Stats: 3,148,738 members, 7,802,233 topics. Date: Friday, 19 April 2024 at 11:21 AM

Queues Resurface As Tinubu Announces Fuel Subsidy Removal - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Queues Resurface As Tinubu Announces Fuel Subsidy Removal (68719 Views)

Gridlock As Fuel Queues Resurface In Lagos / Tinubu Announces Gbajabiamila As Chief Of Staff, Akume As SGF / Petrol Queues Resurface In Abuja (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (Reply) (Go Down)

Queues Resurface As Tinubu Announces Fuel Subsidy Removal by dre11(m): 3:55pm On May 29, 2023
Petrol stations in Lagos started witnessing queues few hours after President Bola Tinubu announced that “fuel subsidy is gone”. Daily Trust observed that NNPC stations…

Petrol stations in Lagos started witnessing queues few hours after President Bola Tinubu announced that “fuel subsidy is gone”.

Daily Trust observed that NNPC stations in Ikeja, Alausa were crowded by motorists who rushed to buy the product.

Many private stations were not selling as of the time of filing this report.

In his inauguration speech, Tinubu had said subsidy was benefitting the rich at the expense of poor.

“We commend the decision of the outgoing administration in phasing out the petrol subsidy regime which has increasingly favoured the rich more than the poor. Subsidy can no longer justify its ever-increasing costs in the wake of drying resources. We shall instead re-channel the funds into better investment in public infrastructure, education, health care and jobs that will materially improve the lives of millions,” he said.

He said he would also review complaints on multiple taxation so as to boost the economy and attract investors.

https://dailytrust.com/breaking-queues-resurface-as-tinubu-announces-fuel-subsidy-removal/

19 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Queues Resurface As Tinubu Announces Fuel Subsidy Removal by nairalanda1(m): 3:57pm On May 29, 2023
Subsidy corruption is over, we hope.

Speaking on Sunday, Mr Obi said: “I can assure you, it (subsidy) will go immediately. The subsidy, I have said before, is an organised crime and I will not allow it to stay a day longer.

180 Likes 7 Shares

Re: Queues Resurface As Tinubu Announces Fuel Subsidy Removal by SalamRushdie: 3:57pm On May 29, 2023
Dobodobo04 shebi you can see what I predicted

Re: Queues Resurface As Tinubu Announces Fuel Subsidy Removal by Felabrity: 3:58pm On May 29, 2023
People to start hoarding fuel like its endtimes

105 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Queues Resurface As Tinubu Announces Fuel Subsidy Removal by SalamRushdie: 3:59pm On May 29, 2023
This is not a good sign the first reaction to his govt is Fuel scarcity, Nigerians have started suffering from day 1 of Tinubu govt ..This is not a good sign , let's see how the first week goes

262 Likes 15 Shares

Re: Queues Resurface As Tinubu Announces Fuel Subsidy Removal by SalamRushdie: 4:00pm On May 29, 2023
Danisklif:
Trust Nigerians with this Type of Announcement

He should have just kept quiet

98 Likes 7 Shares

Re: Queues Resurface As Tinubu Announces Fuel Subsidy Removal by inoki247: 4:01pm On May 29, 2023
Any filling station that hoard fuel without selling it out there license should be seized.....

Nigerians always trying to take advantage of everything....

Some month back Ghana remove Subsidy no single queue like this or fuel scarcity in derr country buh Nigeria greedy people everywhere....

151 Likes 15 Shares

Re: Queues Resurface As Tinubu Announces Fuel Subsidy Removal by SalamRushdie: 4:02pm On May 29, 2023
inoki247:
Any filling station that hoard fuel without selling it out there license should be seized.....

You love self deciet

53 Likes 7 Shares

Re: Queues Resurface As Tinubu Announces Fuel Subsidy Removal by nairalanda1(m): 4:03pm On May 29, 2023
SalamRushdie:

He should have just kept quiet

The subsidy removal announcement has been there for months, ever since the past government said that they won't fund the subsidy beyond June.

At the end, Tinubu just confirmed what has been old news. He won't continue the funding.

