Stats: 3,150,026 members, 7,807,028 topics. Date: Wednesday, 24 April 2024 at 08:43 AM

Malpractices In Kogi, Bayelsa Elections Unfortunate, Says Buhari - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Malpractices In Kogi, Bayelsa Elections Unfortunate, Says Buhari (37281 Views)

I Am Afraid I did Not Succeed In The Election In Kogi, Bayelsa & Rivers - Buhari / INEC Can Not Conduct Kogi And Bayelsa Elections: Femi Falana / INEC Fixes Dates For Kogi, Bayelsa Gov Elections (2) (3) (4)

Malpractices In Kogi, Bayelsa Elections Unfortunate, Says Buhari by ORACLE1975(m): 4:29am On Dec 09, 2015
President Muhammadu Buhari on Tuesday lamented that despite government’s efforts aimed at ensuring the conduct of credible elections, some malpractices were witnessed in the recent governorship elections in Kogi and Bayelsa states.
He called on Nigerians to support all necessary measures aimed at ensuring free, fair and credible elections in the country, including the use of card readers and permanent voter cards.

A statement by his Senior Special Assistant on Media and Publicity, Garba Shehu, quoted the President as saying this while receiving the new members of the Inter-Party Advisory Council Executive Committee at the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

“Referring to recent elections in Kogi and Bayelsa states, President Buhari said it was unfortunate that there were still reports of unhelpful electoral attitudes,” the statement read.

Buhari said more work needed to be done to perfect the conduct of elections in the country.

The President told members of IPAC that it was regrettable that the electorate in some parts of the country were deprived of the use of card readers and permanent voter cards during the last general elections despite the enthusiasm that followed their introduction to the Nigerian electoral system.
He also used the occasion of the visit of the IPAC leaders to thank them for their strong support for his candidacy in the build-up to the 2015 presidential election.

He congratulated the new Chairman of IPAC, Malam Bashir Yusuf, who is also the Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Movement.
In his remarks, Yusuf pledged the group’s support for Buhari’s fight against insurgency and corruption in the country.

He also reaffirmed IPAC’s belief in the unity, progress and indivisibility of Nigeria.
But in Yenagoa, hundreds of women and youths from the Yenagoa Local Government Area of Bayelsa State took to the streets on Tuesday, calling for the cancellation of the governorship poll in the area as a result of alleged irregularities during the election and the inconsistencies in the result announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission.

They alleged that the series of official complaints by genuine voters and the All Progressives Congress in the Yenagoa metropolis were ignored by officials of INEC.

They also lamented that the bias of the commission showed in the inconsistencies of the figures announced by the Collation Officer for the council.
The State Youth Leader of the APC, Edison Sorgwe, and a chieftain of the party, Alaowei Opukeme-Jonah, who spoke on behalf of the aggrieved voters, said the result announced by the INEC’s collation officers for the PDP, APC and other political parties were inconsistent with the number of rejected votes and cancelled votes.

The protesters submitted that the election in Yenagoa LGA should be cancelled like that of Southern Ijaw, saying it was also characterised by cases of ballot snatching, irregularities and widespread violence.

They said the election in the LGA recorded skirmishes resulting in more than eight members of the party sustaining injuries.

The protesters said they were also preparing a petition against identified security personnel and staff of INEC involved in corruption during the poll.
Meanwhile, INEC has said it has yet to decide on when it will conduct a supplementary election to determine the winner of the inconclusive Bayelsa State governorship poll.

The commission said a meeting of its officers and political parties would be called to decide when the election would hold.

INEC on Monday cancelled the election in the Southern Ijaw Local Government Area of the state, declaring the governorship poll inconclusive.
While results of elections in the remaining seven local government areas had been announced, the commission cancelled the exercise in the Southern Ijaw LGA due to widespread violence and irregularities.

Director of Voters Education and Publicity of INEC, Mr. Oluwole Osaze, told our correspondent in Abuja on Tuesday that the commission had yet to fix a date for the supplementary election.

Osaze said, “No, we have not decided on when the election in the affected local government will hold.
“We need to have a meeting in the commission and also meet with political parties in the state and other stakeholders before deciding on that.”

