Welcome, Guest: Join Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 2,425,272 members, 5,443,683 topics. Date: Wednesday, 26 February 2020 at 09:37 PM

CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) (7552 Views)

Jonathan’s Foster Father, Inegite, Kidnapped / Zenith Bank PLC Brokered $125million Deal For Jonathan On Behalf Of Dan Etete / Lawal Dan Gashua: The Good Baker Who's The Breadwinner To Refugee Kids (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (Reply) (Go Down)

CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by Mobinga: 4:47am On Sep 01, 2010
When yes means maybe: Doing business in Nigeria

CNN: STORY HIGHLIGHTS

Dean Foster is the author of "The Global Etiquette Guide to Africa"

Foster believes the key to success in Nigeria depends on your contacts and commitment

Providing a tip or "dash" for services, including the processing of official documents, is normal

London, England (CNN) -- In a business culture where negotiations are fluid and what's agreed on Monday might not necessary mean the same thing on Tuesday, how do you get the job done?

It's a challenge some foreigners encounter when doing business in Nigeria.

However, things don't have to be difficult explains Dean Foster, president of the cross-cultural training company Dean Foster Associates and author of "The Global Etiquette Guide to Africa."

According to Foster, as long as you understand the cultural etiquette, doing business in Nigeria can offer vast opportunities. But, he says, success comes down two key factors: contacts and commitment.

"The bottom line is that you cannot expect to go into Nigeria, make the deal, turn around, walk out and expect things to go as planned," Foster told CNN.

You'll build friendships and relationships that will last a life

--Dean Foster, author of "The Global Etiquette Guide to Africa."

"If you're committed to business in Nigeria you have to know that you're entering an environment that requires your constant attention and constant renegotiation. Adaptability and flexibility on your part is key," he continued.

Knowing the right person is also fundamental, according to Foster, who says personal relationships are often more important than regulations and laws. It's something, he warns, many outsiders may feel uncomfortable with.

"You have to be wary of the old tradition of 'dash,' which in Nigeria essentially means putting money in the hands of an individual," he said.

"It is of course in many respects illegal, but it is still quite a common convention. And the degree to which you, as a business person, want to co-operate with this will determine to a great degree the success you have in Nigeria."

But despite the challenges, Foster is adamant business in Nigeria can be a rewarding experience -- and not just financially.

"The people are fantastic -- you realize that the social networks and relationships you put so some much energy and time into, are in fact is part of the great reward. You'll build friendships and relationships that will last a life," he told CNN.

Dean Foster's top five tips for doing business in Nigeria.

1. Agreeing with people is considered to be a sign of respect. Nigerians generally say "yes" to a request because their respect for you does not allow them to say "no."

2. Among traditional Nigerian business people, an appointment is rarely private. Try not to be irritated if your meeting is interrupted by phone calls and/or visits from your client's friends and family.

3. Do not eat everything on your plate; leaving some food is a signal that you have had enough. If you clean your plate, you are indicating that you
want more food.

4. Nigerians tend to stand close to each other while speaking. If you are uncomfortable conversing at this distance, try to refrain from backing up.

5. Nigerians are good bargainers, and you should expect to bargain and compromise in the marketplace and at the negotiating table.

http://edition.cnn.com/2010/BUSINESS/08/31/business.etiquette.nigeria/index.html

Comments in the Cnn Forum

sweet03 I personally will not do business in Nigeria again, i dont believe them and they r not worth the hassle. THey are sweet talkers, so do not try it.

Indykid Is there any Nigerians in this forum If so , put your wallet in your front pocket. just sayin,   angry angry

heo9542 [/b]Doing business in Nigeria, thats a good idea. I get emails for it all the time and they seem trustworthy to me. I cant even tell you how many millions of dollars I have waiting for me in escrow over there.  [b]This guy neva jam  grin grin
Re: CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by DisGuy: 4:57am On Sep 01, 2010
According to Foster, as long as you understand the cultural etiquette, doing business in Nigeria can offer vast opportunities. But, he says, success comes down two key factors: contacts and commitment.


Foster is adamant business in Nigeria can be a rewarding experience -- and not just financially.
"The people are fantastic -- you realize that the social networks and relationships you put so some much energy and time into, are in fact is part of the great reward. You'll build friendships and relationships that will last a life," he told CNN.


so whats bad about this article, look at the glowing compliments  grin
Re: CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by DisGuy: 4:59am On Sep 01, 2010
1. Agreeing with people is considered to be a sign of respect. Nigerians generally say "yes" to a request because their respect for you does not allow them to say "no."

this is a solution to all those fights on Nairaland, everyone should just agree and say yes sir yes ma! simples!
Re: CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by gozzilla(m): 8:35am On Sep 01, 2010
I am still trying to pick out the the bad in this article.
Re: CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by calyx: 8:57am On Sep 01, 2010
99% of the content of this article is true and well informed.
Re: CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by CareTaker1(m): 9:29am On Sep 01, 2010
The man is a ''been to''

Those are the attitudes Nigerians have that we are going to change for the better.




http://groups.yahoo.com/group/GodBlessNigeria
Re: CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by deor03(m): 9:38am On Sep 01, 2010
gozzilla:

I am still trying to pick out the the bad in this article.

