Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,149,788 members, 7,806,184 topics. Date: Tuesday, 23 April 2024 at 12:39 PM

The Role Of Social Media Influence In Nigeria's 2023 Elections... By Charles Awu - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / The Role Of Social Media Influence In Nigeria's 2023 Elections... By Charles Awu (289 Views)

Supreme Court Delivers Judgment On Sokoto & Imo Governorship Elections By 5pm / Dele Momodu Reacts To Postponement Of 2019 Elections By INEC / Voting Procedures For 2019 Elections By INEC (2) (3) (4)

(1) (Reply)

The Role Of Social Media Influence In Nigeria's 2023 Elections... By Charles Awu by adefitim(m): 2:48pm On Jul 19, 2022
Besides being one of Nigeria's leading social media Influencers, I am a Technologist who follows Tech Trends, a futurist who is obsessed with the future of everything and an analyst who methodically examines events in detail.

The Nigerian 2023 election is not a usual election - it is expected to be the most technologically advanced election in the history of our nation. One trend we must closely study is the role of social media influence in 2023 elections.

Currently, smaller parties with lower campaign budgets are making social media their key campaign strategy. They are onboarding celebrities as deputies to tap into their huge social media influence. The bigger parties are amused by the social media strategy of the smaller parties until Davido's uncle won the Osun election through the combination of Davido's social media influence and the candidate's fame on social media as 'the Dancing senator'.