Welcome, Guest: Join Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 2,758,318 members, 6,556,234 topics. Date: Tuesday, 26 October 2021 at 12:53 AM

Dear Buhari, It Is Time To Review The Food Importation Policy - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Dear Buhari, It Is Time To Review The Food Importation Policy (458 Views)

Buhari: It Makes No Sense For Oil To Be Cheaper In Nigeria Than Saudi Arabia / Buhari: It Is Wrong To Think National Assembly Members Are Overpaid / Death Of 100 Soldiers :president Buhari, It's Time To Go! (2) (3) (4)

(1) (Reply) (Go Down)

Dear Buhari, It Is Time To Review The Food Importation Policy by MisterGrace: 4:08pm On Nov 01, 2020
Right now the prices of sachet tomato, a crate of egg and other staple foods have gone up by 45%.

What this means is that the purchasing power of Nigerians has further gone down south in what analysts call a free fall.

This latest development has rendered the purpose of the new minimum wage fruitless.

Five years ago, Mr. Audu Ogbe, the former Minister of Agriculture introduced and influenced an unfavourable policy.

The policy meant that the FG banned the importation of rice, yam and other basic food items into the country.

Mr. Ogbe's submission was that the policy will encourage local production and increase the value of the Naira.

What they failed to address was the sustainability of the policy. The structure put forward to power the policy was weak, hence its purpose was defeated.

It is time to review these dead policies.
Most them are not working.

The recent development means that the poor are now automatically displaced. This doesn't make any sense.

Considering the fact that the country is yet to recover from the impact of Covid 19 lockdown.

- Herdsmen invasion
- Scarcity of fertilizer
- Little access to credit facilities

Are majority factors.

Right now, what the country is producing is less than what is needed to service our enormous population.

Thank you.

5 Likes 1 Share

Re: Dear Buhari, It Is Time To Review The Food Importation Policy by Igbochief001(m): 4:17pm On Nov 01, 2020
MisterGrace:
Right now the prices of sachet tomato, a crate of egg and other staple foods have gone up by 45%.

What this means is that the purchasing power of Nigerians has further gone down south in what analysts call a free fall.

This latest development has rendered the purpose of the new minimum wage fruitless.

Five years ago, Mr. Audu Ogbe, the former Minister of Agriculture introduced and influenced an unfavourable policy.

The policy meant that the FG banned the importation of rice, yam and other basic food items into the country.

Mr. Ogbe's submission was that the policy will encourage local production and increase the value of the Naira.

What they failed to address was the sustainability of the policy. The structure put forward to power the policy was weak, hence its purpose was defeated.

It is time to review these dead policies.
Most them are not working.

The recent development means that the poor are now automatically displaced. This doesn't make any sense.

Considering the fact that the country is yet to recover from the impact of Covid 19 lockdown.

- Herdsmen invasion
- Scarcity of fertilizer
- Little access to credit facilities

Are majority factors.

Right now, what the country is producing is less than what is needed to service our enormous population.

Thank you.
Well truthful we need to review our import policy but I need to understand the reason why agriculture failed

Agriculture failed because we lack the right seeds .... farming has gone past the level we do it now

For agriculture to succeed we need to fund research on seed development

My ideas is simple
1) allow import of food ...tax it by 50% to 150% depending on the food .

2) used have to subsidize our local farmers ...no new farmer sha be added to the list ......use the rest half to find research

3) subsidize this seeds for the first 5 years ...if we can get same yeild as the countries we import from ...we time import dies

4 Likes

Re: Dear Buhari, It Is Time To Review The Food Importation Policy by hisgrace090: 4:25pm On Nov 01, 2020
As it stand now there is no foof to go round Nigerian citizens do to extreem food scarcity in the land as our leaders cares not.
Re: Dear Buhari, It Is Time To Review The Food Importation Policy by Okoroawusa: 4:27pm On Nov 01, 2020
Igbochief001:

Well truthful we need to review our import policy but I need to understand the reason why agriculture failed

Agriculture failed because we lack the right seeds .... farming has gone past the level we do it now

For agriculture to succeed we need to fund research on seed development

My ideas is simple
1) allow import of food ...tax it by 50% to 150% depending on the food .

