Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,165,696 members, 7,862,177 topics. Date: Sunday, 16 June 2024 at 10:34 AM

Blood Sisters: Ratings And Review (Nigerian Movie On Netflix) - TV/Movies - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / TV/Movies / Blood Sisters: Ratings And Review (Nigerian Movie On Netflix) (53800 Views)

Blood Vessel: Ratings And Review / Gangs Of Lagos: Ratings And Review / Meet ‘The Critic‘, Kaduna Students And Their Scifi Movie On Green Screen (video) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (Reply) (Go Down)

Blood Sisters: Ratings And Review (Nigerian Movie On Netflix) by safarigirl(f): 4:41am On May 06, 2022
Yes, I am quite aware it is 4:00AM Nigerian time, and yet, I am wide awake, about to drop a review that will most likely be lengthy, so, you already know how bomb this watch was.

Please, if you have not watched Blood Sisters, I am about to unapologetically ruin the suspense for you, so, if you would like to maintain the purity of a good watch, I would advise you stop reading at this point, and perhaps return after watching.

Without further ado, here goes the review of the year (for me)


Movie: Blood Sisters

Producer(s): EbonyLife Studios (Mo Abudu), Netflix
Director(s): Biyi Bandele, Kenneth Gyang
Cast:
Ini-Dima Okojie
Nancy Isime
Kate Henshaw
Wale Ojo
Deyemi Okanlawon
Ramsey Noah
Gabriel Afolayan
Kehinde Bankole
Genoveve Umeh
Ibrahim Suleiman
Daniel Etim-Effiong
Uche Jombo
Keppy Ekpeyong
Run Time: 4 episodes of 1 hour each


Plot:
Best friends Sarah Duru (Okojie) and Kemi Sanya (Isime), go on the run, after the accidental murder of Sarah's wealthy, influential, but extremely abusive fiancee, Kola Ademola (Okanlawon). In the hunt for the girls, secrets are revealed that threaten the facade the Ademola family matriarch, Uduak (Henshaw), has built over the years.


Review:

Hmm...like earlier stated, this is about to be a long read, because I cannot begin this review without going through a vote of thanks.

First of all, I would like to thank Aunty Mo Abudu for this brilliant work. I know I heavily shat on that atrocity of a movie they used to open the year for us, so, in the same light, I am here to douse this production in accolades.

The plot of this series was brilliant, and whoever suggested it be shot as a Limited Series, must have been communing with the angels at the time, because nothing else could have quite done justice to this Series and the many intricacies the plot presented. There were so many layers to the story, so many parts, it wasn't just a straightforward 'girls kill rich guy and go on the run' story. We were introduced to subplots; some other suspects, a sordid past, a dysfunctional family, bribery, blackmail, organ harvesting, all interwoven into one storyline. Lesser writers would have muddled it all up, but kudos to the writers of this story, because no one plotline swallowed the other. Although Sarah Duru and Kemi Sanya were the leads, I feel like the plotline allowed every other actor to shine, while not overshadowing the premise of the story. The scriptwriting in this, is possibly the best of any Nigerian production on Netflix in the last couple of years. Guys, there were punchlines, especially from Officer Joe 'Chicago' Obasanjo (Wale Ojo),there were quotable quotes. Ah, they finished work with the script.

My next point has to be the costuming, because the casting is so good, I may have to save it for later. If you're a fashion enthusiast, I imagine you must have been shrieking in glee at every outift reveal, particularly with Uduak Ademola (Henshaw), every piece was a hit, and damn if Miss Henshaw didn't wear the fabric off everything that got on her skin. I just dey see "couture, couture" everywhere, Netflix's budget did not go into any cheap shit, you can tell. Another character whose outfits I really enjoyed, whole not being flamboyant, has to be Akin's (Daniel Etim-Effiong). It was all simple, sleeveless kaftans, but they were so age appropriate and classy. Yinka Ademola (Kehinde Bankole), also had some outfits that will have you contacting your favourite clothes vendor for a wardrobe update. Every outfit was a hit, and you know Miss Bankole had the body for those fits.

Next up, settings. Now, you all know Lekkiwood would not be Lekkiwood if no be Lagos dem set the film. We really waka round Lagos, where we no reach? We saw Lekki, we saw Falomo, we saw a private beach (I'm not sure if it was Oniru or Elegushi), we enter village, and of course, our favorites tourist site, Makoko, also got a great feature. We were treated to scenes in the luxurious and palatial mansions the Ademolas called home, and we also got to see the simple, sparse abode of the hitman Blade, (Sam), we saw a modern beach house, and the inside of a bamboo house in a quaint village. The budget was very generously spread out in the location choices, and it all worked out for good.

