Stats: 3,150,284 members, 7,807,960 topics. Date: Thursday, 25 April 2024 at 12:02 AM

Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic (33928 Views)

Sunday Igboho's Bank Accounts Frozen, Rejects Award By Yoruba Youths / Apc’s Direct Primary Ploy By Buhari To Rig 2019 Elections, PDP Alleges / How Tinubu, Oshiomhole And Balarabe Musa Stopped My Defection - Shehu Sani (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (Reply) (Go Down)

Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by Sunky200: 10:19am On Jan 19, 2020
Amotekun ploy to declare Oduduwa Republic –Balarabe Musa, ex-Kaduna governor
…Urges FG, Nigerians to shoot it down

Former civilian governor of old Kaduna State, Alhaji Abdulkadir Balarabe Musa, has launched a virulent attack on the six governors of the Southwest for establishing the Western Nigeria Security Network, known as Operation Amotekun.

The former governor cautioned the Federal Government and Nigerians not to allow the establishment of Amotekun to stand, but to be openly distrustful of the project, saying it was a ploy to secure Yoruba land and a prelude to the declaration of Oduduwa Republic.

In an exclusive interview with Sunday Sun at the weekend, Musa described the outfit as illegal, explaining that some of the security components of the outfit like the Oodua Peoples Congress, OPC, have records of recklessness in terms of securing the lives and property of non-Yoruba.

He said that comments that the Hisbah and the Civilian JTF operating in the northern part of the country were unfounded as both groups are legal having gone through the scrutiny of the police, army and legal processes. He described Afenifere, one of the supporters of the Amotekun project, as a group made up of people with secessionist agenda. Excerpts:

The Western Nigeria Security Network recently launched by the six governors of the Southwest states also known as Amotekun has suddenly become a challenging hypothesis to some Nigerians. What is your thinking about this security network?

First of all, taking into account what happened in the history of Nigeria, this Amotekun will lead to a declaration of Oduduwa Republic. Look at the composition of those who constitute the organization in addition to the six state governors. There is also the OPC, Afenifere, and others. So, the fear is quite obvious. And this is in spite of the fact that this government is incompetent. Definitely, this government is incompetent. And it is because of the incompetence of this government that this problem has arisen. But let us also not forget that this Federal Government is an alliance between the North and the Southwest. So, why should this happen? Any correction in the set up of the country is possible if this alliance, which controls government in the country can do its work.

In other words, you agree with the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of the Federation that Amotekun is illegal.

Oh yes! It is illegal because it contravenes the provisions of the law in the constitution. And unfortunately for them in spite of the intellectual aura of the elite class in the Southwest they couldn’t be articulate because they could have been articulate like the Kano State did in the case of Hisbah. They went through the State House of Assembly. Now, if this Amotekun had been taken through the six state Houses of Assembly before it was formed you could say they have a case in the sense that the state Houses of Assembly are in charge of law making. Secondly, the governor of each state is the chief security officer of his state. So, if you combine this two and enact a law allowing for the formation of Amotekun, they would have gotten it right. But in spite of their articulation they failed to do so, which means it must be deliberate that what they are concerned exactly is an Oduduwa State.

In a situation where they have a serious security challenge in their states what would you have advised them to do?

Well, in the first place the security situation in the Southwest is not more than it is in other parts of the country, particularly in the Northwest. Even yesterday (last Wednesday) there was the report of the Emir of Potiskum almost losing his life between Kaduna and Zaria as a result of attacks by bandits. Many lives were lost and people were affected. Now, this is the situation in the whole country not only in the Southwest. Now, what they ought to have done in the interest of humanity and national unity is to use their power in government since this is an alliance between their region and the North, to bring about laws, which will make the police more relevant and more powerful. At the moment, the police are not. It is under staffed and they suffer the same thing as other institutions in the country. But then with their power as partners in government they can make the Federal Government to stand and make the police to do their work so much so that we will not have a situation where everybody will be helping himself. For instance, they can use the Amotekun to strengthen the police or better still use their power to see that the Federal Government and Buhari do the right thing. And this annoys everybody. It annoys all of us. The Federal Government is not doing the right thing and it is because they are not doing the right thing that there is this factionalisation. Let them use their political power to make sure the Federal Government does the right thing.

