Stats: 3,143,219 members, 7,780,410 topics. Date: Thursday, 28 March 2024 at 01:47 PM

Ghost Of The Past - Literature - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Literature / Ghost Of The Past (43998 Views)

Scares Of The Past / 7 DAYS (the Past Came Haunting) S01 / The Lost Ghost (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (19) (Reply) (Go Down)

Ghost Of The Past by Nobody: 9:29pm On Jan 07, 2019
GHOST OF THE PAST!

Prologue.
Friends, as they say, are people who stand by you in good and bad times. They are almost like your shadow, they never leave even when the situation gets tougher than you can imagine. No matter how bad things gets, they stick close.
Although, not all the people you call 'friends' are actually friends, some are just enemies in disguise, yeah that's right, they are called unfriendly friends.
Good thing is, some friends are better and stick closer than brothers, although they are hard to find...very, very hard.
The atmosphere outside the building was pitch black, inside was filled with people of different tribes, with cigarette smell renting the air. some came to drink, smoke and some, to get the latest 'bae' in town while some of them, came to celebrate one thing or another, both good and bad.
"Scorpion, we don finally send that fool to hell, we deserve some accolade, mehn" a man murmured at one side of the room, obviously satisfied with his achievement.
"Yeah man," his partner replied, showing his brown teeth. "Cheers to us, for a job well-done, no be small happy Honourable go happy when e hear this news. Finally e no get any strong opponent again" he continued, smiling like a possessed being.
At another corner of the bar, Alex and Daniel, two close friends sat drinking from their glasses, both wearing different facial expressions.
One happy,
The other, indifferent.
"Alex, I can't even believe this. By this time tomorrow I will be a married man." Daniel said excitedly, nudging his drunk best friend. He had decided against the regular bachelorette party and instead, chose to hangout with his best friend
"Yeah," Alex answered dryly, raising his glass to his friend in an awkward manner.
A belge followed and Daniel placed his hand on his shoulder, dismissing his cold and unhappy attitude as a result of too many drinks. Not that he had ever shown any iota of happiness.
"Alex, I think you've had just enough drinks," Daniel said and made to collect the glass of unfinished drink from him but he pushed his hand away. Daniel rubbed his perfectly styled hair, before deciding to try again. "Alex enough drinking for today." he muttered. "
"Only an impotent man says that, you can not use the word 'enough' when it comes to alcohol. It's never enough" Alex put in slowly and belged again. "Only a man with useless balls says that!"
The words hit Daniel squarely and he hissed but Alex didn't notice or rather--he pretended not to.
"What business has alcohol got to do with impotency?" he thought to himself.
"Only an impotent man," Alex repeated, raising his glass to his lips.
"Man, no more drinking tonight. I'm beginning to blame myself for bringing you to this bar" he made to collect the glass again but Alex pushed his hand away for a second time. "Is celebrating success with your best friend now a crime?" he questioned, rhetorically.
"Dan, I think your wife is hot." Alex put in drunkily...and maybe, jealously.
Daniel beamed with pride, momentarily forgetting why he was struggling with Alex a minute ago. "I'm lucky, right?"
"Yeah, very lucky. I wish I was the one getting married to her. Her body is so banging hot."
A flicker of anger arose within him but he quickly dismissed it. Alex was still his best friend and in their seven year friendship, if there was something he could boldly say about his friend, it would be his ability to provoke a highly-drunk-in-happiness man with just a word and Alex wasn't one to say sorry or be sorry for anything, no matter how horrible it was. "Alex, time to go home, Remember, my wedding is tomorrow and you're my best-man.''
"Na so." Alex replied in pidgin, with a hint of mockery.
Daniel ignored him and beckoned on the waitress, "Here is the money, keep the change." he handed the neat ten pieces of one thousand naira note to her. The lady smiled and winked at him, giving him a green signal...glowing green at that.
Oh! Not again! When did generosity become a crime?
He dismissed the lady with a shake of his head. She frowned and turned to go.
She took just a step away from him when Alex drew her close and wrapped his hand around her waist.
Typical of Alex, Daniel thought and stood up to go.
"Omalicha, are you done for the day?" Alex asked, running his hands all over the lady's back.
"Yap." she winked.
Daniel hissed loudly
Everyone knew Alex as a 'playboy' and Alex being the proud type never missed any opportunity to show off or talk about his trophies; the five children he bore out of wedlock with five different women. He was a self acclaimed 'king of women'
Daniel on the other hand, was a direct opposite of Alex, he was decent, a Christian and very, very far from womanising despite his good looks which by far surpassed that of Alex.
"Alex, I need to leave now. I will leave my car for you so you don't get stranded after your little rendezvous."
He had earlier on gone to Alex house to pick him, so he knew he would be stranded as he was never a fan of taxi's.
"Thanks Dan. As if you read my mind. Tonight is going to be hot, man." Alex said, staring seductively at the lady and licking his lower lips at the same time, the lady in turn returned the 'kind' gesture by placing her hands on both side of his shoulders, gently rubbing it as he spoke.
"Ohhh-hhhhh," he moaned and placed his hands on the lady's.
Daniel hissed inwardly while still wearing a smiling expression and turned to leave.
He didn't even ask me how I will get home, Daniel thought and frowned; it wasn't as if Alex knew a thing about care and caring. He simply wasn't the type to care for anyone or their safety.
"Just remember the wedding and don't over do things, be careful." Daniel said with a note of finality and walked out of the bar, while dialing his personal driver's number.
"Yes daddy." Alex replied in disgust.

