Stats: 3,327,307 members, 8,430,311 topics. Date: Saturday, 20 June 2026 at 09:53 AM

Shettima's Choice Will Affect APC Candidates In Christian Communities - Vrati - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsShettima's Choice Will Affect APC Candidates In Christian Communities - Vrati (551 Views)

1 Reply (Go Down)

Shettima's Choice Will Affect APC Candidates In Christian Communities - Vrati by powerfulguy(op): 6:50pm On Jul 22, 2022
A House of Representatives candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Adamawa State, Vrati Nzonzo, has highlighted how he and other candidates in Christian-dominated communities face possible rejection because of the Muslim-Muslim presidential ticket of the party.

Vrati said in an interview with newsmen in Yola on Friday that the decision by the party’s presidential candidate, Asiwaju Ahmed Tinubu, to make a fellow Muslim, Kasheem Shettima his running mate still rankles among his Christian kit and kin and it robs badly on the party’s candidates for the different political offices to be contested for in the 2023 election.

Vrati Nzonzo who has the APC ticket for the Numan/Demsa/Lamurde Federal constituency said APC’s Muslim-Muslim presidential ticket makes his candidacy difficult to sell to his people.

Vrati said, “It will affect us, we APC candidates in Christian-dominated areas, but we are hoping to be able to make our people understand that we differ if the position of the party suggests that Christians don’t matter.”

Explaining how the APC Muslim-Muslim ticket poses a challenge to candidates like him, Vrati, a former chairman of Lamurde local government Council, said, “I am from a Christian-dominated constituency: Numan/Demsa/Lamurde. Are you now telling people not to vote for me since my party does not recognise my faith or refuses to be fair to my faith?

“If you are telling my people from Christian-dominated parts of the North where many of us come from and are seeking votes in 2023 that the presidency can be won without Christians, it’s not fair. Even if you actually win, you would have passed a rancourous message.”

He emphasised that he remained opposed to the same-faith ticket of the party because the arguments for it do not add up.

He said, however, that despite his opposition to the same-faith ticket of the APC, he remains an APC man who has to support APC and its presidential candidate.

“I have no option. I am an APC candidate. I am an APC person and I will support APC. I will support Tinubu,” he said.
https://dailypost.ng/2022/07/22/how-shettimas-choice-affects-apc-candidates-in-christian-communities-reps-candidate-vrati/
Lalasticlala
Mynd44
Re: Shettima's Choice Will Affect APC Candidates In Christian Communities - Vrati by successmatters(m): 6:52pm On Jul 22, 2022
Everyone knows this fact and are sorry about the loss of APC in the coming elections.

APC committed a huge blunder.
Re: Shettima's Choice Will Affect APC Candidates In Christian Communities - Vrati by njamani: 6:53pm On Jul 22, 2022
Nobody looked at it from this critical angle
Re: Shettima's Choice Will Affect APC Candidates In Christian Communities - Vrati by Lanretoye(m): 6:54pm On Jul 22, 2022
Wetin concern boss
Re: Shettima's Choice Will Affect APC Candidates In Christian Communities - Vrati by Xscape1993(m): 6:55pm On Jul 22, 2022
Evil party.....
Re: Shettima's Choice Will Affect APC Candidates In Christian Communities - Vrati by Johnflowey1738(f):
embarassed
Such sad.
The Agbado urchin is very selfish. Because of him, this honorable won't be elected come 2023.

Re: Shettima's Choice Will Affect APC Candidates In Christian Communities - Vrati by buckeyemedia: 7:08pm On Jul 22, 2022
njamani:
Nobody looked at it from this critical angle
We did, but Bola Tinubu was overwhelmed by his own selfish personal agenda.
Re: Shettima's Choice Will Affect APC Candidates In Christian Communities - Vrati by InsideLove(f): 7:15pm On Jul 22, 2022
But Tinubu remains he must win the election.
Re: Shettima's Choice Will Affect APC Candidates In Christian Communities - Vrati by MadeInTokyo: 7:16pm On Jul 22, 2022
It is inevitable lot of APC candidates will suffer protest votes defeat in 2023....Quote this post
Re: Shettima's Choice Will Affect APC Candidates In Christian Communities - Vrati by SmellyNyash: 7:20pm On Jul 22, 2022
Tilinbu is a Conner

See tilinbus bishop grin

Re: Shettima's Choice Will Affect APC Candidates In Christian Communities - Vrati by Obidient4life2: 7:24pm On Jul 22, 2022
It's an obvious fact!
Re: Shettima's Choice Will Affect APC Candidates In Christian Communities - Vrati by Vulturereloaded: 7:25pm On Jul 22, 2022
Thats has always been the plan of the North.
Re: Shettima's Choice Will Affect APC Candidates In Christian Communities - Vrati by Racoon(m): 7:28pm On Jul 22, 2022
This bullion vans druggie failed to reasoned that his inordinate ambition is a dangerous trend have set in a cascade of events that will eventually shape the polity of this nation from henceforth. Christains will never trust Muslims and vice versa
Re: Shettima's Choice Will Affect APC Candidates In Christian Communities - Vrati by yomi961: 8:06pm On Jul 22, 2022
But he doesn't value the Christians in the party, so why are they still in the party?

1 Reply

Dropping Shetimma May Affect APC's Chances, Minister Warns2023: Wrong Choice Will Consume Nigeria, Says ObasanjoBornu CAN Applauds Shettima's Choice As Tinubu's Running Mate.234

Obi Of Onitsha And Soludo Killed 200+ youths In Ogbaru - IPOBCogent Reasons Why Other Tribes In Nigeria Won't Trust Any Ibo Man At The CenterPeter Obi's Outstanding Speech At ICC Abuja Today: Incase You Missed It