2) used have to subsidize our local farmers ...no new farmer sha be added to the list ......use the rest half to find research

3) subsidize this seeds for the first 5 years ...if we can get same yeild as the countries we import from ...we time import dies
Nwanna!

Amarom na ima ife like this...

First time I liked your comment.
Re: Dear Buhari, It Is Time To Review The Food Importation Policy by MisterGrace: 4:36pm On Nov 01, 2020
Igbochief001:

Well truthful we need to review our import policy but I need to understand the reason why agriculture failed

Agriculture failed because we lack the right seeds .... farming has gone past the level we do it now

For agriculture to succeed we need to fund research on seed development

My ideas is simple
1) allow import of food ...tax it by 50% to 150% depending on the food .

2) used have to subsidize our local farmers ...no new farmer sha be added to the list ......use the rest half to find research

3) subsidize this seeds for the first 5 years ...if we can get same yeild as the countries we import from ...we time import dies

Taxing food importation by a whooping 50% will still defeat the ban lift.

To me, the exorbitant taxing doesn't make any sense.

1 Like

Re: Dear Buhari, It Is Time To Review The Food Importation Policy by chatinent: 4:38pm On Nov 01, 2020
undecided undecided
Re: Dear Buhari, It Is Time To Review The Food Importation Policy by Nobody: 4:39pm On Nov 01, 2020
I tire o...from 7k bag of rice to about 28k. Ban everything without a clue how to expand/ support agriculture in the country. All Dangote needs do is snap fingers and FG will follow suit... monopoly is the real problem...very few supply for billions of people.
Re: Dear Buhari, It Is Time To Review The Food Importation Policy by MisterGrace: 5:34pm On Nov 01, 2020
Kweensavvy:
I tire o...from 7k bag of rice to about 28k. Ban everything without a clue how to expand/ support agriculture in the country. All Dangote needs do is snap fingers and FG will follow suit... monopoly is the real problem...very few supply for billions of people.

A bag of foreign rice is now #38,000.

1 Like 1 Share

Re: Dear Buhari, It Is Time To Review The Food Importation Policy by Igbochief001(m): 6:26pm On Nov 01, 2020
MisterGrace:


Taxing food importation by a whooping 50% will still defeat the ban lift.

To me, the exorbitant taxing doesn't make any sense.
How ...rice would cost 12k to 20k if imported and tax at 50% to 100% .

Rice is a cheap food ...tin tomatoes imported n tax would cost way lex

Smuggling is responsible for the high price

Wheat is far more expensive than rice yet a bag of flour is 13k or so ...u buy a bag of rice at 10k in cameron and sale 22k whole sale price why won't u take the risk ?
Re: Dear Buhari, It Is Time To Review The Food Importation Policy by Igbochief001(m): 6:27pm On Nov 01, 2020
Okoroawusa:

Nwanna!

Amarom na ima ife like this...

First time I liked your comment.
Re: Dear Buhari, It Is Time To Review The Food Importation Policy by Larrykayflex: 6:43pm On Nov 01, 2020
The fact is we are damn slaveo food importation to the giant business man in the country called dangote, which all banned importation was in favour of him to grow which FG benefited from the so called taxes and shares.while the masses suffered allot from the one man all trade of business he is into,why not lift all these banned and put a policy to get your taxes from importation than banning importation from the neighboring country......na poor man dey suffer pass for these inflation.......

1 Like

Re: Dear Buhari, It Is Time To Review The Food Importation Policy by Nobody: 7:14pm On Nov 01, 2020
Nigeria want good things but are not patience, do you want Nigeria to keep importing when we have means of producing that same thing? How do you want to encourage farmer or boost their moral if you keep importing things they produce?

If Nigeria want good thing, we need to work together, when everything is settled now, we will be enjoying our hard work
Re: Dear Buhari, It Is Time To Review The Food Importation Policy by Larrykayflex: 7:47pm On Nov 01, 2020
SuperBold:
Nigeria want good things but are not patience, do you want Nigeria to keep importing when we have means of producing that same thing? How do you want to encourage farmer or boost their moral if you keep importing things they produce?