Oga, you want us to borrow again to fund subsidy? Shey you know that Obi and Atiku too were saying that subsidy has to go in their campaign.?

God knows I hate this new APC government, but on subsidy we got to face the reality, or we keep lying to ourselves at the expense of a growing deficit.

294 Likes 18 Shares

Re: Queues Resurface As Tinubu Announces Fuel Subsidy Removal by inoki247: 4:04pm On May 29, 2023
SalamRushdie:

You love self deciet

What's self deceit Greedy people too much for this country this Year Ghana don remove Subsidy on dere fuel no single queue or scarcity...

Why always Nigeria having it differently....

The Citizens always looking for way to rip each other....

40 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Queues Resurface As Tinubu Announces Fuel Subsidy Removal by SalamRushdie: 4:05pm On May 29, 2023
nairalanda1:

The subsidy removal announcement has been there for months, ever since the past government said that they won't fund the subsidy beyond June.

At the end, Tinubu just confirmed what has been old news. He won't continue the funding.

Oga, you want us to borrow again to fund subsidy? Shey you know that Obi and Atiku too were saying that subsidy has to go in their campaign.?

God knows I hate this new APC government, but on subsidy we got to face the reality, or we keep lying to ourselves at the expense of a growing deficit.

We know we have to face reality , I am not saying he shouldn't remove subsidy I am saying he should have kept quiet about till he resumes office properly and evaluates the whole thing and take action not this kind of talk ..

42 Likes 9 Shares

Re: Queues Resurface As Tinubu Announces Fuel Subsidy Removal by SalamRushdie: 4:06pm On May 29, 2023
inoki247:

What's self deceit Greedy people too much for this country this Year Ghana don remove Subsidy on dere fuel no single queue or scarcity...

Why always Nigeria having it differently....

The Citizens always looking for way to rip each other....

Exactly too much greed

Re: Queues Resurface As Tinubu Announces Fuel Subsidy Removal by Seefinish: 4:06pm On May 29, 2023
This decision is too hasty. He would have studied the situation first before making any pronouncement. I support fuel subsidy removal

31 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Queues Resurface As Tinubu Announces Fuel Subsidy Removal by Bobloco: 4:07pm On May 29, 2023
inoki247:

Nigerians always trying to take advantage of everything....

Some month back Ghana remove Subsidy no single queue like this or fuel scarcity in derr country buh Nigeria greedy people everywhere....

Oga stop typing gibberish

Tinubu, from day one has already thrown the entire country and its citizens into suffering

29 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Queues Resurface As Tinubu Announces Fuel Subsidy Removal by nairalanda1(m): 4:07pm On May 29, 2023
SalamRushdie:

We know we have to face reality , I am not saying he shouldn't remove subsidy I am saying he should have kept quiet about till he resumes office properly and evaluates the whole thing and take action not this kind of talk ..

Keep quiet about something that has been on the news waves since at least January this year?

The news was clear and loud that subsidy would soon go...for the past several months. Na we Nigerians wey no wan face the truth.

147 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Queues Resurface As Tinubu Announces Fuel Subsidy Removal by SalamRushdie: 4:08pm On May 29, 2023
You have not put your petroleum team in place and you are standing in eagle square to speculate about fuel subsidy..this man is starting on a bad note

51 Likes 1 Share

Re: Queues Resurface As Tinubu Announces Fuel Subsidy Removal by inoki247: 4:09pm On May 29, 2023
SalamRushdie:

Exactly too much greed

So one day the Govt must be bold enough to remove the thing and deal with any filling station that try to take advantage of people....

Go to Neighboring countries they're not selling dere own fuel they all prefer to snuggle from Nigeria and sell to people inside Keg....

And na still our people they steal or buy the fuel carry am cross border go sell ...

Any filling station that hoard fuel should be dealt with the indiscipline is just too much other Africa countries will start something and you will never see any crisis or them wanting to rip themselves....

32 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Queues Resurface As Tinubu Announces Fuel Subsidy Removal by SalamRushdie: 4:11pm On May 29, 2023
nairalanda1:

Keep quiet about something that has been on the news waves since at least January this year?

