When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria - Career (13) - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Nairaland General › Career › When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria (62215 Views)
1 2 3 ... 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 ... 21 Reply (Go Down)
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by Cousin9999: 1:02pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
A bank manager in Nigeria has a lot of options in his life that the low-wage worker abroad simply does not. There's a lot you can say about the difference in their lifestyle, but I'll hit a few points some may not have. And I'm talking about the US here. The facilities attendant abroad may be treated pretty poorly. I'm not saying that's always the case, but we know how people are. And I'm not even so much talking about people in the community, more so their managers. And it's pretty hard for them to walk away. The facilities attendant doesn't really have any leverage because frankly, their skillset is common and there are also tons of illegal immigrants around to do the job for almost nothing. Furthermore, those illegals will accept all kinds of conditions they won't. So the job security isn't really there. The attendant will most likely live in a dangerous neighborhood and also likely in a housing project or cheap rental. These places are pretty bad. You think most of the danger is outside, but these are very poorly maintained places. Roaches, rats, bed bugs, mold, lead, dirty water. It's likely to make people sick, even give their kids asthma. They may also get off a long shift and come home to a place with no heat or no water, or they've been robbed (again). Fortunately, crime is down, it's not the 70s, 80s, or 90s. But that doesn't mean those neighborhoods are Disneyworld. One of the things that would especially worry me is raising a daughter in those conditions. Even as a grown man. Even if you think you're big and can handle yourself. Imagine every day you step out your door, your head is on swivel, and you have to be ready to fight someone or deal with someone mugging you. And people in this position can try their best, but it's hard to raise a kid properly in those conditions. The combination of your kid likely being deprived of certain things or suffering, and also being surrounded by people with a certain mentality can easily pull them down the wrong path. Think about all the immigrants who left everything behind because they really thought their kids would have a better life, and their kid is a d0pe boy, gang member, and in and out of prison. People talk about Medicare. There are people on it who can't afford necessary medication. These people will end up in the ER, and beyond the obvious risks, they're then hit with another bill they can't afford. |
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by steeltrust: 1:06pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
Gerrard59:bro I no de cap Na fact I de tell you Cleaner lives Earn better And is doing well than a bank manager in Nigeria I came in 2023 I started working early this year I bought my first car Chevy Malibu 2015 cash 7,500$ With a warehouse job By the time I’m done with school and move up the ladder what do you think I’ll achieve next Even if I buy the on loan at least my salary is enough for me to get it If no be fraud wan bank manager de do you feel say them go de where them de Nigeria system is so rotten that even a bank manager sef no de earn according to his status |
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by Antivirus92(m): 1:06pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
Gerrard59:no empirical studies needed. Go through jamb, waec and neco best students for the past 15 years and cure your ignorance |
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by ThierryJay: 1:07pm On Sep 03, 2024*. Modified: 1:44pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
Looks like a number of Nigerians who japa'd are still ignorant about certain issues. It appears they project their own experiences of poverty while in Nigeria to every other situation here in Nigeria. Make no mistake, an average Tier 1 & 2 bank Manager/branch head here earns total emolument of not less than N2-2.5million net per month (bonuses inclusive). With that amount, a BM in Nigeria can: - afford to build a good house after a couple of years - has access to loan facilities of up to a N100m which can fast-track significant capital projects - buy a very good car. Most typically have 2 or 3 cars on average. - travel abroad for vacation during summer, with or without family - employ domestic staff that run errands, queue for fuel etc - either live in a premium estate with almost 24hour electricity supply or afford or set up a solar inverter system that will guarantee all round energy supply - afford to go out to fun places regularly - have free access to premium HMO services for medical care that may cost even up to N2million at a sitting So under no circumstances would you find an average sensible BM struggling to live a quality life in Nigeria. The general macro issues that plague Nigeria affects everyone whether BM, toilet cleaner or even Government officials. In addition, the self-esteem (not arrogance) that a BM will have from being at the top of his career, from being exposed and having valuable social capital is something that cant be quantified but typically exceeds the mental state and exposure of a Janitor abroad. So capital No, an immigrant toilet cleaner abroad does not live a better life than a BM in Nigeria. But he definitely has better prospects to be something better than many other professionals in Nigeria. |
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by Antivirus92(m): 1:08pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
