Stats: 3,143,139 members, 7,780,062 topics. Date: Thursday, 28 March 2024 at 09:07 AM

WAR.... A Short Story - Literature - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Literature / WAR.... A Short Story (1963 Views)

Why I Love The Color Black *a Short Story Of Sexual Abuse* / Behind The Mask - A Short Story / Don't Laugh Me, Love Me ( A Short Story) (2) (3) (4)

WAR.... A Short Story by damselposh(f): 1:50pm On Jun 05, 2021
So i wrote this story out of boredom. Not really out of boredom actually. It's been long since i last wrote anything and so my hands were itching grin grin.

Preshbeauty
Ujunwa14
Oyinella
Embellished
enirock

Please if i didn't mention your moniker no vex. It is a very very very short story. No chapters, just a straight write up.

Ejike was asleep when a group of the Biafran soldiers came to take his father very early in the morning.

The soldiers went round the village, recruiting young men who fought in the Biafra war.

Ejike woke up when the noise disturbed him.

"Papa, ogini mere? (Papa what happened?)" He had asked drowsily.

"enwegi ihe mere (nothing happened). Just go back to sleep" his father had replied swiftly.

"But they are taking you away" the little boy cried.

"You have to be a man. Take care of your mother. I'm going to fight for our freedom" he patted his shoulder and left.

The little boy let out a loud wail, his father had been taken. His friend "Uzokwe" had told him the previous day that every young man in the village must fight, either willingly or forcefully.
He had doubted him, saying his (Ejike) father wouldn't be among those that would be taken to fight.He blinked his eyes when the realization dawned on him, his father had been taken. He was eventually going to fight.

He joined his mother in her hut whilst they prayed to Chukwu Okike abiama for the safety of the young men who were at the warfront.

"Nna gi ga alota na Udo (Your father will come back in peace). Ebezina (stop crying)" his mother had told him when the tears seemed endless.

He only nodded his head in affirmative but didn't make an attempt to stop the tears that flowed freely.

It was midday. The sun had risen up in the sky when Ejike and his mother heard a languid war cry from afar.

They rushed out of the hut, worry written on their faces.

"Papa is back" Ejike said excitedly as he saw his father galloping like a horse towards their hut.

"Nnanyi, you are back" Orjiugo said, immediately her husband got nearer to the hut.

"We have to leave this place immediately. We were out numbered and they have more trained soldiers than we do. They are coming to raze down every single hut they find. The rest of the villagers will meet at the "Ukpaka Forest". He said out of breath.
Orjiugo ran into the hut and few minutes later, she ran out with a few wrappers. They left the hut and ran into the bush.

The journey to the "Ukpaka forest" took them a little time and by the time they got there, a lot of the villagers were there, engulfed by fear.

"I don't think they can follow us to this place" an old man spoke up.

"Chukwu Okike abiama will not let that happen" a woman said. Her eyes were swollen and reddish, She had been crying. Her husband couldn't make it out of the battlefield alive.

"I saw people die. I saw some of our young men, they died whilst fighting for freedom" Ejike's father muttered dejectedly.

"When will this war end Papa?" Ejike asked, holding the hem of his father's wrapper.

"Very soon, my boy." He replied with a sigh.

They fed on raw cassava and roasted bush meat while they were in the forest. They would gather sticks and light a fire with two stones by cracking them together and then they would roast whatever rodent they had caught.
Some days they fed on edibles while on some other days when luck didn't smile at them, they fed on lizards or any other thing they could lay their hands on. It was on a day like the latter that Ejike had vehemently refused the roasted lizard his father had given to him. He had watched his father as he prepared the meal and the whole villagers were even thankful to chukwu okike Abiama for filling the forest with lizards for their consumption at their time in distress. Ejike had hissed severally and wondered when the war would end so that they could go back to their houses and resume their normal food routine and even sleep like they used to. They had been sleeping with their eyes opened since they fled from the village.

