Stats: 3,156,049 members, 7,828,694 topics. Date: Wednesday, 15 May 2024 at 01:01 PM

IGBOPHOBIA EXISTS | The Igbo Hate Is Real. - Culture - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Culture / IGBOPHOBIA EXISTS | The Igbo Hate Is Real. (2537 Views)

The History Behind Igbo-hate (igbophobia) / Ooni Of Ife: The Igbo Race Is First In The World To Discover, Nurture Wealth / Red Ibo In Jamaica: A Profile Of The Igbo People Of Jamaica (2) (3) (4)

IGBOPHOBIA EXISTS | The Igbo Hate Is Real. by GeorgesDiary(m): 11:06pm On Aug 26, 2022
"Nigerians will probably achieve consensus on no other matter than their common resentment of the Igbo,” - Chinua Achebe

Nigeria has an "Igbo problem" and whether we choose to admit this or not, it exists. It is becoming a culture as it is being transferred from one generation to another generation. Ask some people why they don't like Igbos and they will be surprised to realize that they don't even know.

Igbo-hate is so distinguished that it made its way into the pages of the prestigious Wikipedia Encyclopedia. Very prominent that Adeyinka Shoyemi also known as Grandson got indicted over his hate speeches against the Igbos by the UK authorities and is currently serving jail terms.

We see Igbophobia on the pages of the newspaper and TV stations every day. In 2015, Oba of Lagos warned Igbos that they would be thrown into the Lagoon if they do not vote for Ambode, the candidate of the All Progressive Congress.

Shetimma, the Vice Presidential candidate of the All Progressive Congress went on national TV to say that Peter Obi can't win Nigeria's Presidency simply because he is Igbo. Ask some politicians of other ethnic groups why an Igbo man can't lead Nigeria and they'd tell you that it's not time for the Igbos. The hate against Igbos is mutually shared across both the other major ethnic groups and the minorities.

Why are the Igbos hated so much that anytime they demand what is due to them they are mocked with statements like "they should go to their Biafra"? It sounds as though the Igbos were the first to demand self-determination. It is as though Igbos are being perpetually punished for demanding their right to self-determination.

Remember, Biafra didn't take up arms against Nigeria, Nigeria took up arms against Biafra, a shortlived Nation that had other ethnic groups too. Today, these other ethnic groups have also been brainwashed with propaganda to see the Igbophobia as a collective responsibility. Sometimes it seems as though how to be a patriotic Nigerian is to hate Igbos.

The discussion around Biafra has been made to become an Igbo thing and even other ethnic groups that made up Biafra are buying into it. Biafra had other ethnic groups like the Ijaw, the Ibibios, the Efik and so many others.

Even if we want to buy into the lies that Biafra took up arms against Nigeria which is the other way round, let's go back the memory lane.

Major Isaac Adaka Boro took up arms against the Federal Government. He declared the Niger Delta Republic which lasted for 12 days in the 1960s. In the North, Islamist terrorists have been in a long war against Nigeria in a bid to establish an Islamic State in the North. You can't even compare what Boko Haram is doing in any way to Biafra. It will be demonic, wicked, a d ignorant to do so. To compare Biafra agitators with Boko Haram is a shortcut to becoming the devil because he is the father of all lies.

There has been a consistent agitation for the Yoruba Nation in the South West currently led by Ilana Omo Oodua, and Professor Banji Akintoye. But nobody is blackmailing the entire Yoruba race for it, nobody is saying that a Yoruba man can't be President. Why is it so different for the Igbo man?

Several months back, we saw a Roman Catholic Priest, Rev. Fr. James Anelu from Edo State verbally attacking the Igbo parishioners. What was his reason? That Igbo songs are being sung in his parish! This is a parish made up of a majority Igbos. Igbos priests make up the largest percentage of the Roman Catholic priesthood in the entire Africa. According to Catholic & Culture, the Enugu Diocesan Seminary is the largest Roman Catholic Seminary in the world.

We also saw a deputy commissioner of Police from Adamawa State threatening the life of Vincent Umeh, an Igbo man. What was the problem? Vincent bought a property next to his residence in Yola and he had sworn never to have an Igbo man live close to him.