ppogba:she is abroad studying through scholarship. |
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by ThierryJay: 1:10pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
ednut1:Ah ok. So you are ex-KPMG or PwC? |
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by MT: 1:10pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
steeltrust:You are so little in thinking. One, so because you met your "kinds" in Canada, does that mean that everyone in the US is better than Canadians. I will still blame your comparison on your lack of proper education. You even invited me to Chicago to see what Latinos do. You have no fact on them, yet you issued this broad statement. How long is Bahamas to US that seems a big deal to you? Seriously, like i said, I cannot blame individuals that are nobody in Nigeria but get intoxicated when they earn their first 1000 USD. And by the way, with the way you hype yourself, I would have expected you to have bought the entire banana island finish and open the first private refinery before Dangote. Lizard having a feel of a crocodile. |
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by Antivirus92(m): 1:11pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
TheChameleon:but studies showed that over 53% of kids born in your region (southwest) do not know their fathers. Who impregnated the mothers? Is there any other definition of prostitution? |
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by Blazetrailer: 1:12pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
Lol...mumu.. dey wait for another 50 years, promised by artificial intelligence..... Rossikk: |
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by hotwax: 1:12pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
steeltrust:you bought your car 12,000,000...a bank manager in nigeria go home with 2m or $1,500. A bank manager get upfront payment of 15million in Jnauary. A bank manager can buy a car worth of 30 or 40m. They are living a good life... One of my guy that went to canada came home last christmas and saw my second house...he confessed he could have made it in nigeria if he had stayed...after all his years in canada, im still better than him... You can't have a good career here in nigeria and be carrying load in wharehouse in canada |
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by InvertedHammer: 1:13pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
LordBiden:/ A toilet cleaner can scale up to have a Janitorial company down the line. Many times wealth is where many people are not looking. Is any Bank Manager in Nigeria really safe with all the recent "slump and die" syndrome? Stress is a silent killer and Nigeria is synonymous with stress. / |
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by MT: 1:13pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
steeltrust:The bolded explains where you are coming from. You are still getting freaked by the "neon" signs. It will soon clear. |
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by steeltrust: 1:17pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
MT:chai Stop being pained I’m only giving my opinion It a better life here How many bank manager fit travel go South Africa for vacation and come back I’m not saying Senegal or even Ghana sef You’re acting as if you’re intelligent but you just de make noise When it comes to benefits Yes a toilet cleaner lives and earn better than a bank manager in Nigeria You say 1000$ no be money How much you don earn this month legally except you’re into fraud I be lizard Thank you lion May your suffering and smiling be short |
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by paxonel(m): 1:17pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
steeltrust:But a toilet cleaner inspite having all these things can never be happily associated with the top minded social class of the society. Where people are contributing important intellectual ideas to solve technical problems he is there in the toilet ba? |
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by Villa12(m): 1:18pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
paxonel:a poor man in those countries are better than rich man in your 3rd world nation |
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by Doylestown92(m): 1:19pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
It's not safe over here either. Robbery happens here in The US, murder too. The world is unsafe. I think the comparison is biased, clearly an opinion of those Nigerians who have never made it past Benin Republic and Ghana. Who thinks the West is heaven on earth. Here, your car can get stolen in broad daylight. You can get mugged right on the street, things happen here, shitty things. |
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by Cheeryfeet: 1:20pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
Notfogotten:Exactly. More than your bank manager, but not more than a business man, not more than an entrepreneur not more than one who chooses the life of freedom than security ( slavery). |
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by MT: 1:21pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
steeltrust:Your miserable life just start in the US. I am a US passport holder who OWNS a tech company in ATL. You can only dream of who I am and the network I have built over there. What have you seen in life that made you sound so disparaging to your own country of birth? A bastard behaves that way. Just go and die as a "toilet cleaner" since that is your destiny. |
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by steeltrust: 1:21pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
paxonel:hahahaha Na there your brain go 😂🤣 If you decide to move up the ladder You can be a the head of the toilet cleaning department and make six figures if you don’t want you have a choice to go to school and go into management fully paid for by the company |