TBC

Re: Ghost Of The Past by Nobody: 9:41pm On Jan 07, 2019
Chai! embarassed
I have forgotten almost everybody's moniker.

Please if you see this, please invite a friend and tell him or her to invite another friend.

Happy new year to you all.

Re: Ghost Of The Past by ashewoboy(m): 9:45pm On Jan 07, 2019
hope it will be a jolly good ride? ride on.

Re: Ghost Of The Past by Nobody: 10:16pm On Jan 07, 2019
ashewoboy:

I hope so too. Thanks
Re: Ghost Of The Past by queenitee(f): 10:40pm On Jan 07, 2019
ashewoboy:
I can assure you it would smiley smiley smiley
Hi Kimberly cheesy wink smiley Evajael, where art thou? grin grin grin
Re: Ghost Of The Past by Nobody: 10:43pm On Jan 07, 2019
queenitee:

I can assure you it would smiley smiley smiley
Hi Kimberly cheesy wink smiley Evajael, where art thou? grin grin grin

Hello dear.
smiley

Thanks sweetie.
She should be on her way, I guess.
Re: Ghost Of The Past by Nobody: 6:29am On Jan 08, 2019
KimberlyWest is back cheesy

Cc
Ann2012
Aprilwise
Skubido
Izaray
Re: Ghost Of The Past by Ann2012(f): 7:01am On Jan 08, 2019
LightQueen:

Cc
Ann2012
Aprilwise
Skubido
Izaray

Yippee....thanks for the mention
Re: Ghost Of The Past by Nobody: 7:26am On Jan 08, 2019
CHAPTER ONE

Everyone was seated in the massive hall of St. Michael's parish for the most glamorous wedding of the year.

Everything about it spoke volume of the size of the groom's pocket.

The whole decorations was beautiful and attractive and everything was impeccable.

To some, it was a day of joy. To others; the frowning ones, it was a day of sorrow, a day they never wanted to come, at least, not for now.

The real friends came to rejoice with the soon to be couple while the envious ones and those who never believed in their wildest imagination that the two would ever end up at the altar, came for other reasons.

Some people never saw the wedding coming. Alex had so many light skinned igbo girls at his beck and call and he still left them to marry a dark skinned yoruba girl. Initially, they thought it was just a fling but seeing him dressed in his perfectly tailored tuxedo right there at the altar made them realize it was for real.

