Stats: 3,147,987 members, 7,799,383 topics. Date: Tuesday, 16 April 2024 at 08:05 PM

Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV (13169 Views)

How Ex-president Arranged Arrest of Diezani - Silverbirdtv.com / Another Retired General Attacks Jonathan And Predicts He Would Lose The Election / Retired General, Others Under Watch (2) (3) (4)

Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV by vicoloni(m): 11:38pm On Sep 14, 2011
My Respect For Adams Oshiomole Has Disappeared Over Tv Drama

I watched on STV @10 tonight how Guv. Oshiomole ordered the arrest of the Chairman, Task Force on Illegal buildings, a retired Major General, for daring to demolish buildings belonging to former Guv. Ogbemudia! I couldnt believe my eyes I mean how the Guv. conducted an on-the spot interrogation of the man and ordered his immediate arrest in the full glare of the public, press and some foreign guests!
Trust Nigerian policemen, they hurriedly handcuffed the man and pushed him into an open van like a criminal.

QUESTIONS ARE: 1) Why did Oshiomole appoint him if he knew he wasnt competent for the job 2) Would he have responded in same way if the felled buildings belonged to 'ordinary' citizens 3) Where is the rule of law? Fine he has the powers of arrest but why should the man be treated like a common criminal before being found guilty by a court of law?

Na wah oooooooo. I FEEL SO ASHAMED AT WHAT OUR FORMER LABOUR LEADER DID TODAY!!!
Re: Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV by mayonikks: 12:37am On Sep 15, 2011
I beleive it was a matter of waiting for the poor man's cup to be filled up,

Who knows??
Re: Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV by velo10: 2:04am On Sep 15, 2011
Oshiomole seems not to have abandoned his crude tactics as NLC leader now as a governor. They call this man the people's man but he needs to understand better ways of handling situations in a democratic environment
Re: Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV by manny4life(m): 2:08am On Sep 15, 2011
I've always said it, the Nigerian judicial system needs a total OVERHAUL. Arresting someone for no probable cause; quite unheard of.
Re: Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV by mayonikks: 2:12am On Sep 15, 2011
@Moderator, The man arrested was a retired major not GENERAL,
Re: Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV by Beaf: 2:59am On Sep 15, 2011
mitofag:

Wonders shall never[size=15pt] cease.[/size]

Why do Ibo people speak bad English?  Almost every Ibo poster on this forum has issues with the Queen's language.

You should stick to your native language, if English no gree you, abi wetin sef

Isn't it an irony that you call it "the Queens language?"
Perhaps, you're not too clever afterall.
Re: Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV by pereze: 3:03am On Sep 15, 2011
velo10:

Oshiomole seems not to have abandoned his crude tactics as NLC leader as a governor. They call this man the people's man but he needs to understand better ways f handling situations in a democratic environment
I don't get your point. As 'NLC LEADER' whatever that means, does that give you the right to act 'crude'?
Re: Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV by mitofag: 3:12am On Sep 15, 2011
Beaf:

Isn't it an irony that you call it "the Queens language?"
Perhaps, you're not too clever afterall.

Na your papa language? I am not smart because I called it Queen's language instead of Queen's English? What a clown

Begging the question ediot. ROFLMAO
Re: Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV by Jenifa1: 3:16am On Sep 15, 2011
That is Nigeria for you.
He should thank his lucky stars that at least he wasn't assassinated didn't mysteriously disappear.
Re: Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV by mitofag: 3:19am On Sep 15, 2011
Jenifa_:

That is Nigeria for you.
He should thank his lucky stars that at least he wasn't assassinated didn't mysteriously disappear.

Assassination over what?

When was the last time someone got assassinated over something as trivial as this

All this diasporans sha. dem don lost tey tey
Re: Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV by Basics007: 3:24am On Sep 15, 2011
If this story is too then that's barbaric. Haba! He could've summoned him to his office later and do whatever he wishes with him. Moreover if commoner houses could be demolished why not Ogbemudia's? Ajasin's house (fence) was afterall demolished in Ondo State.

mitofag:

Why do Ibo people speak bad English?  Almost every Ibo poster on this forum has issues with the Queen's language.