What would you say to those who are pointing fingers at the Civilian JTF in Borno and Yobe states, which is also not a product of legislation from their state Houses of Assembly?

If you look at their modus operandi they are actually supported by the police and even the army and the state government there.

Why won’t the police and the army support Amotekun in the Southwest since their governors are in support?

Let them work for it. Let them do the same thing that Kano State did in the case of Hisbah. Let them do it. Better still, let them use their political power and I repeat this government is an alliance between them and the North.

Even if we leave the Hisbah case which is a product of legislation from the Kano State House of Assembly as you would want the Southwest governors to do what of the Civilian JTF members operating without legislation with support from the police and army and are armed? Is the Civilian JTF legal?

They are actually working as an arm of the police, the army and the state governments.

But does that make it a legally constituted body as you would want Amotekun to be?

Well, we have to take it as such. It could be, but at least the three are working together and it will not lead to anarchy like Amotekunwill lead to anarchy.

Is something not wrong somewhere if Amotekun will lead to anarchy and the operations of Hisbah and the Civilian JTF will not?

No, because there is no basis for Amotekun at all and we have the history. We know what eventually led to the 1966 coup when the Southwestern separatists and the northern dominance had a clash of interests. It is the problems between them that caused the 1966 coup that eventually led to the civil war.

Is Hisbah in Kano State legal?

It is legal in the sense that, according to reports, the state House of Assembly passed a law to that effect. Yes. The issue is, does it contravene the provisions of the constitution? That is it. We have to find out. But in the case of Amotekun, clearly, it is illegal and it reminds us of our ugly past, the wild, wild, West.

Concretely, your reference to the wild, wild, West is historical and therefore…

(Cuts in) Yes, it is historical…

(Cuts in) Therefore, the implication of all you have said is that the Federal Government should be wary of Amotekun because it would lead to the creation of Oduduwa Republic. Would that be so?

Not only the Federal Government. All Nigerians should be careful because we all know the history of Nigeria. For example, there is evidence or rather strong indication that before the coup in Nigeria after Aburi, the stand of the West was that if the East goes, the West will follow. Of course, it happened the East went and declared Biafra, but the West didn’t follow. But events showed that historically, the reigning elite in both the Southeast and the Southwest had an agreement that because they couldn’t tolerate the dominance of the North and because of the situation now and the self help attitude of the elite class in the Southwest the impression is that their old idea, the original idea with the Southeast was that they will leave Nigeria, and I do not know for what, that idea is still there.

What are the indications? What are the attitudes of both the Southwest and Southeast elite that have drawn your attention to what you have just said?

It is that with this Amotekun now, the impression is that they want to secede because all they need to do is that as a result of the announcement of Amotekun since there is no agreement with the rest of Nigerians if the Federal Government doesn’t do the right thing and the right thing, of course is that the government should be competent to implement policies that will unite Nigeria. It appears that now is not possible. So, with this definitely there is the fear that after Amotekun there will be a declaration of Oduduwa State. Pure and simple.

How would a mere security network that would concern itself with intelligence gathering lead to the declaration of Oduduwa Republic? The governors have said they will not arm members of the outfit.

They may say so, but it is only a few people that are saying they would not be armed. A few of them said so, but not all. But if they are really not after Oduduwa Republic why not do what Kano State did in the case of Hisbah? The Lagos State government did the same thing by going to the State House of Assembly to pass a law. Why can’t they do that? Instead they are resorting to self-help and involving people whose positions are very well known as far as the unity of Nigeria is concerned. I mean what did OPC do when it was established? They were arresting anybody in the Southwest who was not Yoruba. This was what OPC was doing and OPC now is very well entrenched and strong in Amotekun. Everybody also knows that Afenifere like the Northern Forum has a secessionist tendency. And Afenifere is in Amotekun.

Afenifere is not a constituent part of Amotekun. It merely supported the idea.

As far as we are concerned Afenifere and Northern Elders Forum are secessionists.

You have always made reference to “we” when you take certain positions. Who are the “we” in this case?

