Stats: 3,165,656 members, 7,862,010 topics. Date: Sunday, 16 June 2024 at 05:56 AM

The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie (3189 Views)

Photo Of Chimamanda And Her Mixed Race Cute Husband / The Sorrowful And Not So Intelligent Side Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie / Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie And Peter Obi Meet After Her Title (Photos) (2) (3) (4)

The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Reflect7: 9:22pm On Oct 14, 2022
AMERICA SLAUGHTERED ONE MILLION INNOCENT PEOPLE IN IRAQ BASED ON LIES ABOUT WMDs, JUST TO STEAL THEIR OIL.

AMERICA IS ALSO DOCUMENTED TO HAVE INVADED DIRECTLY OR INDIRECTLY, 197 OF THE 202 COUNTRIES ON EARTH.

SO WHY IS SHE ACCEPTING AWARDS FROM THEM LEFT, RIGHT AND CENTRE, AND REJECTING AWARDS FROM NIGERIA?

Her mentor, Achebe was the same. He rejected Nigerian awards but received awards from all these imperialist countries - Britain, USA, France, Australia, Canada etc.

These are the same countries that enslaved Africans, colonised and looted African resources for over 500 years.

Countries that today retain the looted funds by their stooges in power in Africa, and refuse to return them.

Countries that allow their banks to serve as Accessories After Theft by receiving and storing looted African funds.

Countries that hold and exhibit our looted ancient artefacts and treasures in their museums, from the Benin bronzes to the Ife bronzes, and refuse to return them despite repeated appeals by the Nigerian government.

So HOW is it that you can be receiving awards from these countries whose crimes against humanity are on a whole different scale entirely, while rejecting national awards from your own country?

What did Nigeria do to you that those countries did not do 1000 times more of?

TAKING AWARDS FROM THEM IS THE VERY HEIGHT OF HYPOCRISY.

16 Likes 6 Shares

Re: The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by phorget(m): 9:28pm On Oct 14, 2022
Her choice, shey nah by force to collect Buhari award?... undecided

36 Likes

Re: The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Reflect7: 9:29pm On Oct 14, 2022
phorget:
Her choice, shey nah by force to collect Buhari award?... undecided

It is also my choice to expose her hypocrisy.

Plus, It is a NATIONAL AWARD, not ''Buhari award''.

26 Likes 6 Shares

Re: The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by rickpat(m): 9:30pm On Oct 14, 2022
I'm not a fan of the lady in question,but I believe if you go deeper,you might find out why she doesn't take awards from NIGERIA....I personally if given an award in Nigeria I will decline.. I'M NOT PLEASED WITH THE GOVERNMENT AND THE CLOWNS THAT CALL THEMSELVES POLITICANS...so she might have her reasons...she has right to association...so no need judging or calling her names, people have personal principles

26 Likes 2 Shares

Re: The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Reflect7: 9:33pm On Oct 14, 2022
rickpat:
I'm not a fan of the lady in question,but I believe if you go deeper,you might find out why she doesn't take awards from NIGERIA....I personally if given an award in Nigeria I will decline.. I'M NOT PLEASED WITH THE GOVERNMENT AND THE CLOWNS THAT CALL THEMSELVES POLITICANS...so she might have her reasons...she has right to association...so no need judging or calling her names, people have personal principles

Why do her 'principles' not apply to the USA , Britain, France and other imperialist countries she collects awards from without question?

Or her 'principles' only apply to Nigeria?

11 Likes 3 Shares

Re: The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by phorget(m): 9:33pm On Oct 14, 2022
Reflect7:

National award?... I guess you've received yours since it's a national award anyway.

Re: The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by rickpat(m): 9:38pm On Oct 14, 2022
Reflect7:

Why do her 'principles' not apply to the USA , Britain, France and other imperialist countries she collects awards from without question?

Or her 'principles' only apply to Nigeria?
that's where her choice and personal reasons comes in...she might be piss by the level of looting, financial corruption,bad government, embezzling of public funds,poor infrastructure, electricity, insecurity etc....SHE HAS HER REASONS...try and find out!

