Stats: 3,150,055 members, 7,807,173 topics. Date: Wednesday, 24 April 2024 at 10:42 AM

Peckham: The Ajegunle Of London - Travel (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Peckham: The Ajegunle Of London (73037 Views)

Ejiro Onobrakpor: "My Mother, A Foodseller In Ajegunle Now Lives In America" / Nigerian Women Quarrel On The Street Of London (video) / The Skeleton Of A Bus That Burnt In Lagos, Ajegunle Bus Stop (photos) (2) (3) (4)

Re: Peckham: The Ajegunle Of London by Ishilove: 8:24pm On Jun 03, 2017
sukkot:
nah its mr cork and that nigga shymmex lmao
Lmao!
Re: Peckham: The Ajegunle Of London by lepasharon(f): 8:25pm On Jun 03, 2017
Ishilove:

^^

Mr Yuuumy's younger sister, one of those Nigerians in diaspora who would like to drain the African blood flowing in their veins, but since they can't resort to brainwashing themselves.

Lol I find that so funny seeing how the natural hair movement didn't start in Africa. Neither did the embracing of african gods start with ppl in Africa.

You lot are more self- hating.

Re: Peckham: The Ajegunle Of London by ephi321(f): 8:27pm On Jun 03, 2017
DanseMacabre:

You know as e dey go na. wink

haha! i tell ya smiley I still don't know how they manage to pull it off, from watching movies i guess..
Re: Peckham: The Ajegunle Of London by Nobody: 8:30pm On Jun 03, 2017
Peckham is 1 millions times cleaner and more organised than Ajegunle !!!

Re: Peckham: The Ajegunle Of London by Nobody: 8:31pm On Jun 03, 2017
cyberdurable:
please I stay in peckham... Where can I buy hydraulic soup? grin

You can buy it in some food stores in Peckham, just go out and ask around in the market. undecided
Re: Peckham: The Ajegunle Of London by Ishilove: 8:35pm On Jun 03, 2017
lepasharon:

Lol I find that so funny seeing how the natural hair movement didn't start in Africa.
The western media brainwashed many Africans at home through subliminal programming, so natural hair movement started as rebellion in the West itself against the imposition of the white man's ideals on beauty. This had NOTHING to do with self hate.

Neither did the embracing of african gods start with ppl in Africa.

You lot are more self- hating.
Lies. Where did you hear that from? BET?

Smh

Re: Peckham: The Ajegunle Of London by SirShymexx: 8:38pm On Jun 03, 2017
blackboy:
Pekham has a very strong Jamaican community and no ghetto. Yes, the Nigerian community is represented.
Looking for Nigerian food in England is no sweat. Very common, Malta Guiness, Ndomie, yam, plantain, even many Nigerians food only restaurants.
Main issue be I resist eating them cause why would I leave naija to continue eating naija food.. I make it clear that when I'm just spending a month why not Oyinbo food and when I get back eat naija food

I honestly don't know why these Nigerian people who have never left their mud houses love shitting on Peckham. I guess its cos that's only the place they've heard about in London. The article was written in 2005 and back then when Peckham was at its worst - it wasn't even close to worst/poorest parts of London. Most people just see Rye Lane and start dissing the place. Places like Woowlich, Brixton, Walworth, Stratford, Newham, Deptford, Tottenham, Hackney, Dalston, Bermondsey, etc., have always been worse than Peckham aesthetically. How many super-tall high rise council flats were in Peckham, even when it was at its worst?

The place even looks very decent now and a lot has changed in the last 10 years, with gentrification.

It's just basically like shitting on Brooklyn, NY, in the US. I was in Brooklyn when it was at its worst (not the new gentrified one) and Peckham looks like paradise compared to the place, especially with the giant rats they have in NY and the shootings. East New York is still super-ghetto (worse than anything Peckham was at its worst) in 2017 and there are tons of Nigerians living there. But I've never seen these Nigerians shyt on Brooklyn and the place has a big Nigerian community. And the people from there are proud of who they're.

Anyway, I only see people shyt on Peckham on here. The whole thing reeks of low self-esteem, especially since most Nigerians in London can't even afford to live there based on their wages. In London, being from Peckham is a thing of pride and no one brags about their hometown more than those from Peckham the Narm and Pecknizzy. They wouldn't understand it unless they're from there.