That is we progressives. And these progressives come from the North, the East, the West and South-south. We are the products of the Aminu Kano, Azikiwe and Awolowo.

Why are you now having fears when you have people of like minds across Nigeria?

This is because the true progressives have been decimated. You now have only few progressives. For instance, you can rely on Falana to stand on the position of a united Nigeria.

But Falana is also supporting Amotekun?

Yes, obviously he is, but we should make him understand. We can talk to him and make him understand.

What will be your reply to those who are saying that governors have no business consulting the Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice before coming up with the idea of how best to secure their states or regions?

That is wrong. We wouldn’t have a country if governors will not be concerned with the Attorney General of the Federation, when they will not consult with the Attorney General. No. They are taking a legal step and if it is legal they should consult the Attorney General of the Federation.

Did those that established Hisbah and the Civilian JTF consult the Attorney General of the Federation since you said both bodies are legal?

That is the disappointment I have with these western elite. They seem to be educated, but not informed. Even if they are informed they are not committed. Look Civilian JTF is a creation of unity of purpose between the police, the army and the state governments. Yes. All these other ones want is to start trouble and have what they want. And remember wetie has been identified with the Southwest. These are people who get involved with self-help before we came to wild, wild, west.

The people are saying on Amotekun they stand. What would you advise them to do if they must have their way?

Then, the Biafra people said on Biafra we stand. This people are also now saying on Amotekun we stand, which means on Oduduwa Republic we stand. That is how we are going to look at it. What I will advise them to do if they want to do like Kano State did with Hisbah, let them work with the police, the army, the Federal Ministry of Justice and work out something. Even better still, let them work with their state Houses of Assembly and come out with something.

https://www.sunnewsonline.com/amotekun-ploy-to-declare-oduduwa-republic-balarabe-musa-ex-kaduna-governor/

6 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by EzeCanada: 10:27am On Jan 19, 2020
Omotuken this. Omotuken that. Omotuken here. Omotuken there. Omotuken up. Omotuken down.
Who is this Omotuken if I may ask? shocked

21 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by Marine54(m): 10:27am On Jan 19, 2020
THE FEDERAL IS ALLIANCE B/W NORTH AND SOUTHWEST.... SE AND SS has no business supporting The so called amotekun, because the southwest brought this mess upon themself. I could remember vividly, in 2015 how the shouting, sai baba to spite the igbos and the southsouth. And 2019 4+4... Now why trying to shield themself from the evil they deliberately brought upon us...

157 Likes 19 Shares

Re: Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by austinsmat(m): 10:29am On Jan 19, 2020
When your brother buhari was busy appointing only northerners you all goes mute. Southerners are wise now.

232 Likes 15 Shares

Re: Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by Ereolamide: 10:30am On Jan 19, 2020
Why are these northerners jittery?

259 Likes 15 Shares

Re: Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by Spiritmask: 10:30am On Jan 19, 2020
ok

Re: Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by jantofubu(m): 10:31am On Jan 19, 2020
EzeCanada:
Omotuken this. Omotuken that. Omotuken here. Omotuken there. Who is this Omotuken if I may ask?

Amotekun is yoruba name for a cheetah( according to the emblem)
Due to its swiftness, agility and perceptive ability, a coalition of south west governors formed a security outfit to battle the menace of banditry, herdsmen destroying people's farm, kidnapping etc

But you see these Northern touts shouting think Yoruba people are as wicked as they are, so they are tagging the operation amotekun all sort of names they deem fit for it.

They want to be in control of every region, and do anything they like without being questioned...

The north have sharia law the south didn't oppose
The north have hisbah police the south didn't oppose
The north have civilian jtf carrying ak47 among other sophisticated weapons, the south didn't complain

Now just operation amotekun from the south, they are crying like demented fools... The fact that they are apprehensive will make this amotekun a success at all cost...

364 Likes 26 Shares

Re: Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by crownwealth: 10:33am On Jan 19, 2020
Chai Barber!

Re: Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by Sunky200: 10:39am On Jan 19, 2020
improve security around your home will definitely make the thieves angry
see them running their mouth anyhow with no logical and rational points

166 Likes 10 Shares

Re: Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by EzeCanada: 10:40am On Jan 19, 2020
jantofubu:

Amotekun is yoruba name for a cheetah

I don't think so. If Omotuken stands for Cheetah, What is Etan in Yoruba then?