Re: The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Hoedogwu(f): 9:38pm On Oct 14, 2022
Reflect7:

National? Is this a nation? So if dem dey list nations, Nigeria go come out?? Name ONE sector of this country that's at least working up to 70% capacity? These countries you listed, they committed bigger atrocities but utilised their wins for the greater good of their countries. What has Nigeria gained over the last few years? NOTHING. This is not a country, it's a cooperate arrangement. If you doubt me, wait until there's an extinction level threat, your so-called government will abandon you to your fate. They almost did it during COVID 19, let's hope something worse doesn't come again. That is when you will know that you don't have a Government. They're just in Abuja to share money. That's why your country doesn't have any survivial model. There's nothing to protect you from diseases or even alien invasions. Does Lai Mohammad know anything about alien invasions?? Bro, you don't have a Government. There's just an "arrangement" in place for looting money.

23 Likes 1 Share

Re: The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Validated: 9:40pm On Oct 14, 2022
Reflect7:

Why are you bleating on Chimamanda's rejection of Buhari? Not everyone want to give credibility to a bigot of a government that is out to kill, steal and destroy.
Shey he was busy appointing only the 97% to his failed govt. Why is he now giving awards to the 5% that the world honoured as best of Africa? To gain validation? I would reject him if I was nominated.

Thank you Chimamanda, the sterking Amazon of the land of the Yellow Sun!

17 Likes 1 Share

Re: The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Obidient4life3: 9:41pm On Oct 14, 2022
Even you that is ranting will jump on anything American !

Re: The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Reflect7: 9:41pm On Oct 14, 2022
rickpat:
that's where her choice and personal reasons comes in...she might be piss by the level of looting, financial corruption,bad government, embezzling of public funds,poor infrastructure, electricity etc....SHE HAS HER REASONS...try and find out!

If those things are bothering her, why is she not bothered by the 1 million innocent people slaughtered by the USA in Iraq?

Or the fact the USA is the biggest arms exporter to the world?

Or that the USA has sponsored rebels in the Congo just to be able to steal their natural resources there such as colbalt, leading to a conflict that has claimed millions of lives?

Or due to serious issues of police brutality against blacks in the USA, and general institutionalised racism there, which sees blacks attendng the worst schools, and facing bigger unemployment problems than whites, etc?

Why are all these JUST FINE to Ms Adichie?

Re: The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by rickpat(m): 9:45pm On Oct 14, 2022
Reflect7:

If those things are bothering her, why is she not bothered by the 1 million innocent people slaughtered by the USA in Iraq?

Or that the USA has sponsored rebels in the Congo just to be able to steal their natural resources their such as colbalt, leading to a conflict that has claimed millions of lives?
her choice bro...just they way you chose to be worried about who receives or declines NIGERIAN awards..when you could use the time to arrange for free tutorials for kids in your street to help improve literacy level in your beloved Nigeria...so it's about choice and chosing what would be a worry to us...*winks*

Re: The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Hoedogwu(f): 9:45pm On Oct 14, 2022
Reflect7:

Or that the USA has sponsored rebels in the Congo just to be able to steal their natural resources their such as colbalt, leading to a conflict that has claimed millions of lives?

Because the USA would never do those things you listed to its own citizens. The USA puts it's country first and guards her citizens jealously. Unlike this useless country that sponsors terrorist attacks against its own, steals from its own, renders it's own useless. Get the difference?

Re: The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Reflect7: 9:45pm On Oct 14, 2022
Obidient4life3:
Even you that is ranting will jump on anything American !

No I won't, and don't.

We're not all slaves to the USA like you.
Re: The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Septagon: 9:46pm On Oct 14, 2022
Op,u are a wise man,u just gave me a different perspective.i used to like the woman before

Re: The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Reflect7: 9:47pm On Oct 14, 2022
Hoedogwu:

Because the USA would never do those things you listed to its own citizens. The USA puts it's country first and guards her citizens jealously. Unlike this useless country that sponsors terrorist attacks against its own, steals from its own, renders it's own useless. Get the difference?

From a humanist and moralist perspective, it is actually less morally outrageous to execute injustice upon your own kind than to go out to strangers' lands and do it.

I doubt there would be a distinction at the gates of heaven and hell as to whether you inflicted hardship on your own people or on foreigners.