Source. www.punchng.com/malpractice-in-kogi-bayelsa-elecyion-unfortunate-says-buhari/

Re: Malpractices In Kogi, Bayelsa Elections Unfortunate, Says Buhari by SouthernBreeze(m): 5:17am On Dec 09, 2015
Speaking as if he's not behind the malpractice to favour his evil party. Change indeed

184 Likes 14 Shares

Re: Malpractices In Kogi, Bayelsa Elections Unfortunate, Says Buhari by ajbabs(m): 5:31am On Dec 09, 2015
APC!

Re: Malpractices In Kogi, Bayelsa Elections Unfortunate, Says Buhari by nnachukz(m): 5:32am On Dec 09, 2015
Has Buhari said anything in this country on his own? I mean directly to us without using his PA always which he may conveniently deny.

155 Likes 8 Shares

Re: Malpractices In Kogi, Bayelsa Elections Unfortunate, Says Buhari by Meriekriss: 5:51am On Dec 09, 2015
Siddon one place and see how things are going in your country you refused but preferred to tour round the globe..
Why wouldn't ppl do anyhow..

Check my signature for your total interior decoration solutions

18 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Malpractices In Kogi, Bayelsa Elections Unfortunate, Says Buhari by Novaworld(m): 5:55am On Dec 09, 2015
As if he was prepared, Baba one chance.

59 Likes 1 Share

Re: Malpractices In Kogi, Bayelsa Elections Unfortunate, Says Buhari by fitzmayowa: 6:04am On Dec 09, 2015
The same person that wants to ensure credible election in benin republic, is busy lamenting over the set of violence marred inconclusive elections under his watch, what an irony...

The record so far 2 election = 2 violence marred inconclusive election...SMH

62 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Malpractices In Kogi, Bayelsa Elections Unfortunate, Says Buhari by Nobody: 6:58am On Dec 09, 2015
Instead of you to try and be part of organisers of free and fair elections in the two states, you were busy jumping from one country to another.
Why the lamentation concerning the outcome of the elections now?

39 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Malpractices In Kogi, Bayelsa Elections Unfortunate, Says Buhari by orunto27: 7:02am On Dec 09, 2015
The INEC and the Security Officials involved should be arrested and laid off.

Re: Malpractices In Kogi, Bayelsa Elections Unfortunate, Says Buhari by rottennaija(m): 7:12am On Dec 09, 2015
SouthernBreeze:
Speaking as if he's not behind the malpractice to favour his evil party. Change indeed
may foolishness never remain your portion forever

26 Likes 1 Share

Re: Malpractices In Kogi, Bayelsa Elections Unfortunate, Says Buhari by cephaswizzy(m): 7:17am On Dec 09, 2015
ik
Re: Malpractices In Kogi, Bayelsa Elections Unfortunate, Says Buhari by Liftkid(m): 7:23am On Dec 09, 2015
FFk have said it '' Everything about GMB is inconclusive ''

65 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Malpractices In Kogi, Bayelsa Elections Unfortunate, Says Buhari by merry02(m): 7:45am On Dec 09, 2015
Diaspora president

15 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Malpractices In Kogi, Bayelsa Elections Unfortunate, Says Buhari by Nobody: 7:45am On Dec 09, 2015
derespect:
Instead of you to try and be part of organisers of free and fair elections in the two states, you were busy jumping from one country to another.
Why the lamentation concerning the outcome of the elections now?

Emereolevanwill:
mumu madu bu gari

Novaworld:
As if he was prepared, Baba one chance.

ajbabs:
APC!

That is the reason a bill will be passed on Social Media

Check my Signature

9 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Malpractices In Kogi, Bayelsa Elections Unfortunate, Says Buhari by MrLexander(m): 8:01am On Dec 09, 2015
Why focusing on bayelsa more? Why not kogi election or was that free and fair? You are hitting on bayelsa cos PDP Has a higher percentage of winning their. This man isnt serious. Cancel both kogi and bayelsa election .. .INEC IS APC.. TAKE IT OR LEAVE IT..