Igbos are hated and criticised even by people who claim that they don't hate the Igbos. These same people will mock the Igbos for doing what every other ethnic group has done. An Igbo would be termed tribalistic for standing by their candidate while people of other tribes will be said to be protecting their legitimate interest with the excuse that it is a game of numbers.

If the Igbos throw their weight behind someone else against an Igbo candidate, it will be said that Igbos hate themselves while it will be termed "strategic" for the other ethnic groups when they do the same thing. There has never been anything the Igbo people would do that the other folks will not criticize. Yes, they would claim that they don't hate the Igbos but we know that they do.

I hate that this is coming from me as many would perceive it as a "victim mentality" but most Nigerians are indeed united in their resentment against the Igbos. This is why the agitation for Biafra has continued even after more than five decades after the Nigerian war against Biafra that saw millions of lives lost.

The Igbo hate started with the colonialists who hated the Igbos' aggression against colonialism and slavery. It was the colonialists who began the propagation of hatred against the Igbos. This propelled Nnamdi Azikiwe to say on June 25, 1949

“The Igbo people have reached a crossroads and it is for us to decide which is the right course to follow. We are confronted with routes leading to diverse goals, but, as I see it, there is only one road that I can safely recommend for us to tread, and it is the road to self-determination for the Igbo within the framework of a federated commonwealth of Nigeria and the Cameroons, leading to the United States of Africa. Other roads, in my opinion, are calculated to lead us from the path of national self-realization.”

Chinua Achebe links the hatred against Igbos to their success and he says “Its success can and did carry deadly penalties: the dangers of hubris, overweening pride and thoughtlessness, which invite envy and hatred or, even worse, that can obsess the mind with material success and dispose it to all kinds of crude showiness. There is no doubt at all that there is a strand in contemporary Igbo behaviour that can offend by its noisy exhibitionism and disregard for humility and quietness.”

Chinua Achebe writes "Nigerians will probably achieve consensus on no other matter than their common resentment of the Igbo,” He traced the genesis of this resentment to the Igbo culture that “gave the Igbo man an unquestioned advantage over his compatriots in securing credentials for advancement in Nigerian colonial society.”

Achebe also asserts that "Nigeria’s pathetic attempt to crush these idiosyncrasies rather than celebrate them is one of the fundamental reasons the country has not developed as it should and has emerged as a laughingstock”.

One thing the Igbos (at least those who believe that they are Igbos) need to do at the moment is to stop fighting hard to appease anyone but rather focus on continuously getting better. We did it after the war, we rebuilt our cities, and we collectively contributed money to build Sam Mbakwe International Cargo Airport, Owerri! It was the first Airport built by a community in Africa instead of the Government.

The Igbos should collectively build other infrastructures across the Igbo regions including the South-South. The Igbos should show that we do not need the Presidency of Nigeria to be who God has made us be. This still doesn't mean that we'll be reluctant towards exercising our rights to vote and be voted for.

The Igbos are hated so much that a zoning agreement which has favoured all other zones was immediately scrapped the moment it got to the turn of the South-East. It seems as though there is a deliberate agenda to suppress the Igbos perpetually and yet deny them their right to self-determination.

Today, Igbos supporting an Igbo presidential candidate have to try hard to convince people that they are not tribalists but Northerners are supporting Northern candidates merely because the candidate is from the North and no one has called them bigots. When certain Yoruba claim that they will only support someone who speaks their language, it doesn't shake the internet but the moment Igbos support an Igbo candidate, they try blackmailing Igbos emotionally with rhetorics like "that one is IPOB President".

Yorubas are supporting a Yoruba candidate simply because he is Yoruba and no one has called them bigots. We all know that the North usually vote for a Northerner period. But the Igbos are always called out for supporting an Igbo candidate.

Igbos are called Nigerians when they do great things in the diaspora but they are called Igbos when it's bad news. Even if a criminal from Agbor who claims not to be Igbo commits a crime outside Nigeria, the headline would read "An Igbo Man on the run in the UK for murder". That is how much Igbos are hated. But when it's a Northerner or Yoruba, you'd see headlines read "A Nigerian on the run in the UK for murder". When such a character is coming from the Igbo heartlands of the South-East, they wouldn't only mention their ethnic group, they'd also mention their names and the exact place they are coming from.

