Stats: 3,330,512 members, 8,445,796 topics. Date: Wednesday, 15 July 2026 at 03:06 PM

Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients - Politics (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsPeter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients (28803 Views)

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients by Badmashiii: 4:48pm On Oct 20, 2024
Shadomaan7:
Peter Obi's supporters are the major reason why he would never be allowed to come close to Aso rock as a president. They are just too bitter and toxic
You can say this again. P.O is by no means a bad leader,but his followers,particularly the igbos are going to be a major hindrance in his victory in the upcoming election.

I dare say his votes won't be up to half of what he got in the last election. We the hausas,or aboki as they call us never for once trust an igbo man let alone endorse him as a leader. The yoruba that voted him alongside the igbos are mostly regretting their actions with the way the igbos are insulting them both online and offline.

I see tinubu winning by a great margin.
Re: Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients by lexy2014: 4:50pm On Oct 20, 2024
Tareq1105:
Obidients would mar Obi chances to become anything in Nigeria.

His justification for felicitations with Gen Gowon has given Obi out completely and it shows there are ill feelings and he's just managing it politically.

His birthday message was okay but the justification, after being dragged by obidients, made caricature of the earlier message portraying that the sweet things he said in the birthday message were said for political expedience.

Obi should talk less.
How does his justification for felicitations with Gen Gowon give Obi out completely?
Re: Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients by Okwyjesus(m): 4:53pm On Oct 20, 2024
Penguin2:
Some Obidients can be too sensitive for my liking.

Obi was just fulfilling all righteousness by felicitating with Gowon and I don’t think anybody should have issues with it.

If anything, Igbos who know history should be thankful to Gowon for how the war ended.

If not for Gowon, the Igbo haters from Awolowo camp and northern Muslims would have overrun the East and raze it ashes just to make sure Igbos never rise again.

It was Gowon’s policy of “No Victor, No Vanquished” that prevented that from happening. And those bloodsucking Igbo haters could only murmur from distance with their teeth all out like a rabid dog tasting for Igbo blood.

It was the anger of not letting Igbos be disappeared from the face of the earth that made Awolowo give every Igbo man 20 pounds after the war irrespective of how much he had in the bank before the war.

So, I understand that Gowon prosecuted the war against Biafra but those who understand leadership would know that Gowon was merely doing his job and not anything personal.

So, enough of the sulking by some Obidients. We can be more reasonable than that.
I like people that can school me the the way you just did.

That's reasonable argument bro
Re: Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients by lexy2014: 4:54pm On Oct 20, 2024
Ironbull:
Shame on you obi this is one of the reason you will never be allow to enter Aso Rock.

Explaining what? You and those your cursed obidient soon we will start dealing with you all with no mercy just keep watching.
Why are you so hurt even more hurt than d Igbos who were victims of the civil war?

What is the reason obi will not be allowed to enter aso rock?

Who are "we"?

How will you carry out the dealing with?
Re: Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients by NamelessOGBENI(m): 4:56pm On Oct 20, 2024
Peace with all men and if all men no need peace give them the Israeli's treatment.
Re: Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients by Tareq1105: 4:56pm On Oct 20, 2024
richmond500:
Wishing someone "happy birthday" is now considered a wrong thing in Nigeria?
Na wa o
Like I said in my earlier comment, Obi birthday message was okay but his justification for the birthday greetings messed and gave him up.

It was uncalled for but in his characteristics, he would want to explain himself every time to obidients thereby making nonsense of his message.

The summary of it is that Obi did it for political expedience.
Re: Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients by lexy2014: 4:56pm On Oct 20, 2024
yyba:
No wonder the agulu fraudster is scared to condemn IPOB terrorists and unknown gun men activities in south east
Why is the person you call "agulu fraudster" scared to condemn IPOB terrorists and unknown gun men activities in south east?

How is that related to the topic?

What is the fraud he has committed?
Re: Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients by lexy2014: 4:58pm On Oct 20, 2024
Something for Reno to attack.

Twitter awaits Reno Onokris response
Re: Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients by Badmashiii: 4:58pm On Oct 20, 2024
Tareq1105:
Obidients would mar Obi chances to become anything in Nigeria.

His justification for felicitations with Gen Gowon has given Obi out completely and it shows there are ill feelings and he's just managing it politically.

His birthday message was okay but the justification, after being dragged by obidients, made caricature of the earlier message portraying that the sweet things he said in the birthday message were said for political expedience.

Obi should talk less.
Man has already ruined his chances of victory in the upcoming election.

So,if you have to make a policy that will benefit all but your hare-brained followers,they can persuade or rather arm-twist you into a making a concession? That means you're not fit to be leader at all.

