Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,177,191 members, 7,900,233 topics. Date: Thursday, 25 July 2024 at 09:00 AM

Our Local Languages Need To Be Scrapped - Opinion(counter Thread) - Family - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Family / Our Local Languages Need To Be Scrapped - Opinion(counter Thread) (210 Views)

How Private Schools And Parents Are Killing Our Nigerian Local Languages / Counter-Thread: Married Women With No/ Low Source Of Income, How Are You Coping? / Our Children Do Not Learn Local Languages In School Anymore. Why? (2) (3) (4)

(1) (Reply) (Go Down)

Our Local Languages Need To Be Scrapped - Opinion(counter Thread) by Surface2AirToto(m): 2:46pm On Oct 11, 2023
https://www.nairaland.com/7872408/how-private-schools-parents-killing

This is a counter to the thread above

Now before i say anything else, let me say this, only someone that is happy with the current state of ethnic disunity is this country would be advocating for parents to keep enforcing our local languages on future generations. Basically What you are saying is that we should keep transfering hate and division to our children. If we truely want this country to succeed, our local languages should be scrapped

Now, the only thing our local languages are good at is breeding ethnic disunity. I know i might get under alot of fire for this but this is the truth.

I saw alot of very ignorant people in that thread who claim to be educated, saying that countries like china, Russia, Japan, e.t.c, all speak their native languages, and are doing well.. Now listen, have you ever heard of the word "homogeneous" before? if you haven't, go and search for the meaning. Those countries are homogeneous countries, and they speak ONE language. They don't have or practice 371 different languages in a single country. Most of these countries are equally as ethically divers as Nigeria, but they don't practice their different ethnic languages, what they have is ONE language for the sake of unity. So stop comparing these countries to Nigeria and using as a basis for arguing why we should teach our children our local languages.

Peace Out
Re: Our Local Languages Need To Be Scrapped - Opinion(counter Thread) by ShoeGetSize: 2:52pm On Oct 11, 2023
A better idea would be to bring an end to this joke called Nigeria

Surface2AirToto:
https://www.nairaland.com/7872408/how-private-schools-parents-killing

This is a counter to the thread above

Now before i say anything else, let me say this, only someone that is happy with the current state of ethnic disunity is this country would be advocating for parents to keep enforcing our local languages on future generations. Basically What you are saying is that we should keep transfering hate and division to our children. If we truely want this country to succeed, our local languages should be scrapped

Now, the only thing our local languages are good at is breeding ethnic disunity. I know i might get under alot of fire for this but this is the truth.

I saw alot of very ignorant people in that thread who claim to be educated, saying that countries like china, Russia, Japan, e.t.c, all speak their native languages, and are doing well.. Now listen, have you ever heard of the word "homogeneous" before? if you haven't, go and search for the meaning. Those countries are homogeneous countries, and they speak ONE language. They don't have or practice 371 different languages in a single country. Most of these countries are equally as ethically divers as Nigeria, but they don't practice their different ethnic languages, what they have is ONE language for the sake of unity. So stop comparing these countries to Nigeria and using as a basis for arguing why we should teach our children our local languages.

Peace Out

1 Like

Re: Our Local Languages Need To Be Scrapped - Opinion(counter Thread) by Surface2AirToto(m): 2:58pm On Oct 11, 2023
Only in Nigeria, different tribes would be forcing their local languages on university students studying in their region, risking some students having extra years for something that is inconsequential and adds no value to our society other than ethnic disunity.

And some people want to keep transfering this mentality to future generations, SMH

2 Likes

Re: Our Local Languages Need To Be Scrapped - Opinion(counter Thread) by EmperorCaesar(m): 3:30pm On Oct 11, 2023
And according to u, the "One Language" should be English?
Re: Our Local Languages Need To Be Scrapped - Opinion(counter Thread) by Surface2AirToto(m): 3:33pm On Oct 11, 2023
EmperorCaesar:
And according to u, the "One Language" should be English?


Should it be Yoruba? Or should it be Igbo? Abi na Hausa? Deep down if you're not lying to yourself, you know the real answer to that question
Re: Our Local Languages Need To Be Scrapped - Opinion(counter Thread) by EmperorCaesar(m): 3:40pm On Oct 11, 2023
Surface2AirToto:

Should it be Yoruba? Or should it be Igbo? Abi na Hausa? Deep down if you're not lying to yourself, you know the real answer to that question

Then its not feasible, practicable or achievable

Whats the point of independence and even calling ourselves a sovereign state when we no longer even have our own language, one of the basic identities of any group of people

Even those European/Asian countries with one language do not have English as their only language


You're not been realistic at all...Imagine telling everyone the need to abandon their language for just English language


How do u even convince them
Re: Our Local Languages Need To Be Scrapped - Opinion(counter Thread) by Kobojunkie: 5:58pm On Oct 11, 2023
Surface2AirToto:
Now before i say anything else, let me say this, only someone that is happy with the current state of ethnic disunity is this country would be advocating for parents to keep enforcing our local languages on future generations. Basically What you are saying is that we should keep transfering hate and division to our children. If we truely want this country to succeed, our local languages should be scrapped Now, the only thing our local languages are good at is breeding ethnic disunity. I know i might get under alot of fire for this but this is the truth.
I saw alot of very ignorant people in that thread who claim to be educated, saying that countries like china, Russia, Japan, e.t.c, all speak their native languages, and are doing well.. Now listen, have you ever heard of the word "homogeneous" before? if you haven't, go and search for the meaning. Those countries are homogeneous countries, and they speak ONE language. They don't have or practice 371 different languages in a single country. Most of these countries are equally as ethically divers as Nigeria, but they don't practice their different ethnic languages, what they have is ONE language for the sake of unity. So stop comparing these countries to Nigeria and using as a basis for arguing why we should teach our children our local languages.
What evidence do you have to show that indeed the disunity that is Nigeria today has to do with the different languages? You say this as though there currently exists unity between all those who speak the same or similar dialect. undecided
Re: Our Local Languages Need To Be Scrapped - Opinion(counter Thread) by Mindlog: 6:01pm On Oct 11, 2023
There was a job I got in Birmingham, UK to work with children and young persons, apart from the professional skills required for the role, an added requirement was that applicants should be able to comfortably communicate in at least three of the following languages: French, Yoruba, Twi, English, Swahili and Arabic. Despite the facility being managed by the UK system , they didn't want these young ones being of African ancestry who have been taken away from their families to live in care, to completely get disconnected from what is part of their identity....language.

Different local languages is not the cause of Nigeria's disunity as people from the same tribe, who speak the same language do kill themselves regularly.

3 Likes

Re: Our Local Languages Need To Be Scrapped - Opinion(counter Thread) by Evolutionism: 6:04pm On Oct 11, 2023
ShoeGetSize:
A better idea would be to bring an end to this joke called Nigeria


Seconded.

(1) (Reply)

BREAKING: #davido And #chioma Steps Out With Their Newborn Twins [VIRAL VIDEO] / Mum Of 22 Slammed After Going On Yet Another Lavish Holiday / .

(Go Up)

Sections: politics (1) business autos (1) jobs (1) career education (1) romance computers phones travel sports fashion health
religion celebs tv-movies music-radio literature webmasters programming techmarket

Links: (1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 25
Disclaimer: Every Nairaland member is solely responsible for anything that he/she posts or uploads on Nairaland.