Re: The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Hoedogwu(f): 9:48pm On Oct 14, 2022
Reflect7:

From a humanist and moralist perspective, it is actually more moral to execute injustice upon your own kind than to go out to strangers' lands and do it.

Look in the mirror and tell that to yourself without actually feeling stupid

Re: The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Hoedogwu(f): 9:49pm On Oct 14, 2022
Septagon:
Op,u are a wise man,u just gave me a different perspective.i used to like the woman before

Eyah.. now that you stopped liking her, how will she feed? How will she pay her bills?

Re: The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by femisplash: 9:50pm On Oct 14, 2022
You should have known it's all for the politics. She's clearly played out a script, anything that'd attract resentments towards the Government. You could see Obidiøts all hailing her.. They must condemn everything the Government does, no matter how commendable, for the purpose of election. The embittered folks are already fuming over ASUU suspending the strike, believing to have lost a political point.

39 Likes 2 Shares

Re: The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Reflect7: 9:51pm On Oct 14, 2022
Hoedogwu:

Look in the mirror and tell that to yourself without actually feeling stupid

YOU LOOK IN THE MIRROR, HYPOCRITE SUPPORTER.

HOW IS IT BETTER TO GO OUTSIDE AND SHOOT STRANGERS IN THE STREET THAN SHOOTING PEOPLE IN YOUR OWN COMPOUND?

THEY ARE BOTH MORALLY REPUGNANT. NONE MORE THAN THE OTHER, UNLESS YOU ARE SAYING THAT ONE SET OF LIVES IS MORE VALUABLE THAN THE OTHER.

Re: The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Septagon: 9:53pm On Oct 14, 2022
Hoedogwu:

Eyah.. now that you stopped liking her, how will she feed? How will she pay her bills?
I don't remember quoting u.are u the writer of that writer?I quoted him.

Re: The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Reflect7: 9:58pm On Oct 14, 2022
Hoedogwu:

National? Is this a nation? So if dem dey list nations, Nigeria go come out?? Name ONE sector of this country that's at least working up to 70% capacity? These countries you listed, they committed bigger atrocities but utilised their wins for the greater good of their countries.

While the countries they committed those atrocities against, and plundered (like yours) suffer the consequences and get shunned by you and Ngozi. Clap for your mumu self.

What has Nigeria gained over the last few years? NOTHING. This is not a country, it's a cooperate arrangement. If you doubt me, wait until there's an extinction level threat, your so-called government will abandon you to your fate. They almost did it during COVID 19, let's hope something worse doesn't come again. That is when you will know that you don't have a Government. They're just in Abuja to share money. That's why your country doesn't have any survivial model. There's nothing to protect you from diseases or even alien invasions. Does Lai Mohammad know anything about alien invasions?? Bro, you don't have a Government. There's just an "arrangement" in place for looting money.

So what are you doing on this NIGERIAN forum?

You spend so much time on a forum that represents 'nothingness'.

Are you jobless?

Re: The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by onumadu: 9:59pm On Oct 14, 2022
Rubbish.

Re: The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by naijapikin2(m): 9:59pm On Oct 14, 2022
If it's true that nigeria and america are both imperialist in different ways, don't you think she has a right to align with one and reject the other?
I think it's her choice and she should not be begrudged.
I think this is a non-issue.

My opinion though.

Re: The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by MasterJayJay: 10:01pm On Oct 14, 2022
Cry us River Niger.

Re: The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by paramakina202: 10:03pm On Oct 14, 2022
Reflect7:
AMERICA SLAUGHTERED ONE MILLION INNOCENT PEOPLE IN IRAQ BASED ON LIES ABOUT WMDs, JUST TO STEAL THEIR OIL.

AMERICA IS ALSO DOCUMENTED TO HAVE INVADED DIRECTLY OR INDIRECTLY, 197 OF THE 202 COUNTRIES ON EARTH.

SO WHY IS SHE ACCEPTING AWARDS FROM THEM LEFT, RIGHT AND CENTRE, AND REJECTING AWARDS FROM NIGERIA?

Her mentor, Achebe was the same. He rejected Nigerian awards but received awards from all these imperialist countries - Britain, USA, France, Australia, Canada etc.

