Stats: 3,161,549 members, 7,847,270 topics. Date: Saturday, 01 June 2024 at 02:25 PM

Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin - Culture (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Culture / Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin (37399 Views)

Elebuibon Chides Emir Sulu-Gambari For Stopping Isese Festival In Ilorin / Little Oyinbo Girl Presents Yoruba Cultural Dance / 2017 Isese Festival At Igbogbo, Lagos (Photos) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (14) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin by thatigboman: 8:55am On Jul 09, 2023
ImperialYoruba:

Ordinary sneeze from Oluomo suggesting vote APC or return to alaibo, all your leaders have spent past six months coming to Lagos to beg.

Since you are strong, why did you not show strength in no man's land?
nonsense. Who won the presidential election in lagos? There are more igbos than yorubas in lagos.

8 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin by JooEeL(m): 8:56am On Jul 09, 2023
BentizilL2:

Stop trying to divide the Yoruba people..

I've met 10s of Ilorin and Kwara people and they've not for once denied being a Yoruba....

I still talk with one yesterday, we both went to same school..
I've met many Yoruba not from Southwest as an outsider like the okun, Kwara Yoruba and even the Benin Republic Yoruba and not for once have they denied the yorubaness...

The Benin Republic man is the funniest cheesy, he spoke Yoruba so cool.. I bless God the day I learnt that language, language of cruise... grin
The intolerance is among Yoruba not the colouration you people are giving it.

Comment to make yourself feel good. Keep playing ostrich-in-the-sand; remaining fearful to confront the danger already knocking on the door.

When some stupid muslims where hurling stones at Ooni's palace, who was dividing who? Dey there make pant dey wear u.

You people have finished your elections abi? How will that solve the brewing Yoruba's problem?

Re: Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin by JooEeL(m): 8:58am On Jul 09, 2023
Rostikol:
What I like most about this controversy is that it brings TRADITIONAL RELIGION to the fore.

THE GODS ARE RETURNING.

More people will start returning to ATR.

About time too..because this Jesus and Muhammed imported stuff are just not doing it for us. All they breed is hate, rivalry and corruption.

These foreign religions are well crafted to divde brothers and ethnicities against themselves... and set the stage for invasion. That's all.

Re: Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin by olaniyilukman(m): 8:59am On Jul 09, 2023
tollyboy5:

Why do you guys want to forcefully bring confusion to Yoruba land? kwarans were fully in support of their emir. God forbid we don't have emir in Yoruba land so stop dragging kwara with these people. I saw the way salah was celebrated in kwara and i told my cousin whose mother (rip) is from kwara that this kind of salah celebration dont have anything to do with Yoruba way of celebrating salah.

Lets leave aboki as aboki, i've came across Muslims from kwara in Lagos state their intolerant nature to other religion always make me marvel. My aunt is alajah and my family is predominantly Muslims reason why most christian from Epe to join salah celebration but to the abokis from kwara its not suppose to be like that.
As a lagosian i know kwarans are abokis who are fluent with Yoruba. Lagos is home to all abokis but speaking Yoruba cant make you a yoruba person.
God bless you bro, I have told them countless of time not to attach Ilorin with Yoruba land, there is clear difference and demarcation between the two region, one is north and the other is in south west

Re: Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin by JooEeL(m): 8:59am On Jul 09, 2023
omosuper:
This should embolden the Isese people if they are really serious about it. Ilorin Emirates did attack the Christian congregation in the past( Ryan Bonke's stadium saga's one of the many) but now their wives and children are regular attendants at any Christian crusade. All the noise is just pretense, the alfas and Imams are regular customers to those babalawos

So a whole great Iseese should now be relegated to something as done for customers in the dark when no one is watching? Like is that the best of the traditionality and spirituality of your race?

You ought to be ashamed of yourself. See the way you say "embolden the Iseese people"... Dont you know you should rally with them because the Iseese practice is the bedrock of our culture? But look at u, removing yourself from and leaving them all alone to fight for themselves.

Re: Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin by LegacyB: 8:59am On Jul 09, 2023
The spokesman should be relieved of his duties. He just added petrol to the fire. No response would have being better than this insult
Re: Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin by wumi2017(f): 9:00am On Jul 09, 2023
Freedom of religion,, naija which way
Re: Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin by JooEeL(m): 9:01am On Jul 09, 2023
wumi2017:
Freedom of religion,, naija which way

Where Islam becomes a majority, watch it.

