Stats: 3,154,382 members, 7,822,790 topics. Date: Thursday, 09 May 2024 at 04:56 PM

Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report (839 Views)

Labour Party Reserves 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi / APC Leaders Pressure Justice Idris To Free Kalu In N7.65bn Fraud - Sahara Report / SPOTTED: Two Subjects Missing From Buhari's 'new' Certificate- Sahara Report (2) (3) (4)

Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by Penguin2: 2:24am On Mar 28
Where are those that were rejoicing that Abure winning reelection as National Chairman of Labour Party means end of the road for Peter Obi in the party?

How does it feel now to be sold a dummy?
Labour Party Reserves 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi, Abia Gov Ticket For Otti
PHOTO
March 27, 2024
NEWS
This was disclosed in a communique issued at the end of the National Convention of the party held on Wednesday, March 27, 2024, at the Grand Seasons Hotel, Nnewi, Anambra State.

The Labour Party has reserved its ticket for the 2027 presidential election for Peter Obi.

Obi, a former Anambra State governor, was the party’s presidential candidate in 2023. He came third in the election, losing to Bola Tinubu of the All Progressives Congress (APC). Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) came second in the poll.

This was disclosed in a communique issued at the end of the National Convention of the party held on Wednesday, March 27, 2024, at the Grand Seasons Hotel, Nnewi, Anambra State.

The communique reads, “The Convention in session based on the antecedents of the Presidential candidate before, during and after the 2023 General Election recommend that the 2027 Presidential ticket of the party be solely reserved for His Excellency, Mr. Peter Gregory Obi, the National leader of the party.”

Similarly, the party also reserved its ticket for Governor Alex Otti of Abia State in the 2027 governorship election in the state.

“Furthermore, the Convention in session reviewed ongoing development and performance of its Governor in Abia state, His Excellency, Dr. Alex Otti and pass a vote of confidence on him and recommend the 2027 Abia state Gubernatorial ticket of the party be reserved for His Excellency, Dr. Alex Otti,” it also reads.

SaharaReporters earlier reported that Julius Abure was re-elected as the National Chairman of the party for a second term by a unanimous affirmation of delegates amid a series of corruption allegations against him.

This was announced by the Chairman of the National Convention and Deputy Governor of Abia State, Mr. Ikechukwu Emetu in Nnewi, Anambra State.

Abure’s victory comes amid heavy criticism against his style of leadership.

The convention was attended by members of the National Working Committee, National Executive Committee, Peter Obi, National Leader, Deputy Governor Abia State, Labour Party Senators, House of Representatives Members, State House of Assembly Members, Labour Party Commissioners, Labour Party SA’s, PA’s, and Board Members Abia State, Party Delegates, Trade Union Congress, and journalists.
https:///saharareporters/status/1773056166248988862?s=46&t=2AB_wrBea-oBYJf5ZCFV-A

Mynd44
Fergie001
Re: Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by Boogyman557: 2:46am On Mar 28
Bb
Re: Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by chopnaira: 2:51am On Mar 28
Penguin2:
Where are those that were rejoicing that Abure winning reelection as National Chairman of Labour Party means end of the road for Peter Obi in the party?

Confused party.

Re: Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by edife: 2:52am On Mar 28
Before nko
Re: Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by adamusuleiman1: 2:54am On Mar 28
Even up till now and several hours later, PO has not congratulated Abure. Something is fishy.

Re: Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by Penguin2: 3:03am On Mar 28
chopnaira:

Confused party.
Yeah, maybe.

What I want you lots to understand is that whichever side that wins, Obi is good.

So make una no dey rejoice in ignorance.

You grab?
Re: Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by chopnaira: 3:05am On Mar 28
Penguin2:

Yeah, maybe.

What I want you lots to understand is that whichever side that wins, Obi is good.

You grab?
LMAO. You are the ignorant one..we dey enjoy the show and dance of shame of the corrupt party.

Key Obidients are shitting their pants. They know a corrupt Labour Party doesn't look good on "Saint" Peter Obi.

Re: Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by Rolings: 3:16am On Mar 28
Penguin2:

https:///saharareporters/status/1773056166248988862?s=46&t=2AB_wrBea-oBYJf5ZCFV-A

Mynd44
Fergie001

This is a party that claims they want to do things differently but the whole world can now see they are really a subsidiary of papa deceive pikin party .
E no go better for anybody wey go come claim say Obi na saint, a saint shouldn't be this undemocratic...... Even the parties you are trying to displace didn't show this kind of disregard to Nigerians .
Reserve ticket for Obi?.... Who does that in a democracy......does Obi own the party?... Is he the only eligible LP member that the ticket has to be reserved 3 years ahead?

