Stats: 3,148,884 members, 7,802,854 topics. Date: Friday, 19 April 2024 at 11:28 PM

How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five - Family - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Family / How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five (2999 Views)

Is N50,000 Monthly Enough Feeding Allowance For A Family Of 3? / My 29-Year-Old Son Still Wants Me To Be Feeding Him After Graduating / Man Walks In On His Wife Feeding Her Lover In Their Home (Photo) (2) (3) (4)

How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by Headbanger(m): 12:16pm On Jun 08, 2022
I am worried about the cost of living in this country, almost everything is double except salary. I found myself giving out 25k weekly as upkeep, we are just family of five, consisting my 3 kids, wify and I.

I can barely save after paying other bills, and the crazy thing is that my wife want me to improve on the weekly allowance, please what is the average allowance that is considered okay for a family like mine.
Any idea pls.
Re: How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by Badguyyyy123: 12:18pm On Jun 08, 2022
Things too cost my brother, calculate it on daily basis, u will know ur wife is trying grin

Re: How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by SocialJustice: 12:23pm On Jun 08, 2022
100k for feeding a month is good even with current situation. Your wife is mismanaging money.

Tell her to draw a list of how she spends money, you will quickly see where money is being wasted.

N50k can buy rice, garri, beans, oil, spaghetti, noodles, eggs to last a month. The other N50k goes to creating variety in how the bulk ingredients at home are prepared.

Re: How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by keepingmum: 12:24pm On Jun 08, 2022
SocialJustice:
100k for feeding a month is good even with current situation. Your wife is mismanaging money.

Tell her to draw a list of how she spends money, you will quickly see where money is being wasted.

N50k can buy rice, garri, beans, oil, spaghetti, noodles, eggs to last a month. The other N50k goes to creating variety in how the bulk ingredients at home are prepared.

25k a week is 100k a month
Re: How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by Headbanger(m): 12:31pm On Jun 08, 2022
25k a week
keepingmum:

25k a month is 100k a month
Re: How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by keepingmum: 1:04pm On Jun 08, 2022
Headbanger:
25k a week

Apologies, 25k a week equates to 100k a month
Re: How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by LushLady: 1:25pm On Jun 08, 2022
My family is five as well,things are very costly in the market but what I do is that I go to market once in 2weeks,and some of the things doesn't finish till next 2or 3 months so it reduces the cost when I'm going to market next time.
I buy everything I will need to cook till the next two weeks except fresh vegetable.
Please discuss your wife to know how you people can manage.
Like me I do buy
Hot chocolate half paint
Milk half paint
Spaghetti 1 pack of 20
Palm oil 5ltrs
Groundnut oil 5ltrs
Indomitable 1 carton
Yam
Potatoes
Beans
Rice
Maggie
Spices
Bread
Onions
Crayfish
All these buy I bulk and keep at home,and also cook 3 different types of soups and stews and stocked in the freezer.I also did pap too and stocked in the freezer.
Discuss with your wife and buy things in bulk this way you will not be going to market all the time.
All these I listed above 50k can buy them.

Re: How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by Winneygirl(f): 1:26pm On Jun 08, 2022
She is not mismanaging the money.
Feeding 5 mouths 3 times daily for 30 days is no joke.
Also, the money will go to other things such as laundry, cleaning, buying books for kids, sorting out small small health concerns for the kids and I believe small repairs around the house.

You might want to give her 50k bi-weekly. So she can decide to buy some things in bulk.
Veg. oil, yam, rice, semo and meat, laundry detergents etc
But know that what you could get for 100k in april, you will need about 115k now in june to get the same quantity.
Inflation is alarming...

Re: How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by Ethanuella: 1:57pm On Jun 08, 2022
No, she's not mismanaging. Things are really expensive out there.

As a family of 4 (myself, husband and 2 kids), we have a budget of 130k per month. This includes foodstuffs in bulk, soup items, and petrol for the generator.

The good news is that because I buy in bulk, some food items lasts longer than a month, so I get to save some cost for the next month despite been given the money.

I do not use the savings for personal use, instead, I use it to cushion emergencies that may arise anytime.
Re: How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by Headbanger(m): 1:57pm On Jun 08, 2022
LushLady:
My family is five as well,things are very costly in the market but what I do is that I go to market once in 2weeks,and some of the things doesn't finish till next 2or 3 months so it reduces the cost when I'm going to market next time.
I buy everything I will need to cook till the next two weeks except fresh vegetable.
Please discuss your wife to know how you people can manage.
Like me I do buy
Hot chocolate half paint
Milk half paint
Spaghetti 1 pack of 20
Palm oil 5ltrs
Groundnut oil 5ltrs
Indomitable 1 carton
Yam
Potatoes
Beans
Rice
Maggie
Spices
Bread
Onions
Crayfish
All these buy I bulk and keep at home,and also cook 3 different types of soups and stews and stocked in the freezer.I also did pap too and stocked in the freezer.
Discuss with your wife and buy things in bulk this way you will not be going to market all the time.
All these I listed above 50k can buy them.
Thank you very much, this will really help

Re: How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by Headbanger(m): 2:03pm On Jun 08, 2022
Ethanuella:
No, she's not mismanaging. Things are really expensive out there.