Those from Peckham aren't sweating this shyt. The place has produced more successful black people in the UK than any other part of London.

16 Likes

Re: Peckham: The Ajegunle Of London by Nobody: 8:41pm On Jun 03, 2017
Cork's area!
Re: Peckham: The Ajegunle Of London by seguno2: 8:44pm On Jun 03, 2017
AllTheWayUp:
Naija ti takeover PECKHAM,

And made it into a ghetto like Ajegunle.
Something to be proud of
Re: Peckham: The Ajegunle Of London by lepasharon(f): 8:45pm On Jun 03, 2017
Ishilove:

The western media brainwashed many Africans at home through subliminal programming, so natural hair movement started as rebellion in the West itself against the imposition of the white man's ideals on beauty. This had NOTHING to do with self hate.

Lies. Where did you hear that from? BET?

Smh

Lol why were the Africans at home more prone to brainwashing now? Why aren't theAfricans at home rebelling too. They are surrounded by ppl who look like each other but it's so funny how they hate themselves even more. The conscious movement too started with blacks in dispora, I may not fully agree with the message but they are attempting to be afrocentric.

Re: Peckham: The Ajegunle Of London by BobbyDean(m): 8:46pm On Jun 03, 2017
Ishilove:
I see my Cele peeps doing their thing up there grin

What touched me most deeply in the entire article is the quote:

"If a language dies, so does the human spirit. A people without a culture will lose their self respect."

This is a most profound statement. Many Nigerians, at home and in the diaspora try as much as possible to emulate the western culture, ignorantly assuming that it will make them appear 'posh' and 'classy'. They don't realise that if the Westerners despised their own culture the way Nigerians do theirs, we won't even have a culture to emulate.

I have been speaking with a client who insists on being more American than the average American. When we talk on phone he introduces himself as Mr Yuuummy (Yomi). He speaks with an exaggerated American accent, even though his 'Yoruba-tic' intonation still manages to burst though. When I met him one to one I was unimpressed because of his whole fakeness. These kinds of Nigerians will go to Europe and the Americas and be more native than the aborigines.

Is it inferiority complex? A lack of self respect brought about by the despising of their own unique culture? You go London and instantly forget you're a Nigerian. Your children grow up to see themselves as English people because you have made sure they see their roots as 'inferior'.

Your culture is what makes you stand out from the average Joe. Own it. Be proud of it. Fly the flag wherever you find yourself outside the shores of Nigeria.

Just don't fly the flag and disgrace us sha. Our rep is already bad enough as it is.
you couldnt have said it better. Let's embrace ourselves & our culture, we are all we got!

Re: Peckham: The Ajegunle Of London by AreaFada2: 8:47pm On Jun 03, 2017
Ishilove:

"If a language dies, so does the human spirit. A people without a culture will lose their self respect."

This is a most profound statement. Many Nigerians, at home and in the diaspora try as much as possible to emulate the western culture, ignorantly assuming that it will make them appear 'posh' and 'classy'. They don't realise that if the Westerners despised their own culture the way Nigerians do theirs, we won't even have a culture to emulate.

I have been speaking with a client who insists on being more American than the average American. When we talk on phone he introduces himself as Mr Yuuummy (Yomi). He speaks with an exaggerated American accent, even though his 'Yoruba-tic' intonation still manages to burst though. When I met him one to one I was unimpressed because of his whole fakeness. These kinds of Nigerians will go to Europe and the Americas and be more native than the aborigines.

Is it inferiority complex? A lack of self respect brought about by the despising of their own unique culture? You go London and instantly forget you're a Nigerian. Your children grow up to see themselves as English people because you have made sure they see their roots as 'inferior'.

Your culture is what makes you stand out from the average Joe. Own it. Be proud of it. Fly the flag wherever you find yourself outside the shores of Nigeria.

Just don't fly the flag and disgrace us sha. Our rep is already bad enough as it is.
The bolded is very easy to say. Fact remains that being a Nigerian (a country their president say is corrupt) is not easy. Are people flying Nigerian flag at home in Nigeria?

