Welcome, Guest: Join Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 2,778,850 members, 6,622,222 topics. Date: Wednesday, 08 December 2021 at 02:51 PM

My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) - Phones - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Phones / My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) (2784 Views)

Apple Iphone 13 And Iphone 13 Mini Review: Time To Upgrade / Yay My Umidigi A5 Pro Just Landed 4GB+32GB / Elephone A6 Mini Review (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (Reply) (Go Down)

My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by khalhokage(m): 7:18pm On Apr 30, 2020
This device has good performance for its price, a good looking screen and premium feel in the hand thanks to the glass back and metal frames.

The battery is average, it would easily take you through a day of normal usage and the front facing camera is really good and that brings me to my main problem with this device, the back camera.

First of all Umidigi should have never included the option for portrait mode in the camera app because it is terrible, its obvious that the 2nd camera at the back does work but then again apart from that photos or videos taken with the back camera always come out grainy or noisy, looking like photos taken in low light even if they were taken under direct sunlight, the frustration here is that looking at photos taken with the back camera, it's obvious that they have good hardware here but Umidigi's processing software messes it up.

Overall, I don't think you can get a better smartphone at this price, it will run most apps smoothly and the speaker is fairly loud.

Questions are welcome.

I added a back camera sample below

3 Likes

Re: My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by shedy03(m): 8:41pm On Apr 30, 2020
khalhokage:
This device has good performance for its price, a good looking screen and premium feel in the hand thanks to the glass back and metal frames.

The battery is average, it would easily take you through a day of normal usage and the front facing camera is really good and that brings me to my main problem with this device, the back camera.

First of all Umidigi should have never included the option for portrait mode in the camera app because it is terrible, its obvious that the 2nd camera at the back does not work and then again apart from that photos or videos taken with the back camera always come out grainy or noisy, looking like photos taken in low light even if they were taken under direct sunlight, the frustration here is that looking at photos taken with the back camera, it's obvious that they have good hardware here but Umidigi's processing software messes it up.

Overall, I don't think you can get a better smartphone at this price, it will run most apps smoothly and the speaker is fairly loud.

Questions are welcome.
It's difficult to install ota update.
Re: My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by khalhokage(m): 8:45pm On Apr 30, 2020
shedy03:

It's difficult to install ota update.

It's not actually, when I turned the phone on for the 1st time, there were 3 consecutive updates waiting to be downloaded and installed and I did all 3 in less than an hour.

2 Likes

Re: My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by FryMosquito: 9:58pm On Apr 30, 2020
From this review.. The device is trusted

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r1ChZXjQZ7A
Re: My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by theoneJabulani(m): 5:01am On May 01, 2020
If you are a camera freak, umidigi is not for you, but if you want good performance from a budget device, umidigi gat your back

4 Likes

Re: My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by khalhokage(m): 6:30am On May 01, 2020
FryMosquito:
From this review.. The device is trusted

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r1ChZXjQZ7A

I watched that review before I bought the phone and I don't think my post actually contradicts his review.

If you look at the back camera photo samples in his review you'll see some of that graininess I was talking about, it looks like the photo was over-sharpened.

It's a great phone, the selfie camera is really good but that back camera is a letdown.
Re: My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by khalhokage(m): 6:42am On May 01, 2020
theoneJabulani:
If you are a camera freak, umidigi is not for you, but if you want good performance from a budget device, umidigi gat your back

That's my conclusion too after using this device for the past week, it's my first Umidigi device.
Re: My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by FryMosquito: 7:57am On May 01, 2020
khalhokage:


I watched that review before I bought the phone and I don't think my post actually contradicts his review.

If you look at the back camera photo samples in his review you'll see some of that graininess I was talking about, it looks like the photo was over-sharpened.

It's a great phone, the selfie camera is really good but that back camera is a letdown.
I will advice you to make your own personal research over net, look for a camera app that will help the back camera to take brighter pictures...
Re: My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by Lexusgs430: 8:36am On May 01, 2020
khalhokage:


I watched that review before I bought the phone and I don't think my post actually contradicts his review.

If you look at the back camera photo samples in his review you'll see some of that graininess I was talking about, it looks like the photo was over-sharpened.

It's a great phone, the selfie camera is really good but that back camera is a letdown.


Oga, i humbly respect your opinions. But remember, this are low budget smartphones......

If you want an Umidigi device that all cameras are considerably better....... Loads to choose from..

Umidigi S3 Pro
Umidigi F2
Umidigi Power 3
Umidigi S5 Pro etc etc

Even at that, don't still expect Google pixels overall quality.... cheesy

3 Likes

Re: My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by khalhokage(m): 10:19am On May 01, 2020
FryMosquito:
I will advice you to make your own personal research over net, look for a camera app that will help the back camera to take brighter pictures...

I have installed a lot of apps, they all have the same grain.

I've used almost 1gb to download different gcam apps but they all crash after opening.
Re: My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by khalhokage(m): 10:24am On May 01, 2020
Lexusgs430:



Oga, i humbly respect your opinions. But remember, this are low budget smartphones......

If you want an Umidigi device that all cameras are considerably better....... Loads to choose from..

Umidigi S3 Pro
Umidigi F2
Umidigi Power 3
Umidigi S5 Pro etc etc

Even at that, don't still expect Google pixels overall quality.... cheesy



It doesn't matter that much to me since I don't really take pictures much, and I still like the phone a lot.

This was just my thoughts on the device.

