Stats: 3,330,978 members, 8,448,064 topics. Date: Sunday, 19 July 2026 at 04:49 PM

Senate Goes On Recess Untill July - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsSenate Goes On Recess Untill July (7786 Views)

1 2 Reply (Go Down)

Senate Goes On Recess Untill July by Kuginzi(op): 7:00pm On Jun 11, 2024
The Senate on Tuesday adjourned plenary session to July 2, 2024.

The development is to enable the lawmakers to participate in the activities marking the 2024 Democracy Day as well as its end of session break.

The Senate President, Godswill Akpabio, announced this during Tuesday’s plenary session.

The 10th National Assembly will be one year in office on Thursday, June 13.

Prior to the announcement, the Senate passed a total sum of N1.911 trillion as the 2024 statutory budget for the Niger Delta Development Commission, NDDC.

The Senate approved the budget after considering the report of its committee on NDDC during plenary.
https://dailypost.ng/2024/06/11/senate-goes-on-recess-untill-july/

Re: Senate Goes On Recess Untill July by Ezeama400: 7:01pm On Jun 11, 2024
Wetin dem dey do before?
Re: Senate Goes On Recess Untill July by personal59: 4:45am On Jun 12, 2024
Hmmmm

This NDDC money self what visible impact have the money assign before made on this community.

I still don't understand this country self from FG to the citizens everyone want to steal
Re: Senate Goes On Recess Untill July by DMerciful(m): 4:45am On Jun 12, 2024
The senate should be scrapped
Re: Senate Goes On Recess Untill July by Pathokpo: 4:48am On Jun 12, 2024
Why e be say na when Dem dey deliberate on minimum wage Dem Con know say Dem go go on leave.
Re: Senate Goes On Recess Untill July by floss(m): 4:50am On Jun 12, 2024
Rubber stamp department 🤣🤣🤣
Re: Senate Goes On Recess Untill July by BlackfireX: 4:50am On Jun 12, 2024
From recess to recession
Re: Senate Goes On Recess Untill July by Goalnaldo(m): 4:51am On Jun 12, 2024
If by now you don't know this country is a joke, I pity the parents who gave birth to you tongue
Re: Senate Goes On Recess Untill July by Kenmatt(m): 5:00am On Jun 12, 2024
"Nigeria nogo better".

They have hurriedly passed a budget of 1.9 trillion naira for NDDC because they are the major beneficialies of NDDC Projects.

The probe President Buhari asked that NDDC should be probed from year 2000 till the end of his tenure that Pondei dramatically collapsed before the House of Reps, we have not heard anything about its outcome again.

NDDC, the most corrupt Government Agency.
Re: Senate Goes On Recess Untill July by Nwaokunkpara: 5:03am On Jun 12, 2024
And yet they receives a bogus hardship allowance
Re: Senate Goes On Recess Untill July by MSN1(m): 5:08am On Jun 12, 2024
Goalnaldo:
If by now you don't know this country is a joke, I pity the parents who gave birth to you tongue
LWKM... grin
WHO NOR ONE HEAR GO HEAR BY FORCE.
Honestly, am tired of educating and putting our youths in the right thinking direction. A lot of them will call u mumu, wen u try to make them see the light and face their oppressors, rather than fighting and killing themselves for people that are oppressing them.

GOD PLEASE GIVE ME ANOTHER CHANCE TO GET THAT KIND MONEY AND OPPORTUNITY TO JAPA, WEN I WASTE 2 YEARS AGO.
Re: Senate Goes On Recess Untill July by press9jatv(m): 5:09am On Jun 12, 2024
And they will cash out bigger in this month and next month. Nigeria my country.
Re: Senate Goes On Recess Untill July by Goalnaldo(m): 5:12am On Jun 12, 2024
MSN1:
LWKM... grin
WHO NOR ONE HEAR GO HEAR BY FORCE.
Honestly, am tired of educating and putting our youths in the right thinking direction. A lot of them will call u mumu, wen u try to make them see the light and face their oppressors, rather than fighting and killing themselves for people that are oppressing them.

GOD PLEASE GIVE ME ANOTHER CHANCE TO GET THAT KIND MONEY AND OPPORTUNITY TO JAPA, WEN I WASTE 2 YEARS AGO.
Amen brother
Re: Senate Goes On Recess Untill July by SoNature(m): 5:18am On Jun 12, 2024
personal59:
Hmmmm

This NDDC money self what visible impact have the money assign before made on this community.

I still don't understand this country self from FG to the citizens everyone want to steal
Yes, people have mismanaged NDDC's money in the past, but that doesn't mean the commission doesn't make any significant impact.

My community has a smooth road with street lights today because of NDDC. Plus, every year, NDDC sponsors 200 young people across the 9 states in ND region to go overseas and further their education. Still, the commission has built school hostels, bridges and hospitals in the ND region.