You cannot live in a foreign land and expect all to remain as if you were in Nigeria. It cannot work. In Nigeria, there are people in Lagos whose parents are Ijaw or Efik or Urhobo. Their Lagos born kids cannot speak Ijaw, Efik or Urhobo. Despite ease of travelling back to village and having relatives visit often.

Even Asians that traditionally have close-knit communities are struggling already despite appearances.

People under-estimate the influence of the society: education system, media/TV, social life on foreign-born kids.
Most African/Nigerian parents are hardworking people with kids attending breakfast club, school & after school club. What time have they to impart all that culture? shocked shocked

You need to have been through the grind to truly understand it. The UK society works because every working person puts in their very best, not bare minimum. Including Nigerians.

Our bad rep in diaspora is an extension of the rot back in Nigeria. What exactly works in Nigeria to be envied by the world? Corruption, poor governance, cultism, armed robberies, a country with massive crude oil that imports petrol & kerosene, high unemployment, 419/yahoo yahoo, poor healthcare system, poor education system where even a UMTE data correction is a problem, etc.
Fact is there is hardly anything about Nigeria to fly.

Individual Nigerians are bright, enterprising and so on. They would still have been if the country was called "Floraria" after Flora Shaw. grin cheesy
It is easy to be idealistic but Nigeria as it is and has been since 1960, is hardly anything worth it. No wonder our elites are fighting over the spoils. Only the plebs are still oblivious.

That "Ajegunle" Peckham happens to be within a few kilometres of several NHS Foundation Trusts (Hospitals) of world class standard, within kilometers of elite universities like UCL, Imperial College, King's College, LSE, etc. And there are Peckham born and bred Nigerian kids in these schools. 24/7 of electricity and decent schools for their kids too.

People should not mistake living in Peckham as synonymous with Ajegunle poverty. A lower end 3 bedroom flat in Peckham costs around £520K. Better ones from £750k to £1.3million. See Zoopla & Rightmove.

For many in Peckham, they cannot imagine living anywhere else in UK. Especially many elderly ones. It is their little piece of Lagos.
The illegals they are talking of, over time they gradually regularize their status, many through their UK born kids or on humanitarian grounds. Some get deported.

15 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Peckham: The Ajegunle Of London by profhezekiah: 8:48pm On Jun 03, 2017
cyberdurable:
Inside ur head

Re: Peckham: The Ajegunle Of London by seguno2: 8:49pm On Jun 03, 2017
solarview:
My good people making waves

What waves are they making by turning a place into a ghetto like Ajegunle that is without electricity, free public schools, roads and ordinary tap water

W
Re: Peckham: The Ajegunle Of London by Nobody: 8:51pm On Jun 03, 2017
seguno2:

Will you agree if others say that they are developing Lagos

Isn't Lagos in the WORLD anymore, or why did you mention me ?
Re: Peckham: The Ajegunle Of London by Ishilove: 8:57pm On Jun 03, 2017
lepasharon:

Lol why were the Africans at home more prone to brainwashing now? Why aren't theAfricans at home rebelling too. They are surrounded by ppl who look like each other but it's so funny how they hate themselves even more. The conscious movement too started with blacks in dispora, I may not fully agree with the message but they are attempting to be afrocentric.
I repeat, LIES.

How can the Africans at home rebel when many of them don't know better? It's what the media feeds to them that they swallow, which is why the government mandated 60:40 local content broadcasts in Nigeria.

Africans who go abroad fall into different categories, one of them I've mentioned in my post while another category are those who go abroad and have the spirit of Nationalism awakened in them. You go, realise that white is not superior after all and spiritually go back to your roots.

Re: Peckham: The Ajegunle Of London by MICHEALADEX(m): 9:00pm On Jun 03, 2017
cyberdurable:
Go to iyana oworo walk 5km into the 3 mainland bridge and nose dive. Am sure you'll find one only if you survive it. Omo ale jatijati

Re: Peckham: The Ajegunle Of London by Ishilove: 9:00pm On Jun 03, 2017
AreaFada2:

The bolded is very easy to say. Facts remains that being a Nigerian (a country their president say is corrupt) is not easy. Are people flying Nigerian flag at home in Nigeria?