Daniel stood at the altar, all smiles, waiting for his bride. It wasn't his first time and as such he wasn't nervous, wasn't shivering neither was he almost peeing in his pants nor developing cold feet like every regular groom. He was just perfectly composed with his gaze and thoughts focused on the entrance of the church waiting for his bride.

Alex who stood beside Daniel seethed and raised his wristwatch to his face. "Why is she delaying us like she's Miss World?"

Daniel didn't hear that cuz he was too focused to listen to anything anyone had to say. Chimezie, another of Daniel's friend but not as close as Alex heard him and nudged him lightly. "Man, it's not even time for her to come in. What's wrong with you? I've noticed how restless you've been, cheer up and stop being a sadist." he advised.

Alex tilted his head and whispered, "mind your business" to him.

"Whatever," he whispered back and turned to face the entrance to the church with a huge smile.

As the organist played, the bride approached looking angelic in her beautiful white princess wedding dress and a little here and there touch of light pink. A colour which blended perfectly with the interior design of the church. White and pink bridal gown meets white and pink interior decor.

Daniel looked on at his approaching bride with joy while Alex looked at her with disdain but managed to hide it perfectly well, too perfect even.

Shade couldn't hide her excitement when she spotted her handsome groom. Being your regular everyday bride, she was nervous and she felt like there was a thousand butterflies partying in her stomach.

Her maternal uncle's light grip on her arm helped calm her nerves to an extent.
"Hold tight, this phase will soon be over." he whispered to her as they got to Daniel.

She nodded slightly and took Daniel's outstretched hands.

Alex hissed inwardly. How he managed to maintain a happy expression despite the contrasting emotion going on inside him was puzzling. Daniel hadn't heeded to his advice and had gone ahead to marry the 'Yoruba' girl and that made him even more angry at Daniel but it wasn't yet time to show how angry he was. He had a perfectly mapped out plan.

Apart from Alex, another person was sitted in the crowd, watching the soon to be husband and wife with pure contempt.

"So he thinks I will ever forget him? No, he's mine." The person murmured, excused herself and walked out of the church auditorium as Daniel and Shade began exchanging wedding vows.

"...do you take this woman as your lovely wedded wife, for better or for worse, in sickness and in health, to love and to cherish her till death do you part? " the officiating priest asked Daniel.

"Yes, I do." he replied confidently, without hesitation.
A loud applause erupted from the crowd and Daniel smiled; his signature smile, showing the dimples on both sides of his cheeks.

The priest turned to Shade and asked the same question.
"Yes, I do." she answered.

Who wouldn't have said 'yes, I do'?

Daniel in his mid thirties could be mistaken for a twenty year old African-American guy. With his boyish look and his skin colour, he could easily be crowned Mr. World without even competing. Beauty, manners, money, just name it, he had all of it. His nose as narrow as an American's, his brown eyes, so striking that some people often mistake him for an American. Except for his hair, all other features screamed 'American'. Most people who came across him often had this to say 'God created him on a Monday morning after resting on Sunday'.

"...you may now kiss your bride." the priest said with an encouraging smile like he was the parent of one of the couple.

Daniel smiled and claimed his wife's lips with his.
The crowd went wide, boosting Daniel's morale more than it already was.

Shade gave her all to the kiss. She couldn't have asked for a better husband. Daniel's down to earth character was the first thing that attracted her to him. Despite the gigantic weight of his bank account he was never rude, never for once did he make her feel inferior or in any way remind her of her low social status as compared to his.

Daniel bubbled with joy. Shade was God sent, she had come into his life at a time when he needed a companion most. She was one of a kind. Never in his life since he turned twenty and came into money, had he come across a lady that showed zero interest in his money and the weight of his bank account...or so he thought!
He had tested her so many times to see if she had eyes for his money but she proved him wrong all the times he did it.
The kiss continued until the priest stopped them in a hilarious manner.

"The kissing can continue in the hotel room tonight, some of us are hungry." he had said to them.

Daniel laughed and everyone gave them a standing ovation as he drew his wife into a warm embrace after they broke the kiss.

Showing off his jewel was one thing he never for once hesitated to do.