They left the forest after the war had died down. Ejike never forgot the sight they met when they had gotten back to the village. Dead bodies littered everywhere.

Pa Ejike woke up with a start. He was laying down on a bed, in a well furnished room.

It took him some time before he remembered that he was in his daughter's house. His daughter had taken him to the city when he had fallen ill. Old age had caught up with him, he smiled sadly.

His grandson entered the room, fuming, raging and threatening to bring down fire and brimstone.

"Ikenna ogini? (Ikenna what is it?)" Ejike asked.

"Grandpa, don't mind those herdsmen. They want their cows to have a special place in the East but we won't let them. If they want war, we will give it to them" the young man explained erratically.

Ejike only shook his head in pity.
If only they knew how disastrous and destructive a war could be, they wouldn't brew one. If only they knew how many lives were lost during the Biafra war years ago, they wouldn't pray for one. If only they knew, they would find another means to settle their disputes. If and only if they knew.

The Chronicles of a Time Traveller.

A FICTION Flash
© Jennifer Godwin

Re: WAR.... A Short Story by genius43(m): 2:18pm On Jun 05, 2021
Nice one.
Re: WAR.... A Short Story by Deasegun19(m): 2:25pm On Jun 05, 2021
you're not Igbo...
Re: WAR.... A Short Story by Ujunwa14(f): 3:14pm On Jun 05, 2021
Wow. Thanks Damsel for this wonderful piece.

War can be disastrous and destructive. Nobody should pray for war bikonu. Me i don't even have the strength to fight. Infact ordinary rat dey even fear me to kill.

Damsel I'm still hungry for more. When will you start the story you promised us?
Re: WAR.... A Short Story by Ujunwa14(f): 3:14pm On Jun 05, 2021
Deasegun19:
you're not Igbo...

She is igbo. A bonafide igbo woman at that.
Re: WAR.... A Short Story by ashatoda: 3:15pm On Jun 05, 2021
Good write up but it will only fall on deaf ears. I know the Igbos have been cheated over the years but going to war without preparation will be disastrous. Those who fought or experienced the Biafra war understand better that's why they're cautious because they won't want to experience it again

Re: WAR.... A Short Story by Embellished(f): 5:56pm On Jun 05, 2021
Good one damsel. Those people praying for war don't even know what they are doing.

How far our story na?
Re: WAR.... A Short Story by oyinella(f): 7:00pm On Jun 05, 2021
Damsel!!!! Finally!
Re: WAR.... A Short Story by Preshbeauty(f): 1:59pm On Jun 06, 2021
Oshey. Damsel is back but this one no reach me oooo.

Thanks for this wonderful piece. War is very dangerous.
Re: WAR.... A Short Story by damselposh(f): 2:41pm On Jun 07, 2021
genius43:
Nice one.

Re: WAR.... A Short Story by damselposh(f): 2:42pm On Jun 07, 2021
Deasegun19:
you're not Igbo...

I am.
Re: WAR.... A Short Story by damselposh(f): 2:43pm On Jun 07, 2021
Ujunwa14:
Wow. Thanks Damsel for this wonderful piece.

War can be disastrous and destructive. Nobody should pray for war bikonu. Me i don't even have the strength to fight. Infact ordinary rat dey even fear me to kill.

Damsel I'm still hungry for more. When will you start the story you promised us?

Thanks babe.
The story will commence soon
Re: WAR.... A Short Story by damselposh(f): 2:44pm On Jun 07, 2021
ashatoda:
Good write up but it will only fall on deaf ears. I know the Igbos have been cheated over the years but going to war without preparation will be disastrous. Those who fought or experienced the Biafra war understand better that's why they're cautious because they won't want to experience it again

Thanks dear
Re: WAR.... A Short Story by damselposh(f): 2:44pm On Jun 07, 2021
Embellished:
Good one damsel. Those people praying for war don't even know what they are doing.

How far our story na?