68 Likes 4 Shares

Re: Malpractices In Kogi, Bayelsa Elections Unfortunate, Says Buhari by Nobody: 8:01am On Dec 09, 2015
I don't know how things are done in saner climes, but baba need to address Nigerians on the state of the nation. I am tired of reading shehu garba and adeshina's lips

47 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Malpractices In Kogi, Bayelsa Elections Unfortunate, Says Buhari by Sijo01(f): 8:01am On Dec 09, 2015
Blame your cohorts who wants power by fire by force.

Re: Malpractices In Kogi, Bayelsa Elections Unfortunate, Says Buhari by Beehshorp(m): 8:01am On Dec 09, 2015
Mr inconclusive are u trying to say that u are not secretly behind all dese snatching of powers by force.. Cos its ur tenure dat started this do or die political affair moreover u are full of violence remember "monkey and baboon would be soaked in blood", so don't pretend

18 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Malpractices In Kogi, Bayelsa Elections Unfortunate, Says Buhari by onyepapa(m): 8:01am On Dec 09, 2015
Buhari said more work needed to be done to perfect the conduct of elections in the country.

Mr man the election that brought you in as president was near 90% perfect, now here you are fuccking everything up with your body odor. If you keep on acting like you don't know what is going on in INEC I bet a lot more is going wrong under your watch that we don't know of yet.

22 Likes

Re: Malpractices In Kogi, Bayelsa Elections Unfortunate, Says Buhari by BeeBeeOoh(m): 8:02am On Dec 09, 2015
This Is An Inconclusive Reaction By Buhari..

24 Likes 1 Share

Re: Malpractices In Kogi, Bayelsa Elections Unfortunate, Says Buhari by koxi: 8:02am On Dec 09, 2015
Unfortunate indeed
Re: Malpractices In Kogi, Bayelsa Elections Unfortunate, Says Buhari by Ishopbest: 8:03am On Dec 09, 2015
Visit my signature, harmattan is here!
Re: Malpractices In Kogi, Bayelsa Elections Unfortunate, Says Buhari by Ufranklin92(m): 8:03am On Dec 09, 2015
SouthernBreeze:

exactly,evil presido

18 Likes 1 Share

Re: Malpractices In Kogi, Bayelsa Elections Unfortunate, Says Buhari by chi4ik4(m): 8:03am On Dec 09, 2015
hypocrite Buhari pls keep quiet. they are all working under your command

20 Likes 1 Share

Re: Malpractices In Kogi, Bayelsa Elections Unfortunate, Says Buhari by Blizzy9ja: 8:04am On Dec 09, 2015
Where are the APC e-liars? Over to you

Criminals looking 4 an oil rich state to milk dry... No be my Bayelsa

18 Likes

Re: Malpractices In Kogi, Bayelsa Elections Unfortunate, Says Buhari by illiad: 8:04am On Dec 09, 2015
Scammers, this apc gang

Fools wanna gag the media after using same media to get to power

May their days be doomed who wants to gag our God given fundamental right to expression and freedom, Amen!

Nigerians were warned, but them fools thought in their folly to trust an unknown devil, instead of a known devil

Re: Malpractices In Kogi, Bayelsa Elections Unfortunate, Says Buhari by arigold1304(m): 8:05am On Dec 09, 2015
If u dnt want ur mater to b discuss how u spend 9ja money... pls leave public office and Nigeria... PMB Beware laws ur boys impose on us........FOI

Re: Malpractices In Kogi, Bayelsa Elections Unfortunate, Says Buhari by ModiKen(m): 8:05am On Dec 09, 2015
One more dent on ur administration sir.

Keep up the good work.

2019 is not far.

We (Nigerians) wont hesitate to send u back to Daura.

19 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Malpractices In Kogi, Bayelsa Elections Unfortunate, Says Buhari by Nobody: 8:06am On Dec 09, 2015
The wailers will continue to wail,
That would not stop PMB from being the president
. . . . even in 2019

Precious Chikwendu Rocks Army Camo / Twitter Removes Tinubu’s Verification Badge / Aliyu Giwa Celebrates His Birthday With A Customized Cake - Pics