Re: Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin by JooEeL(m): 9:03am On Jul 09, 2023
happney65:
Where are all the Yoruba ronu people..they don go hide their faces in shame

Insult them more. Especially those their new e-recruits on Twitter like that idiotic I-fa Fun-sho and co.

Foolish fools under Fulani voodoo.

10 Likes 1 Share

Re: Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin by Tzar(m): 9:03am On Jul 09, 2023
This is a slave mentality!
If you think your religion & God is superior and more appealing, why forcefully stop others from practicing theirs?! As long as their practice doesn’t break the law or cause moral degradation!
You embrace the religion of those who ENSLAVED & KILLED your forefathers, and continue to denigrate your heritage!
Only a BASTARD uses the left hand/finger to give directions to his father’s homestead!!
mancoconut:
Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin

https://saharareporters.com/2023/07/08/why-we-cancelled-yoruba-cultural-ceremony-isese-festival-emir-ilorin

Re: Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin by ConfidentialDoc: 9:04am On Jul 09, 2023
I'm glad the emir has made this statement, exposing the blatant intimidation and obvious cultural bigotry.
I pray this sparks a wider debate that will lead to a new Ilorin in the future.

Re: Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin by olaniyilukman(m): 9:04am On Jul 09, 2023
JooEeL:

Comment to make yourself feel good. Keep playing ostrich-in-the-sand; remaining fearful to confront the danger already knocking on the door.

When some stupid muslims where hurling stones at Ooni's palace, who was dividing who? Dey there make pant dey wear u.

You people have finished your elections abi? How will that solve the brewing Yoruba's problem?
Bro, I am a Muslim but I don't just like this Ilorin Muslim, they are too religious and not tolerance and respect other people's religion

2 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin by JooEeL(m): 9:04am On Jul 09, 2023
BentizilL2:

Only Ilorin has emir, stop the misinformation...

Even the emir is a Yoruba man...

Whatever is happening in Ilorin is religion intolerance among brothers and it happen everywhere all over the world...

Sombody denying Yoruba roots is who u still call Yoruba?

Ko ni da fun werey Emir yen.

7 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin by YouAreNobody: 9:05am On Jul 09, 2023
Zupay:
See the label the Emir give Wole Soyinka-LIAR, waiting for those who can gather liver to insult the Emir for the disrespect.

See as FreeStuffsNG dey calm with his response, if na SE related threads he loves creating, he would display his true colours.😆😆😆
Those guys amaze me. They seem to be deathly afraid of the northerners

14 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin by Guyman01: 9:06am On Jul 09, 2023
bobestman:
I think say na him be the spokeperson of the priestess. See as them they calm and they even shalaye gently. Na for Igbos them they get power.
They abandoned Kwara to Fulanis and come to Lagos to claim indigeneship and screaming Yoruba ronu o all over Nairaland grin

15 Likes 1 Share

Re: Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin by fydence: 9:08am On Jul 09, 2023
BentizilL2:

Only Ilorin has emir, stop the misinformation...

Even the emir is a Yoruba man...

Whatever is happening in Ilorin is religion intolerance among brothers and it happen everywhere all over the world...
Whatever makes you sleep at night...
Re: Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin by YouAreNobody: 9:09am On Jul 09, 2023
googi:
This is another confirmation that once you step out of the land of tolerance and accommodation, anything goes wild, barbaric and uncivilized.

For centuries, Ilorin accommodate and celebrated every religion, foreign or local as it is done in other Yoruba land.

When you fall asleep in the name of tolerance and allow strangers to get comfortable, they take you for granted and a fool ready to give up your birthright.

If it is not Ilorin, it is ORE.

If it is not Ore, it is LAGOS.

There is no reason or common sense in the reason the festival was cancelled other than impunity. Those celebrating and supporting this uncultured behavior have not learned their lessons in Lagos.

The Illorin case isn't about "accommodation", it's more attuned to Conquest.
Illorin is conquered territory

Re: Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin by olaniyilukman(m): 9:12am On Jul 09, 2023
Entprys:

Dem never born he who will go against Emir's order in Ilorin.
Isese ko
please limit your religious madness and intolerance to your Ilorin, don't try any fucking nonsense in Southwest oh, here in Southwest, we accommodate and respect each other's faith...