Re: Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by Enugurangers: 3:18am On Mar 28
Penguin2:

Mynd44
Fergie001
That's a fascist behavior. Even PDP and APC runs primary elections to pick a candidate. This Labour Party is even worst than those two. Even Hitler and Mussolini contested in an election.

Re: Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by Rolings: 3:25am On Mar 28
Penguin2:

Yeah, maybe.

You grab?

So why were you people claiming to be different?
You clearly are not different from those you want to displace
You just wan grab power like the others ....all the blackmailing, gaslighting and making enemies of your neighbors and friends .... While lying that you want to be different.

Last last the wind has blown and the Nyash of the cockrel is exposed

Saint Obi should not be caught in a mess like this but that's what you get when you try to take over a party that people have been building for over 20 years illegally using money while lying that "we no dey give shishi' and bribing Abure and his crew to give you the LP Presidential ticket.... We know a party gives it's ticket to those it feels could win and that's why LP gave the ticket to Obi but you people are hating on others for doing exactly what you did..... Hypocritical bunch

Re: Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by opamoses1: 3:28am On Mar 28
Penguin2:

Mynd44
Fergie001
Try to hide your corruption at least by organizing a sham primary election. Although, even if Jesus was to contest with Peter Obi, you will drag Jesus and call peter Obi the saviour instead grin

You don't care about how corrupt that party is. All you want is for Peter Obi to get the ticket by crooked means with total disregard for integrity, honesty, and an excellence process. Like Peter Obi , Like Julius Abure, birds of the same feather flock together.
Re: Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by muhammaduyusufu: 3:34am On Mar 28
chopnaira:

Confused party.
What's going on within that party. So they will likely drag themselves to court again. This time it's not pa Lamido Apapa or whatever his name is. Lol.
Re: Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by Rolings: 3:35am On Mar 28
Enugurangers:

That's a fascist behavior. Even PDP and APC runs primary elections to pick a candidate. This Labour Party is even worst than those two. Even Hitler and Mussolini contested in an election.

Even APC and PDP haven't disrespected Nigerians this much and In Nigerias political history, this is a first . Reserve ticket for somebody three years ahead?
ELUPEEE IS A JOKE

Re: Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by muhammaduyusufu: 3:35am On Mar 28
adamusuleiman1:
Even up till now and several hours later, PO has not congratulated Abure. Something is fishy.
Peter Obi is afraid of the Obidient mob. They were threatening to cancel him today on various X posts.

Re: Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by muhammaduyusufu: 3:36am On Mar 28
Rolings:

Even APC and PDP haven't disrespected Nigerians this much and In Nigerias political history, this is a first . Reserve ticket for somebody three years ahead?
ELUPEEE IS A JOKE
Lol. This is shocking, and Penguin2 is bragging about the dictatorship.

Re: Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by Rolings: 3:41am On Mar 28
muhammaduyusufu:

Lol. This is shocking, and Penguin2 is bragging about the dictatorship.

He thought it's something to brag about
By the time they begin drag them online for their fascist move , they will come up with excuses as usual. They are shameless, they think it's by online noise

Thank God all the Calamities befalling them is caused by nobody but themselves. Let them face the music

Re: Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by adamusuleiman1: 3:46am On Mar 28
muhammaduyusufu:

Peter Obi is afraid of the Obidient mob. They were threatening to cancel him today on various X posts.
He is still busy chopping rice and chicken in the North. Maybe by Friday he would have made up his mind on whether to congratulate Abure or not. He thinks elections are won by pretence and breaking of fasts with the same muslims he declared a religious war upon. He is playing local politics games for Presidential elections. cheesy.

Even ACN and CPC had to align to defeat the incumbent (PDP). He doesn't understand very much how federal politics work.

Re: Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by socialmediaman: 3:47am On Mar 28
Rolings:

This is a party that claims they want to do things differently but the whole world can now see they are really a subsidiary of papa deceive pikin party .
E no go better for anybody wey go come claim say Obi na saint, a saint shouldn't be this undemocratic...... Even the parties you are trying to displace didn't show this kind of disregard to Nigerians .
Reserve ticket for Obi?.... Who does that in a democracy......does Obi own the party?... Is he the only eligible LP member that the ticket has to be reserved 3 years ahead?

It’s a wise decision that will give the party another chance at national prominence.

