Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,149,866 members, 7,806,460 topics. Date: Tuesday, 23 April 2024 at 04:51 PM

What The Law Says On CJN Issue. - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / What The Law Says On CJN Issue. (435 Views)

Tinubu May Appoint Ahmed Raji As Attorney General On Cjn’s Recommendation, Group / MURIC Reacts To NJC’s Decision On CJN, Onnoghen / Presidency Replies EU, UK And US On CJN's Suspension (Full Statement) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (Reply) (Go Down)

What The Law Says On CJN Issue. by siraj1402(m): 8:09am On Jan 30, 2019
If you are in doubt whether the CJN was lawful suspended. Please read this article by prof of law and also prof of political science: Prof Majeed Alabi, formal speaker of Pain State house of Assembly.

I am an apostle of legislative independence and autonomy in all ramifications. I studied it, taught it, fought for it and worked hard to make it real. I'm still doing these and will continue to do so. You all know where I stood and remain on this matter of separation of powers. While I do not subscribe to reckless executive powers, I don't equally give in to indolence, connivance or docility on the part of other arms of government in a period of great constitutional crisis like this.
Let us examine the scenario: Yes, the legislature (Senate) must approve a removal by a two-thirds majority votes, but where the Senate failed, refused or neglected to activate the process despite admission of error by the CJN, what happens? There, indeed, lies a lacuna, a serious one for that matter. What I expected my learned brothers, including the SANs and the NBA leadership, to have done was to advise the CJN to step aside in order not to offend the key principle of fair hearing (Nemo dat judex in causa sua - don't be a judge in your own cause).