Stats: 3,326,282 members, 8,425,804 topics. Date: Saturday, 13 June 2026 at 07:01 AM

Commuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways - Travel (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralTravelCommuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways (14272 Views)

1 2 3 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Commuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways by Dpharisee: 6:55am On Jul 11, 2024
I travelled to South East and I saw a Police or Military checkpoints at 100m, then I travelled to the North ravaged by bandits and I could see any checkpoints. Its like 2 countries 2 systems
Re: Commuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways by RealDaughter(f): 6:58am On Jul 11, 2024
Haaland21:
Ipob are worst than BH.

Sambisa is safer than sad yeast.....no wonder they migrate to the SW daily.

Bitter people ......
You mentioned your name las las grin
Re: Commuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways by Etosha:
It's a shame that both the army and Police in this country has turned themselves into beggers... There are more than 50 check points between Uyo and Owerri. All they do is to extort motorists who are struggling to find their daily bread. Is there no end to this?
Re: Commuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways by Yampotatocarrot(m): 7:07am On Jul 11, 2024
They should start with that police checkpoint on the flyover at Onitsha... The flyover where you board buses going to Owerri

Those ones resume by 10am, and they collect money from all tricycles using the flyover... Don't know if it's tollgate that you have to pay for passing

But wait o, why are soldiers still asking people to alight from their buses at Ihiala, to trek a distance... Not as if they'll even search the bus sef
Re: Commuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways by Bobloco: 7:13am On Jul 11, 2024
AntiMarxist:
The IGP should withdraw all police men from the SE for just one week .

I want to check something
And what do you want to check?
Re: Commuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways by OkoYibo: 7:23am On Jul 11, 2024
Bobloco:
And what do you want to check?
Sometimes, we don't value what we have until we lose it.
Re: Commuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways by izombie(m): 7:40am On Jul 11, 2024
I used to hate these checkpoints anytime i came home to naija because of the gridlocks they cause but now i like that they are there. The kind armed robbery and killings wey for dey happen for those roads if these checkpoints no dey there. Na only God knows.
Re: Commuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways by viodemus: 7:46am On Jul 11, 2024
You will never see police checkpoints in serious countries, except to get into a govt building or parking lot. Or there is a hostile activity, and professional security forces are directing people away from danger.

Nigeria is not serious in any tangible development.

I think it's time to ban checkpoints in the SE. Total ban.

law enforcement can park on the side of the road and monitor activities and respond if needed.

These SE roadblocks are a way to kpai people, steal from people, scope who they will rape, and overall keep the region volatile and uncertain, while they keep doing percentages with the foreign engineets that are there to extract mineral resources. They don't care about the SE economics; The money from the hard working people and the mineral resources underneath is a good business for them, they don't care. But we should care. This injustice should be used to acquire mean toys from foreigners, and those toys should be willingly used against genocide terrorist people who have sworn islamics and tribal oaths to genocide the SE.

It is clear to see that these terrorists in legit uniforms, could receive, a 5-state treatment, - different areas, same time action. They keep making the igbos know that the enemies are well organized. And for the minority igbos ( very few less than .5%), that are assisting the terrorists in legit law enforcement uniforms, systematically kpaing and doing all sorts of evil against the igbos. Just know that igbos are umu chineke. And all terrorists enemies will go to hell where they belong.

I come in peace. I support diplomatic reasoning, And I will always support a professional and a responsible legit security forces. I will never support full blown terrorist disguised as security forces.

May God continue to bless and protect the great region.
Re: Commuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways by ChristineC: 7:54am On Jul 11, 2024
they are blocking roads because they don't have jobs.
create jobs for these police men.
Re: Commuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways by igwedubai2(m): 7:58am On Jul 11, 2024
yarimo:
This is very commendable from the police
Tank u bro, very commendable. We are complaining about the heavy traffic, what about your life?
Re: Commuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways by Chigozie1960: 8:06am On Jul 11, 2024
Noerection:
https://www.vanguardngr.com/2024/07/commuters-groan-over-gridlocks-caused-by-police-roadblocks-on-anambra-highways/
But in Katsina alone over 200 people have been kidnapped in the space of 2 months ..you don't see any much road blocks there... misplaced priorities everywhere
Re: Commuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways by specialmati(m): 8:18am On Jul 11, 2024
Haaland21:
Ipob are worst than BH.