If Nigeria want good thing, we need to work together, when everything is settled now, we will be enjoying our hard work


You are right but these importation things is favour by dangote and government....farmer were not able to enjoy the fruits of their labour's enough
It at all the farmer will benefit from these then the federal government should find and empowered them so all these high cost should drastically reduce,food is now very expensive to purchase.
Shey na till hunger finished us abi make we dey spend all our hard earn on food only
As na only food we come world come eat all our life.
It's very hard for average Nigeria to levelled up....
Re: Dear Buhari, It Is Time To Review The Food Importation Policy by MisterGrace: 7:51pm On Nov 01, 2020
SuperBold:
Nigeria want good things but are not patience, do you want Nigeria to keep importing when we have means of producing that same thing? How do you want to encourage farmer or boost their moral if you keep importing things they produce?

If Nigeria want good thing, we need to work together, when everything is settled now, we will be enjoying our hard work

Patience for the people for the policies were formed to die of hunger?

Some processes need to be implemented in phases until the aim is achieved.

This kind of outright ban and stop won't work.
Re: Dear Buhari, It Is Time To Review The Food Importation Policy by bet9ja(m): 7:57pm On Nov 01, 2020
Igbochief001:

Well truthful we need to review our import policy but I need to understand the reason why agriculture failed

Agriculture failed because we lack the right seeds .... farming has gone past the level we do it now

For agriculture to succeed we need to fund research on seed development

My ideas is simple
1) allow import of food ...tax it by 50% to 150% depending on the food .

2) used have to subsidize our local farmers ...no new farmer sha be added to the list ......use the rest half to find research

3) subsidize this seeds for the first 5 years ...if we can get same yeild as the countries we import from ...we time import dies

You failed to address the problem of insecurity which has discouraged many people from venturing into farming.

Furthermore, killing importation of food with tax is not the way forward. If the government truly mean well for this nation, the first solution is to open the border

1 Like

Re: Dear Buhari, It Is Time To Review The Food Importation Policy by Igbochief001(m): 8:06pm On Nov 01, 2020
bet9ja:


You failed to address the problem of insecurity which has discouraged many people from venturing into farming.

Furthermore, killing importation of food with tax is not the way forward. If the government truly mean well for this nation, the first solution is to open the border
U can't open border just like that ....it should be. Short term plan ..... allowing importation and tax would drop the price by almost 50%

Insecurities is an issues but when big farmers come in it won't matter much
Re: Dear Buhari, It Is Time To Review The Food Importation Policy by Nobody: 8:09pm On Nov 01, 2020
I'm scared the average Nigerian might not have what to eat this Christmas.
Re: Dear Buhari, It Is Time To Review The Food Importation Policy by Nobody: 9:47pm On Nov 01, 2020
MisterGrace:


Patience for the people for the policies were formed to die of hunger?

Some processes need to be implemented in phases until the aim is achieved.

This kind of outright ban and stop won't work.

Banning import of agricultural goods is the best option now, you will be happy when it's yielding good result, Rome wasn't built in a day...... China, Japan Taiwan started like this too
Re: Dear Buhari, It Is Time To Review The Food Importation Policy by Nobody: 9:49pm On Nov 01, 2020
Larrykayflex:



You are right but these importation things is favour by dangote and government....farmer were not able to enjoy the fruits of their labour's enough
It at all the farmer will benefit from these then the federal government should find and empowered them so all these high cost should drastically reduce,food is now very expensive to purchase.
Shey na till hunger finished us abi make we dey spend all our hard earn on food only
As na only food we come world come eat all our life.
It's very hard for average Nigeria to levelled up....

That is one of the disadvantage of it, but let us hope for the best

(1) (Reply)

Video: We Will Burn ASO Rock And Make President Homeless_niaja Delta Avengers / Photos: So You Think You Can Ball? / Lagos East By-election: Apc’s Abiru In Early Lead As Results Tricke In

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2021 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 166
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.