Another NL ethnic war about to start
Re: Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV by dabrake(m): 3:47am On Sep 15, 2011
mitofag:

Why do Ibo people speak bad English? Almost every Ibo poster on this forum has issues with the Queen's language.

wetin carry igbo come here. Deputy drunk fisherman
mitofag:

Na your papa language? I am not smart because I called it Queen's language instead of Queen's English? What a clown

Begging the question ediot. ROFLMAO
wadz 4ny? So u dey 4lo vex? No b person pikin u been cast go hell? Carry dat ur jagajaga face lyk shit wey person match

Re: Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV by manny4life(m): 3:51am On Sep 15, 2011
mitofag:

Why do Ibo people speak bad English? Almost every Ibo poster on this forum has issues with the Queen's language.

There you, trying to start a tribal bashing, what has igbo got to do with the thread? Mr. Smart
Re: Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV by Jenifa1: 3:57am On Sep 15, 2011
mitofag:

Assassination over what?

When was the last time someone got assassinated over something as trivial as this

All this diasporans sha. dem don lost tey tey

well that's my point. people don't get assassinated over something this trivial in Nigeria.
let's thank God for that.

It could have been worse.
Re: Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV by lagcity(m): 4:42am On Sep 15, 2011
since when can the governor order someone's arrest? chei, naija ooo.
Re: Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV by mitofag: 4:45am On Sep 15, 2011
lagcity:

since when can the governor order someone's arrest? chei, naija ooo.

Imagine what would happen if we had state police?
Re: Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV by velo10: 5:22am On Sep 15, 2011
pereze:

I don't get your point. As 'NLC LEADER' whatever that means, does that give you the right to act 'crude'?

As NLC leader it was fire for fire mentality with him. I'm not in support f his crude actions like above
Re: Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV by slaughter(m): 5:53am On Sep 15, 2011
it is so clear that the constitution we use is designed by one man and for one man 'ABACHA' THE FOREMOST AND MOST STUPID 3 ARE 1) WASTEFUL SECURITY ALLOWANCES FOR THESE GOVERNORS 2)70% OF THE BUDGET ALLOCATION FOR THE LEGISLATORS (ACCORDING TO SANUSI) 3) WHICH AFFECT GOV OSHIOMOLE IS THE IMMUNITY CLAUSE , meaning i can do anything 4 anybody and anybody can not do anything 4 me, too bad a country cry cry cry cry cry i weep 4 nigeria
Re: Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV by EzeCanada: 5:55am On Sep 15, 2011
@mitofag. It's either you are a confused person, slow or have complex issues.

Otherwise why would one have issues with someone not having perfect command of some foreign language he correctly termed “the Queens Language”?

Wake up mumu "Captain obvious" I’ll rather you start learning Mandarin or Cantonese, they are the new world champion.
Re: Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV by wesley80(m): 6:27am On Sep 15, 2011
This is where you really get tired of Nigerians. A retired Major is arrested for wanton destruction of properties of ordinary citizens and the issue is what? Non courtesy in manner of arrest? Are you guys ok at all?
The OP has always been an Oshiomhole hater so i'm not surprised at his comments but the way others have tagged along without asking questions like herded sheeps speaks volumes. What kind of courtesy should be extended to someone that rolls in bulldozers to destroy peoples homes for no reason? And for your information He only ordered his arrest and if anyone is unhappy with the manner he was bundled by the police, the issue should be taking up with the IG abi na governor dey train police? Here's a link to the true story for those interested in hearing the truth.
vanguardngr.com/2011/09/illegal-demolition-oshiomhole-orders-arrest-of-task-force-boss
Re: Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV by echezz: 6:30am On Sep 15, 2011
@ Manny4life I was just wondering how the judiciary is to blame for an executive governor exercising his power albeit rudely
Re: Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV by Omooba77: 6:45am On Sep 15, 2011
The story was true, I watched live on Channels news. My wife opened her mouth wide open with surprise, that in a democratic setting, something like this can happen. shocked . What has changed in Nigeria democratic setting?? embarassed
Re: Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV by jamace(m): 7:16am On Sep 15, 2011
Very crude, I must say. sad sad sad sad
Re: Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV by buzcenter: 7:19am On Sep 15, 2011
everybody need more money , why the man no stay at home they enjoy retired salary , isale oro legbin
Re: Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV by MeGaStReEt: 9:09am On Sep 15, 2011
Oshitole! He will never disappoint me, never
Re: Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV by Myself2(m): 9:12am On Sep 15, 2011
The short adulterous tyrant should be there arresting people that stepped on his toes by demolishing houses belonging to his friends,whilst Edo is taken over by Kidnappers and robbers.Bayo Ade and so many prominent Edo sons and daughters were kidnapped and killed even after the payment of ransom,hospital CMDs,rectors of higher colleges,transporters,industrialists etc etc no one is safe.Elder Sorae of Tomline was kidnapped,his wife,driver and two MOPOL escorts(?) were killed in the process,Oshiomhole is busy sleeping around in shameful or[i]gie[/i]s with girls from Igbinedion university okada.
Re: Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV by deeflamez(m): 10:20am On Sep 15, 2011
The FULL NEWS below>>>>

