Stats: 3,148,795 members, 7,802,533 topics. Date: Friday, 19 April 2024 at 04:00 PM

Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? - Food (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Food / Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? (24356 Views)

How I Prepared A Hot And Spicy Vegetable Jollof Rice on a budget / Why Do We Always Cook Rice On Sundays? / Why Do Most Nigerian Families Eat Rice On Sunday (2) (3) (4)

Re: Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? by greggng: 2:37pm On Jun 27, 2021
BadRadio:

Have u ever thought of it.

U pay a visit and u are being served ricegrin

Cos Jesus was born on Sunday
Re: Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? by smile11s(m): 2:37pm On Jun 27, 2021
It’s Omenala

Re: Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? by Blackdisciple(m): 2:39pm On Jun 27, 2021
Because it's simple to prepare

Re: Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? by GiftedTitty: 2:39pm On Jun 27, 2021
gaetano:
It's in the constitution. It's like asking me why people eat meat last during a meal.
which constitution?
Re: Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? by goldlink(m): 2:40pm On Jun 27, 2021
It has become a custom that no one knows how it started.
Re: Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? by boxypane(m): 2:40pm On Jun 27, 2021
doctore212:
I need an olosho urgently before I attend today's service
U need Jesus!

Re: Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? by observanc1: 2:40pm On Jun 27, 2021
Joanney:
Lol cheesy
What do Muslims cook on Friday sef
tuwo
Re: Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? by eedimo(m): 2:40pm On Jun 27, 2021
We couldn't even afford Sunday rice, we eat rice maybe once/twice a month.
ThankGod for Grace.
Re: Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? by NotGej: 2:42pm On Jun 27, 2021
Rice is now staple I our diet.
Re: Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? by codinight: 2:42pm On Jun 27, 2021
This is more to do with what rice is served with.

Most families cannot afford chicken, turkey, or catfish stew on a regular, and that's what makes a rice serving special in my opinion.

So breaking the bank every Sunday seems more realistic to them.

Re: Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? by GiveUpNojoin(m): 2:44pm On Jun 27, 2021
angry grin
We never still know ooo..
Na just the trend n we dey follow am like that
Re: Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? by MrNipplesLover(m): 2:45pm On Jun 27, 2021
It is part of our culture, religion and constitution.

Re: Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? by Osyxcel(m): 2:46pm On Jun 27, 2021
SweetBuns:
Back in the olden days, rice was a very special food, only cooked twice or Thrice in a year, depending on the families denomination (New year, Easter and Christmas )

Then it became more common and then was cooked every Sunday, and then every other day

But that tradition of cooking it every Sunday still persists

Our parents learnt it from theirs, we learnt it from ours and we will soon teach our kids

That’s just it

Nailed it!

Re: Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? by MeghaneMorgane(f): 2:46pm On Jun 27, 2021
Many people cook a special food on Sunday. Rice is a special food to many people. These days, people cook swallow on Sundays these days. A special swallow. Like pounded yam.
Re: Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? by b03liberty(m): 2:47pm On Jun 27, 2021
Joanney:
Lol cheesy
masa de miyan
Re: Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? by Mummyfour(f): 2:48pm On Jun 27, 2021
It used to be a tradition in ny house too. But of recent we eat beans
For today sha, we just hammer eba and okro soup as we came back from church.. grin
After that, na beans later on tongue
We can go for a week without eating rice in my house now, we no go even notice am.
But beans is bae with any combination cool

Re: Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? by JudasNaCarrot: 2:48pm On Jun 27, 2021
Lol.....

I just finished cooking rice and delicious stew now.

The answer to your question dates back to the time of Noah in the Bible.

Stop asking and do as you meet am.
Re: Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? by Patrioticman007(m): 2:49pm On Jun 27, 2021
Joanney:
Lol cheesy

Masa with ram meat
Re: Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? by Tadwears2050(m): 2:49pm On Jun 27, 2021
I just finished eating Kilimajero rice
Re: Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? by Afamcy: 2:50pm On Jun 27, 2021
Check the Nigerian constitution section 15 subsection 3b you will know why it's important to cook oriza certiva (rice) on Sundays
Re: Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? by vershum4u: 2:50pm On Jun 27, 2021
Who tell u say 9ja nor get food... Guy, venture into Igbo food or any other tribe aside Yoruba food to enjoy real food. We've got delicious food here in 9ja. Do I need to start mentioning them?

2shaw:
Om thinking of what to eat tonite. Maybe moimoi with bread or bread with butter and groundnut with coke or I buy shawama with a bottle of Goldberg or catfish with malt or I just do normal buy cookies and milk. Naija no get food at all and I'm fed up. Tho e don tay wey I taste stew. Hustle don make cobwebs full up kitchen.

Re: Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? by emekulous(m): 2:51pm On Jun 27, 2021
Rice tastes better on Sunday �
Re: Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? by BinamRex: 2:52pm On Jun 27, 2021
It was made compulsory in the 1999 Constitution.
Re: Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? by sweetjohn(m): 2:53pm On Jun 27, 2021
Because of visitors i guess. Most people go visiting on Sundays than anyother days of the week. So its most presentable to serve rice than beans, yam or even swallow to your visitors unless they specifically request for it

Re: Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? by onadana: 2:56pm On Jun 27, 2021
SimplyFacts:
Just finished devouring mine grin

Same with me.

Re: Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? by SharonLoveth(f): 2:58pm On Jun 27, 2021
Rice is even better than sacrificing rams to one god annually
Re: Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? by Nobody: 3:00pm On Jun 27, 2021
greggng:

Cos Jesus was born on Sunday
Re: Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? by Kessythegeek(m): 3:00pm On Jun 27, 2021
In the past, Oritza Sativa (Rice) used to be a very important food and it wasn't only important, it was often associated with the rich and affluent — so when it became available for everyone, the not-so-wealthy treated it as a food for the gods and only opened their glorious sacks only on very important and memorable occasions such as Sundays, Christmas, Easter and other important days....

Check my signature for a gift.

Re: Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? by Jonah507(m): 3:01pm On Jun 27, 2021
Mummyfour:
It used to be a tradition in ny house too. But of recent we eat beans
For today sha, we just hammer eba and okro soup as we came back from church.. grin
After that, na beans later on tongue
We can go for a week without eating rice in my house now, we no go even notice am.
But beans is bae with any combination cool

If you visit me na enjoyment go kill you ooo bcoz beans na my fav
Re: Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? by treatise: 3:03pm On Jun 27, 2021
BadRadio:

Have u ever thought of it.

U pay a visit and u are being served ricegrin

In the early days of Christianity in Nigeria rice wasn't that common when compared with other staple foods then ; more expensive. The stewing and frying associated with rice occupied a special place hence, reserved for a special day like Sunday where farmers, traders and white collar job people were at home. Conversely, go to rich people's homes you wouldn't see rice prepared only on Sundays.

Re: Why Do Most People Cook Rice On Sundays??? by Loudthoughts1: 3:06pm On Jun 27, 2021
In my area, we prepare pounded yam on Sunday thereafter you go to bed.

Worst Things Seen While Cooking. / 6 Common Types Of People You Meet At A Nigerian Buka / Drinking/sippin Garri. Is It Gud Or Bad?

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 23