Stats: 3,150,449 members, 7,808,602 topics. Date: Thursday, 25 April 2024 at 02:07 PM

Fashola Blames Past Govts For Failed Roads - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Fashola Blames Past Govts For Failed Roads (529 Views)

FEC Approves 16 Power Projects As Minister Blames Past Govs For Poor Electricity / Abuja-Kano Road: Fashola Blames "Senators’ Request" For Slow Pace Of Work / EFCC Reveals How 'past Govts Spent N15b On Governors’ Security Aides’ (2) (3) (4)

Fashola Blames Past Govts For Failed Roads by Ecstasy154(m): 5:03pm On Nov 12, 2018
The Minister of Power, Works and Housing, Mr Babatunde Fashola has blamed past governments for not effectively utilising earned crude oil revenue to develop road and other infrastructures in the country.

The minister said this on Monday in Abuja while presenting a three-year scorecard of his ministry. Fielding questions on the poor road networks, Fashola admitted it saying, “Yes, we know they are bad. There is no magic to it. If those who came before us had done their work, we won’t meet bad road. That is the simple truth. We earned $100 per barrel of crude oil for about five years.

“We knew what other countries like Abu Dhabi (UAE), Saudi Arabia did with their own, what did we do with ours? So this is a President and a government that is now trying to do more with less that it has. So give us some time, we will get there,” Fashola said.

The minister said the federal government is executing road projects across every state especially abandoned projects like the Lagos – Ibadan expressway, the second Niger bridge, Enugu- Port Harcourt road, Jebba-Mokwa way among others that have drastically cut down travel time.

The ministry also gave statistics of road projects in the last three years. It said in 2016, 277 kilometres of road was constructed, 345km was rehabilitated and 17,749 people were employed in the process.

For 2017, the federal government constructed 488 roads, rehabilitated 256 others and engaged 31,227 persons. For 2018 till November, 497 km of road has been constructed, 284 rehabilitated and 30,402 persons employed; the figure could rise during December due to more rehabilitation projects nationwide, officials said.

Expantiating on this, the Permanent Secretary (Works and Housing), Mr Mohammed Bukar said there have been award of 365 roads for construction since 2001. He said the Buhari government awarded 121 of these in three years while the previous government awarded 144 others in the whole of 17 years.

“You will see that out of the 365 roads, 144 were awarded in the period of 17 years while in just three years, we awarded 121 roads, just within three years and we are still counting because the 2018 procurement is on-going,” Bukar noted.

https://www.dailytrust.com.ng/fashola-blames-past-govts-for-failed-roads.html

Re: Fashola Blames Past Govts For Failed Roads by Pusyiter(m): 5:06pm On Nov 12, 2018
Keep the blame-game.
Even if we give you PDP 16yrs, the blame game will not end
No man ever moves forward looking backward undecided

Re: Fashola Blames Past Govts For Failed Roads by AJOBI77(m): 5:07pm On Nov 12, 2018
Blame game pro

Re: Fashola Blames Past Govts For Failed Roads by Inspectorsuga22(m): 5:10pm On Nov 12, 2018
Look at this unchangeable imbe¢ile....u guys promised to change everything that have gone wrong so deliver or accept ur incompetence

Re: Fashola Blames Past Govts For Failed Roads by Racoon(m): 5:15pm On Nov 12, 2018
Even after acknowledging that the Jonathan govt.built more roads than any other in history, yet it didn't stopped Fashola from blaming the ineptitude of the APC regime on its predecessors.

This is just how sorry and useless they've become.To provide good roads and electricity are now rocket science.Over-hyped wonder man.

Re: Fashola Blames Past Govts For Failed Roads by Riteness: 5:53pm On Nov 12, 2018
Ecstasy154:
The Minister of Power, Works and Housing, Mr Babatunde Fashola has blamed past governments for not effectively utilising earned crude oil revenue to develop road and other infrastructures in the country.