You should focus your attention in getting "freedom" for your folks. We don't need you or your ilks in this great country.
Re: Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients by Yankee101: 4:59pm On Oct 20, 2024
Everybody tends to assume in the Igbo space that Ojukwu was innocent

He is far from

He diverted food meant for people for himself and his troops. He co-opted the Niger delta against their will and killed their people who resisted. He felt slighted because so called junior officers got better postings (which happens till today) and he went ballistic
If there was no oil he wouldn’t have declared biafra. He wanted that oil. The same thing Nigerian leaders are doing today. So it was nothing new yet he went ahead to declare secession.

Hausas were killed in the south and igbos and other tribes were killed in the north. How many times has that happened since then? Multiple times till date. Was a war declared? Or secession? No

He ran away to Ivory Coast on a private flight when he was loosing without telling his people

All his businesses in the north were intact, his children and wife bainca were fighting over property in zaria and other northern cities while ordinary people lost their lives and property due to his decision. Gowon might not be a saint. But almost every country will deploy its army if you want to cut up the country. Starving the people was unacceptable by any means. Awolowo’s decision or not, the buck stops at Gowon’s desk.

People like to write history from their own point of view and not the reality
Re: Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients by hotseat: 4:59pm On Oct 20, 2024
Wow!

I doff my hat for PO!

This is what a true statesman should be irrespective of the circumstances.

PO has spoken as a true new Nigerian willing to let bygones be bygones.

Unforgiveness is an attribute of a weak person while the ability, strength and wisdom to forgive is divine and a virtue.

I begin to believe in the "PO mission" for a new Nigeria that is POssible no matter what happened in the past.

Rwanda is shining example of the spirit of oneness, reconciliation and the determination of a people resolved to forge a new beginning.

Nigeria would be great if the WAZOBIA mantra operates both in spirit and letter of unbendable determination to make Nigeria work for all.

PO is now at the vanguard of a new Nigeria that is POssible!

@hotseat
Re: Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients by Christ4ever: 5:04pm On Oct 20, 2024
atiku4President:
It was an official felicitation. Just like US did when the President of Iran died.
US condoled with the Iranians? This one off me oo.. lol
Re: Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients by Reptyle(m): 5:06pm On Oct 20, 2024
fergie001:
Peter Obi
The unraveling begins.
Re: Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients by sweetjohn(m): 5:13pm On Oct 20, 2024
KarlWhyte:
First and foremost, Peter Obi should stop deluding himself into believing he is a nationalist. Based on everything mentioned, it’s clear that the Obidients movement primarily serves an Igbo agenda.

I fail to understand why his supporters are upset with him for simply wishing a former president a happy birthday.
Stalk idiot, what is Igbo agenda?
Re: Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients by Omoejigbahe(m): 5:14pm On Oct 20, 2024
This agulu fraud was voted for by people from plateau State, yet he came out with this nonsense post because of some mumu that cannot get him to aso rock with their votes alone.
Re: Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients by Atlantis585: 5:16pm On Oct 20, 2024
Obi is becoming more stupid everyday because of politics.
Re: Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients by Heavensake1: 5:16pm On Oct 20, 2024
NairalandForumo:
You see why Obidients are different from Tinubu supporters....

Obi will not be doing somethinf wrong like Tinubu is doing and won't be called to order by Obidients, instead Tinubu supporters will ignore the truth and keep supporting Tinubu...
What did Peter obi do wrong that they condemned him for? I don't sense in what you put up there.
Re: Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients by kingthreat(m): 5:19pm On Oct 20, 2024
Obi is too weak. You don't need to explain your actions to your supporters.
Re: Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients by Goke7: 5:26pm On Oct 20, 2024
kingthreat:
Obi is too weak. You don't need to explain your actions to your supporters.
It’s a red flag not to be a strong leader with strong convictions

True leadership is doing what is right even when it’s unpopular. If you have to seek approval all the time for doing simple right things then it’s better you avoid leadership.
Re: Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients by janeedema(f): 5:30pm On Oct 20, 2024
Uncle, go and sleep.

Stop crying more than the bereaved, or do you have stakes with ‘Obidients’? They aren't bothered, so why are you?

Y
Namaster:
ERROR!

Peter Obi should be fighting for Biafra because he will NEVER be President of Nigeria.

You CANNOT want to be President of Nigeria and turn around to call the man who's responsible for the existence of Nigeria as it is an ENEMY.

Plus, talking about FORGIVING said enemy is STUPID.