Next up, cinematography. Brethren, at this point, I need not go into details of how amazing the cinematography was in this movie. At no point did I not see anything clearly. The screen clear die, there were enough views of the horizon, the lighting was awesome, I only had to see Eko bridge once and never again, because other things dey to shoot, the transitions were brilliant, and the effects, flawless....but cinematography is one thing you can trust EbonyLife on, if nothing else.

And now, without further ado, I would like to touch the casting. This one will possibly continue through another post, because I would really like to delve into some of my favourite performances, but generally speaking, the casting in this movie was nothing short of brilliant. Finally, we have an All-Star cast that did not combust with too much star power. I mean, y'all saw the main cast earlier, you know you cannot assemble such a cast without creating magic, especially when the script was so good. The guest stars were TOP Stars, from Joke Silva to Segun Arinze, Tope Tedela, Patrick Doyle, Okey Uzoeshi, Zack Orji, Toyin Abraham, Edo Dike, Denrele, and still, each of these people delivered their lines with such sleek professionalism. In fact everybody was exceptional. I hadn't seen Ini-Dima pull out a performance as good as what she gave in this, for a long time. I had almost started doubting her acting skill, because she was getting such lazy, mediocre scripts and her performances were reflecting that, but this time, she thoroughly stepped up, I most enjoyed her expressions, she sold the whole 'abused partner' role to the letter, and Nancy Isime was brilliant as usual, but these two while delivering brilliantly, were not my favorites. With the delivery, I would also like to properly appreciate Deyemi Okanlawon and Ramsey Noah. See, guys, Deyemi only featured in the first episode, as in, that was the only episode we actually got to see him speak, and interact, yet, his aura carried through to the last episode. It always felt like I was still watching him, even when he did not even feature. And then, there was Oga Ramsey Noah, see, una see this acting thing, leave am for Ramsey. He pulled off the role of Henchman in ways only someone with over 400 acting credits to his name and 20+ years of experience would be able to pull it off, while dressed in what is turning out to be his signature all black suit. I'm not sure Ramsey had more than 4 lines the entire 4 episodes of that Series, yet, we felt his every mood. You could tell when he was bored, when he was angry, when he was frustrated, when he was nonchalant, and yet, he never had to deliver any dialogue to relay his state of mind. It was just in his carriage and body language. Still, Ramsey was not the breakout star for me in this Series, because we all know what Ramsey can do.

For the sake of length, I would like to stop writing on the cast at this point, and just give a general conclusion that this Limited Series was brilliant. This is the kind of stuff Nollywood should be putting out on the international front, just so Netflix won't think we are a waste of funds. While this series did not thoroughly deviate from some of the tropes Lekkiwood and Aunty Mo like to explore like the cold, unwelcoming matriarch, the obnoxiously wealthy family marrying from a middle class family, and of course, a flamboyant owambe party for the culture, these tropes did not get to swallow the essence of a good old drama. Everything blended in to create a perfect story, and I can say with my full chest, that this is the BEST Nollywood and Netflix collaboration project. Perhaps more projects should explore the possibility of a Limited Series, rather than 1h53 mins movies that leave you feeling unsatisfied.


Rating: 9/10.

Watch or Trash- If you no watch this series, you fit regret am

PS: I would like to thank everyone involved in this production for doing justice to the title 'Blood Sisters', after that classic from Omotola and Genevieve, I would have been so pained if they ruined the title with a mediocre production.


UP NEXT: My list of favorite performances.

Meanwhile, have you seen the Limited Series, and what are your thoughts on it?

51 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Blood Sisters: Ratings And Review (Nigerian Movie On Netflix) by safarigirl(f): 5:45am On May 06, 2022
Well, back to some of my favourite performances from this series

1) Wale Ojo- There is something about actors who aren't everywhere, and Wale Ojo brings out that something everytime you see him on screen. He is so methodical an actor, his delivery is always impeccable, and it was no different in this production. Witty, sharp, thoughtful and introspective, Officer Joe 'Chicago' was all this and more. Wale sold the character of a returnee inspector flawlessly,his delivery was faultless and I need not say more on his carriage. I really enjoy thisam everytime I see him on screen. He has never had a bad performance, and its probably because, once again, he isn't everywhere.