With a beauty and curves to die for, she was one in a million but that wasn't just what attracted him to her; her homely character, her appreciative nature and her caring attitude also contributed in balancing the equation.
Daniel turned to his back, beaming with joy but the kind of expression Alex had on, saddened him and he immediately turned to face his wife again.

Alex had the kind of expression and smile on his face, that even a toddler could easily tell it's fake, he probably got tired of acting nice and wore whatever expression that came to his mind.

At least he made it to the wedding.
The wedding soon came to an end and everyone moved to the luxurious transcorp Hilton at the heart of Abuja for the reception; the wedding of the century, as some called it.
"...what God has joined together, let no man come put asunder, you will live forever, no retreat and no surrender, it's your happy day ah ah, your happy day, it's your wedding day..."

the popular patoranking's wedding song blared from all the speakers.
Indeed, what God has joined together, let no man put asunder.

"...Grab your man, grab your woman and take her home."

That was exactly what Daniel did after the reception, he grabbed Shade and off they went for their honeymoon in Paris; the city of love.

Re: Ghost Of The Past by Nobody: 7:28am On Jan 08, 2019
LightQueen:
Cc Ann2012 Aprilwise Skubido Izaray
@LightQueen thanks dear
Re: Ghost Of The Past by Nobody: 7:28am On Jan 08, 2019
LightQueen:
Cc Ann2012 Aprilwise Skubido Izaray
@LightQueen thanks dear
Re: Ghost Of The Past by skubido(m): 7:30am On Jan 08, 2019
LightQueen:

Cc
Ann2012
Aprilwise
Skubido
Izaray

Kim mama is back ooooooo, Ride on

Present, Tanks for d mention Ma.

Awon enemy's yapa

Re: Ghost Of The Past by Nobody: 9:54am On Jan 08, 2019
skubido:

Kim mama is back ooooooo, Ride on
Present, Tanks for d mention Ma.

Awon enemy's yapa
Awwww... Thanks dear.

Re: Ghost Of The Past by izaray(f): 9:55am On Jan 08, 2019
LightQueen:

Cc
Ann2012
Aprilwise
Skubido
Izaray
Present ma, thanks for d invite dear
Re: Ghost Of The Past by Emodeee: 3:41pm On Jan 08, 2019
hello gorgeous writer. you are doing a good JOB. I pray you BLOW this yearcheesy.
Re: Ghost Of The Past by Nobody: 3:51pm On Jan 08, 2019
Emodeee:
hello gorgeous writer. you are doing a good JOB. I pray you BLOW this yearcheesy.

Hy cute follower, thank you so much for recognizing the good JOB I'm doing but I DON'T WANT TO BLOW just yet.
Re: Ghost Of The Past by Emodeee: 3:55pm On Jan 08, 2019
KimberlyWest:

Hy cute follower, thank you so much for recognizing the good JOB I'm doing but I DON'T WANT TO BLOW just yet.

you must BLOWcheesy. popopo, referee must blow. who put bomb for head must blow. for writing an interesting story like this. it means bomb dey your head and you must BLOW.cheesy.
Re: Ghost Of The Past by Nobody: 4:02pm On Jan 08, 2019
The seventeen hours flight to Paris was nothing to Daniel but to Shade, it couldn't be called ordinary, it was extra-ordinary, being the first time she would travel out of the country not just out of the country but to Paris...yeah... Paris, the city of love.

The moment the plane touched down at the airport, her eyes widened with surprise at the beauty of the city.

"Having fun, right?" Daniel asked, stepping into the airport taxi where Shade sat looking from left to right like a village kid visiting an amusement park for the first time...with the expression on her face, it's probably a village kid visiting Disneyland or the underwater Stadium.

Daniel felt very proud for being the husband to the very beautiful and dark skinned Shade, but then again, the more you look, the less you see.

"You haven't seen a thing yet, wait until we get to the famous Eiffel tower, since it's already 8pm here, you will be marvelled at the sight before you." Daniel supplied, proudly.