7 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin by YouAreNobody: 9:13am On Jul 09, 2023
eteebanky1:
Ilorin was never a Yoruba land

We, Omo oduduwa know ourselves
During election, census you count them as Yorubaland but when it no longer suits you you count them out.
Illorin is Yorubaland conquered by the Fulani. Same Fulanis are still making conquests in the hintherlands of Yorubaland while y'all play the ostrich.
Yoruba Ronu!

11 Likes 1 Share

Re: Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin by olaniyilukman(m): 9:14am On Jul 09, 2023
eteebanky1:
Ilorin was never a Yoruba land

We, Omo oduduwa know ourselves
help me tell them oh, just because you are speaking Yoruba doesn't automatically guarantee as a Yoruba...
Re: Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin by Baselm: 9:15am On Jul 09, 2023
The intolerance is not only against Isese, even way back in 2004 when Evang. Reinhard Bonke was to hold a 4-day crusade at the Kwara state Stadium, they vehemently protested even to the point of rioting until the crusade was moved to the outskirt of Ilorin in Budo-Efo around Ganmo.

I remember the case of another foreign pastor before or after Bonke, he wasn't allowed to use the stadium too, I think he was later moved to World Assembly ground at Offa Garage.

Ilorin Muslims are very intolerant and they use the Muslim political leaders and the Monarch's office to perpetrate their acts. Even in the mission schools which the state government took, the state ministries and agencies. These are some of the reasons why Hijab in state mission schools became an issue some years ago.

They dole what they can't take a fraction of on others. You will not believe the state is almost a 50/50 Christian-Muslim state with the way they take every political slot, appointments, and head almost every state office even to the schools.

Re: Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin by kkonyeji(m): 9:17am On Jul 09, 2023
[sup][/sup]
FreedomArmy:
So fulanis are now trying to banish Yoruba culture in Yoruba land. Where is mc oluomo when you need him ,where is ffk the loud mouth and all those cowards that only know how to write long epistle on the internet. Ilorin is gone and Lagos is in the next 50years will be like ilorin under the rule of an Igbo monarchy

Fulani is not trying to banish Yoruba culture, they have done that already.

Mind you, Ilorin is not Yoruba land, go and read...learn!

Re: Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin by YouAreNobody: 9:20am On Jul 09, 2023
TheNiceGuy:
What's Isese angry

You all should stop attributing any nonsense Isese to Yorubas, it's for traditionalist irrespective of tribe.

We Yorubas have nothing to do with isese

I'm happy the woman was stopped.
wooooow...Impressive. So you're both a tribal and religious bigot.
Kudos!

Re: Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin by LZAA: 9:23am On Jul 09, 2023
Wait o
This matter serious like this grin grin grin
Some people wey dey name start with A and H on NL have been mute since this came up😄😄😄
Make i dey chop my popcorn dey observe 😄

Re: Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin by LZAA: 9:24am On Jul 09, 2023
Goddyrichie:
yorubas are all cowards 😂
We are not o
We only ronu angry

Re: Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin by ceeceeuwa: 9:24am On Jul 09, 2023
The Emir didn't say anything concrete. How did the priestess go beyond her boundary?

Re: Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin by LZAA: 9:24am On Jul 09, 2023
olaniyilukman:
help me tell them oh, just because you are speaking Yoruba doesn't automatically guarantee as a Yoruba...
I agree grin grin grin

Re: Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin by omohayek: 9:25am On Jul 09, 2023
Mrfixiit:
Yorubas are cowards. They only know how to make noise all over
Yes, if only we had the bravery of the Igbos who allow a clown in faraway Helsinki to force them to sit at home every Monday!

Re: Why We Cancelled Yoruba Cultural Ceremony, Isese Festival – Emir Of Ilorin by MomohMrMoore: 9:27am On Jul 09, 2023
All well meaning yorubas should go to court. You cant do your muslim festival and stop others from their festivals. Its against the constitution. Ilorin people are yorubas. Emir is powerless in this its a cultural festival.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (14) (Reply)

Oba Adewale Akanbi Drives His G-wagon In Canada. Photos / "Benin People Owned Lagos, Aworis Paid Royalties To Them" — Erelu Abiola Dosunmu / The History And People Of Bende Lga Of Abia State

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 44