Bitter people ......
grin grin grin grin grin grin grin brain check from var

Re: Commuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways by Pat081: 8:21am On Jul 11, 2024
Noerection:
IPOB terrorists will not show themselves here
lnncoent people will go too if they show
Re: Commuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways by Umuinyioku: 8:22am On Jul 11, 2024
Noerection:
https://www.vanguardngr.com/2024/07/commuters-groan-over-gridlocks-caused-by-police-roadblocks-on-anambra-highways/
It's the attitude of security agencies on Eastern Highways that is causing unrest in southeast region. They extort and intimidate motorists in the name of checking of papers and profiling passengers.

Surprisingly, North where we have greater security challenges don't go through this hassle and inconveniences.

Such militarization of Eastern Highways is one of the reasons for agitation in the region. They feel intimidated and deliberate means to stifle their businesses and economy.

Until these grievances are addressed, Nigerian unity becomes a mirage.
Re: Commuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways by Umuinyioku: 8:25am On Jul 11, 2024
yarimo:
This is very commendable from the police
If it's commendable by the Police,why not allow similar scenario in your region?

Don't talk like a misguided mascot and rabble rouser.
Re: Commuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways by okoroemeka(m): 8:26am On Jul 11, 2024
Noerection:
IPOB terrorists will not show themselves here
how policemen,military and other security personnel has been killed or injured this past 2-3 years,all violence is evil and nothing can justify attacking security officials that has sworn to protect the vulnerable,but this case of policemen and even the military turning this check points to mini toll gates is disgusting and shameful,it is even evident that this moniepoints are san tioned by senior officers at the office with a stipulated returns for them everyday ,but honestly I would rather meet a policemen rather than an armed robber by 1am on Benin bypass
Re: Commuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways by Umuinyioku: 8:28am On Jul 11, 2024
Noerection:
let Peter Obi’s supporters go and attack them at checkpoint and see if they will not join the 9 Ibo kidnappers killed in Lagos in hellfire
Who told you the nine kidnappers were Ibos? This is false information and MODs should take note.
Re: Commuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways by Umuinyioku: 8:34am On Jul 11, 2024
Okete001:
Hehehe

Ipob cannibals should he dealt with by our gallant police officers.

Their god they worship will not be set free by Tinubu so they can continue killing themselves in the land of Cannibalism.

Obi is the president, he can set that bleached monkey free on twitter
Ladies,by their gender,are usually civil and emphatic. But you are different. Vulgar and lacks humanity.

May God help you in your bestial outpourings.
Re: Commuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways by Umuinyioku: 8:36am On Jul 11, 2024
Brendaniel:
So you know the identities of the kidnappers , that means you are one of them, if a whole Nigeria police doesn't know and you know then you are one of them ...

When they strike you will be the first to insult the entire Igbos, now that they did not you are still throwing blames, there is nothing an Igbo man does people like you don't find fault in, same reason Peter Obi is giving you people nightmare ....

Back to the topic ;
Haters of Igbos will keep quiet now in the face of oppression against the Igbos by the FG, when UGM strikes their voice will be the loudest insulting Igbos...
Don't worry. MODs have been notified on the misinformation which runs foul of Rule 8.
Re: Commuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways by Fgovernor: 8:37am On Jul 11, 2024
okoroemeka:
how policemen,military and other security personnel has been killed or injured this past 2-3 years,all violence is evil and nothing can justify attacking security officials that has sworn to protect the vulnerable,but this case of policemen and even the military turning this check points to mini toll gates is disgusting and shameful,it is even evident that this moniepoints are san tioned by senior officers at the office with a stipulated returns for them everyday ,but honestly I would rather meet a policemen rather than an armed robber by 1am on Benin bypass
The way Dem dey extort people too much, the FG started the violence by declaring IPOB terrorist organisation when it was still peaceful, don't they see how GEJ ignored this things, they created Boko Haram and bandit, now e no gree solve, Dem come arrest Nnamdi Kanu, which you and I who are Easterners know that more than 65% of people like Nnamdi Kanu.
Now, UGM don come out, another wahala, if the economy was good would they have been insecurity in the East no.
people still support the UGM because they see Dem as been better than the police and military, for me I just keep quiet when they argue about it in public because you no know who be who.
Politicians now Carry out evil practices because they are sure it will be labeled as IPOB, the solution is to release Nnamdi Kanu, make sure the economy is good and let me not go to the federal level, but the states we reside in, we all know how bad our governors are.
Re: Commuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways by Umuinyioku: 8:41am On Jul 11, 2024
Haaland21:
Ipob are worst than BH.