Please can anyone tell me who this Omotuken really is?

Re: Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by scribble: 10:43am On Jan 19, 2020
Did Buhari look at constitution and federal character when appointing dull abo.kis in all sensitive position in the country

75 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by Nobody: 10:43am On Jan 19, 2020
Why would anyone be against securing lives and property?...

34 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by Nobody: 10:44am On Jan 19, 2020
Marine54:
THE FEDERAL IS ALLIANCE B/W NORTH AND SOUTHWEST.... SE AND SS has no business supporting The so called amotekun, because the southwest brought this mess upon themself. I could remember vividly, in 2015 how the sai baba to spite the igbos and the southsouth. And 2019 4+4...

Igbo are 100% in support of anything that would secure lives and properties..

178 Likes 10 Shares

Re: Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by Earlystar698(m): 10:47am On Jan 19, 2020
Northern Nigeria

176 Likes 12 Shares

Re: Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by CharlotteFlair: 10:50am On Jan 19, 2020
But my question is, why didn't the governors get legal backing of their state assemblies before rolling out?

Why create such a lacuna for the opposers to latch on, why put the cart before the horse?

25 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by GeorgeTheCoder: 10:51am On Jan 19, 2020
And what is wrong with wanting Oduduwa Republic ? We want a south-south state, a middle belt nation and Biafra as well.
Since Bubu has decided to open up Nigeria to his brethren from west africa in addition to his general wickedness and incompetence, it is time to go our separate ways.

146 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by ZombieTERROR: 10:51am On Jan 19, 2020
Marine54:
THE FEDERAL IS ALLIANCE B/W NORTH AND SOUTHWEST.... SE AND SS has no business supporting The so called amotekun, because the southwest brought this mess upon themself. I could remember vividly, in 2015 how the sai baba to spite the igbos and the southsouth. And 2019 4+4... Now why trying to shield themself from the evil they deliberately brought upon themself......

Shut Up

If Amotekun fails

We all fail

I'm yet to see a single northerner Who is in line with this laudable project to save lives and properties..

The south must unite

179 Likes 9 Shares

Re: Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by jantofubu(m): 10:52am On Jan 19, 2020
EzeCanada:

I don't think so. If Omotuken stands for Cheetah, What is Etan in Yoruba then?

Please can anyone tell me who this Omotuken really is?

Bro why u dey use igbo intonation grin

34 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by AyakaDunukofia: 10:53am On Jan 19, 2020
Timely arrival and good thinking by the SW. Balarabe, don't worry, Amotekun would be ratified by the states' House of Assemblies. Again, what's all these paranoia of Nigeria breaking up because a vulnerable group said they want to secure their abode?

83 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by Iamgrey5(m): 10:53am On Jan 19, 2020
Marine54:
THE FEDERAL IS ALLIANCE B/W NORTH AND SOUTHWEST.... SE AND SS has no business supporting The so called amotekun, because the southwest brought this mess upon themself. I could remember vividly, in 2015 how the sai baba to spite the igbos and the southsouth. And 2019 4+4... Now why trying to shield themself from the evil they deliberately brought upon themself......
Yet, most northern states where Buhari enjoys nearly 90% support have one form of Vigilante militia or the other trying to protect them from criminal activities. So why not the South West.

Meanwhile, nobody ask specifically for the help of igbos. They are simply looking for alliance to fight their own battles.

22 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by ZombieTERROR: 10:54am On Jan 19, 2020
CharlotteFlair:
But my question is, why didn't the governors get legal backing of their state assemblies before rolling out?

Why create such a lacuna for the opposers to latch on, why put the cart before the horse?

The mistake has been made

Maybe they thought Buhari would be happy for them tackling insecurity not knowing he was the big masquerade behind the killer herdsmen and bandits...