As a family of 4 (myself, husband and 2 kids), we have a budget of 130k per month. This includes foodstuffs in bulk, soup items, and petrol for the generator.

The good news is that because I buy in bulk, some food items lasts longer than a month, so I get to save some cost for the next month despite been given the money.

I do not use the savings for personal use, instead, I use it to cushion emergencies that may arise anytime.

Thank you very much, apart from feeding which is 25k weekly,
We have other budgets, such as fueling which is 30k monthly for the car
genetor we have 15k set aside, and PHCN is 20k
we also have emergency 50k which if we do not use, we carry over to the following month.
Then for the laundry, we have extra 12k for that, because sometimes we engage dry cleaners.
Re: How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by Ethanuella: 2:29pm On Jun 08, 2022
Headbanger:

Thank you very much, apart from feeding which is 25k weekly,
We have other budgets, such as fueling which is 30k monthly for the car
genetor we have 15k set aside, and PHCN is 20k
we also have emergency 50k which if we do not use, we carry over to the following month.
Then for the laundry, we have extra 12k for that, because sometimes we engage dry cleaners.

Ha! That's a lot. I feel with what I'm seeing up here, you shouldn't be the one shouldering all of these expenses.

Your wife should be able to assist, her token will go a long way.
Re: How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by ahnie: 2:54pm On Jun 08, 2022
Truth be told....she's mismanaging the money.
Tell her to locate any village market and buy things in bulk.

I buy things in bulk so I worry less about foodstuffs
Crate of eggs which is 2 times a month because I boil egg morning and sometimes ight for my kids to eat.
Garri
Noodles
Oil
Pastas
Milk
Rice
Beans and some culinary and soup condiments.
Re: How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by satandeterrible: 3:35pm On Jun 08, 2022
Not only is she mismanaging the money, she is also apparently jobless.

This is what happens when you marry a fool who has no job.

Re: How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by Headbanger(m): 3:37pm On Jun 08, 2022
Ethanuella:

Ha! That's a lot. I feel with what I'm seeing up here, you shouldn't be the one shouldering all of these expenses.

Your wife should be able to assist, her token will go a long way.

Only me. that is why am worried o

Plus monthly allowance of 50K for Wify stuff
Re: How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by Ethanuella: 4:42pm On Jun 08, 2022
Headbanger:

You be big boy oh

Re: How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by ibechris(m): 4:46pm On Jun 08, 2022
Headbanger:

Pls,let your wife start doing something to help u.

What if there is no strength to work tomorrow?

This is why many men die young these days.

Think about this pls.

Re: How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by Sijo01(f): 4:56pm On Jun 08, 2022
Headbanger:

Try and encourage your wife to start up a business. In so doing, this 50k for her stuff can go into savings.

Secondary, cultivate the idea of buying food stuff in bulk(go with the list some users dropped above). Although the money will look big the day you did the shopping but believe me you'll be financially relaxed in the next couple of months.

The only thing your wife should buy regularly is just vegetables. Meat, fish and tomatoes can also be brought in bulk and stored in the freezer

Re: How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by coputa(m): 5:07pm On Jun 08, 2022
satandeterrible:

All those saying that woman must work to support the family,forgets that when you leave the care of your kids to a stranger(house help) and they become something else,do you know that all your struggles to take care of them becomes vain.If the man can afford it,the woman should be at the home front,taking care of the kids.I have seen top professionals and career women resigns from top paying job to take care of their children.they are not fools.The family is all you have.

Re: How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by coputa(m): 5:12pm On Jun 08, 2022
Discipline and financial management is the key.If she buy food stuff in bulk,60k will confortably feed the family for one month,please caution her about reckless spending.
Re: How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by Oizee(f): 7:08pm On Jun 08, 2022
Headbanger:
I am worried about the cost of living in this country, almost everything is double except salary. I found myself giving out 25k weekly as upkeep, we are just family of five, consisting my 3 kids, wify and I.