Bitter people ......
Rubbish talk from a misguided mascot. That BH is less venomous than IPOB shows your scant knowledge of the topic you table.

Continue to worship individuals because of lack of republicanism in you. We are not!
Re: Commuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways by Umuinyioku: 8:44am On Jul 11, 2024
Holluwhakemmy:
Good Development From Police
Why not allow the "good development"in your region?

Akuna Akuna!
Re: Commuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways by EBEk101(m): 8:45am On Jul 11, 2024
Not just the police but the army too
decided to drive home towards that south east to Uyo, I thought I was in a war zone.
Why station so many checkpoints to intimidate the people of the south east when there’s so much unrest in the north ?
Re: Commuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways by richie240: 8:48am On Jul 11, 2024
**Security presence in alaigbo: "They are trying to create a state of emergency in alaigbo", "why not take them to the north where they are most needed" etc.

**No security presence in alaigbo: "Fg has abandoned us bcuz we are igbos, "fg is indirectly sponsoring anarchy in alaigbo", "are we no longer nigerians again?" etc

The person wey go satisfy una, den never born am!

EasternActivist:
Lol because it's se grin

We feed on your hates... Normally injustice to one is injustice to all... E go reach your side soon no be the same naija we dey... smiley

Re: Commuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways by omooba05: 8:55am On Jul 11, 2024
Developers and billionaires just left the group
Re: Commuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways by ElevationD: 9:00am On Jul 11, 2024
Macphenson:
Honestly speaking the number of extortion points in Anambra is very terrible. The last month I was in the east I was very upset. The most annoying is the check point at Ekwusigo Police Station along Owerri Onitsha Expressway.

Just infront of the Poilce station, they have two extortion points that are just a distance of about 200m apart from each other. Motorists must settle the.both points before passing through that place.
Sometimes one wonders if the insecurity in the east is not government induced. Even before the agitation, the SE, especially Anambra state appeared like a goldmine for extortion. The Niger bridge at both ends is the most policed. You find the army, police, road safety, touts in their numbers, all extorting citizens.

That Niger bridge bypass is annoying. There are two check points there. There’s one immediately after Dozy and that one right under the bridge. They serve to wickedly extort keke riders, truck owners and bus owners. The impunity is unbelievable.

Next is the Navy checkpoint at Odo rubber. That one is complete madness, especially in the evenings. Citizens are very sure to spend very long time waiting for Navy personnel to collect their bribes and let them move.

These lower cadre of the security forces are those who made our security organizations look horrible. While government makes all possible to ensure that they receive the remunerations, they must not keep making security lax and put the lives of citizens are risk.

I hope that someday things can be put right.
Re: Commuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways by maxiuc(m): 9:00am On Jul 11, 2024
Macphenson:
Honestly speaking the number of extortion points in Anambra is very terrible. The last month I was in the east I was very upset. The most annoying is the check point at Ekwusigo Police Station along Owerri Onitsha Expressway.

Just infront of the Poilce station, they have two extortion points that are just a distance of about 200m apart from each other. Motorists must settle the.both points before passing through that place.
I swear after you climb up the hill you will see them there I just have to keep 100naira in bundles for settlement anytime I am driving from Owerri to onitsha
Re: Commuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways by Calitoscassius(m): 9:06am On Jul 11, 2024
This is ridiculous, well.. it is up to the masses to protest against it. Police can not just block citizens from going about their businesses unnercerssarily.
Re: Commuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways by Jonjam269: 9:11am On Jul 11, 2024
EasternActivist:
Ronu terrorists will cheesy
This is caused by IPOB cannibals and terrorists.
Re: Commuters Groan Over Gridlocks Caused By Police Roadblocks On Anambra Highways by PHIPEX(m): 9:18am On Jul 11, 2024
OkoYibo:
This one is complaining about Police roadblocks. His kinsmen are crying about Police killing kidnappers in Lagos.

There is a pattern.
Some of.you are groomed by the devil to live and believe your own lies. You feel so inferior that you have to daily invent lies againt anything Igbo innorder to feel important.

Show us evidence of those complaining about police killing kidnappers
1 2 3 Reply

Trending Video Of Ivorian Super Highways (Photos)Commuters Groan Over Gridlock On Lagos-Ibadan Expressway As Construction ResumesCommuters Groan, Businesses Shut As Sango-Ota Road Collapses234

6 Years After, Abuja-Kaduna Road Project UncompletedConstruction Update On Opebi-Mende-Ojota-Maryland Link BridgeTanker Laden With Diesel Upturns Content On Apapa Road, Lagos