Stats: 3,148,690 members, 7,801,992 topics. Date: Friday, 19 April 2024 at 07:36 AM

Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? - Travel - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? (20024 Views)

How Is Uber/bolt Business Guys Coping / Can You Allow This Okada Rider Take You To Your Destination? Photo / Pictures Of The New International Terminal At MMIA (2) (3) (4)

Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? by oldienavie: 3:22pm On Oct 07, 2021
Hi guys, I need experiences from people flying into Nigeria(MMIA) Lagos.
My family is not going to be able to meet me at the airport this time and I am weighing up my options with transit.

I have a friend who said he knows someone that does transportation that he can come pick me up and take me to an hotel, however I am a little skeptical with that option with the high rates of insecurity in the country.

My opinion is that sometimes being annonymous to your service provider is better, but I am a little concerned with the security level of Uber in Lagos.

Are uber drivers known to kidnap their clients particularly people boarding them at MMIA ?

Can uber hold their drivers responsible if something untoward were to happen to their clients, or if they are known to connive with kidnappers etc ?

I just need experienced info and also from uber drivers to make a better decision.

THanks all.

20 Likes 1 Share

Re: Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? by tripplephi: 3:28pm On Oct 07, 2021
oldienavie:
My family is not going to be able to meet me at the airport this time and I am weighing up my options with transit.

I have a friend who said he knows someone that does transportation that he can come pick me up and take me to an hotel, however I am a little skeptical with that option with the high rates of insecurity in the country.

My opinion is that sometimes being annonymous to your service provider is better, but I am a little concerned with the security level of Uber in Lagos.

Are uber drivers known to kidnap their clients particularly people boarding them at MMIA ?

Can uber hold their drivers responsible if something untoward were to happen to their clients, or if they are known to connive with kidnappers etc ?

I just need experienced info and also from uber drivers to make a better decision.

THanks all.

I HAVE BEEN IN YOUR SHOES MANY TIMES... here is the solution I used.

I booked an hotel in Ikeja that has an airport pickup service... so anytime I arrive Lagos Nigeria, I simply call the number of the driver, then call the hotel booking number for confirmation, take a snapshot of the car and driver and send to someone I can trust and also my location will be shared on whatsapp while the ride is on..... then I get to the hotel, if I like, I can cancel the room and leave or complete the payment and stay

Even at the airport there are CAB SERVICES that you can negotiate to your budget, also there are hotel services....

Anonymity is good and I prefer being in the country for a few days earlier than the time everyone expects.

209 Likes 11 Shares

Re: Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? by oldienavie: 3:36pm On Oct 07, 2021
DisGuy , justwise please push to front page to get more insights.
This can help save a lot of people from kidnappers and the lots of them.

Re: Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? by Nobody: 3:57pm On Oct 07, 2021
oldienavie:

THanks all.

This is what I do as someone that is always security conscious with some security experience , once I land I take a ride from the airport, you can use any other app,if I am going to a hotel in ikeja, I would tell the ride that picked me from the airport to drop me at a bus stop where I can get another ride and from there I would take that ride to my destination and that way you can stay safe and some times I take up to 3 rides, remember na you know the valuables way you carry, after working hard under the sun/rain in Brazil , I don't want to get FUped in my own country

63 Likes 7 Shares

Re: Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? by oldienavie: 4:00pm On Oct 07, 2021
walkbrazil4k:

This is what I do as someone that is always security conscious with some security experience , once I land I take a ride from the airport, you can use any other app,if I am going to a hotel in ikeja, I would tell the ride that picked me from the airport to drop me at a bus stop where I can get another ride and from there I would take that ride to my destination and that way you can stay safe and some times I take up to 3 rides, remember na you know the valuables way you carry, after working hard under the sun/rain in Brazil , I don't want to get FUped in my own country

How do you do this with all the load, and if Uber that seem to have some verification and information of their drivers in there database is not safe, how can a random taxi service be safer ?

