Stats: 3,148,906 members, 7,802,937 topics. Date: Saturday, 20 April 2024 at 04:23 AM

Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page (20897 Views)

US VP: Nigeria As Bastion Of Democracy In West Africa, Matthew Page Disagrees / Matthew Page Criticises America After Meeting With Lai Mohammed / Matthew Page: Nigerian Elites Using UK Schools As Shields For Money Laundering (2) (3) (4)

Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page by RichAbujaGuy: 11:59pm On Apr 27, 2021

Over 800 properties worth $400 million in Dubai, United Arab Emirates (UAE) have been traced to Politically Exposed Persons (PEPs) in Nigeria.

Matthew Page, an associate fellow, Chatham House, said this while delivering a paper titled Illicit Financial Flows (IFFs) in Real Estate and Education Sector: Implications for Investigators at a 2-Day Capacity Building for Investigators on Investigating IFFs organised by the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission (ICPC).

Disclosing that 35 state governors have acquired a total of 69 properties, Page noted that five presidency staff members were controlling 13 properties, while 16 lawmakers are in possession of 45 properties.

According to the findings, 15 ministers have 25 properties, 158 suspected politicians’ proxies are in control of 226 properties, 14 security sector leaders 71, 50 PEP-linked business persons 91, 13 Known Nigerian law enforcement agency suspects 216, 16 heads of department and agency 25, 11 NNPC officials 19, a judge has one.

Page, who blamed lack of transparency, huge financial flows and inadequate international safeguard for the development further disclosed that Nigerian politicians are spending over $30 million annually on UK education, which he said was beyond their annual earnings.

He urged investigators to compare these payments to their known assets and incomes, examine third party payments, request forex data, review media for PEP schooling and probe MDAs that provides scholarships.

Earlier in his welcome remarks, ICPC chairman, Prof. Bolaji Owasanoye stated that the capacity building programme would help investigators to track illicit financial flows, money laundering and other areas the government is losing revenue and recover such funds.

“The loss of revenue is a major challenge to developing countries, particularly Nigeria,” Owasanoye said.

“The meeting is, therefore, designed to build the capacity of our investigators to enable them to trace the areas in which the government is losing money, look for the likely places people hide money, stop the illicit financial flows, and recover the funds.

“We are already working with the FIRS and getting a lot of tax evaders and defaulters into the nation’s tax net. One of the takeaways from here is the kind of question an investigator needs to ask in tracking IFFs and money laundering.”

https://guardian.ng/news/nigerian-politicians-own-properties-worth-400m-in-dubai/

Re: Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page by AllenSpencer: 12:27am On Apr 28, 2021
This cant be true.

Just $400M! I think they made a mistake or probably failed in their collation.

They definitely should have meant $400B

141 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page by Racoon(m): 1:26am On Apr 28, 2021
-35 state governors-69 properties,
-5 presidency staff-13 properties,
-16 lawmakers- 45 properties.
-15 ministers -25 properties,
-158 suspected politicians’ proxies-226 properties,
-14 security sector leaders-71 properties,
-50 PEP-linked business persons-91 properties,
-13 Known Nigerian law enforcement agency suspects 216,
-16 heads of department and agency-25 properties
-11 NNPC officials-19 properties and a judge has one.

..Nigerian politicians are spending over $30 million annually on UK education, which he said was beyond their annual earnings.
Nigeria is under the siege of these wicked politicians. They are the people the late Major Patrick Chukwuma Nzeogwu called "Our enemies are the political profiteers, the swindlers, the men in high and low  places that seek bribes and demand 10 percent; those that seek to keep the  country divided permanently so that they can remain in office as ministers or VIPs at least.

The tribalists, the nepotists, those that make the country look big for nothing before international circles, those that have corrupted our society and put the Nigerian political calendar back by their words and deeds...."

https://www.vanguardngr.com/2010/09/radio-broadcast-by-major-chukwuma-kaduna-nzeogwu-%E2%80%93-announcing-nigeria%E2%80%99s-first-military-coup-on-radio-nigeria-kaduna-on-january-15-1966/amp/

53 Likes 9 Shares

Re: Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page by donstan18: 2:20am On Apr 28, 2021
I want to criticize them, but I’ll buy properties abroad too if I happen to be in their position.

