Stats: 3,148,790 members, 7,802,472 topics. Date: Friday, 19 April 2024 at 03:05 PM

Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World - Travel - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World (94583 Views)

Woman Dies After Being Hit By 22-Year-Old Driver In Lagos / How Did You Feel The First Day You Travelled Abroad? / "See What Somebody Did To Me" - Nigerian Man Who Travelled To Europe. Photos (2) (3) (4)

Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World by Nobody: 9:01pm On Apr 05, 2021

Lexie Alford was 21 by the time she had reached every corner of the globe. Now at just 22, she uses her online platforms and persona - aptly, ‘Lexie Limitless’ - to inspire budding travellers via Instagram, YouTube and her website.

We caught up with Lexie to celebrate her title as the youngest person to reach every country in the world. Originally from northern California - which she describes in our chat as “the most diverse of the American states, there’s nowhere I’d rather be,” she currently resides full time in sunny Los Angeles.

Hey Lexie! Thank you for joining us. Firstly - have you managed to travel much in the past year or so?

It’s pretty crazy, I was at Carnaval in Brazil the day before the first registered case there (in early March). So I came back to the US and we were straight into full lockdown.

But yes, during lockdown I did manage to travel for work. I went to Turkey to do a two-week road trip for my YouTube, and another two week road trip in Iraqi-Kurdistan.

Did you set out with the intention of becoming the youngest person to reach every country in the world?

It was more of a natural evolution. I started travelling when I was really young because my mum has a travel agency, a business she started when she was just 19. Growing up she would always pull me out of school and take me exploring with her, which was really cool.

This lifestyle meant that by the time I was 18 I had travelled to around 70 countries already. I had graduated early from high school, and got my associates degree by 18.

But one of my biggest dreams, from being 12 years old, was that I wanted to experience what it was like to live for one year of my life with no school and no work. So I saved up, a crazy amount, so I could take this gap year and travel the world.

I wanted to see as much as I could, and learn as much as I could. It was during that gap year that it dawned on me: how many countries are there? I was only 18, I knew I had some time to do it. So I Googled the youngest person to travel to every country, and James Asquith’s Guinness World Record came up.

When I saw that, I knew I would regret it for the rest of my life if I didn’t at least try.

A lot of people want nothing more than to travel, but financial and time restraints can get in the way. You’ve already said you had set that one year aside - but how did you pay for it?

My project was entirely self-funded. I was working for a really young age, and for my mum’s travel agency. I was really lucky because I was not only earning money, but I was learning so much about travel - specifically how I could do it on a shoestring budget.

I managed to stretch out those savings for a year and a half. And during that time I picked up my camera, started doing blogs, and learnt about social media. I was starting to meet people from the industry and built up a network. I slowly started getting more of a client-base that I was writing content for, and that’s really what launched my business that I run today.

It’s important to bear in mind that when you’re climbing a really big mountain, if you look right to the top you’re going to be discouraged and overwhelmed. But if you just take one step at a time, it’s a lot easier to get to the top.

Do you have a favourite place that you visited? And why?

I have a list, I have a top five. But this is like having to choose a favourite child. The places are my favourites for different reasons. I love Indonesia because of the diving. I’m a diver and the underwater world there is fascinating.

Venezuela, because of its natural beauty, and the kindness of the people. Pakistan was the most hospitable place and people I visited. It has an incredible mountain landscape as well.

Egypt for the history - its preservation is incredible. You can still see the paint and smoke on the walls inside the Great Pyramids. And Iceland. It’s just such a unique island, the most unique place in the world.

Is there anywhere you wouldn’t go back to?

I’m always weary when I talk about favourite places and least favourite places because it’s so subjective. I don’t there’s anywhere I wouldn’t go back to - never say never.

But my travel experience now is very different to three years ago. It’s less about counting countries, and more about seeking out these unique experiences, so it really depends on whether the opportunity is there.

One thing I know is that any travel experience is all about the people. They make or break the journey. It’s the people who make experiences last in your mind forever.

There’s still a lot of stigma around women travelling alone, especially from a safety perspective. But you did much of this journey alone, and so young. Was it ever something that worried you?

