Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,150,493 members, 7,808,826 topics. Date: Thursday, 25 April 2024 at 05:32 PM

Codeine, Nigeria's Dangerous Street Drug Epidemic - Health - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Health / Codeine, Nigeria's Dangerous Street Drug Epidemic (651 Views)

BBC: 'Sweet Sweet Codeine' - Nigeria’s Deadly Cough Syrup Epidemic Documentary / Secrets Of Nigeria’s Illicit Codeine Trade Revealed - BBC Investigation / "Student Dies After Taking Alcohol, Codeine, Tramadol & Marijuana" - Man Says (2) (3) (4)

(1) (Reply)

Codeine, Nigeria's Dangerous Street Drug Epidemic by Horus(m): 8:25am On May 01, 2018

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CG9QfEA1yfg

Nigeria's Dangerous Street Drug Epidemic

Nigeria has a new, dangerous drug problem as cheap drugs, like codeine and morphine, threaten the country's youth.

"The reason I take codeine is because of the inspiration I take from it - I'm an artist, I get inspiration for my music, I go on a trip and feel on cloud nine," explains a young Nigerian drug abuser.

Codeine is often found in cough medicine from local pharmacies, and they drug users then mix it with coke or other soda drinks for sweetness, called "Purple Drank" in American slang. The sweet taste allows the abuser to drink more.

Codeine (otherwise known as "Blunts" on the streets of Lagos), morphine, Refnol, and Tramadol belong to a class of drugs called Opiods, which are traditionally used to manage pain, but the drugs also have serious addictive qualties and are used by young men on the streets of Lagos to get high. In fact, codeine has been classified as a Schedule II drug, meaning it has a "high potential for abuse."

"I prefer codeine and smoking, I like to be on my own, it makes me feel calm," says one young Nigerian man, who does not give his name.