Thanks love.
The story will commence soon.
Re: WAR.... A Short Story by damselposh(f): 2:45pm On Jun 07, 2021
oyinella:
Damsel!!!! Finally!

Lol, yes finally.
Re: WAR.... A Short Story by damselposh(f): 2:46pm On Jun 07, 2021
Preshbeauty:
Oshey. Damsel is back but this one no reach me oooo.

Thanks for this wonderful piece. War is very dangerous.

Thanks love
Re: WAR.... A Short Story by Treasure17(m): 3:30pm On Jun 07, 2021
Damsel baby. Well-done.

We are back. All thanks to Buhari grin
Re: WAR.... A Short Story by damselposh(f): 9:12pm On Jun 25, 2021
Adesina12 please can you send your number to my Email. I lost my phone some days ago.
Re: WAR.... A Short Story by damselposh(f): 9:12pm On Jun 25, 2021
Treasure17:
Damsel baby. Well-done.
We are back. All thanks to Buhari grin

I can see that hahaha

Re: WAR.... A Short Story by Adesina12: 3:13pm On Jun 26, 2021
damselposh:
Adesina12 please can you send your number to my Email. I lost my phone some days ago.
Sent
Re: WAR.... A Short Story by Obasempirecomdy: 12:25am On Jun 28, 2021
Lovely piece if you permit we do s short movie on this?
Re: WAR.... A Short Story by damselposh(f): 5:41pm On Jul 03, 2021
Obasempirecomdy:
Lovely piece if you permit we do s short movie on this?

sure, you can

Re: WAR.... A Short Story by damselposh(f): 10:18am On Aug 14, 2021
Ouzo1
Please if you can see this, Email me your phone number.
Re: WAR.... A Short Story by enirock(m): 12:11pm On Oct 05, 2021
Damselposh I am happy to see a piece from u. This story brought back my uni days when we had to go to elders to ask them about the civil war and how the memories they carried about. I won't say they (Igbos) don't have a justified cause, I am just certain that there are better ways to emancipation without blood letting. We wait on u.
Re: WAR.... A Short Story by damselposh(f): 11:52pm On Dec 24, 2021
enirock:
Damselposh I am happy to see a piece from u. This story brought back my uni days when we had to go to elders to ask them about the civil war and how the memories they carried about. I won't say they (Igbos) don't have a justified cause, I am just certain that there are better ways to emancipation without blood letting. We wait on u.

Thank you for reading this piece.

Re: WAR.... A Short Story by Adesina12: 7:55am On Dec 25, 2021
damselposh:

Welcome back Damsel
Sweet popcorn for you dear
Re: WAR.... A Short Story by enirock(m): 11:06pm On Dec 25, 2021
damselposh:

Welcome dear.
Compliment of the season to you and yours.
Re: WAR.... A Short Story by MisterKennedy(m): 4:07pm On Dec 27, 2021
damselposh:

Merry Christmas to you dear
Re: WAR.... A Short Story by heniford2: 4:42pm On Oct 20, 2023
damselposh:
So i wrote this story out of boredom. Not really out of boredom actually. It's been long since i last wrote anything and so my hands were itching grin grin.

Preshbeauty
Ujunwa14
Oyinella
Embellished
enirock

Please if i didn't mention your moniker no vex. It is a very very very short story. No chapters, just a straight write up.

Ejike was asleep when a group of the Biafran soldiers came to take his father very early in the morning.

The soldiers went round the village, recruiting young men who fought in the Biafra war.

Ejike woke up when the noise disturbed him.

"Papa, ogini mere? (Papa what happened?)" He had asked drowsily.

"enwegi ihe mere (nothing happened). Just go back to sleep" his father had replied swiftly.

"But they are taking you away" the little boy cried.

"You have to be a man. Take care of your mother. I'm going to fight for our freedom" he patted his shoulder and left.