We must unite to make Amotekun a success

81 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by CharlotteFlair: 10:55am On Jan 19, 2020
Marine54:
THE FEDERAL IS ALLIANCE B/W NORTH AND SOUTHWEST.... SE AND SS has no business supporting The so called amotekun, because the southwest brought this mess upon themself. I could remember vividly, in 2015 how the shouting, sai baba to spite the igbos and the southsouth. And 2019 4+4... Now why trying to shield themself from the evil they deliberately brought upon us...
My guy please we have transcended this stage.

Except you are a northerner, this may be the opportunity the south is looking for to rid itself from the evil clutches of the north.

95 Likes 8 Shares

Re: Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by ZombieTERROR: 10:56am On Jan 19, 2020
Earlystar698:
Northern Nigeria

Whats wrong with Oduduwa Republic?

They can have their own Arewa

75 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by Marine54(m): 10:58am On Jan 19, 2020
ZombieTERROR:

Shut Up

If Amotekun fails

We all fail

I'm yet to see a single northerner Who is in line with this laudable project to save lives and properties..

The south must unite
Bros, don't trust these people, the're back stabber, remember what happen in 1966 and 2015.

15 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by Iamgrey5(m): 10:59am On Jan 19, 2020
CharlotteFlair:

Lagos already has a law empowering this type of vigilante long before now.

Oyo, Ekiti and Ondo are already fast tracking their legislation.

20 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by nairalandankrah: 11:00am On Jan 19, 2020
Amotekun is bae

15 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by Nobody: 11:00am On Jan 19, 2020
Even balarabe Musa. No matter how hard they try, Amotekun is here and will stay!

32 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by EzeCanada: 11:00am On Jan 19, 2020
Esseite:

Igbo are 100% in support of anything that would secure lives and property..

Who told you Omotuken is for protection of lives and property? This same Omotuken that you see today will be used to extort monies from Ndi Igbo in the SW and for other sinister motives tomorrow just like LASTMA in Lagos.

"What an old man can see sitting down, a young man can't see even if he climbs the highest iroko tree"

Come to think of it... " where are the cows?"

5 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by yanabasee(m): 11:01am On Jan 19, 2020
Esseite:

Igbo are 100% in support of anything that would secure lives and property..
Of people that marginalised them since after the civil war?

Re: Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by Marine54(m): 11:01am On Jan 19, 2020
CharlotteFlair:
My guy please we have transcended this stage.

Except you are a northerner, this may be the opportunity the south is looking for to rid itself from the evil clutches of the north.
I am not a northener, i am ss, Akwa ibom to be precise.....

Re: Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by Nobody: 11:01am On Jan 19, 2020
Marine54:

What is wrong with you shameless attention-seekers? SW begging for your help? Which Yorubas are asking for your support? Kanu is busy pledging 1 million men to Amotekun and Yorubas are consistently telling him and IPOB to eff off so what is this your foolish nonsense about? Note that it is people that act , i.e North and SW, who have issues. Something will give. Why don't you just wait and watch by the side instead of trying to attach yourself to events unfolding by force and through your usual 'notice me' empty noise-making your useless Oga , i.e Kanu, is noted for?

Leave the heavyweights to fight. I have always told you lot that Nigeria is over if the Yorubas leave spiritually. We are not like others who fool themselves and can never leave their shops, businesses and wealth to fight for a worthy cause that will affect the future of their people.

63 Likes 9 Shares

Re: Balarabe Musa: Amotekun, Ploy By Yoruba Leaders To Create Oduduwa Republic by CharlotteFlair: 11:02am On Jan 19, 2020
ZombieTERROR:

The mistake has been made

Maybe they thought Buhari would be happy for them tackling insecurity not knowing he was the big masquerade behind the killer herdsmen and bandits...

We must unite to make Amotekun a success
I am just hoping it's not a deliberate mistake by the politicians. Because I don't see how something as fundamental as this could escape them.

I hope they are not just using this to bargain for political power knowing how vulnerable the north is if they sense break-up.

Remember ACF said it had political undertones, but the citizens are earnestly yearning for it and so the politicians must be closely watched now.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (Reply)

Buhari Meets David Cameron In London / Rivers At 50: Governor Wike On His Knees As Pastors Pray For Him (Photos) / Fayose Hands Over Newly Built Office To His Deputy, Eleka, In Ekiti

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 65