2) Genoveve Umeh- Not to be confused with the brilliant Miss Genevieve Nnaji, but every bit as talented, this lady is definitely my breakout star of this show. She plays the role of Timeyin Ademola, the rebellious, only daughter of the Ademola clan with an addiction she tries to kick with little to no support from her family. For the most part, Genoveve appears intoxicated, but then, the scenes she is lucid are always so heavy. She properly portrays a troubled young woman, desperately seeking acceptance from a mother who just never sees the good in her. This character is not for everyone, so, Genoveve's portrayal is deserving of massive accolades. In the midst of brilliant veterans like Miss Henshaw, Ramsey Noah, and Gabriel Afolayan, she shone. At no point did we see her back down, this chic laid it all down in every scene, and I do hope she gets all the patronage and accolades deserving of such a performance.

3) Kate Henshaw- Sometimes, we tend to take people for granted, because we have seen them give is 100/100 performances over the years, but Blood Sisters reminded us that Old Nollywood stars are still miles above what obtains today with their professionalism and Miss Henshaw led that charge. Playing a powerful, ambitious woman is nothing new for Kate, but she kills this performance and knocks it out of the park. She presented a perfect blend of passionate for the one son she did love fiercely, and dismissive, if not downright cruel, to the kids she did not care for, in Timeyin (Umeh) and Femi (Afolayan). Her adoration, and borderline worship of the chosen child, Kola (Okanlawon) is such a deviation from the derision her two other children have to deal with. It is no wonder Timeyin is driven to madness by it all.

4) Gabriel Afolayan and Kehinde Bankole- I wish I could separate both their performances, but for the purpose of this series, these two have to work as a pair. I don't know the terms of their contract, but I do hope Gabriel Afolayan and Kehinde have plans to put this their strong chemistry to great use off screen, because OMO....not since the days of Ramsey Noah and Genevieve Nnaji, and Rita Dominic and Jim Iyke, have I seen another pair with as much on screen chemistry as Gabriel and Kehinde. These two play the scheming husband and wife; while Femi (Afolayan), is a little more feeble minded, his wife, Yinka (Bankole), is as fierce as his mother and ready to get her hands dirty. This pair spend a lot of time plotting the emergence of Femi as the heir to the Ademola fortunes, amongst other nefarious schemes, and sealing it with some really passionate coitus. They worked so well together, I don't think I will be able to watch them with others henceforth. This was a power couple. And this pair proved once again, why they are so highly rated in Nollywood.


A special shout out goes to Uche Jombo, who was brilliant in her role as an Igbo mum, she provided at least 70% of the Igbo dialogue here, also, Ibrahim Suleiman who played Kenny Nioku, the jilted boyfriend that comes through in Sarah's (Okojie), time of need. I enjoyed these performances immensely.


Do you have any favourite performances?

29 Likes 1 Share

Re: Blood Sisters: Ratings And Review (Nigerian Movie On Netflix) by georjay(m): 6:04am On May 06, 2022
cool
Re: Blood Sisters: Ratings And Review (Nigerian Movie On Netflix) by 3RNEST(m): 8:16am On May 06, 2022
Tot was Blood Sister Reloaded... embarassed

3 Likes

Re: Blood Sisters: Ratings And Review (Nigerian Movie On Netflix) by safarigirl(f): 1:42pm On May 06, 2022
3RNEST:
Tot was Blood Sister Reloaded... embarassed

Lol.

Nope

It's not at all related to the original Blood Sisters.

8 Likes

Re: Blood Sisters: Ratings And Review (Nigerian Movie On Netflix) by Kontagora8: 8:05pm On May 06, 2022
Watching this movie tonight!

I'm just hearing of it

2 Likes 1 Share

Re: Blood Sisters: Ratings And Review (Nigerian Movie On Netflix) by MANNABBQGRILLS: 8:06pm On May 06, 2022
Very interesting movie.

Jim Iyke's latest movie is another Banger.

Thumbs up Guys.


Eaglesence:
What is the title of Jim Iykes movie biko?
WoundedLamb:

What's the title, please?
kunlesehan:
Title please?