But to be clear, the fact that it's a low budget device is not the sole reason for the cameras performance, I've used cheaper phones with better cameras, this is simply a software issue I hope they'll fix in the future.
Re: My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by Lexusgs430: 10:55am On May 01, 2020
khalhokage:


It doesn't matter that much to me since I don't really take pictures much, and I still like the phone a lot.

This was just my thoughts on the device.

But to be clear, the fact that it's a low budget device is not the sole reason for the cameras performance, I've used cheaper phones with better cameras, this is simply a software issue I hope they'll fix in the future.


Software issues = Optimization

Software optimization = Finance

Which Umidigi does not have for fine tuning purposes......

4 Likes

Re: My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by francdec4(m): 11:17am On May 01, 2020
Where can I buy one. Any idea if kings or jumia has it


khalhokage:


That's my conclusion too after using this device for the past week, it's my first Umidigi device.
Re: My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by khalhokage(m): 11:51am On May 01, 2020
francdec4:
Where can I buy one. Any idea if kings or jumia has it


I bought mine on Jumia actually for ₦25,400 but they've increased the price to ₦25,990 now for some reason.

1 Like

Re: My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by 11Anonymous(m): 2:50pm On May 01, 2020
You buy ₦25k and you dey expect am to perform like ₦100k phone.


This phone and 25k Tecno phone which one you think say better pass?
You'll see it's better than Tecno or Infinix x2 of same price.

1 Like

Re: My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by khalhokage(m): 4:30pm On May 01, 2020
11Anonymous:
You buy ₦25k and you dey expect am to perform like ₦100k phone.


This phone and 25k Tecno phone which one you think say better pass?
You'll see it's better than Tecno or Infinix x2 of same price.

Did you read the original post or do you just have problems with comprehension?

There are sub ₦20,000 phones with better back cameras than this one, it's not about the price.
Re: My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by theoneJabulani(m): 5:24pm On May 01, 2020
khalhokage:


Did you read the original post or do you just have problems with comprehension?

There are sub ₦20,000 phones with better back cameras than this one, it's not about the price.
do they have dual 4g, 2gb ram and a stylish design. Camera is not for everyone
Re: My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by khalhokage(m): 6:55pm On May 01, 2020
theoneJabulani:
do they have dual 4g, 2gb ram and a stylish design. Camera is not for everyone

And I'm not a shutterbug either, I just made an observation based on fact.

Umidigi made a mistake, it would have cost them $0 to remove the Portrait mode option from the camera after they saw that it was terrible and this issue with the grainy pictures is not something I've experienced in any smartphone I've used for close to 20 years and I've never used a phone above ₦50,000.
Re: My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by 11Anonymous(m): 7:19pm On May 01, 2020
[s][/s]
khalhokage:


Did you read the original post or do you just have problems with comprehension?

There are sub ₦20,000 phones with better back cameras than this one, it's not about the price.
Example of the phone undecided
khalhokage:


Did you read the original post or do you just have problems with comprehension?

There are sub ₦20,000 phones with better back cameras than this one, it's not about the price.
Example of such phones.

You can't drop a matured comment. Disappointed in you.
Re: My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by khalhokage(m): 8:18pm On May 01, 2020
11Anonymous:
[s][/s]
Example of the phone undecided
Example of such phones.

You can't drop a matured comment. Disappointed in you.

Gionee F205 lite for example.
Re: My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by sulasa07(m): 8:19pm On May 01, 2020
shedy03:

It's difficult to install ota update.
Do it at midnight
Re: My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by 11Anonymous(m): 9:21pm On May 01, 2020
khalhokage:

Gionee F205 lite for example.
Man, that phone was launched in 2018, and the initial price was more than ₦33k
Re: My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by Exumal: 2:35pm On May 02, 2020
Shots from A3X

Re: My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by khalhokage(m): 2:57pm On May 02, 2020
Exumal:
Shots from A3X

I wish the A3s looked like this.
Re: My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by Exumal: 3:43pm On May 02, 2020
khalhokage:


I wish the A3s looked like this.

You can upgrade and update nau
Like the pic below

Re: My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by khalhokage(m): 7:33pm On May 02, 2020
Exumal:


You can upgrade and update nau
Like the pic below

Editing the pics won't remove the grain from it.
Re: My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by akingbadeomoseb: 2:15pm On May 05, 2020
Umidigi S5 pro looks a lot better option with its popup camera and the MediaTek gaming processor is really good.
Re: My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by Lexusgs430: 2:26pm On May 05, 2020
akingbadeomoseb:
Umidigi S5 pro looks a lot better option with its popup camera and the MediaTek gaming processor is really good.

Soup wey sweet.....

2 Likes

Re: My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by khalhokage(m): 7:00am On May 06, 2020
Lexusgs430:


Soup wey sweet.....



Na money kill am.

2 Likes

Re: My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by Rem22(m): 7:08am On May 20, 2020
Please,where can i get the parts in case of repair

1 Like

Re: My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by Rem22(m): 7:09am On May 20, 2020
Please,where can i get the parts of umdigi a3s in case of repair
Re: My Umidigi A3s Mini Review (Photo) by Rexraph18(m): 9:14am On May 20, 2020
Rem22:
Please,where can i get the parts of umdigi a3s in case of repair


Check the Android phone repair thread on NL..
Or search for prominent engrs like
Repairguru, chuksvoice, visita etc

1 Like

(1) (2) (Reply)

Samsung A31 Vs Samsung A51: The Samsung A31 Makes Sense!!! / We Sell All Kinds Of Mobile Phones At Cheaper Rates / Best Subscription For IPHONE

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2021 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 3
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.