I can barely save after paying other bills, and the crazy thing is that my wife want me to improve on the weekly allowance, please what is the average allowance that is considered okay for a family like mine.
Any idea pls.
no vex oga, I have to be plain, if u guys standard of living is that of a Minister or Governor, then the money is even very small but, if it's like that of an average person in naija, then she is mismanaging the money, if she goes to market with 80k with an average mindset, it will go far.
Do u guys buy bag of rice every month?
Re: How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by armyofone(m): 7:38pm On Jun 08, 2022
With three kids how is she going to operate/manage the business ?

8am -3pm close shop right ? Oga should not get fixated on the profit from the biz to run the home then

Sijo01:

Try and encourage your wife to start up a business. In so doing, this 50k for her stuff can go into savings.

Secondary, cultivate the idea of buying food stuff in bulk(go with the list some users dropped above). Although the money will look big the day you did the shopping but believe me you'll be financially relaxed in the next couple of months.

The only thing your wife should buy regularly is just vegetables. Meat, fish and tomatoes can also be brought in bulk and stored in the freezer

Re: How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by armyofone(m): 7:44pm On Jun 08, 2022
Headbanger:

Sit together and draw up a monthly budget of all household expenses. No secret - everything paid for must be accounted- food expenses, light, generator, everything! And then you both make decisions on what to cut or remove from list to add money to other expenses eg food increases from 25k to 40k

Re: How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by Cutehector(m): 8:49pm On Jun 08, 2022
satandeterrible:

thank you. The man will always be complaining. That is when the love will vamoose from the eyes.

I always tell the ladies i date, love is never enough but they wont listen. Look, reality will always be greater than love.

If you dont have a daily source of income as a couple, please get one.
Re: How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by NoToPile: 9:10pm On Jun 08, 2022
It depends on your standard of food but 100k seems fine.

But since you are complaining cut down expenses on other things. Use washing machine instead of dry cleaners, cut down on generator costs since phcn is gulping so much, you guys can also reduce the standard of food you eat.

Na manage most people dey manage food is expensive nowadays.
Re: How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by Thebig4: 9:55pm On Jun 08, 2022
Oga open a biz for you wife so she can assist you, Cos it seems the load is too much for you to carrry.
Re: How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by Ethanuella: 10:02pm On Jun 08, 2022
Headbanger:

Please tell her to find something to do. For your sanity and the sake of your kids.

With all of these spendings, you'd likely not have savings and might not be able to commit to a desired project.
Re: How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by Ethanuella: 10:09pm On Jun 08, 2022
coputa:
All those saying that woman must work to support the family,forgets that when you leave the care of your kids to a stranger(house help) and they become something else,do you know that all your struggles to take care of them becomes vain.If the man can afford it,the woman should be at the home front,taking care of the kids.I have seen top professionals and career women resigns from top paying job to take care of their children.they are not fools.The family is all you have.

Re: How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by Sijo01(f): 10:17pm On Jun 08, 2022
armyofone:
With three kids how is she going to operate/manage the business ?

8am -3pm close shop right ? Oga should not get fixated on the profit from the biz to run the home then

Drop the kids off at school before helding to the shop. Close the shop briefly or leave in the care of her shop rep if she has any to pick the kids from school and back to the shop.

The essence of the business is to support the man/home.
Re: How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by armyofone(m): 10:23pm On Jun 08, 2022
Sijo01:

Drop the kids off at school before helding to the shop. Close the shop briefly or leave in the care of her shop rep if she has any to pick the kids from school and back to the shop.

The essence of the business is to support the man/home.

Closing the shop is better idea than hiring a rep (more expenses)

Bring the kids back to the shop where they snack and do sch homework as you carry on with trading....stressful doing both - maybe that's why she doesn't want to do something at this early stage of the kids life.
Re: How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by MasterJayJay: 10:31pm On Jun 08, 2022
coputa:
There are many jobs that can be done from home.
Re: How Much Feeding Allowance Is Sufficient For A Family Of Five by Nobody: 1:34am On Jun 09, 2022
Headbanger:

Any idea pls.

There are people that can’t survive with 1 million Naira a week, and there are people who only need 10k a week.

Do not kill yourself because of money. If you earn 100k a month, spend at least 40k on feeding and save at least 20k-30k no matter what.

If price of things has gone up, reduce consumption, else you’re going into deep poverty and no saving when something important comes up. Nobody will help you o.

I always keep saying this to men and I’ll repeat it again. Before you marry or start having children, make sure you are financially ok. Have at least a good amount of savings in your account, else you’ll be a liability to your family and yourself.

My brother, live within your means.

QueenzHair: Shop the best quality of Luxurious 100% Human Hairs and wigs here! / What Will You Do If Your Daughter Brings This Guy Home? / My Toddler Left The School Premise Without Supervision

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 59