I travelled to around 50 or so countries by myself. So that was maybe seven or eight months on my own.

Just as a side note, I truly think it’s something every person, man and woman, should experience at some point in their life: solo travel. It teaches you how to be independent and navigate this crazy world alone. But it also makes you truly appreciate the time you get to spend with people, when you’re back home, or with your family and friends.

Taking the first step into solo travel doesn’t have to be huge. You don’t have to go to a completely different culture, with a completely different language, and try to figure it out. A neighbouring city, a closer country. Just somewhere that you can be with yourself and your thoughts.

You can ease into these things slowly and start learning how to navigate the world. But it teaches us how to be grateful: for the people we have in our lives, the experiences we have in our lives.

What’s the one piece of advice you would give to someone looking to pursue their dreams?

A piece of advice I’ve been given and carried with me for years is to never take no for an answer. Anyone who doubts your ideas, who doesn’t want something to work out in your favour, being rejected. It’s up to you to persevere.

Source: https://www.euronews.com/travel/2021/03/19/this-22-year-old-woman-is-the-youngest-person-to-travel-to-every-country-in-the-world

36 Likes 7 Shares

Re: Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World by Amotolongbo(f): 9:04pm On Apr 05, 2021
Imagine!
I could tell all countries of the world and their capitals before I clocked 16 cos I was so much in love with Atlas map since my childhood.
Reaching all countries on earth is my dream

And I’m here far older than her and haven’t traveled to any other country before than Biafra. cry cry cry

487 Likes 16 Shares

Re: Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World by kingbee90: 9:09pm On Apr 05, 2021
embarassed

I bet she hasn't been to Nigeria.

133 Likes 7 Shares

Re: Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World by XXXXTENTACION: 9:12pm On Apr 05, 2021
Nice one to her. na person wey see food chop dey talk of travel.

181 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World by samwash(m): 9:16pm On Apr 05, 2021
I nor understand!! You mean travelled to all the countries in the whole world?
You mean travelled to at least one country in all the continent in the world?

24 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World by inumidun2010(m): 9:22pm On Apr 05, 2021
We no know am in ALAKIA , IBADAN, NIGERIA.... Can she Cook Amala and Efo-riro... No mind me.. sleep wan come but I dey fight am...

51 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World by DDDEnterprises: 9:32pm On Apr 05, 2021
Was she not the one I saw at Ojota buying bread like 3 months ago? shocked

=====================

By the way, you can buy MTN data (1 month validity) for N350 per GB and GLO 2.9gb for N900 and higher amounts for similar lesser prices. Check my signature for contact and more.

Re: Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World by DaddyRochie1642: 9:46pm On Apr 05, 2021
kingbee90:
embarassed

What is she looking for in Nigeria

32 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World by illicit(m): 10:01pm On Apr 05, 2021
She never come Lagos

Re: Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World by Enoch07: 10:05pm On Apr 05, 2021
hopefully this fine young lady will not near this waste land called Nigeria else Fulani herdsmen, bandits, kidnappers and unknown gunmen go use her catch cruise.

5 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World by CandyOps(m): 10:08pm On Apr 05, 2021
I missed going through the pages of the Guinness Book of World Records in our sec skl library. I get lost in the pages flipping through the pages reading up all the crazy things human could literally do if they put their minds to it.

Its a brilliant feeling having people not only recognize your talents & strong points no matter how 'weird' your difference is. but appreciate it also. Nigeria just does the opposite to you

Lots of taboo culture and superstition holding us down here man

47 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World by We4all: 10:12pm On Apr 05, 2021
It was much easier for her cos most of the countries she visited were 'Visa Free' for an American citizen. I guess it would be much harder if she were to go through the hassles of Visa application.

78 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World by Paulpaulpaul(m): 11:26pm On Apr 05, 2021
kingbee90:
embarassed

You too hear yourself, they said countries and you're talking about Nigeria. Is Nigeria a country? gringringrin

If you're the one will you come to a place like this?

45 Likes

Re: Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World by Paulpaulpaul(m): 11:29pm On Apr 05, 2021
samwash:
I nor understand!! You mean travelled to all the countries in the whole world?
You mean travelled to at least one country in all the continent in the world?