Thanks!

15 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page by Praxis758: 2:52am On Apr 28, 2021
We the black race are the architect of our misfortune. I've never heard of any caucasian, Chinese, Arabian or other races who steal from their countries to build other countries.

We Nigerians are not patriotic and this is manifesting in the type of leadership we are shunning out. Imagine the so called leaders greedily destroying their country to build and empower other countries economically.

Dubai and other developed nations wouldn't have be a refuge for those corrupt leaders if those countries had buldozed their countries like ours.

43 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page by RichAbujaGuy: 2:53am On Apr 28, 2021
AllenSpencer:
This cant be true.

the uber/elite looters use shell companies and off-shore accounts to launder funds. very difficult for a single journalist with a low budget to research.

#PanamaPapers: Hidden family assets of Nigeria’s Senate President, Saraki, uncovered in tax havens

https://www.premiumtimesng.com/panama-papers/201222-panamapapers-hidden-family-assets-nigerias-senate-president-saraki-uncovered-tax-havens.html

8 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page by powerbanks: 2:56am On Apr 28, 2021
It's is indeed worrisome and frightening that the Nigerian reality has become that
For the poor, there are only two ways to get to the top: crime or politics.

Re: Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page by lonecatt(m): 5:44am On Apr 28, 2021
One politician or all of them?
There are politician's who owns tripple of that amount in properties.

But their eyes go clear when there are no longer police and army to guard them.

Re: Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page by Racoon(m): 12:01pm On Apr 28, 2021
Lalasticlala! Another corruption by the so called people unfortunate to lead this nation.

Re: Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page by royalamour(m): 12:18pm On Apr 28, 2021
That's where they hope to run to in any event to war.

They should confiscate them, sell them off and send the money to charity.

9 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page by Stomoney(m): 5:14pm On Apr 28, 2021
kiss
Re: Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page by PCG1: 5:14pm On Apr 28, 2021
ιт'ѕ υnтιl we accepт вacĸ oυr anceѕтor'ѕ godѕ nιgerιa wιll conтιnυe тo ѕcrυмple
ιn тнe olden dayѕ noтнιng lιĸe ѕтealιng вecaυѕe we ғear тнe godѕ oғ oυr land
no nιgerιa polιтιcιan can ѕwear wιтн тнe godѕ oғ oυr land
υnтιl тнen......peace ooooo

Re: Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page by NaijaMutant(f): 5:14pm On Apr 28, 2021
If you still believe say naija go better, you must be the biggest fool of this century. cool

31 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page by slawormiir: 5:14pm On Apr 28, 2021
Damnnn niggarrrr
That one nor be news anymore

Re: Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page by MANNABBQGRILLS: 5:15pm On Apr 28, 2021
Lifestyle Audit is now legal in Nigeria. Those who flaunt lifestyles they cannot afford, can now be investigated by any of the graft agencies to produce evidence of the sources of their wealth

You can now be called upon to explain how you acquired certain properties.
This is how it is done in any sane society abroad.
Anyone with a legitimate source of income shouldn't be scared of this.
Only looters, criminals, kidnappers etc will be peeing in their pants reading this...

Just that it will be very good if they start this with our looting politicians on a FULL SCALE.
Let this Audit Lifestyle report begin from all corrupt politicians.

Nigeria will be great again in our lifetime.
God bless Nigeria.

Modify :
Although we are 100% sure that some of the Children of hate, frustrations and perdition shouting 'start with the politicians' will still be the same losers that will be crying political witch-hunting when the Government start seizing such properties of the looting criminals.
You will see them turn it to Political, tribalism and religious shenanigans when they are called for explaining how they acquire their wealth.

'Oh it is because he/she is in one Political party.
It is because he/she is a Christian.
It is because one particular person is from the north, west, south', East bla bla bla.

The Banana Island properties worth several billion seized from the frog-eyed Diezani bought with Nigeria's stolen money comes to mind.
We remembered how these hypocrites wail about it up till today, that they should leave her house for her.
Criminals.

Number one Characteristics of enemies of the country : HYPOCRISY!!!