You cannot live in a foreign land and expect all to remain as if you were in Nigeria. It cannot work. In Nigeria, there are people in Lagos whose parents are Ijaw or Efik or Urhobo. Their Lagos born kids cannot speak Ijaw, Efik or Urhobo. Despite ease of travelling back to village and having relatives visit often.

Even Asians that traditionally have close-knit communities are struggling already despite appearances.

People under-estimate the influence of the society: education system, media/TV, social life on foreign-born kids.
Most African/Nigerian parents are hardworking people with kids attending breakfast club, school & after school club. What time have they to impart all that culture? shocked shocked

You need to have been through the grind to truly understand it. The UK society works because every working person puts in their very best, not bare minimum. Including Nigerians.

Our bad rep in diaspora is an extension of the rot back in Nigeria. What exactly works in Nigeria to be envied by the world? Corruption, poor governance, cultism, armed robberies, a country with massive crude oil that imports petrol & kerosene, high unemployment, 419/yahoo yahoo, poor healthcare system, poor education system where even a UMTE data correction is a problem, etc.
Fact is there is hardly anything about Nigeria to fly.

Individual Nigerians are bright, enterprising and so on. They would have been if the country was called "Floraria" after Flora Shaw. grin cheesy
It is easy to be idealistic but Nigeria as it is and has been since 1960, is hardly anything worth it. No wonder our elites are fighting over the spoils. Only the plebs are still oblivious.

That "Ajegunle" Peckham happens to be within a few kilometres of several NHS Foundation Trusts (Hospitals) of world class standard, within kilometers of elite universities like UCL, Imperial College, King's College, LSE, etc. And there are Peckham born and bred Nigerian kids in these schools. 24/7 of electricity and decent schools for their kids too.

For many in Peckham, they cannot imagine living anywhere else in UK. Especially many elderly ones. It is their little piece of Lagos.
The illegals they are talking of, over time they gradually regularize their status, many through their UK born kids or on humanitarian grounds. Some get deported.
Change begins with you cheesy
Re: Peckham: The Ajegunle Of London by MICHEALADEX(m): 9:01pm On Jun 03, 2017
cyberdurable:
Go to iyana oworo walk 5km into the 3 mainland bridge and nose dive. Am sure you'll find one only if you survive it. Omo ale jatijati hydraulic to pa e danu

Re: Peckham: The Ajegunle Of London by Nobody: 9:02pm On Jun 03, 2017
Built2last:
Yea

Just like Bradford to Asians and middle Easterner.

Likes attract

Southall in South London near heathrow is 2nd Mumbai. Couldn't believe my eyes.
Re: Peckham: The Ajegunle Of London by AreaFada2: 9:05pm On Jun 03, 2017
Ishilove:

Change begins with you cheesy

I chose my own change over 20 years ago. Very happy with. cheesy grin cool

Re: Peckham: The Ajegunle Of London by SirShymexx: 9:05pm On Jun 03, 2017
sukkot:
nah its mr cork and that nigga shymmex lmao

Why do you like mentioning me everywhere, after I told your homoerotic arse to stay away from me, flaming faggit?

Matter of fact, I'm in Peckham right now (I came to get some food from my mum's yard) and some teenager got stabbed to death yesterday night. That would be you, if and when I see you with ya homoerotic fantasies. Nyggah you're a faggit and I don't fvck with dyck in the booty crack heads. When I see you, I'll shank all ya face and give you those tiger claws tribal marks before knocking ya arse out cold.

You clowns take yourselves seriously like people from Peckham care about what you think. I've got Peckham tatted on arm and when I see you, I'll show you what the real Peckham is like - not the Rye Lane bs you lot love to talk about. The real Peckham - home of the real Gs.

Keep my name out of ya mouth. Peckham is Peckham - the place no Narm head will ever deny. You get reps for being from Peckham in London Town cos no place ever did it like Peckham boys. That's a fact.