"I've only ever seen it television and newspapers, I had no idea that one day I would see it for real. Thanks Danny, I love you so much." Shade said and leaned into him.

He did his signature smile again and began patting her head."you're my queen and this is the least of the things in my to-do-list,"

She turned to face him with an awww expression, "what could be more than this?" she asked with full curiousity.

"Beauty, no hurry in life, you haven't seen nothing yet, besides some of them are a surprise for my beautiful wife."

"No, I need to hear them, you know I'm not too good with surprises."

"You will learn," he replied teasingly, as the taxi zoomed off.

They soon reached the exquisite hotel. The ride to the hotel wasn't as hectic as Shade thought it would be; no traffic congestion, the taxi moved smoothly, in fact, it was the best ride she's ever had. It was like she was finally living her dream life.

"Wow, that was awesome. I had fun. This is what I call honeymoon" Shade screamed as they stepped out of the elevator. "one word for that tower at night is...errm... errm...gloriously marvelous"

A small laugh escaped him "I'm glad you liked it," Daniel said with a hint of pride. "that means you will like the room where you'll be staying for the next one week"

"I can't wait to see it." Shade replied.

Daniel smiled as they walked towards the door. He gave the door a slight push and it gave way, seemed like everything had already been planned.

"Wow!" Shade exclaimed. "This is so beautiful."

"You think so?" Daniel asked, teasingly. "do you like it?"

"Hey, I love it." she quietly said, looking round the luxurious suite.

Before her, stood the most beautiful suite she had ever seen, even a room in Barbie castle couldn't be compared to it. The all white suite was styled to a royal taste, it king-sized bed all draped in white blanket, stood gallantly in the room, occupying a small percentage of the room, beside it stood large side tables, the most beautiful design she had ever seen, the beauty of the room couldn't even be compared to the well arranged roses on the bed forming a beautiful heart ♥ shape, there were also candles and wines on the centre table in the room giving it a very romantic atmosphere.

"I'm glad you like it" Daniel said, inwardly giving himself a thumbs up for a job well-done.

"I love you Danny, I can't believe you will go through all this stress just for me." Shade said, with tears crowding her eyes.

"Hey, princess," he called, gently wiping the tears with a thumb. "I'm doing all this because I love you. Don't make it look like it's something extraordinary. It's my duty to make you happy."

"But, it is extraordinary." she countered.

"Woman, you're the love of my life." He said the word 'Love' like it's the most beautiful word in the world and the best part of it was, he meant it. Shade was truly the love of his life. He was already starting to believe that love doesn't actually exist, and then he met her and everything changed, he never believed a woman could be so beautiful and well mannered at the same time until he met her. He never believed he would again feel so complete, until he met her.
Heck...the woman changed his world, she turned it around for good. From their one year dating period, he realized that whatever she touched never remained the same, it changed for better---even him. She was a life changer as many would call it.

She watched her husband with smiles, Daniel was her all and all, he wasn't just her husband but her father, her brother and her everything. He made her feel loved again. She wrapped her hands around him, hiding the tears of joy already forming in her eyes. "Why don't we shower and see what that..." she gestured towards the bed. "and see what it has to offer."

Daniel dropped his hand to her waist. "What are we waiting for? Your wish is my command, her Majesty." he answered laughing silently.

Re: Ghost Of The Past by Nobody: 4:04pm On Jan 08, 2019

@Emodeee just be looking for my trouble. but sha, I pray to blow o although not the kind of blow you're talking about
Re: Ghost Of The Past by Nobody: 4:11pm On Jan 08, 2019
charytea, bimberry1307, gucciqueen38, parismoore, biadefolar, giannaaaaaa, shewrites, ellabae, ghostwritter, centino, pinkfeet, vhally fasttrack curvydiva InkPaperVodka cyndy1000, twoclans ericsmith rosalieene kaycee9242 MhiztaRange prettyMizQdot chivera018 unique child skubido casler donpiiko BdorianGray Rhemy2013 donnaD audina nelem princessmj ayodijex nikz vickysunmomi lady25 ann2012 mc6xty WAACUT canme4u victoria2000 mjay05 aharpride1 tgold1 INDUSTRIALFAN stevodot22 FortunateB crystalprince honourable356 oluwakemi65 stancyfrosh xaviercasmier Alexk2 Rollins777 Dessydemmy Divpen1 obyikye FloraEC IamXcessiz eniafelamo princessyere1 stellamarisII Ibunkun1 Kimoyo Pearl05 Sweety189 Peluhmii queenitee tonexyx joyberry millenia Chii8 Jane1234 Halyma Silver1996 onetop funkyjenny marianneada, akinwale14