Kaduna Nzeogwu, from the old Bendel region, engineered a coup and to date, the same people who claim that the part where he came from isn't Igbo call it an " Igbo coup". These are the same people who will argue that Western Igbos aren't Igbos. They are the ones sowing seeds of division among the Igbos.

When an Igbo man decides to contest for what everyone else is contesting, people bring up issues like insecurity in the South-East when we all know that the insecurity in the South East is like the drop of water in an Ocean while the insecurity in the North is the Ocean and yet no one judges Northern candidates based on the insecurity in the North.

The Igbos have done great work to be where they are, whatever we've done to get there, we need to do more of it! Even Atiku Abubakar, the Presidential candidate of the People's Democratic Party who is from Adamawa, in Northern Nigeria said concerning the Igbos in 2017

"We fought the civil war with the Igbo. Today, the Igbo have been completely rebuilt, but we still find mud houses in the north. Is it the fault of the easterners that the north is like that?"

Many people are scared of what the Igbos would become and that is why they are using every means to try stifling Igbos. Many are also resenting the Igbos because of jealousy.

There are some Igbo speakers from the South-South extraction who believes that they aren't Igbos, a denial that started during and after the civil war. Those resenting the Igbos seem to find allies in these subgroups. As long as you've got something against Igbos, they find friendship in you.

The Igbos should stop trying to convince these people for any reason. If they say that they are not Igbos, then so be it. After all, people do reject their families, change names and move on. The Igbos need to move on and of course, also carry along the people outside South East who identifies as Igbos along.

No other tribe has shown commitment to the Nigerian project like the Igbos. The Igbos believe in developing any region they find themselves in, they don't only rent shops, they build infrastructures, schools, hospitals and houses anywhere they find themselves. Whether it's in Nigeria or outside Nigeria, the Igbos put tangible commitments. That is why no matter what happens, the Igbos remain the true representation of patriotism in Nigeria.

When one begins to meditate over this resentment against the Igbos, it leads to depression and believe me, many Igbos have been forced into depression. That is why we need to stop dwelling on what no longer matter and focus on building our home and making it the envy of nations.

Igbos are great people and we need no validation from anybody on this.

(C) 2022, Onyedikachukwu George Nnadozie

Re: IGBOPHOBIA EXISTS | The Igbo Hate Is Real. by Mastakija(m): 11:15pm On Aug 26, 2022
Omoo tory long o

Re: IGBOPHOBIA EXISTS | The Igbo Hate Is Real. by ThankUUJesus: 1:40am On Aug 27, 2022
truth
Re: IGBOPHOBIA EXISTS | The Igbo Hate Is Real. by BentizilL: 7:22am On Aug 27, 2022
Stop trying to rewrite facts, you're the one that hate other People...
You even hate the Yoruba that accomodate you... kiss

7 Likes 2 Shares

Re: IGBOPHOBIA EXISTS | The Igbo Hate Is Real. by Maazieze(m): 9:42am On Aug 27, 2022
Finally someone put into words that i couldn't
Re: IGBOPHOBIA EXISTS | The Igbo Hate Is Real. by Maazieze(m): 9:44am On Aug 27, 2022
BentizilL:

Oya list the rewritten facts and your counter points
Re: IGBOPHOBIA EXISTS | The Igbo Hate Is Real. by RedboneSmith(m): 2:47pm On Aug 27, 2022
BentizilL:

First of all, this "accommodate" story that you people keep spitting has become ridiculous. Unless, I'm living in your house, you're not accommodating me. You are not accommodating an Igbo man that owns his own house and probably has tenants of his own in Ajah or Egbeda.

Same way I am not accommodating an Edo man living in Enugu or an Hausa man in Asaba, unless he is living on my property.

Nigerian nationhood has made it so. If you don't like it, then add your voice to the call for Nigeria to break up, so that you can conceivably call a non-Yoruba living in Lagos a non-citizen, an alien and someone you're accommodating. Until then you are not accommodating any Nigerian living in Nigeria. He is in his fatherland.