These are the same countries that enslaved Africans, colonised and looted African resources for over 500 years.

Countries that today retain the looted funds by their stooges in power in Africa, and refuse to return them.

Countries that allow their banks to serve as Accessories After Theft by receiving looted African funds.

Countries that hold and exhibit our looted ancient artefacts and treasures in their museums, from the Benin bronzes to the Ife bronzes, and refuse to return them despite repeated appeals by the Nigerian government.

So HOW is it that you can be receiving awards from these countries whose crimes against humanity are on a whole different scale entirely, while rejecting national awards from your own country?

IT IS THE VERY HEIGHT OF HYPOCRISY.

Go and collect it on her behalf na.

Re: The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Reflect7: 10:05pm On Oct 14, 2022
naijapikin2:
If it's true that nigeria and america are both imperialist in different ways, don't you think she has a right to align with one and reject the other?
I think it's her choice and she should not be begrudged.
I think this is a non-issue.

My opinion though.

Oh, so it's not a question of 'principle' then?

If it's really a question of political convenience etc, that's different, but she predicates her shunning of Nigerian awards on PRINCIPLE and her 'VALUES'.

So the question remains, are her values and principles limited to what goes on in that tiny space of the world called NIgeria?

DO HER VALUES NOT APPLY OUTSIDE NIGERIA?

Re: The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by XerXers: 10:35pm On Oct 14, 2022
Too many cry cry threads lately by afonjas

Re: The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by naijapikin2(m): 10:49pm On Oct 14, 2022
Reflect7:

If it's really a question of political convenience etc, that's different, but she predicates her shunning of Nigerian awards on PRINCIPLE and her 'VALUES'.

So the question remains, are her values and principles limited to what goes on in that tiny space of the world called NIgeria?

y have a point, but the fact still remains that nigeria has a worse record (publicly) than america in terms of principle and values. Publicly in quote because the figures you raised are unproven. My take

Re: The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by naijapikin2(m): 10:49pm On Oct 14, 2022
Reflect7:

y have a point, but the fact still remains that nigeria has a worse record (publicly) than america in terms of principle and values. Publicly in quote because the figures you raised are unproven. My take.
Re: The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by Noblechykk(m): 11:00pm On Oct 14, 2022
Hoedogwu:

National? Is this a nation? So if dem dey list nations, Nigeria go come out?? Name ONE sector of this country that's at least working up to 70% capacity? These countries you listed, they committed bigger atrocities but utilised their wins for the greater good of their countries. What has Nigeria gained over the last few years? NOTHING. This is not a country, it's a cooperate arrangement. If you doubt me, wait until there's an extinction level threat, your so-called government will abandon you to your fate. They almost did it during COVID 19, let's hope something worse doesn't come again. That is when you will know that you don't have a Government. They're just in Abuja to share money. That's why your country doesn't have any survivial model. There's nothing to protect you from diseases or even alien invasions. Does Lai Mohammad know anything about alien invasions?? Bro, you don't have a Government. There's just an "arrangement" in place for looting money.
You took word off my mouth. He can accuse those western nation all he wants, but they care for their citizens

Re: The Hypocrisy Of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie by gidgiddy: 11:13pm On Oct 14, 2022
Reflect7:

Countries that allow their banks to serve as Accessories After Theft by receiving looted African funds.

IT IS THE VERY HEIGHT OF HYPOCRISY.

Can you truly compare America, Canada, Uk and Australia with Nigeria? If we are to follow your logic, nobody would recieve any award from any country in the world as there are no Saints

However, when you talk about Nigeria and these other countries, when you compare human rights, human development, democracy, rule of law, quality if life, security and capital development between these countries and a country like Nigeria, you will weep

Nigeria has become poverty capital of the world, second most terrorised country on earth, ranks low on human rights and the rule of law

So I dont blame Ngozi Adichie for not accepting the award, she probably felt that an award from such a failed country was meaningless, and I agree with her

No Self Control, I'm Dissapointed In Peter Obi / Education Minister Oby Ezekwesili Appointed World Bank Vice President / Investors Flee Anambra As Armed Robbers, Kidnappers Take Over

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 64