The little boy let out a loud wail, his father had been taken. His friend "Uzokwe" had told him the previous day that every young man in the village must fight, either willingly or forcefully.
He had doubted him, saying his (Ejike) father wouldn't be among those that would be taken to fight.He blinked his eyes when the realization dawned on him, his father had been taken. He was eventually going to fight.

He joined his mother in her hut whilst they prayed to Chukwu Okike abiama for the safety of the young men who were at the warfront.

"Nna gi ga alota na Udo (Your father will come back in peace). Ebezina (stop crying)" his mother had told him when the tears seemed endless.

He only nodded his head in affirmative but didn't make an attempt to stop the tears that flowed freely.

It was midday. The sun had risen up in the sky when Ejike and his mother heard a languid war cry from afar.

They rushed out of the hut, worry written on their faces.

"Papa is back" Ejike said excitedly as he saw his father galloping like a horse towards their hut.

"Nnanyi, you are back" Orjiugo said, immediately her husband got nearer to the hut.

"We have to leave this place immediately. We were out numbered and they have more trained soldiers than we do. They are coming to raze down every single hut they find. The rest of the villagers will meet at the "Ukpaka Forest". He said out of breath.
Orjiugo ran into the hut and few minutes later, she ran out with a few wrappers. They left the hut and ran into the bush.

The journey to the "Ukpaka forest" took them a little time and by the time they got there, a lot of the villagers were there, engulfed by fear.

"I don't think they can follow us to this place" an old man spoke up.

"Chukwu Okike abiama will not let that happen" a woman said. Her eyes were swollen and reddish, She had been crying. Her husband couldn't make it out of the battlefield alive.

"I saw people die. I saw some of our young men, they died whilst fighting for freedom" Ejike's father muttered dejectedly.

"When will this war end Papa?" Ejike asked, holding the hem of his father's wrapper.

"Very soon, my boy." He replied with a sigh.

They fed on raw cassava and roasted bush meat while they were in the forest. They would gather sticks and light a fire with two stones by cracking them together and then they would roast whatever rodent they had caught.
Some days they fed on edibles while on some other days when luck didn't smile at them, they fed on lizards or any other thing they could lay their hands on. It was on a day like the latter that Ejike had vehemently refused the roasted lizard his father had given to him. He had watched his father as he prepared the meal and the whole villagers were even thankful to chukwu okike Abiama for filling the forest with lizards for their consumption at their time in distress. Ejike had hissed severally and wondered when the war would end so that they could go back to their houses and resume their normal food routine and even sleep like they used to. They had been sleeping with their eyes opened since they fled from the village.

They left the forest after the war had died down. Ejike never forgot the sight they met when they had gotten back to the village. Dead bodies littered everywhere.

Pa Ejike woke up with a start. He was laying down on a bed, in a well furnished room.

It took him some time before he remembered that he was in his daughter's house. His daughter had taken him to the city when he had fallen ill. Old age had caught up with him, he smiled sadly.

His grandson entered the room, fuming, raging and threatening to bring down fire and brimstone.

"Ikenna ogini? (Ikenna what is it?)" Ejike asked.

"Grandpa, don't mind those herdsmen. They want their cows to have a special place in the East but we won't let them. If they want war, we will give it to them" the young man explained erratically.

Ejike only shook his head in pity.
If only they knew how disastrous and destructive a war could be, they wouldn't brew one. If only they knew how many lives were lost during the Biafra war years ago, they wouldn't pray for one. If only they knew, they would find another means to settle their disputes. If and only if they knew.

The Chronicles of a Time Traveller.

A FICTION Flash
© Jennifer Godwin
hafa
Re: WAR.... A Short Story by oyinella(f): 5:16pm On Oct 21, 2023
Everybody come out o!!! Nairaland’s finest writer decided to grace us with her presence. Welcome back asa’m @ damselposh

Memoirs Of A Repentant Hooker: Episode 1 / Inordinate Pleasure: A Novellete / Must Read: My First Real Taste Of Pussy

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 65