I've sha forgotten almost all the moniker I used to know but if you see this, you're special. come check this out.

Re: Ghost Of The Past by Ann2012(f): 4:25pm On Jan 08, 2019
Thanks for the update ma'am
Re: Ghost Of The Past by Ann2012(f): 4:26pm On Jan 08, 2019
Silensa come here ooooo
Re: Ghost Of The Past by Silensa(m): 5:00pm On Jan 08, 2019
Ann2012:
Silensa come here ooooo

Present ma'am.
Let me rush and read before commenting. Hope you are great and what of that your troublesome friend?

Re: Ghost Of The Past by INDUSTRIALFAN(m): 5:26pm On Jan 08, 2019
KimberlyWest:
charytea, bimberry1307, gucciqueen38, parismoore, biadefolar, giannaaaaaa, shewrites, ellabae, ghostwritter, centino, pinkfeet, vhally fasttrack curvydiva InkPaperVodka cyndy1000, twoclans ericsmith rosalieene kaycee9242 MhiztaRange prettyMizQdot chivera018 unique child skubido casler donpiiko BdorianGray Rhemy2013 donnaD audina nelem princessmj ayodijex nikz vickysunmomi lady25 ann2012 mc6xty WAACUT canme4u victoria2000 mjay05 aharpride1 tgold1 INDUSTRIALFAN stevodot22 FortunateB crystalprince honourable356 oluwakemi65 stancyfrosh xaviercasmier Alexk2 Rollins777 Dessydemmy Divpen1 obyikye FloraEC IamXcessiz eniafelamo princessyere1 stellamarisII Ibunkun1 Kimoyo Pearl05 Sweety189 Peluhmii queenitee tonexyx joyberry millenia Chii8 Jane1234 Halyma Silver1996 onetop funkyjenny marianneada, akinwale14

I've sha forgotten almost all the moniker I used to know but if you see this, you're special. come check this out.
I hope you will update steadily and also finish o.. this is 2019.. we should die old habits.
Re: Ghost Of The Past by Nobody: 5:33pm On Jan 08, 2019
INDUSTRIALFAN:
I hope you will update steadily and also finish o.. this is 2019.. we should die old habits.

*Crosses heart*

I will.
Re: Ghost Of The Past by Nobody: 5:34pm On Jan 08, 2019
Ann2012:
You're welcome dear.

Re: Ghost Of The Past by Nobody: 5:35pm On Jan 08, 2019
Ann2012:
You're welcome dear.

Re: Ghost Of The Past by INDUSTRIALFAN(m): 6:10pm On Jan 08, 2019
KimberlyWest:

*Crosses heart*

I will.
tuned in full time... cheesy
Re: Ghost Of The Past by Nobody: 7:54pm On Jan 08, 2019
Thanks for the update
Re: Ghost Of The Past by queenitee(f): 9:11pm On Jan 08, 2019
Yo baby, let's go
Re: Ghost Of The Past by HORLADSTAR(m): 9:19pm On Jan 08, 2019
Runs into the thread when I realized Kimberlywest has started another blockbuster story.
Re: Ghost Of The Past by HORLADSTAR(m): 9:21pm On Jan 08, 2019
Dancing mode activated when I realized Kimberlywest has started another blockbuster story.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (19) (Reply)

SHADOWCORP (The End of Tyranny) / Heart Of A Broken Girl / Our Husband Has Gone Mad Again By Ola Rotimi, A Review

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 97