PO is the only reason they have a governor, state and federal legislators, why would they not reserve the ticket exclusively for him?
Re: Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by MaziObinnaokija: 3:54am On Mar 28
cool 3RD POSITION IS SURE cool grin wink

Re: Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by BigkokoRep: 4:01am On Mar 28
Let the work to unthrone Bulablu start! I wonder why the native doctor, Lamidi Apapa didn't contest?

Penguin2:

Mynd44
Fergie001
Re: Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by Tjra: 4:05am On Mar 28
MaziObinnaokija:
cool 3RD POSITION IS SURE cool grin wink
3rd position is their rightful place. Nobody dey drag am with them.

Re: Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by Rolings: 4:06am On Mar 28
socialmediaman:

It’s a wise decision that will give the party another chance at national prominence.

PO is the only reason they have a governor, state and federal legislators, why would they not reserve the ticket exclusively for him?

It's not democratic. A fascist move.

Even as loved as Buhari was he always contested primaries..... So why is Obi afraid of primaries that he has to bribe Abure three years ahead?

You people should stop this brazzen lies or is it deliberate distortion of LP HISTORY.
The first governor under LP was Mimiko.

Like I mentioned earlier parties gives tickets to whom they feel could win elections, LP did it and is planning to do it in 2027.... So why are you people blackmailing others that want to do exactly what you've done?
Shows you people are not different
And won't make any difference if your get to power.
You just wan grab power like others not that you love Nigeria more than others or that you will make any significant difference

Re: Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by chopnaira: 4:25am On Mar 28
adamusuleiman1:
He is stuck in a sticky situation. If he congratulates Abure, he would be seen as endorsing corruption by the majority of the Obidient movement and non-obidients Nigerians plus other political parties. The best bet would be to get rid of Abure, but that Abure is a fighter as seen by the Apapa episode and the exposure of his corruption by some key Obidients. Abure tasted the money realised from last year campaign, and he is determined to amass as much wealth as possible. Peter Obi needs to really think it through.

Re: Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by cenaman(m): 4:34am On Mar 28
Any sane party will always pick PETER OBI as it presidential flag bearer.
Re: Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by Rolings: 4:34am On Mar 28
chopnaira:

He is stuck in a sticky situation. If he congratulates Abure, he would be seen as endorsing corruption by the majority of the Obidient movement and non-obidients Nigerians and other political parties. The best bet would be to get rid of Abure, but that Abure is a fighter. He tasted the money realised from last year campaign and he is determined to amass much wealth as much as possible. Peter Obi needs to really think it through.

The tricky and sticky situation he put himself.

My problem with Obi and his Obidients is their claim that they are different.
No they aren't
They are Nigerians like the rest of us so they can't be free from the issues affecting Nigeria.
The way Obi barged his way into LP, Bribing his way to the presidential ticket doesn't portray a man that wants to do things differently.
I refused to be gaslighted by them during elections because I just couldn't see how an Obi can be said to be a better politician than a PBAT or AA...... I just couldn't

Re: Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by cenaman(m): 4:40am On Mar 28
chopnaira:
Confused party.
Cry me a river grin

Re: Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by Slytiger: 4:47am On Mar 28
I don laugh tire.

Unless Peter Obi returns to APGA. He will never achieve anything politically - Victor Oye, APGA chairman.

Peter Obi has carried badluck to APGA. He swore to Ojukwu using the bible that he would never leave APGA. He later swore in front of a crowd of APGA supporters including Ojukwu again that he will never leave APGA. The Ojukwu political curse on him is working overtime.

👇
Ben Obi, who incidentally served as SSA to former Governor Obi revealed that he was present when late Ikemba Nnewi asked Obi three times if he would dump APGA for another party to which the former governor swore he would never do.

"All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA, is still feeling the ripples of the recent defection of Former Governor Peter Obi to the Peoples Democratic Party. This has led to Governor Willie Obiano’s senior special assistant on inter party affairs, Chief Ben Obi to let the cat out of the bag on Obi's treachery and betrayal of trust. He(Ben Obi) stated Friday that the late Ikemba Nnewi, Chief Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu always suspected that the former governor would dump APGA once he was out of this world.

In a chat with journalists in Awka, Ben Obi, who incidentally served as SSA to former Governor Obi revealed that he was present when late Ikemba Nnewi asked Obi three times if he would dump APGA for another party to which the former governor swore he would never do.

According the the SSA, “We grew up together and attended the same school and I knew that Obi is very crafty, which sometimes fail him.

"I saw his defection coming because I worked with him as SSA on inter party affairs and throughout the period he was in court fighting to get his mandate back.