The news was clear and loud that subsidy would soon go...for the past several months. Na we Nigerians wey no wan face the truth.

Did his talk today Trigger buying panic buying and hoarding today or not ?

Does he even have a petroleum team in place to strategise on how to mitigate the confusion that would follow ?

My guy he should have shut up and let action speak !!!!

24 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Queues Resurface As Tinubu Announces Fuel Subsidy Removal by inoki247: 4:11pm On May 29, 2023
Bobloco:

Oga stop typing gibberish

Tinubu, from day one has already thrown the entire country and its citizens into suffering

Like the Obi and Atiku y'all worship didn't say they won't remove Subsidy or you think 2023 budget comes with budget for subsidy....

No be say you guys really love the country is just that you hate it when the person dishing out the policy is not who you love.....

34 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Queues Resurface As Tinubu Announces Fuel Subsidy Removal by nairalanda1(m): 4:13pm On May 29, 2023
SalamRushdie:

Did his talk today Trigger buying panic buying and hoarding today or not ?

Does he even have a petroleum team in place to strategise on how to mitigate the confusion that would follow ?

My guy he should have shut up and let action speak !!!!

Either way, subsidy was gone by June.

Nigerians just did not believe. The truth has sunk in, and we can see what is happening now.

Panic buying is expected. After all, when power prices went up some years ago, people rushed to buy power at the old price for the meters.

105 Likes 1 Share

Re: Queues Resurface As Tinubu Announces Fuel Subsidy Removal by osuofia2(m): 4:15pm On May 29, 2023
Oboy no be small que. Immediately Tinubu pronounce it. See que every where for Abuja.

Re: Queues Resurface As Tinubu Announces Fuel Subsidy Removal by Raskimonojendor: 4:18pm On May 29, 2023
Before wailers begin to wail. See screenshot below:

Ps, Buhari made no provision for subsidy payment for the month of June. He effectively removed it before he left office.

111 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Queues Resurface As Tinubu Announces Fuel Subsidy Removal by nairavsdollars(f): 4:19pm On May 29, 2023
#OccupyNigeria 2023

9 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Queues Resurface As Tinubu Announces Fuel Subsidy Removal by FalseProphet1(m): 4:19pm On May 29, 2023
sad

Re: Queues Resurface As Tinubu Announces Fuel Subsidy Removal by mbahdi(m): 4:19pm On May 29, 2023
Tinubu is a slowpoke
He will be worst dan d dick head buhari.tnk God am no longer a student cause I can never call Tinubu my president

11 Likes 1 Share

Re: Queues Resurface As Tinubu Announces Fuel Subsidy Removal by OloYeOfEgbE: 4:19pm On May 29, 2023
Choii...

It's nice that Nigeria doesn't belong to only the educated.. anybody can rule.

Everybody inspiration Don come, you can be president whether you be zoologist,cattle rearer or conductor...HOPE DEY

Re: Queues Resurface As Tinubu Announces Fuel Subsidy Removal by Basicend: 4:20pm On May 29, 2023
He (Tinubu) is trying to recover the multi-million dollars he spent during the elections quickly. . His first agenda.

Hmm, Nigerians moving from the hands of a light cabal to main ones. . The slave masters.

7 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Queues Resurface As Tinubu Announces Fuel Subsidy Removal by MisterBanny(m): 4:20pm On May 29, 2023
Ok. The removal of fuel subsidy was already announced by the outgone administration and it will take effect from Next month, June. Tinubu only re-announced what was earlier announced. Even if Atiku or Peter Obi had won the election, they would still remove the subsidy. It's commonsensical to know this. But wailers will always find something negative to masturbate on

13 Likes 1 Share

Re: Queues Resurface As Tinubu Announces Fuel Subsidy Removal by HacheNoire: 4:20pm On May 29, 2023
It will all normalize over time. Panic buying is only playing out

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (Reply)

Full List Of Retired Military Officers Released / Chinomso Prince Egbuchere Finds Biafran Pounds His Grandfather Hid In Ceiling / Female FRSC Official Feeds Male Colleague Publicly In Abuja (Video)