124 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? by DisGuy: 6:21pm On Oct 09, 2021
Why not contact the hotel to arrange pick up

Re: Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? by oldienavie: 7:04pm On Oct 09, 2021
DisGuy:
Why not contact the hotel to arrange pick up
Thanks for your input, and do you think that would be safer ?
Re: Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? by iamyemiakins(m): 9:30pm On Oct 09, 2021
Nigeria don turn another thing, na k'olórí d'orí ẹ̀ mú be the matter now

21 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? by Osnami: 9:30pm On Oct 09, 2021
Re: Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? by travelwaka: 9:30pm On Oct 09, 2021
1. You can get your family over here to help you with a trusted driver
2. You can not book uber at the airport because of the issues they are having with the cab drivers union at the airport
3. Once you book a cab at the airport, snap the plate number and also do as if you are doing a video call and capture the drivers face.
4. Don't lose guard and don't disclose personal information
5. When packing your luggage into the boot, ensure the driver is with you and also when you are offloading make sure he also comes out.
6. If you arrive at night, you may want to chill a little till morning
7. Also you may want to also get the service of some trusted transport companies to do airport transfer. That way you wont have to worry about security threats

57 Likes 7 Shares

Re: Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? by Dshocker(m): 9:30pm On Oct 09, 2021
My brother leaving in Nigeria na 50/50...Even in your hotel room,they can still come in and kidnap you

36 Likes 1 Share

Re: Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? by uncleck: 9:31pm On Oct 09, 2021
If you're not a politician or a celebrity, just calm down and stop being paranoid. Nobody knows you. VIPs use Uber in Nigeria and nobody reason them. But in case you're still scared, just take an Uber to a hotel not too far from the airport. Sit at the bar or reception and book another one to another hotel in another location. You're good to go. Make sure you don't speak Queen's English.

215 Likes 18 Shares

Re: Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? by gambia(m): 9:31pm On Oct 09, 2021
oldienavie:

Thanks for your input, and do you think that would be safer ?

Yeah, it's safer.

Re: Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? by wunmi590(m): 9:31pm On Oct 09, 2021

Don't worry you will be safe

Re: Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? by ATEAMS: 9:31pm On Oct 09, 2021
Depends.
Re: Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? by FVckbubuDcow: 9:31pm On Oct 09, 2021
Damn niggar

Re: Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? by nairavsdollars(f): 9:31pm On Oct 09, 2021
Kabu kabu is the best

Re: Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? by 9jayes: 9:32pm On Oct 09, 2021
Use bolt instead

Re: Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? by Sonnobax15(m): 9:32pm On Oct 09, 2021
lipsrsealed
Re: Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? by IgiveLadiesBj(m): 9:32pm On Oct 09, 2021
Loooool,
Vicdon
Felicity001
Cheerfulgiver
FuckEveryDay
BAZA001
Pearl
They say you guys are kidnappers grin grin

Re: Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? by Terrence99: 9:32pm On Oct 09, 2021
1. Come with your own chauffeur.
Or
2. Contact pickup companies to come pick you up from the airport.
Or
3. Take a taxi from the airport.

For none of your friends or family to come pick you up, you must be a very bad person with terrible character.

35 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? by Nobody: 9:33pm On Oct 09, 2021
Not safe especially if your a girl sad I hear say Uber drivers dey track people go house now....best thing is to just alight when you're close to your house...na your neighbor go suffer am if them come back cheesy

20 Likes 1 Share

Re: Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? by Franchise21(m): 9:33pm On Oct 09, 2021
OK
Re: Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? by Nobody: 9:33pm On Oct 09, 2021
oldienavie:

How do you do this with all the load, and if Uber that seem to have some verification and information of their drivers in there database is not safe, how can a random taxi service be safer ?

You are looking for security right? And it does not come easy, the point is the 2nd drive won't know you are coming from the airport, you could be coming from the bus park

16 Likes

nowhere us safe in naija, dude.

Re: Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? by Springboot: 9:34pm On Oct 09, 2021
If your friend is willing to pick you up, why would you trust uber driver more than your friend? I'll rather take the risk of going with my friend than a random person. It's very unlikely that your friend would betray you in such instance except in movies tho.

Re: Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? by FvckAllMods: 9:34pm On Oct 09, 2021
It is safe

Re: Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? by jikins(m): 9:35pm On Oct 09, 2021
Maybe get a cab at the airport to a nearby bustop then call an uber afterwards. But Uber is safe I use them alot when in Lagos.

Re: Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? by bigdammyj: 9:36pm On Oct 09, 2021
Yes
Re: Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? by MANNABBQGRILLS: 9:36pm On Oct 09, 2021
YES it is.
And as it is in other countries,
Just ask God for protection in your going out and coming in.

Simple Sturvs.

7 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Travelling Into Nigerian (MMIA) Is Uber Safe To Your Destination Within Lagos ? by CondemnBattery(f): 9:37pm On Oct 09, 2021
Uber and Bolt are literally the safest means of transportation in Lagos. Personally I use Uber everyday. Both for self and business

19 Likes 1 Share

Important Tips Before Coming To Russia Federation And Everything In General. / All Flights across The US Grounded Due To Computer Outage / Enugu Airport Runway Death Trap - MD. OAS Helicopters

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 34