The minister said this on Monday in Abuja while presenting a three-year scorecard of his ministry. Fielding questions on the poor road networks, Fashola admitted it saying, “Yes, we know they are bad. There is no magic to it. If those who came before us had done their work, we won’t meet bad road. That is the simple truth. We earned $100 per barrel of crude oil for about five years.

“We knew what other countries like Abu Dhabi (UAE), Saudi Arabia did with their own, what did we do with ours? So this is a President and a government that is now trying to do more with less that it has. So give us some time, we will get there,” Fashola said.

The minister said the federal government is executing road projects across every state especially abandoned projects like the Lagos – Ibadan expressway, the second Niger bridge, Enugu- Port Harcourt road, Jebba-Mokwa way among others that have drastically cut down travel time.

The ministry also gave statistics of road projects in the last three years. It said in 2016, 277 kilometres of road was constructed, 345km was rehabilitated and 17,749 people were employed in the process.

For 2017, the federal government constructed 488 roads, rehabilitated 256 others and engaged 31,227 persons. For 2018 till November, 497 km of road has been constructed, 284 rehabilitated and 30,402 persons employed; the figure could rise during December due to more rehabilitation projects nationwide, officials said.

Expantiating on this, the Permanent Secretary (Works and Housing), Mr Mohammed Bukar said there have been award of 365 roads for construction since 2001. He said the Buhari government awarded 121 of these in three years while the previous government awarded 144 others in the whole of 17 years.

“You will see that out of the 365 roads, 144 were awarded in the period of 17 years while in just three years, we awarded 121 roads, just within three years and we are still counting because the 2018 procurement is on-going,” Bukar noted.

https://www.dailytrust.com.ng/fashola-blames-past-govts-for-failed-roads.html

So who do we blame for failed Lagos road

Re: Fashola Blames Past Govts For Failed Roads by obonujoker(m): 6:26pm On Nov 12, 2018
Then I also blame you for all the bad roads in Lagos State inherited by Ambode...
Re: Fashola Blames Past Govts For Failed Roads by uboma(m): 6:43pm On Nov 12, 2018
APC and their unending blame game.

Fashola has lost it in his political career.
Re: Fashola Blames Past Govts For Failed Roads by Kenekingisback: 6:44pm On Nov 12, 2018
Fashola, APC PhD in Blame Game grin
Re: Fashola Blames Past Govts For Failed Roads by surgical: 6:51pm On Nov 12, 2018
uboma:

it is the only thing they have, they must cling to it ,no achievements to showcase and they must say something to retain their position, therefore lieing and blame game come handy to them, They are very empty that is the truth
Re: Fashola Blames Past Govts For Failed Roads by surgical: 6:52pm On Nov 12, 2018
uboma:

it is the only thing they have, they must cling to it ,no achievemtents to showcase and they must say something to retain their position, therefore lieing and blame game come handy to them, They are very empty that is the truth
Re: Fashola Blames Past Govts For Failed Roads by slimfit1(m): 6:55pm On Nov 12, 2018
If he carries on with this blame game he is just going to embarrass himself. Just carry on with your work please respect your self.
Let me give you a lesson just in case you don't know, by now we should have a solar factory popping up everywhere, solar farms. Small rivers should be powering our towns by now. Useless man tell us what we don't know.
Re: Fashola Blames Past Govts For Failed Roads by alizma: 6:57pm On Nov 12, 2018
honorable minister, Pls keep the good work going. well meaning Nigerians know that if only previous government have put national interest as their focus, we wouldn't be where we are today. those who don't like to hear about their history, hardly set goal for the future.
Re: Fashola Blames Past Govts For Failed Roads by hodari: 6:57pm On Nov 12, 2018
Face your work yeye man mr "rocket science" tongue
Re: Fashola Blames Past Govts For Failed Roads by porka: 8:58pm On Nov 12, 2018
In another news:

Lagos-Ibadan express road to be completed in 2021

Apc Candidates Disgraces Pdp With Huge Difference In Vote At Kwara, And Katsina / Heed Buhari’s Warning Or Risk Exposing Yourselves, Sagay Tells APC Leadership / Do Nigerians Actually Know What Cloning Is?