From the picture, she has been to 111 countries out of a total of 195

Re: Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World by meobizy(f): 12:06am On Apr 06, 2021
It’s all fun and games until she commits suicide from depression.

Re: Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World by 3gpvids: 12:08am On Apr 06, 2021
E no possible abeg
Re: Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World by Nobody: 12:10am On Apr 06, 2021
That is my target. To visit all the countries.

Working out the modalities.

Re: Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World by Henryfocoyo(m): 12:55am On Apr 06, 2021
3gpvids:
E no possible abeg
no body fit travel all country for this Earth oo...
do you guys no how many continent we have in this Earth "7 seven" and each continent with their own country!
didn't you hear when she said..

I travelled to around 50 or so countries by myself. So that was maybe seven or eight months on my own!!

Re: Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World by Draslo(m): 1:29am On Apr 06, 2021
Henryfocoyo:
no body fit travel all country for this Earth oo...
do you guys no how many continent we have in this Earth "7 seven" and each continent with their own country!
didn't you hear when she said..

I travelled to around 50 or so countries by myself. So that was maybe seven or eight months on my own!!
You're only thinking like that because your passport is green.

34 Likes

Re: Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World by porthouse7(f): 2:29am On Apr 06, 2021
what I will love to do if only our passport get value

Re: Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World by ikllbrokehoes(m): 2:51am On Apr 06, 2021
We4all:
It was much easier for her cos most of the countries she visited were 'Visa Free' for an American citizen. I guess it would be much harder if she were to go through the hassles of Visa application.
That should be one of the advantage she had.

Re: Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World by BlueAir: 4:59am On Apr 06, 2021
undecided what is biafra
Amotolongbo:
Imagine!
I could tell all countries of the world and their capitals before I clocked 16 cos I was so much in love with Atlas map since my childhood.

And I’m here far older than her and haven’t traveled to any other country before than Biafra.

Re: Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World by ChiefSosa(m): 5:09am On Apr 06, 2021
AVOID NIGERIA AND NORTH KOREA. BUT PLEASE, AVOID NIGERIA. THERE'S ALWAYS THIS WEIRD FEELING I GET WHENEVER I ENTER NIGERIA ESPECIALLY LAGOS, LIKE THERE'S AN EVIL SPIRIT OR A SPIRIT OF MADNESS THAT HAS ENTERED INTO ME BECAUSE I'M ABOUT TO DEAL WITH SOME MAD/FRUSTRATED PEOPLE. NA SO MY BP GO DEY RISE ANYHOW, FACE GO DON SQUEEZE, I GO DON DEY REASON VIOLENCE, PLENTY EVIL THOUGHTS GO DON FULL MY HEAD, ETC

30 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World by heniford2: 5:14am On Apr 06, 2021
Amotolongbo:
Imagine!

And I’m here far older than her and haven’t traveled to any other country before than Biafra.

can i be your friend

Re: Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World by heniford2: 5:15am On Apr 06, 2021
has she visited biafra beforegrin

Re: Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World by Amotolongbo(f): 5:52am On Apr 06, 2021
BlueAir:
undecided what is biafra
online country

16 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World by femi4: 6:28am On Apr 06, 2021
I don't think Nigeria is on the list
Re: Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World by Facidio: 7:14am On Apr 06, 2021
She Don come Nigeria.?

Re: Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World by Dpaulie(m): 7:14am On Apr 06, 2021
Speechless
Re: Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World by emorse(m): 7:25am On Apr 06, 2021
Paulpaulpaul:

From the picture, she has been to 111 countries out of a total of 195
There you have it.

Re: Meet 22-Year-Old Lexie Alford Who Has Travelled To Every Country In The World by wiseword316(m): 7:28am On Apr 06, 2021
But why would they give her the Guinness book of record. Has she visited inside the Bermuda triangle?

Bear Ate Billionaire Couple And Pilot After Their Helicopter Crashed In Russia(P / A Nairalander's Trip To London, Abu Dhabi & Lagos / North Cyprus: Part 2

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 40