Stats: 3,150,293 members, 7,807,991 topics. Date: Thursday, 25 April 2024 at 01:46 AM

20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies - TV/Movies (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / TV/Movies / 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies (35994 Views)

South Africans Are Asking Why In Nigerian Movies Everyone Is Christian / Amazon Prime Acquires Jim Iyke's Movie 'Bad Comments' / Revenge Of Shina Rambo Season 6 - 2017 Latest Nigerian Movies African Nollywood (2) (3) (4)

Re: 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies by Goalnaldo(m): 3:18pm On Jul 03, 2020
HimName:
Give me a grandchild
med oh grin

Re: 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies by Topmaike007(m): 3:18pm On Jul 03, 2020
lalasticlala:

Give number 2 to Tony Umez grin
in billionaire club

Re: 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies by annford: 3:19pm On Jul 03, 2020
lalasticlala:

Give number 2 to Tony Umez grin

Tony Umez Likes saying " I kill you" and then "Dorling".

Re: 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies by joelag: 3:20pm On Jul 03, 2020
Tell me is a lie.

Re: 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies by kakaG: 3:20pm On Jul 03, 2020
1. You have the effrontery to challenge me!

2. You have the impetus to come here?

3. You uncivilized cow.

Re: 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies by Greenbirth: 3:21pm On Jul 03, 2020
Get out. I said out
Re: 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies by Samuels90: 3:24pm On Jul 03, 2020
When a girl vomits, she is pregnant. Nonsense grin grin

Re: 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies by DeCardinal2020: 3:24pm On Jul 03, 2020
OP you forgot "like seriously!" and "wait a minute".

Re: 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies by Nobody: 3:27pm On Jul 03, 2020
e
Re: 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies by Sweetgoodie(f): 3:27pm On Jul 03, 2020
DEHVEHLOP:
Igbo films too dull...

It's not their calling...

How many of their actresses are millionaires without politicians as their big gods?

I love Yoruba movies. Full of suspense, intrigues, wisdoms, knowledge, actions packed, romantic and educating.
mynd44 lalasticlala seun oam4j
rule 2
Re: 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies by Nobody: 3:29pm On Jul 03, 2020
Everything Igbos do irritates u Yorubas. Y? Sentiment n tribalism is in u guyz blood especially when it comes to Igbo matter. Who in Nigeria doesn’t know that Igbos gave Nollywood the name today. The likes of Omotola Jalade, Ramson Noah, Segun Arinze, Desmond Elliot, Olu Jacobs n many more of them all started from there. Pls stop this unnecessary discrimination, Nollywood is one!

Re: 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies by pyrex23(m): 3:31pm On Jul 03, 2020
Anything you say or do can be used against you in.....
Re: 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies by ogbonti: 3:32pm On Jul 03, 2020
osamz007:
grin NOLLYWOOD VERY PREDICTABLE

YOU CAN PREDICT THE END BY JUST LOOKING AT THEIR ADVERT POSTER

EITHER LOVE, KINGSHIP STRUGGLE, CULTISM

NO ADVENTURES

WITH GUNSHOTS LIKE KNOCKOUTS

damn you are wicked grin

Re: 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies by monaPhilz: 3:32pm On Jul 03, 2020
DEHVEHLOP:
Igbo films too dull...

How many of their actresses are millionaires without politicians as their big gods?

I love Yoruba movies. Full of suspense, intrigues, wisdoms, knowledge, actions packed, romantic and educating.
Rubbish yarn
Re: 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies by etrange: 3:33pm On Jul 03, 2020
osamz007:
grin NOLLYWOOD VERY PREDICTABLE

YOU CAN PREDICT THE END BY JUST LOOKING AT THEIR ADVERT POSTER

EITHER LOVE, KINGSHIP STRUGGLE, CULTISM

NO ADVENTURES

WITH GUNSHOTS LIKE KNOCKOUTS

It is not necessarily more predictable than most Hollywood movies where you already know from the onset who will eventually kill who at the end, who will die, who will survive, who will prevail or the group that will eventually win against all odds.

The only reason we prefer Hollywood is the superb cinematography and the inbetweens.

Re: 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies by jagorinho: 3:35pm On Jul 03, 2020
young man!!! your time is up.
Re: 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies by zoedew: 3:36pm On Jul 03, 2020
"FOR CRYING OUT LOUD!"
Re: 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies by mdan(m): 3:40pm On Jul 03, 2020
DEHVEHLOP:
Igbo films too dull...

You nailed it bro.
I'm an igbo guy but you see those Yoruba movies, it's intriguing, enlightening and so on. You get to see court proceedings, some other educative part too, unlike my people.its all about money, who will be the next igwe, juju and whatnots.
They need to spice their movie up. Mayhap that's why we have the dichotomy , old Nollywood and new Nollywood.