9 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Blood Sisters: Ratings And Review (Nigerian Movie On Netflix) by Sabadon(m): 8:07pm On May 06, 2022
Have heard alot of hype about the movie, might give it a try

6 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Blood Sisters: Ratings And Review (Nigerian Movie On Netflix) by Nobody: 8:07pm On May 06, 2022
Every one has been rating this movie highly
I don't want to be disappointed.
Hope it's not like chief Daddy 2

18 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Blood Sisters: Ratings And Review (Nigerian Movie On Netflix) by kunlesehan(m): 8:07pm On May 06, 2022
Star studded, good script. Great acting

4 Likes 1 Share

Re: Blood Sisters: Ratings And Review (Nigerian Movie On Netflix) by Luduna: 8:07pm On May 06, 2022
T
Re: Blood Sisters: Ratings And Review (Nigerian Movie On Netflix) by Mikeeytools: 8:08pm On May 06, 2022
Your mate are heading key positions in Nigeria. Be here thinking of movies.

21 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Blood Sisters: Ratings And Review (Nigerian Movie On Netflix) by kunlesehan(m): 8:08pm On May 06, 2022
Title please?

post=112588239:
Very interesting movie.

Jim Iyke's latest movie is another Banger.

Thumbs up Guys.
Re: Blood Sisters: Ratings And Review (Nigerian Movie On Netflix) by 1Sharon(f): 8:08pm On May 06, 2022
Is it related to the older movie by the same name?

3 Likes

Re: Blood Sisters: Ratings And Review (Nigerian Movie On Netflix) by zera(m): 8:08pm On May 06, 2022
Gabriel Afolayan....bad ass actor

22 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Blood Sisters: Ratings And Review (Nigerian Movie On Netflix) by Jefferyhi86(m): 8:08pm On May 06, 2022
Have u watch the first blood sister during the 90s,d lead actress was Ramsey Noah's ex, I forgot her name

5 Likes 1 Share

Re: Blood Sisters: Ratings And Review (Nigerian Movie On Netflix) by fredoooooo: 8:08pm On May 06, 2022
Love the cast , going to watch ..
Re: Blood Sisters: Ratings And Review (Nigerian Movie On Netflix) by Helpfromabove1(m): 8:08pm On May 06, 2022
I Never watch am so our I go rate am
Re: Blood Sisters: Ratings And Review (Nigerian Movie On Netflix) by LeeMason(m): 8:08pm On May 06, 2022
Hope its worth the hype.
Re: Blood Sisters: Ratings And Review (Nigerian Movie On Netflix) by Mrsegz: 8:08pm On May 06, 2022
I rate this movie a 9/10.
Arguably the best Nigerian Netflix Series ever.

24 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Blood Sisters: Ratings And Review (Nigerian Movie On Netflix) by Vintiana: 8:09pm On May 06, 2022
In as much as I’m tempted to read this, I’m still not going to.
Someone should please borrow their Netflix login when I finish watching it, I will return it.

Thank you in anticipation.

2 Likes 1 Share

Re: Blood Sisters: Ratings And Review (Nigerian Movie On Netflix) by blucum(m): 8:09pm On May 06, 2022
A solid 9/10 I must say

5 Likes

Re: Blood Sisters: Ratings And Review (Nigerian Movie On Netflix) by oluseyiforjesus(m): 8:09pm On May 06, 2022
Ok
Re: Blood Sisters: Ratings And Review (Nigerian Movie On Netflix) by ugodson(m): 8:09pm On May 06, 2022
Please, if you have not watched Blood Sisters, I am about to unapologetically ruin the suspense for you, so, if you would like to maintain the purity of a good watch, I would advise you stop reading at this point, and perhaps return after watching.


As I read the above statement, I just stop reading make I go watch the movie then I will read. grin

15 Likes 1 Share

Re: Blood Sisters: Ratings And Review (Nigerian Movie On Netflix) by FactBoyz: 8:09pm On May 06, 2022
This movie is the best Nigerian Series I've watched

10 Likes 1 Share

Re: Blood Sisters: Ratings And Review (Nigerian Movie On Netflix) by obembet(f): 8:10pm On May 06, 2022
Best movie this month

6 Likes

Re: Blood Sisters: Ratings And Review (Nigerian Movie On Netflix) by Pinklygul: 8:10pm On May 06, 2022
If it's not our 'old' blood sisters of Genevieve and Omotola,then it can not be blood sisters

40 Likes 1 Share

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (Reply)

Tonto Dikeh Plays Tomatoes And Garri Seller In New Movie ( Photos ) / Whitemoney: BBNaija Winner's Prize Presentation / BBNaija: Bassey Knew ThinTallTony Was Married, See Photos

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 51
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.