Stats: 3,148,866 members, 7,802,785 topics. Date: Friday, 19 April 2024 at 09:32 PM

Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell - Celebrities - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Celebrities / Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell (30863 Views)

Linda Osifo: I Tried Surgery To Remove My Tribal Marks (Photo) / Ebun Oloyede 'Olaiya Igwe': My Tribal Marks, My Only Regret In Life / Funke Adesiyan: "How My Tribal Marks Greatly Affected My Self-Esteem" (2) (3) (4)

Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell by Gistformant: 5:41am On Nov 24, 2018
The name Ebun Oloyede might not readily ring a bell but once the pseudonym, Igwe Olaiya is mentioned, then a popular Yoruba actor with tribal marks comes to mind.

In an interview with Saturday Beats, the actor described his tribal marks as a problem for him, adding that he was glad he was not a professional footballer.

“These tribal marks happen to be a problem. As you are looking at me, I do not have the privilege to be a footballer but if I were one, I would not have been able to play professionally because of these tribal marks. They would believe that you had surgery and you would be banned from playing. Our parents thought it was part of our culture but it was an uncivilised act. What they did was not something good.

“They believed that with the marks on my face, people would be able to identify my lineage but they were fooling themselves. How would they have known if my father had sex with his housemaid and she gave birth to me but his wife decided not to make a fuss about it? Yet people would believe that I am from that lineage. Tribal marks are not a DNA, many people might not agree with me but I know what I am talking about. However, there is nothing I can do about it,” he said.

He, however, added that he had grown used to the marks but vowed never to give his children any tribal marks.

He said, “I travel abroad but I cannot go and do surgery to remove them. In fact, when I started travelling abroad, I saw a lot of people with more visible tribal marks than I have. I do not see it as a big deal anymore but I can never put it on my children’s face because of what I went through.”

BY GISTMORE.COM >> http://gistmore.com/tribal-marks-gave-hell-actor-olaiya

Re: Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell by Gistformant: 5:42am On Nov 24, 2018

Re: Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell by Praizenews: 5:46am On Nov 24, 2018
cheesy wink

Re: Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell by Youngbbt: 5:55am On Nov 24, 2018
the white man is gradually wiping away our culture

Re: Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell by Mrop(m): 6:28am On Nov 24, 2018

Re: Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell by iGISTMORE: 12:02pm On Nov 24, 2018
embarassed

Re: Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell by Nobody: 12:03pm On Nov 24, 2018
Odunlade the meme lord don pursue them this one comot for the industry baba go dey push coco on the low

Re: Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell by Ololanla: 12:03pm On Nov 24, 2018
This man ehn
Re: Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell by OkoyeA1(m): 12:04pm On Nov 24, 2018
Re: Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell by Wahala90: 12:04pm On Nov 24, 2018
Vote Atiku!

Re: Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell by sarrki(m): 12:05pm On Nov 24, 2018
Congrats
Re: Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell by potterdon: 12:05pm On Nov 24, 2018
U mean like this

25 Likes 1 Share

Re: Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell by BuildingEngr: 12:05pm On Nov 24, 2018
Re: Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell by Nobody: 12:05pm On Nov 24, 2018
But now giving you heads...

up for opportunities.
Re: Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell by Starboytwo(m): 12:05pm On Nov 24, 2018
The oga kpatapkata of them all...Tuale sir....
This man is damn so good.....if this man act wahrah for you you go foh.....IGWE BOSS

10 Likes 1 Share

Re: Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell by tenmariner: 12:06pm On Nov 24, 2018
Very funny man

Re: Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell by NwaOhafia: 12:06pm On Nov 24, 2018
If he sound so bitter like this, then what ll a Gogobiri say.
Picture of a goburawa man below

Re: Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell by mytime24(f): 12:07pm On Nov 24, 2018
Y do sme men bleach their skin undecided angry

Re: Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell by Nobody: 12:08pm On Nov 24, 2018
grin grin grin grin Tribal mark is barbaric.
It was a fashion statement in olden days because they celebrate uncivilized fuuckery then, so we can't blame the ancient ancestors. Every ancient African tribe has it's own wack fashion custom then.
Except that any parent who practice defacing a kid now should be charged with child abuse. Enough of the stone age tradition.

Re: Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell by Nobody: 12:09pm On Nov 24, 2018
Always in the Yoruba classics. Clown extraordinaire

Re: Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell by izzy4shizzy(m): 12:09pm On Nov 24, 2018
Ah ah! Where the tribal msrk
Re: Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell by IbrahimDamola: 12:09pm On Nov 24, 2018
Lmao!
Baba oko'la.

Re: Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell by Nobody: 12:09pm On Nov 24, 2018
You gotta love this man's playful attitude

It's always cool to laugh at oneself once in a while...

Re: Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell by etrader(m): 12:10pm On Nov 24, 2018
You can't do nothing to it...Thank God the idea has been reduced drastically.....olaiya take heart
Re: Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell by BABANGBALI: 12:10pm On Nov 24, 2018
Forget about the tribal marks and stop bleaching like a woman

Re: Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell by magiki(m): 12:10pm On Nov 24, 2018
OK

Re: Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell by patogist: 12:11pm On Nov 24, 2018
Youngbbt:

You don't have sense.. Am very sure you don't have a tribal mark... I know what this people are going through. Person like me can't even date any gal with it

Re: Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell by redpencil: 12:13pm On Nov 24, 2018
Tribal mark is cultural. It has nothing to do with how life treats you.

Re: Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell by femi4: 12:15pm On Nov 24, 2018
Youngbbt:
Don't be dogmatic, our culture is not perfect. Neither is theirs

Re: Ebun Oloyede: My Tribal Marks Gave Me Hell by Nobody: 12:20pm On Nov 24, 2018
patogist:

You don't have sense.. Am very sure you don't have a tribal mark... I know what this people are going through. Person like me can't even date any gal with it
why? I don't think tribal mark can hinder ur dating life.

#10YearsChallenge: Anita Joseph Shares Throwback Photos / Dorcas Fapson Celebrates Her 28th Birthday With Chic Photos / Checkout Denrele's Outfit To Miss Grand Nigeria 2015 Pageant(photos)