Me too !

calyx:

99% of the content of this article is true and well informed.
Also, True !
Re: CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by PapaBrowne(m): 9:39am On Sep 01, 2010
Very accurate article!!! The guys knows so well!!
Re: CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by jba203: 10:08am On Sep 01, 2010
The bright side of the article is that, it paints a picture that doing business in Nigeria can potetially pay dividends. However, 90% of the article shows Nigeria's volatility in establishing a working sytem. It is also written as an arlet to those who may wish to do business over there. It talks about contacts and commitment: that in stable economies cannot serve as a determinant for good business.
Re: CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by ziga: 10:50am On Sep 01, 2010
@OP

I don't agree with you that the article painted Nigeria black. The writer is obviously someone who has done some real research on Nigeria because he actually presented the facts as they are.

He gave the positives and negatives, and he tried to rationalize the reasons for it and he was not in anyway sarcastic about his remarks. This is unlike some other reports that i've seen that look like they were written from the seat of a plane.

This report is a very honest evaluation of the situation on ground. Thanks to the reporter for being factual.
Re: CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by Mobinga: 11:08am On Sep 01, 2010
Hehehe!! Oya let me modify the topic
Re: CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by goldplated(m): 7:54pm On Sep 01, 2010
A wonderful tribute!
Re: CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by Nobody: 3:53pm On Sep 02, 2010
he's sure right.he's bin in nigeria 4 over 10 yrs,so he shud know wot livin n doing buisness in nigeria entails especially doing business in lagos.we have a lotta cultural influences wen doing business n foreign counterparts who arent aware of dis may experience cultural shock lipsrsealed lipsrsealed lipsrsealed lipsrsealed
Re: CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by Ranoscky(m): 4:14pm On Sep 02, 2010
Pls, i'll lyk to know if Dan Foster is back in nigeria, any1 to help me out with d answer? undecided
Re: CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by nanidee(f): 4:28pm On Sep 02, 2010
@ poster, Dan Foster, or Dean Foster?, undecided undecided undecided
Re: CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by bones1(m): 4:31pm On Sep 02, 2010
Article is an accurate and non biased account of Nigeria
Re: CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by agitator: 5:00pm On Sep 02, 2010
Perfect analysis cool
Re: CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by matiltomd(f): 5:23pm On Sep 02, 2010
I'm confused in here o! Dan Foster the OAP or Dean Foster?
Re: CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by ayex0001: 5:33pm On Sep 02, 2010
Maybe he wanted to say Usman Dan vodio, lol
Re: CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by xtremeidea(m): 5:38pm On Sep 02, 2010
Dan Foster has written a book? woooooooooow shocked shocked shocked shocked
Re: CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by Tokotaya: 5:41pm On Sep 02, 2010
It's an error by the OP. This is about a different Dan, from the OAP
Re: CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by chosen04(f): 6:57pm On Sep 02, 2010
Tokotaya:

It's an error by the OP. This is about a different Dan, from the OAP

Are you serious?
Re: CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by JUO(m): 7:48pm On Sep 02, 2010
this guy don drink nija water
Re: CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by blakduches: 8:17pm On Sep 02, 2010
A true depiction of the nigerian system.
Re: CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by oladayo042: 8:20pm On Sep 02, 2010
Factual truth abt Naija.
3. Do not eat everything on your plate; leaving some food is a signal that you have had enough. If you clean your plate, you are indicating that you want more food.  shocked shocked
Re: CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by rebranded(m): 9:28pm On Sep 02, 2010
I see Dean Foster NOT Dan Foster pls change the heading its misleading!
Re: CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by Nymphnode(m): 11:45pm On Sep 02, 2010
The dark dude is a presenter, Inspiration FM Lagos the other is a US based writer he wrote Global Etiquette Guide to Africa and the Middle East

Re: CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by DisGuy: 1:47am On Sep 03, 2010
4. Nigerians tend to stand close to each other while speaking. If you are uncomfortable conversing at this distance, try to refrain from backing up.

so why do we still talk like we have loudspeakers in our mouth??
Re: CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by shilling(f): 7:02am On Sep 03, 2010
Dis Guy:

so why do we still talk like we have loudspeakers in our mouth??

I was also wondering about that. I've never noticed that about Nigerians whenever I visit - standing so close. I feel super-uncomfortable when a person does that.
Re: CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by rasputinn(m): 7:22am On Sep 03, 2010
The day a man as unserious as Dan Foster(sorry Dan,but you know what I mean)writes a book about doing business anywhere,,,,,,,, ,,,,.,.,.,.,
Re: CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by agitator: 7:44am On Sep 03, 2010
MTN knew about this and they are the greatest in africa, vodacom didn't and they lost
Julius Berger also towed this line, and some new foreign construction companies are following their footsteps. cool
Re: CNN: Doing Business In Nigeria (Review Of Dan Foster's Book) by Jakumo(m): 7:54am On Sep 03, 2010
shilling:

I was also wondering about that. I've never noticed that about Nigerians whenever I visit - standing so close. I feel super-uncomfortable when a person does that.

Please don't feel uncomfortable, since a true Nigerian conversation is not in progress until you can SMELL the breath and body odor of the person invading your personal space, and feel your ears ringing from the glass-breaking volume of their speech.

(1) (2) (Reply)

President Buhari Reconstitutes Executive Management Of River Basins / 2019: INEC Lacks The Capacity To Conduct Credibile Polls - Governor Wike / Meet The Next Efcc Chairman: Buhari Is Child's Play Compared To This Man

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2020 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 309
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.