The birthday wish was PRUDENT and STRATEGIC.
The explanation of the birthday wish is WEAK and STUPID.

Now, he has succeeded in OFFENDING and ALIENATING more people.

His birthday wish TRIGGERED some people.
His explanation and tacit retraction would TRIGGER another set of people.

Peter Obi is NOT a very smart person.

Smart people learn from their mistakes. He has NOT learned that Twitter is NOT real life. The results of the last general election showed that pepple who are LOUD and BOTHERED on social media do NOT necessarily translate to real life.

He should LEARN!
Re: Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients by Forkthiefnubu:
I don’t see anything wrong with him congratulating Gowon , Gowon did what he deemed was right with the information available to him then , he have played his role and now the ball is in our court , the oppressors of us today are the children of the 60s barons who are bent on preserving ancient advantages at the expense of the common Nigerian
Re: Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients by ubimagos:
You go explain tire!
Re: Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients by eyoama(m): 5:35pm On Oct 20, 2024
Shadomaan7:
Peter Obi's supporters are the major reason why he would never be allowed to come close to Aso rock as a president. They are just too bitter and toxic
Exactly 💯.....
Re: Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients by UnabashedIPOB:
This man, Peter Obi, needs to sit his raggedy ass down somewhere and STOP insulting Biafrans. It seems like he enjoys rubbing salt into Biafrans' injuries. Why all of a sudden, he wants to go out of his way to pour encomiums on a man who committed genocide against his people? The old FOOL celebrated his birthday at 80 and 85 at the very least, but Peter Obi did not openly celebrate his birthday as far as we know, so, why NOW? This is to send a NOTE of caution to Mr. Obi to be very careful because we have our eyes on his treasonous behavior against Biafrans. He needs to understand that there's no mileage in selling out his people.
Re: Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients by smartemperor042: 5:42pm On Oct 20, 2024
You are as stupid as your comment!

Useless animal

Penguin2:

Obi was just fulfilling all righteousness by felicitating with Gowon and I don’t think anybody should have issues with it.

If anything, Igbos who know history should be thankful to Gowon for how the war ended.

If not for Gowon, the Igbo haters from Awolowo camp and northern Muslims would have overrun the East and raze it ashes just to make sure Igbos never rise again.

It was Gowon’s policy of “No Victor, No Vanquished” that prevented that from happening. And those bloodsucking Igbo haters could only murmur from distance with their teeth all out like a rabid dog tasting for Igbo blood.

It was the anger of not letting Igbos be disappeared from the face of the earth that made Awolowo give every Igbo man 20 pounds after the war irrespective of how much he had in the bank before the war.

So, I understand that Gowon prosecuted the war against Biafra but those who understand leadership would know that Gowon was merely doing his job and not anything personal.

So, enough of the sulking by some Obidients. We can be more reasonable than that.
Re: Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients by 77up(m): 5:43pm On Oct 20, 2024
Shadomaan7:
...and the funniest thing is , he's answerable to them , he can pitch with them over his family 😂
Re: Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients by AmalaAtiEwedu: 5:43pm On Oct 20, 2024
yyba:
No wonder the agulu fraudster is scared to condemn IPOB terrorists and unknown gun men activities in south east
Fact grin
Re: Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients by Digriz(m): 5:43pm On Oct 20, 2024
Agbado munchers must see something wrong to feast on whether good or bad. Definition of confused people.
Re: Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients by AmalaAtiEwedu: 5:44pm On Oct 20, 2024
Penguin2:

Left for me dem for dey extinct
Re: Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients by IPIGSRHYPO: 5:45pm On Oct 20, 2024
What a complete balderdash, this fools is always talking like a drunken lunatic.
Re: Peter Obi Explains Birthday Greetings To Gowon, Amid Uproar From Obidients by DestinyNigga: 5:45pm On Oct 20, 2024
yyba:
Said by someone that his region is parasite. They use oil from SS and Gas from SE to fund their region. They use insult and ungrateful heart to greet those that are feeding them! Talk about breakup, they will be shaking in fear. Afo nja Republic 😛 Awon unity begger! U contribute nothing to the national table, yet u geh mind to dey insult your sponsor. Na Lugard I blame sha
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Reply

Biafra War: Your Comment Disgraceful, Shows Lack Of Wisdom – Sam Amadi To GowonPictures From Obidients Million-Man-March For Peter Obi In IbadanGov Makinde Distances Himself From ‘Obidients’ Rally In Oyo234

Tinubu To Reinstate Fubara — But With A Condition He Won’t Seek Re-electionPolicewoman Caught Extorting Money From DriverMy Son’s Resignation From Govt Shocking -oba Of Benin