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by daniwise(m): 1:21pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
Electorate:SEE HEAVY UPPERCUT ![]() |
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by Blazetrailer: 1:22pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
I see a lot of stupidity, dick measuring,ignorance and plain blindness in all the comments here. My take has always been, make your choice based on what you think your priorities are, as only posterity can judge who has made the right or wrong choices. Leave comparisons alone as people face different consequences or benefits of their choices. Different strokes for different folks. Comparing different life choices and situations is the most stupid trait in humans |
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by steeltrust: 1:23pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
MT:de play I have all my plans sorted out before coming here and almost achieving all You can cry all you want Nigeria is rotten And it need urgent help |
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by paxonel(m): 1:23pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by Tegabadguy(m): 1:24pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
na wa oooo |
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by EroticJane(f): 1:25pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
Notfogotten:This is my genuine reply A. A toilet cleaner will never queue for fuel. This is because a toilet cleaner don't have a car. B. A toilet cleaner is less likely to be kidnapped in those countries This is because a toilet cleaner don't have jealous relatives around that will plan the kidnapping. C. A toilet cleaner has 24/7 electricity. This is only when the toilet cleaner can afford paying electricity bills constantly. D. A toilet cleaner has access to excellent Medicare. only if the toilet cleaner's papers are genuine and has a clean record. E. A toilet cleaner is less likely exposed to armed robbers Why will armed robbers attack a mere toilet cleaner? but they can easily be prone to racist murderers. F. A toilet cleaner eats better food and fruits than your bank manager. Toilet cleaners here eat mostly food with preservatives and fruits artificially grown not organic food. G A toilet cleaner has access to good amenities Yes because these amenities are already provided and maintained by the indigenous people with sense. Not from your country where every protest is targeted at destroying the only good and useful amenities they have. H. A toilet cleaner may have his children schooling for free in primary and high school May you said may which means it is not certain. I. A toilet cleaner has a longer live expectancy than your bank manager in Nigeria. Not when there is always a racist psycho that comes out of nowhere to start mudering people because they are blacks. |
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by jogojogo: 1:25pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
Notfogotten:And ho estly has more money |
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by steeltrust: 1:28pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
hotwax:😂🤣 Every body can not make it Sometimes your destiny to succeed is in Nigerian or your friend too As for me life has way better since I came And I thank I did I might be in Nigeria go to school and still achieve nothing while you won’t even go to school in Nigeria and achieve a lot Go to where your destiny will shine Mine shined in america and I’ll boldly defend it and say it anywhere From what I’ve seen and compared both country Nigeria is rotten deep down and nothing can change that Imagine me a warehouse worker with a life insurance of 246k$ with no education wan I go leave for my family when I die 😂🤣 Braaaa abeg leave me oh 😂🤣 |
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by Villa12(m): 1:28pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
hotwax:citizen wey hunger dey kpai una ![]() |
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by paxonel(m): 1:29pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
steeltrust:ehh, na so na ![]() So, where the happiness there? [ ![]() lwkmo!! if you don’t want you have a choice to go to school and go into management fully paid for by the companyat this point, toilet cleaning seize to exist. There comes a new bank manager who may be posted back to Nigeria to earn in dollar, but once a toilet cleaner in the US ![]() |
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by mrkings84(m): 1:30pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
I agree with the op 100% but you see, when the bank manager visits USA, Canada or Australia, it's still the toilet cleaner that will do his job where the bank manager stays. |
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by steeltrust: 1:30pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
MT:😂🤣 This one is pained already If you don’t know I own a fintech app I run in Nigeria You think say me and you na mate idiot I’ve archive more way more than you in your entire generation Na me wan cap for Make God punish you |
| Re: When We Say A Toilet Cleaner Abroad Is Better Than Bank Manager In Nigeria by mrkings84(m): 1:30pm On Sep 03, 2024 |
I agree with the op 100% but you see, when the bank manager visits USA, Canada or Australia, it's still the toilet cleaner that will do his job where the bank manager stays. Nonsense and ingredients |
Japa: From Bank Manager To Skyscraper Cleaner • Busola Tejumola: Is She The Most Beautiful Executive Manager In Nigeria? • Access Bank Manager Seizes A Staff’s Phone - Twitter User • 2 • 3 • 4
Ruona Meyer Who Sold Kerosene Years Ago In Lagos Lands Job With BBC (Photos) • Sleep With Me Or I Fire You - My Female Boss. • 10 Things You Need To Know About Pension In Nigeria