Re: 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies by shegzmartinsduke(m): 3:46pm On Jul 03, 2020
He who fetches ant infested firewood,is inviting the .... Complete it

Re: 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies by 2cribz: 3:46pm On Jul 03, 2020
11 and 15 na pur naija police/sars fav threat.nigerian movies are boring sitcoms and they use camera phone to record most times.always shouting.its like na near ikeja airport we dey because b4 you know it,your tv volume would skip to volume 50 all shouting and noise.senseless movies king and queen palace movies.no motion videos,nothing. Dstv should be scrapped pls.all video clubs burnt. We are last.
Comedy nite i still dey manage them. My flatmates,tinsel,forbidden,johnsn family and all boring ass sitcoms can go to hell. Netflix only

Re: 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies by specimenG: 3:49pm On Jul 03, 2020
I sell glo weekly data 5gig for 1k and 20gig for 3500 for monthly sub. Its no scam. Contact me on 08062291428
Re: 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies by shegzmartinsduke(m): 3:49pm On Jul 03, 2020
U lie,i have seen a lot of western movie that i thought i knew the outcome,but always a twist at the end
etrange:

It is not necessarily more predictable than most Hollywood movies where you already know from the onset who will eventually kill who at the end, who will die, who will survive, who will prevail or the group that will eventually win against all odds.

The only reason we prefer Hollywood is the superb cinematography and the inbetweens.

Re: 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies by etrange: 3:54pm On Jul 03, 2020
shegzmartinsduke:
U lie,i have seen a lot of western movie that i thought i knew the outcome,but always a twist at the end

So how does that mean I lied? That you've seen some that weren't as predictable doesn't mean most (like I said in my post) aren't. Apart from series, it's very easy to tell who will kill who in most American movies even by just knowing the names of the cast. This is true and we all know it.

Re: 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies by illicit(m): 3:56pm On Jul 03, 2020
You are under arrest.

Re: 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies by DICKstractor: 3:56pm On Jul 03, 2020
rationalmind:
A: You slapped me?
B: I will slap you again cheesy
And again and again
Re: 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies by DICKstractor: 3:58pm On Jul 03, 2020
22General:
No 2 or Tony Umeze? DORLING, I can explain. grin
And the reply will be: Explain what!!

Re: 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies by henzo: 4:06pm On Jul 03, 2020
What arrant nonsense
The heir apparent
My elders in council

Re: 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies by nnemekaemmanuel: 4:07pm On Jul 03, 2020
Redstorm:
1. HOW DARE YOU?
When a character does or says something daring that another character considers nasty or disrespectful.

2. I CAN EXPLAIN.
When a character’s misdeed is exposed or when they are caught red-handed engaged in an unacceptable act.

3. ITS NOT WHAT YOU THINK
Same as in the case of I CAN EXPLAIN

4. HOW MANY TIMES HAVE I CALLED YOU?
Usually when an older character attempts to caution a younger one about what they (the younger one) are about to do or over what they have done wrong.

5. GOD FORBID!
Chanted as a way of rejecting a bad wish or perceived bad wish against one.

6. OVER MY DEAD BODY!
Same as in the case of GOD FORBID.

7. THUNDER FIRE YOU!
An insulting phrase, invoking a lightning strike, yelled at a character in anger.

8. YOU ARE A FOOL.
When a character does something foolish or is not smart enough.

9. I DON’T BLAME YOU.
A sarcastic way of showing anger when one has been offended.

10. IT’S NOT YOUR FAULT.
Same as in the case of I DON’T BLAME YOU.

11. BY THE TIME I’M THROUGH WITH YOU...
Used as a threat by one character against another in a strong manner.

12. HOLY GHOST FIRE!
A phrase chanted by a Christian character to counteract an enemy’s action.

13. WONDERS SHALL NEVER END.
When something incredible happens.

14. SEE ME SEE TROUBLE
Comment made by a character when they are being accused wrongly or when someone is trying to make trouble with them.

15. DO YOU KNOW WHO I AM?
A question posed usually by an arrogant character to another character they consider less important.

16. WHO DO YOU THINK YOU ARE?
Used to challenge an arrogant character or a perceived pompous character.

17. HOW MANY TIMES HAVE I WARNED YOU... ? or HAVE I NOT WARNED YOU...
Used to show disapproval against a character who has carried out an action despite repeated warnings.

18. YOU ARE A WITCH.
An insult thrown at a detested female character.

19. YOU SLAPPED ME?
Posed by a character who has been slapped when they least expect it.

20. WHAT IS GOOD ABOUT THE MORNING (OR AFTERNOON OR EVENING)?
An angry way of replying someone who has just greeted one

The first one killed me grin grin cheesy cheesy cheesy
Re: 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies by Skymason20(m): 4:09pm On Jul 03, 2020
Nigeria drama bullet nor dey finish, no reloading, nollywood very wrong set of people
Re: 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies by McSlow: 4:09pm On Jul 03, 2020
I will confess please don't kill me
Re: 20 Common Comments & Phrases Used In Nigerian Movies by Trend20: 4:09pm On Jul 03, 2020
henzo:
What arrant nonsense
The heir apparent
My elders in council
Who he help

BBNaija: Voting Result That Got Rico Swavey Evicted / Whitemoney: I Will Compensate Boma, Liquorose If I Win BBNaija N90m Grand Prize / BBNaija: Tobi And Cee-C Kiss And Dance (Video)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 35