The NDDC just needs the right people to run it. Mind you, that the budget was approved doesn't mean that the commission will get the whole money. They may end up getting 30 - 50% of that budget at the end of the year.
Re: Senate Goes On Recess Untill July by CaptainFM1: 5:18am On Jun 12, 2024
I hope he remember to send the prayers to their respective email account before going on recess?
Re: Senate Goes On Recess Untill July by Kwaramustgoodag: 5:19am On Jun 12, 2024
That's Nigeria we operate
Re: Senate Goes On Recess Untill July by Djele: 5:27am On Jun 12, 2024
Criminals
Re: Senate Goes On Recess Untill July by adioolayi(m): 5:29am On Jun 12, 2024
Who go legislate on new minimum wage nowhuh
Re: Senate Goes On Recess Untill July by gender123: 5:29am On Jun 12, 2024
Useless people
Re: Senate Goes On Recess Untill July by Nahunger(m): 5:42am On Jun 12, 2024
Enjoyment
With millions paid ✔️
With hardship allowances ✔️
All and paid expenses trips+Entertainment ✔️

What a 🌽 🌲
Re: Senate Goes On Recess Untill July by justking(m): 5:43am On Jun 12, 2024
Una bye-bye
Re: Senate Goes On Recess Untill July by Ikemba007: 5:55am On Jun 12, 2024
Ezeama400:
Wetin dem dey do before?
Within this period, they'll still be collecting hardship allowance, wardrobe allowance, vehicle allowance, etc.
Re: Senate Goes On Recess Untill July by pikechukwu6(m): 6:08am On Jun 12, 2024
I just love Nigeria problem grin

Nothing more or less than division
Re: Senate Goes On Recess Untill July by lanresord: 6:12am On Jun 12, 2024
Nigerian on fire you useless people are resting
Re: Senate Goes On Recess Untill July by Meti99(m): 6:14am On Jun 12, 2024
Gxz
Re: Senate Goes On Recess Untill July by Chekwume16(m): 6:15am On Jun 12, 2024
You must be one of the criminals benefiting from nddc. What do you even know about the agency. Do you know the type of contract inflation going on there. Do you know the number of projects paid fully for and never executed. People will just come online to talk rubbish. What are you really defending. Do you know how much people settle to get paid for work done in nddc. If they tell you the cost of those street lights will you believe it. Abeg shift go one side. When has nddc only got just 50% of budgetary allocation
SoNature:
Yes, people have mismanaged NDDC's money in the past, but that doesn't mean the commission doesn't make any significant impact.

My community has a smooth road with street lights today because of NDDC. Plus, every year, NDDC sponsors 200 young people across the 9 states in ND region to go overseas and further their education. Still, the commission has built school hostels, bridges and hospitals in the ND region.

The NDDC just needs the right people to run it. Mind you, that the budget was approved doesn't mean that the commission will get the whole money. They may end up getting 30 - 50% of that budget at the end of the year.
Re: Senate Goes On Recess Untill July by Newton1045: 6:23am On Jun 12, 2024
Recess
Wat do they actually do
Re: Senate Goes On Recess Untill July by SoNature(m): 6:24am On Jun 12, 2024
Chekwume16:
You must be one of the criminals benefiting from nddc. What do you even know about the agency. Do you know the type of contract inflation going on there. Do you know the number of projects paid fully for and never executed. People will just come online to talk rubbish. What are you really defending. Do you know how much people settle to get paid for work done in nddc. If they tell you the cost of those street lights will you believe it. Abeg shift go one side. When has nddc only got just 50% of budgetary allocation
Your problem is that you are sanctimonious. There's nothing that happens at NDDC that doesn't happen at other MDAs. This is just who Nigerians are. The earlier you realise that, the better for you.

PS: I have never worked for the NDDC in my life. My point is that NDDC is not the problem, Nigerians are. Nigerians are horrible humans and that rascality has left the country stagnating 100 years after amalgamation.
Re: Senate Goes On Recess Untill July by Ayblast: 6:35am On Jun 12, 2024
Which work they dey do before
Re: Senate Goes On Recess Untill July by IBB007(m): 6:43am On Jun 12, 2024
lol….these guys just dey flex…dem don go for ileya holiday be that…and dem go still collect salary
1 2 Reply

Akpabio, Lawan Clash Over Sitting Time As Senate Goes Into Emergency SessionGroup Commends Akpabio For Disclosing Senators' Recess Allowance On Live TVEkweremadu To Remain In Prison Untill October 31234

Wike Should Leave The Work He's Doing For APC, Come Home To Fix PDP - ShowunmiIt’s Unfair To Tag Him. — El-rufai Criticises US Sanctions On KwankwasoSoldiers Withdrew From Borno Towns Over Shortage Of Ammunition — Ndume