We know people that are genuinely saying 'start from the politicians' from the truthful part of their hearts and because they care for the masses and Nigeria as a whole, like this member below.
cococandy:
Start from govt officials who own property that their salary can’t afford

........... and we know the ones that are saying it cos they do not want their looting fathers to be probed.
Nairalanders know those losers by their monikers.

We Rise!

AllenSpencer:
This cant be true.

True, that alone is just a bit more than the equivalent of Diezani's jewelry collections.
Bunch of Criminals.

6 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page by NwaNimo1(m): 5:15pm On Apr 28, 2021

9 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page by ZombieBurster: 5:15pm On Apr 28, 2021
I'm sure the hottest part of Hell would be reserved for Naija politicians

Re: Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page by MANNABBQGRILLS: 5:15pm On Apr 28, 2021
All politicians involved in looting our national treasury and causing bloodshed and violence will all never end well.
No matter the party they are ...... not forgetting the online fraudulent urchins supporting such politicians.

knowhowk:
. Amen. No matter the Party ,No matter the Politician ,PDP/ APC .Including those that fails to comments on the Bad Governance ,Those that does see Evil and decided to keep quiet and still Praise it .Amen
A BIG AMEN.
So shall it be.
It will never pass by each and everyone of such people.
Blood and sorrow will be their portion if they refuse to repent.
Amen to your prayers once again.
Thanks.

Adekdammy:

Is Tinubu a saint? Tell me which of them is not a criminal
Why not say AMEN to the post you quoted or keep silent.
Are you scared?
Hypo.

Anyways, We believe our post is too much for you to comprehend, that is why we always tell you Nairaland kids to always jump over our comments, and go to those of your fellow wailers.
You read the part of ' ALL politicians, no matter the party they are, and you still came back asking us slow question.
Shame!

2 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page by Sirheny007(m): 5:15pm On Apr 28, 2021
Re: Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page by Nuelito: 5:15pm On Apr 28, 2021
No be lie... that's why most of them careless about wetin dey happun inside dx kontri...any small shake...they will zoom off abroad

If you need Original Natural Honey...don't hesitate to contact O81 O1 66 67 71 let's talk about it..the honey is locally cultivated,raw and Unadulterated

Re: Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page by CSTRR: 5:15pm On Apr 28, 2021
The UAE govt would be laughing at us.

Re: Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page by fourboys: 5:15pm On Apr 28, 2021
sorry for the misinformation... they mean to say.. $400 billion dollars

Re: Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page by janedonez(m): 5:15pm On Apr 28, 2021
Phew
Re: Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page by LesbianBoy(m): 5:15pm On Apr 28, 2021
When I saw this headline today I nearly cried embarassed

Re: Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page by Coldie(m): 5:16pm On Apr 28, 2021
Our turn as NIGERIAN leaders go sweet.

I wonder who will advise the next generation, when everyone is a thief
Re: Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page by CSTRR: 5:16pm On Apr 28, 2021
If you check the percentage, 99% of them would be from the North.

Who else takes Dubai as their second home if not the North.?

Re: Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page by iammo(m): 5:16pm On Apr 28, 2021

na big lie .. the figure is grossly underestimated, it should be arround 2 to 3 billion usd

i personally know Atiku's Shopping Mall at Sharjah UAE, and i know some of his properties in palm jumerah...

one of the Largest Gold souk shop in UAE is owned by Dame Patience Jonathan with countless indians working for her

Re: Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page by Bbqgrillsnafool: 5:17pm On Apr 28, 2021
If the worst form of corruption, thievery , embezzlement, mismanagement is not practised in Nigeria, then Nigeria has a new name.

Meanwhile mannabbqgrillss, helanus, simplylies are living in squalor defending their oppressors with mtn opera free basics. A gaddemn shame

Re: Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page by blinking001(m): 5:18pm On Apr 28, 2021
Imagine the nonsense. Surprisingly Nigerians think President Buhari is their problem.
Re: Nigerian Politicians Own Properties Worth $400m In Dubai - Matthew Page by tunary(m): 5:18pm On Apr 28, 2021
Hmmm

INEC Chairman, Yakubu, Attends Briefing On The Kenya Election In Nairobi / I Have Stayed So Long In Prison– Shehu Sani Backs Call For Nnamdi Kanu’s Release / Obi: ₦‎1.5Bn For First Lady Unconstitutional, Her Job Is To Care For Her Husband

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 33