During his tenure, we were at the Holy Trinity Cathedral, Onitsha when Ojukwu fainted. I had to carry him in my Hummer Jeep to the nearby Waterside Hospital for treatment and as I was singing a song to him, Obi came in. At that point, Ikemba raised his head and asked Obi if he was sure he would not leave APGA and he answered yes. Ojukwu repeated the question two times and this made Obi to swear with a bible he was holding that he would never leave APGA to any other party.

“Ojukwu asked this the question because he suspected that the former governor would dump APGA as soon as he (Ojukwu) was no more. It was unfortunate that he he did not keep to that promise.”

He (Obi) once Attributed leaving APGA to PDP as going to Iraq, adding that by eventually joining PDP, he is now in Iraq and he knows the consequences.

He also reiterated that it was hypocritical of the former governor to have castigated Governor Rochas Okorocha of Imo State for leaving APGA when he too had similar plans as soon as he left office.

Obi accused the former governor of being the reason why the party lost all the senatorial seats in 2011, particularly that of Anambra Central contested by the late Professor Dora Akunyili.

He further stated: “He did not want Akunyili to be in the senate because of his own ambition of going to the senate in 2015. If he wanted Akunyili to go to senate, why did he take her to the Head Bridge Drug market, Onitsha to campaign knowing the role Akunyili played in fighting fake drug producers in that market as the director general of NAFDAC?

“Besides, Head Bridge is not even part of Anambra Central and he took her there just to mess her up and he got what he wanted because we were stoned by the traders who were still bearing grudges against Akunyili.”

Former Governor Peter Obi has since denied being interested in contesting for the senate. But who would believe that?
"

Re: Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by Slytiger: 4:53am On Mar 28
Arc Uche Rochas writes on X: 👇

"Take note of the dates and read my tweet with an open mind.

Where Obidients existing before 2012 but what do you observe?

Consistency in character. Yes, Peter Obi is the master of internal party crisis and factional politics.

I will tag him @peterobi as a reminder that he has not changed his ways. The only people foreign to his person are gullible Nigerians who have blindly followed him thanks to hired influencers and political jobbers.

As Governor, my kinsman and one time political leader was unable to lead his party to conduct a convention while he was in APGA. Like the same stunt before he exited from PDP, a week to the convention he resigned as BOT Chairman of APGA.

Indications: A man of flawed character who thinks that with money he may get away with everything, pay a few people to launder his image but he lacks the required skills to lead people. Obi will rather stay behind the scenes to sponsor rancor within the ranks and as often he prefers people he can pay for their loyalty; don’t be deceived with “he is stingy” not when it comes to sponsoring confusion and disputes.

Through all of Apapa and Abure’s woes, Mr. Obi completely refused to intervene, ask yourself why?

Some of you are currently on an aimless political journey with him as he moves from one mosque to another.
Northern Obidients must cash out. 😂😂😂.

We’ll be here to remind you that PO is an establishment politician who is cunny and very desperate with low ambitions."

Re: Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by malali: 4:54am On Mar 28
Obi doesnt have the political clout to win elections

There are 2 types of politicians,

1-One needs to be hosted by the winning party in order to be victorious

2-One can win from any party, because the people believe in him, if he changes party, he will still win.

Peter Obi is number 1 masquerading as number 2.

Re: Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by helinues: 5:17am On Mar 28
This op have a permanent resident in Phantom City. Perhaps, he got a mansion there

Reserve tickets when he his not the highest shareholders in the party.. isn't that tyranny?

What would happen to other members having interest in the party presidential race.

LP and Obi have proved to Nigerians that they are pure opposite of what they are preaching.

We can say there is lots of mass psychosis going in the Obidients camp

Re: Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by KingKO22: 5:49am On Mar 28
I keep saying this

This IPOBidients would be worst than Abacha if their Pandora Obituary is given a chance

I can bet with anyone that if Pandora Obituary win election he would rule for 30 years bcs there will not be election again in Nigeria

This is a Messiah from hell with lost African Jews

Re: Labour Party Reserves Its 2027 Presidential Ticket For Peter Obi - Sahara Report by MaziObinnaokija: 6:19am On Mar 28
grin grin cheesy .Where is Datti Baba Ahmed 🇬🇼 grin? Allow OBI and Abure to dey deceive their Eluuups 🐀 🐀 🐀.

The Greatly Improved Nigerian Premier League - A Silent Success / Gov Ordeals And Third Term Bid / Agagu Stop Your Comments

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 81