Re: IGBOPHOBIA EXISTS | The Igbo Hate Is Real. by BentizilL: 3:07pm On Aug 27, 2022
RedboneSmith:

First of all, this "accommodate" story that you people keep spitting has become ridiculous. Unless, I'm living in your house, you're not accommodating me. You are not accommodating an Igbo man that owns his own house and probably has tenants of his own in Ajah or Egbeda.

Same way I am not accommodating an Edo man living in Enugu or an Hausa man in Asaba, unless he is living on my property.

Nigerian nationhood has made it so. If you don't like it, then add your voice to the call for Nigeria to break up, so that you can conceivably call a non-Yoruba living in Lagos a non-citizen, an alien and someone you're accommodating. Until then you are not accommodating any Nigerian living in Nigeria. He is in his fatherland.
We accomodate you and your people and that's a fact... cheesy
Go back to your region if you're not satisfied with this fact... tongue

Fools abusing Yoruba and Tinubu Lagos everytime but keep trooping in like ants � on sugar into Yorubaland everyday.. grin

5 Likes 2 Shares

Re: IGBOPHOBIA EXISTS | The Igbo Hate Is Real. by RedboneSmith(m): 5:02pm On Aug 27, 2022
BentizilL:

We accomodate you and your people and that's a fact... cheesy
Go back to your region if you're not satisfied with this fact... tongue

Do I look like I live in the southwest or any corner of your accursed country? Lol.

My Igbo brethren will continue to buy up land in Lagos. My brother-in-law has Yoruba tenants in his house in Egbeda. He is the one accommodating them. You can drop from a rope if you don't like it. grin
Re: IGBOPHOBIA EXISTS | The Igbo Hate Is Real. by BentizilL: 8:51pm On Aug 27, 2022
RedboneSmith:

Do I look like I live in the southwest or any corner of your accursed country? Lol.

My Igbo brethren will continue to buy up land in Lagos. My brother-in-law has Yoruba tenants in his house in Egbeda. He is the one accommodating them. You can drop from a rope if you don't like it. grin
If you like live in Jupiter, when the time comes y'all will be served... grin

Just like 50s and 60s, if you vex us we'll send you back to your cursed region tongue

Meanwhile all the land are leased not bought.. lipsrsealed

Re: IGBOPHOBIA EXISTS | The Igbo Hate Is Real. by GodsOwnMan: 12:39am On Aug 29, 2022
Eboes are the most hateful tribe in Nigeria. Bitterness and hate run through their veins. This is why they are hated. Every action has equal response to it. Eboes should change their ways and see things change. Otherwise, they are on a long thing.

The common demoninator is eboe. Otherwise, how come South Africans, Ghanians, Indians, Vietnamese, Malaysians know and hate them? Tell me why?

Re: IGBOPHOBIA EXISTS | The Igbo Hate Is Real. by GeorgesDiary(m): 9:34pm On Aug 30, 2022
GodsOwnMan:
Eboes are the most hateful tribe in Nigeria. Bitterness and hate run through their veins. This is why they are hated. Every action has equal response to it. Eboes should change their ways and see things change. Otherwise, they are on a long thing.

The common demoninator is eboe. Otherwise, how come South Africans, Ghanians, Indians, Vietnamese, Malaysians know and hate them? Tell me why?

How are Igbos the most hateful ethnic group? How does bitterness run through their veins? I gave facts that can be verified on Igbophobia, the onus is on you to also prove it wrong with verifiable facts. There is only one reason why Igbos are hated by some other persons... JEALOUSY, ENVY AND STRIFE.

Also school me on how Igbos are "selectively" hated by South Africans, Ghanians, Indians, Vietnamese and Malaysians. Don't forget to back it up with verifiable facts.

Re: IGBOPHOBIA EXISTS | The Igbo Hate Is Real. by GeorgesDiary(m): 8:13am On Aug 31, 2022
GodsOwnMan:

Oh... And I went to you profile to discover that you created this account only to discredit Peter Obi and mock the Igbos. I guess I shouldn't have taken you seriously.

