Stats: 3,148,650 members, 7,801,898 topics. Date: Friday, 19 April 2024 at 04:38 AM

Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) - Business (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Business / Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) (80080 Views)

Get Any POS Terminal Here / My Opay Account Got Frozen After A Transaction With Online Customer / How to get a POS for ATM cash withdrawal and Deposit business in Nigeria (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (17) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by abbasajao(m): 7:12am On Nov 18, 2020
Donjazzy12:

No fraudster can take money from your account without your ATM pin.

That is a blatant lie. They only need your card numbers and expiry date. Just be careful.

18 Likes 1 Share

Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by Akanimoh113(m): 7:28am On Nov 18, 2020
Well I've Risked it before tho
I needed to learn
And in this case my bank is not connected to anything online
So... Their transaction was not successful cheesy

Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by annayawchee: 7:31am On Nov 18, 2020
Donjazzy12:

you card number and cv.v is all those foreign e-commerce website needs.... Go figure...

19 Likes

Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by Devynecheeh(m): 7:35am On Nov 18, 2020
With scammers knowing your BVN alone..your account is at risk... Talkless of having your card info

13 Likes

Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by Devynecheeh(m): 7:35am On Nov 18, 2020
With scammers knowing your BVN alone..your account is at risk... Talkless of having your card info

Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by lkillbrokehoes: 7:36am On Nov 18, 2020
Wow
Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by Renforce: 7:42am On Nov 18, 2020
gentlesinna:
. My brother knowledge is power..there are softwares that bypass OTP and your atm PIN
Fraudsters this days don't need ur pin or otp.
The only information they need is ur card details especially that 3 digit number at d back of ur card which is more important in there fraudulent act.

Very true. Some foreign online sites don't even ask for anything else aside the card. Nothing is safe out here

Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by gentlesinna(m): 7:49am On Nov 18, 2020
lytech1:

Stop saying nonsense
it might sound nonsense to you bcs you have never been a victim.......my advice to anybody who cares to listen is.... guard your card especially d back jealously......am talking out of experience...thank you

25 Likes

Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by Cwhyte(m): 7:52am On Nov 18, 2020
Many foreign websites don't need your PIN or OTP.
Your card can be charged instantly.

Please be careful and do not argue about what you don't know.

16 Likes

Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by seanwilliam(m): 7:56am On Nov 18, 2020
Donjazzy12:

lol.. you're a baby.. tell that one to darkwebites

19 Likes

Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by seanwilliam(m): 8:00am On Nov 18, 2020
Even there is a way to bypass naija e commerce sites without otp.. some guys dey display ignorance here mehn

15 Likes

Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by rexchazy(m): 8:02am On Nov 18, 2020
Snap the front and back of your card to me and see your money disappear like wind
Donjazzy12:

Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by IMAMofWAR: 8:06am On Nov 18, 2020
supportnija:

Stop telling lies, if it is possible those sixteen numbers will not shown out. Is is not possible without your pin. Don't tell me to send it to you because there is no need.
why i wasted my time to read this trash is what is pissing me off now, not the trash you wrote sef

15 Likes

Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by Depressed101: 8:12am On Nov 18, 2020
Donjazzy12:

send me your card details via pm on without pin. And watch me flush your net worth in 5 seconds

17 Likes

Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by Onyeka90210(m): 8:16am On Nov 18, 2020
It's because of this ignorant attitude that most Nigerians have that's making Nigeria backward, Do your research before coming online to say what you think is right or wrong,
Bruh, you don't know how important the details on your card are, Forget ATM pin forget Forget OTP. Your card would be used for online shopping in Europe, and the the items will later be sold for cash. Money cannot be withdrawn with only card details, how ever it can be used for online shopping, to fund bet or trading account, airtime and other stuffs. If you have solid proof that you're not the one that initiated the transaction, and if the bank confirms it's a scam, you will be refunded in full...

..I have powerbeats for sale tho
https://www.nairaland.com/6093712/apple-latest-powerbeats-sale-69k

Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by lymelyte(m): 8:18am On Nov 18, 2020
Donjazzy12:

you never jam.. You think keylogger doesn't exist for pos abi.. Bring the front n back of ur card make I send give those Gurus mk dem test run am

Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by Guyoo: 8:18am On Nov 18, 2020
Is this possible?? Yes but it depends on thr platform the card is being used, For a debit card used in Nigeria, it will require to be authenticated with a pin or OTP, but when used on a foreign sires or merchant, the card number, expiry date and cvc code is enough to complete a transaction, infact most POS machine outside the country requires just a swipe or tap if the card and machine is NFC enable. So the advice is to be taking serious, this fraudsters can use your card information for foreign transaction or sites that don't require PIN or OTP authentication

24 Likes

Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by lymelyte(m): 8:20am On Nov 18, 2020
gentlesinna:
. My brother knowledge is power..there are softwares that bypass OTP and your atm PIN
Fraudsters this days don't need ur pin or otp.
The only information they need is ur card details especially that 3 digit number at d back of ur card which is more important in there fraudulent act.
abeg leave that young man.. He thinks everyone is on his current human operating system.