Re: Peckham: The Ajegunle Of London by cyberdurable(m): 9:08pm On Jun 03, 2017
MICHEALADEX:
Go to iyana oworo walk 5km into the 3 mainland bridge and nose dive. Am sure you'll find one only if you survive it. Omo ale jatijati hydraulic to pa e danu

disrespectful kid

Re: Peckham: The Ajegunle Of London by cyberdurable(m): 9:09pm On Jun 03, 2017
NubiLove:

You can buy it in some food stores in Peckham, just go out and ask around in the market. undecided

Re: Peckham: The Ajegunle Of London by aribisala0(m): 9:09pm On Jun 03, 2017
Ishilove:

You seem to have a chip on your shoulder for diasporans.

The language thing is an established psycholoogical phenomenon and has nothing to do with appearing posh similar things are observed even within Nigeria . A Yoruba person from Oyo travels to Lagos and after a few months starts speaking Lagos Yoruba,
When adults migrate they tend to mirror their new host community in the way they speak and often this is done unconsciously. It is not an attempt to impress anyone so get over yourself. Even those who have very strong Igbo or Yoruba or Indian accents do this unless they make a very deliberate attempt not to change.
Language is not just words but also rhythm. Yoruba has a rhythm as does Igbo and other Nigerian languages.
Even pidgin English has its own rhythm
English in the UK and the US have very different rhythms and even ways of pronouncing words e.g route is pronounced rout in the US and I have many friends in the US who say rout or say words like buddy etc which they never used before.It is not fakeness

If you reside in a country of native English speakers for a long time you will unconsciously shift your rhythm , Even pidgin English in Nigeria has the same phenomenon. The way it is spoken in Warri is very different from PH and if you move from PH to Warri after 2 year there will be changes unless you don't socialize

It is the linguistic equivalent of a phenomenon called Echopraxia

10 Likes 1 Share

Re: Peckham: The Ajegunle Of London by claremont(m): 9:14pm On Jun 03, 2017
Ishilove:

Chiefly:

Language is actually the only thing that separate us Animals, peeps don't know just how important Lang is, everything concerning human existence is embedded in language. lose your language, you lose your identity.

I sorry for all this naive people wey dey form porch

It's normal to imbibe the culture of the society you choose to live in, it's a sign of integration. I have seen quite a lot of Nigerians who came to the UK over 20 years ago, but cannot muster a decent sentence in proper English without interspersing it with pidgin and/or a Nigerian dialect. This clearly shows that these Nigerians have spent donkey years keeping to themselves in their little silos in a country that's not theirs, they haven't bothered to integrate. What I fail to understand is why immigrants fastidiously treasure their culture so much when they are outside their country, how has this so-called culture lead to anything positive in your home countries?! If you value your culture so much so that you choose not to integrate in a country you have migrated to, it's pointless leaving your home countries in the first place.

My point IS - the first responsibility of any immigrant is to integrate in the country you choose to call home. Integration might mean imbibing the accent, the food e.t.c of the country that has given you the opportunity to have a good life away from your home country. It's not a sign of inferiority complex to imbibe the language and other aspects of the culture of a 'foreign land' that has given the immigrant an opportunity to achieve his/her life goals, the people who should feel inferior are those who refuse to integrate overseas because they feel that their African culture is superior to others.

The comment the article made ''If a language dies, so does the human spirit. A people without a culture will lose their self respect'' is bullshit to be honest, it's the opinion of the writer. People who migrate to a different country are not doing it in search of self-respect, they are doing it in search of a better life. If they wanted self-respect, they could have remained in their home countries where, apparently, self-respect is a currency that pays the bills.

14 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Peckham: The Ajegunle Of London by Nobody: 9:16pm On Jun 03, 2017
I prefer lively freer Peckham to Dalston and Brixton.

Dalston, in my opinion, is the real Naija spot. The market there sef na Mushin. Peckham is a Yoruba town but not ghetto.

Stratford, Canningtown are another naija spots. But they are neater.

Dalston is the sh!t.
Re: Peckham: The Ajegunle Of London by Zirah: 9:22pm On Jun 03, 2017
You mean green vegetable? I hear some tribe survive only on faeces cry

cyberdurable:

Two Airplanes Collide At Lagos Airport / Graveyard Of Nigeria's Dead Airplanes (Photos) / A Lagos Bike Rider Uses Dustbin As Dispatch Box To Evade Arrest

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 85