By Simon Ebegbulem & Gabriel Enogholase

BENIN-GOVERNOR Adams Oshiomhole of Edo State, Monday, ordered the immediate arrest and prosecution of the Chairman of the state Task Force on Demolition of Illegal Properties, Major Lawrence Loye (rtd) for carrying out illegal and unauthorised demolition of buildings in Benin, the state capital.

He gave the order while inspecting an illegally demolished building on Siluko Road, Benin City.

Governor Oshiomhole said: “As you have seen, this building that has been destroyed does not in any way affect the moat. There is enough space between the property and the moat. The fact that you work for government does not give you licence to visit harm and destruction on innocent people.

“I am convinced that he acted in bad faith. He is a sadist and his purpose is to confuse the people about the genuineness of our intention.

“Major Loye on his own without authorisation from the Commissioner moved to this location and brought down this building. He is not a town planning officer. He is only to carry out demolitions after a competent officer identifies a property that offends the right of way. He had assumed the powers of the Ministry of Land and Environment. On his own, without being told, he goes about marking houses indiscriminately.

“I remain committed. If any property obstructs the right of way, it will be demolished, it does not matter who owns it.”

He added that if any property does not constitute any blockade, such property is entitled to government protection.

Oshiomhole added: “I am handing him over now to the police for prosecution for illegal destruction of property. He will be prosecuted according to the law. Although the governor can revoke property for public interest, I have not handed over that power to Major Loye and he cannot acquire those powers.

“If he seeks to use personal biases to do what he has done, then he must be subjected to the Rule of Law and we must bring him to justice.”
Re: Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV by agitator: 10:23am On Sep 15, 2011
wesley80:

This is where you really get tired of Nigerians. A retired Major is arrested for wanton destruction of properties of ordinary citizens and the issue is what? Non courtesy in manner of arrest? Are you guys ok at all?
The OP has always been an Oshiomhole hater so i'm not surprised at his comments but the way others have tagged along without asking questions like herded sheeps speaks volumes. What kind of courtesy should be extended to someone that rolls in bulldozers to destroy peoples homes for no reason? And for your information He only ordered his arrest and if anyone is unhappy with the manner he was bundled by the police, the issue should be taking up with the IG abi na governor dey train police? Here's a link to the true story for those interested in hearing the truth.
vanguardngr.com/2011/09/illegal-demolition-oshiomhole-orders-arrest-of-task-force-boss

This your post just shows why we are where we are. Different laws for different folks. The issue of the arrest came up after Ogbemudia's house was demolished, not because he was doing illegal demolition.

Plus, the man was not a dangerous criminal. He could have been escorted to the station. Handcuffs are used for dangerous and violent criminals - especially robbers, murderers, etc.
Re: Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV by samquad(m): 10:42am On Sep 15, 2011
@deeflamez,thank u for giving me a clearer picture of the situation. If this is what happened, why are you guys blaming Osiomola? Abi na im sey make d policemen no get sense?this just showed how Nigerians abuse delegated authority/power,even the policemen in this case did the same.
Re: Oshiomole Ordered The Arrest Of A Retired General Live On TV by seanet02: 10:57am On Sep 15, 2011
Pdp will do anything to discredit you.

INTERVIEW: Buhari On Al Jazeera.... #OPINIONS / Abike Dabiri Condemns Destruction Of Vehicles At The Nigerian Embassy In London / Court Slams N5 Million Fine On EFCC For Violation Of Right

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 120