The joke is on you.
Re: IGBOPHOBIA EXISTS | The Igbo Hate Is Real. by dogmart(m): 9:08am On Sep 06, 2022
GeorgesDiary:
"
Igbos are called Nigerians when they do great things in the diaspora but they are called Igbos when it's bad news. Even if a criminal from Agbor who claims not to be Igbo commits a crime outside Nigeria, the headline would read "An Igbo Man on the run in the UK for murder". That is how much Igbos are hated. But when it's a Northerner or Yoruba, you'd see headlines read "A Nigerian on the run in the UK for murder". When such a character is coming from the Igbo heartlands of the South-East, they wouldn't only mention their ethnic group, they'd also mention their names and the exact place they are coming from.

I think you are being unnecessarily emotional about this.
Ok take for instance this news that just made front page today.

Did the news read "2 Igbos arrested in liberia for drug traffiking?"

Definately not!

Re: IGBOPHOBIA EXISTS | The Igbo Hate Is Real. by LyfeJennings(m): 10:25am On Sep 13, 2022
BentizilL:

Person wey dey craze
Igbo is a tribe of hate
Always hating
Always Blaming

Re: IGBOPHOBIA EXISTS | The Igbo Hate Is Real. by LyfeJennings(m): 10:26am On Sep 13, 2022
GodsOwnMan:

God bless U joor

Re: IGBOPHOBIA EXISTS | The Igbo Hate Is Real. by BentizilL: 11:51am On Sep 13, 2022
GeorgesDiary:

How are Igbos the most hateful ethnic group? How does bitterness run through their veins? I gave facts that can be verified on Igbophobia, the onus is on you to also prove it wrong with verifiable facts. There is only one reason why Igbos are hated by some other persons... JEALOUSY, ENVY AND STRIFE.

Also school me on how Igbos are "selectively" hated by South Africans, Ghanians, Indians, Vietnamese and Malaysians. Don't forget to back it up with verifiable facts.
Aren't your people the one that truncate our democracy, you killed leaders from all region but let go of your own...

Is your son not the one that abolish out regional government in a bid to centralise power believing he'll be there forever?..

Aren't you guys the same people that came to Tinubu Lagos as economic migrants with polythene bags but won't stop abusing and cursing Tinubu as if he ever govern your region...
This is not tribalism, Igbo have never had a better governor than Fashola talkless of Tinubu in their history...

Your people will wake up everyday thinking about Yoruba downfall, if that isn't hate then what is it??
These same people(Igbo) will be shouting hatred when they're served back in their own coin... undecided

Re: IGBOPHOBIA EXISTS | The Igbo Hate Is Real. by AutomaticMotors: 1:47pm On Sep 15, 2022
BentizilL:

Aren't your people the one that truncate our democracy, you killed leaders from all region but let go of your own...

Is your son not the one that abolish out regional government in a bid to centralise power believing he'll be there forever?..

Aren't you guys the same people that came to Tinubu Lagos as economic migrants with polythene bags but won't stop abusing and cursing Tinubu as if he ever govern your region...
This is not tribalism, Igbo have never had a better governor than Fashola talkless of Tinubu in their history...

Your people will wake up everyday thinking about Yoruba downfall, if that isn't hate then what is it??
These same people(Igbo) will be shouting hatred when they're served back in their own coin... undecided

Re: IGBOPHOBIA EXISTS | The Igbo Hate Is Real. by SalemIfeanyi1(m): 2:59pm On Sep 15, 2022
Nice writeup my dear brother, i'm grateful to God for making me an IGBO person. In fact, Chimdike. Let them hate us as much as they can, it will never stop us from progressing.
In my second year in school, i was called an ethnic bigot because i'm IGBO and i helped my IGBO people working hard in their academics. I also helped other tribes oo. But they won't see it.

After their gossiping and sheer jealousy, i and another IGBO girl graduated as the BEST in my dept.
People don't want to learn how IGBOS are blessed, they just want to hate and gossip

NB: my best friend in school isn't an IGBO person, you see??
#IGBOAMAKA

There are people i don't like but if there is any good thing i can learn from them, i will calm down and learn it. FINISH!

Caribbean Bride + Moroccan Groom / Nigerian National Animals / Facebook: A Complete Waste Of Time?

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 68