14 Likes

Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by lymelyte(m): 8:22am On Nov 18, 2020
LikeAking:
The account wey your big money dey should not be activated for internet banking,etc.

Keep you bank account sim at home.

Follow the first stuff I wrote and u will be fine.
best advice ever.. That's what I did right from day one.. As a matter of fact, my major acc is not online.only offline..

Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by FODA(m): 8:28am On Nov 18, 2020
nedekid:

Oga, listen and learn from him.
Years back, I ordered refurbished common rail injection units for a truck I owned back then from the UK. They sent me an invoice. I asked how to pay, all they said was to provide them with my card number and expiry date. I had not finished calling the number over the phone when debit alert entered.
I was like how did they do it? shocked
Meanwhile I was here in Lagos oh.
branch loan company or pay later doesn't require for your pin or otp to remove money from pple account,bro u are saying the truth .

16 Likes

Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by femi4: 8:33am On Nov 18, 2020
Donjazzy12:

lol....its possible with foreign online markets

Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by seunoj: 8:40am On Nov 18, 2020
Donjazzy12:

This is based on your knowledge.
Some websites don't even need your pin.

Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by Sijo01(f): 8:40am On Nov 18, 2020
Will the transaction be successful without the OTP?

Outside what the op stated, I think they have other methods too. I started receiving calls from those idiiot claiming to be calling from my bank two days after I used POS to do a reasonable withdrawer.

Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by Dagrace01(m): 8:40am On Nov 18, 2020
Donjazzy12:

You sure say na Nigeria u dey?
If this is your believe, abeg u need to be more careful ooo

Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by AchalugoNwa(f): 8:41am On Nov 18, 2020
helinues:

Are you not going to input your pin in the new POS?
most credit cards does that without pin

I don't use pin when crediting my Facebook ad account.

That's why I think verve card is the most secure in the world because of the pin plus otp stuff

Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by deepwater(f): 8:41am On Nov 18, 2020
nedekid:

Years back, I ordered refurbished common rail injection units for a truck I owned back then from the UK. They sent me an invoice. I asked how to pay, all they said was to provide them with my card number and expiry date. I had not finished calling the number over the phone when debit alert entered.

kids wont listen
In Europe, all you do is swipe the damm card on that machine and you get debited before you remember no PIN was used for the transaction

11 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by AchalugoNwa(f): 8:42am On Nov 18, 2020
nedekid:

not for verve cards grin

Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by Oka4: 8:42am On Nov 18, 2020
Your caution is good, however there is more needed to make an online transaction than just d numbers on your ATM card. Ever heard of OTP? It has to be sent to your mobile number for confirmation

Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by berbs: 8:42am On Nov 18, 2020
Donjazzy12:

What happened to cloning of ATM cards
Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by NnamdiN: 8:42am On Nov 18, 2020
Donjazzy12:

these idiots haven't remembered you. I thought so too until I got a debit alert one morning from a pos in Anambra and I dey lagos.
Most online sites don't send OTP.

Oka4:
Your caution is good, however there is more needed to make an online transaction than just d numbers on your ATM card. Ever heard of OTP? It has to be sent to your mobile number for confirmation
some sites don't send it .

Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by ayusco85(m): 8:43am On Nov 18, 2020
Donjazzy12:

You will just open your mouth Waaaaaaa and spew rubbish.
I work in a bank and I can tell you with all certainty that lots of our customers complain of fraud via their debit card, and most times they are with their debit cards.
The fraudsters use the card details on foreign platforms or websites, such only require your card pan, Security and expiry dates.
Guard your card religiously

30 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Be Careful When Making A Transaction At A POS Terminal (Here Is Why) by Nobody: 8:43am On Nov 18, 2020
Donjazzy12:

You never see anything.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (17) (Reply)

CBN Drops ATM Withdrawal Limit To N20k/Day / Matches: I Am Shocked After Seeing This In Nigeria (photo) / Aliko Dangote And His Ex Wife Meet, Years After Divorce (Photos)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 39