb 12, 2010
WHO D HELL SAID PHEROWSHUZ DOESN'T RAP IN PIDGIN? As a matter of fact dats d major medium he uses in spiitin most of his flows. It's jus dat lately he is been straight up english both on jimmy's jump off and sample wit terry. Go and listen his album "house of raps" with songs like wetin, slap pessin feat. mode, All na level, the list goes on and on. . . .so ma point is whether pidgin, french, yoruba, ibo or wuteva, u can spit ur verses across thru any of these languages . . .
Re: Is Rapping In Vernacular Whack? by Rhymstein(m): 11:11am On Feb 12, 2010
@myself
When they r mentioning rappers,do u remember daddy yankee?n y does pitbull rap in english too?
And tell me,wot language u use tey post for NL?n d language wey dem tey teach u for skul?,the language d president uses when addressin d ppl of nigeria?d lang wey u take dey toast chick?

Krs1 raps in vernacular my ass,he's no 9gerian and u understand?da grin raps in vernacular,am a nigerian,he is too n i dnt understand.

I hear they r ova 400 tribes in nigeria,n d last tym i checkd,English was our lingua franca,

I listen to 9ja rappers,they mix all,pidgin,english,local lang,thats jst enough

Same as yankee guys,rap in english n fuse their bad english they speak(slang) lyk 'is u talking to me'
Re: Is Rapping In Vernacular Whack? by godwinadoga(m): 1:26pm On Aug 27, 2017
Rap in vernacular is not wack in any way. Hip Hop Head Nigeria has actually settles the issue in this blog post

Read: 4 reasons why you should rap in Vernacular http://hiphophead.com.ng/2017/08/18/rap-in-vernacular/
Re: Is Rapping In Vernacular Whack? by Lewalexzy(m): 12:31pm On Aug 28, 2017
It's only when the rapper using vernacular to rap is not inventive with flows that it seems wack. Punchline , basically metaphors and wordplay consistently in use, I don't see why or how it would be wack. Most indigenous rapper I even respect more than most acclaimed dope heads. Take Chinko Ekun for example, the guy is just creative. It just depends if you understand their creations and language. just saying.

DOWNLOAD Illbliss – Illy Chapo X Album (Zip File & Mp3) / 2face Idibia - Nobody (remix) Ft. Sk Boys (who Did Better? M.i. Or Sk Boys ?) / Download Full Album:yemi Alade – King Ofqueens