Stats: 3,329,983 members, 8,443,309 topics. Date: Saturday, 11 July 2026 at 02:50 PM

Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC - Foreign Affairs - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsForeign AffairsSeven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC (38696 Views)

1 2 3 Reply (Go Down)

Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC by chopnaira(op): 5:15pm On Nov 07, 2024
Donald Trump is set to return to the White House, having promised action on issues including immigration, the economy and the war in Ukraine.

He looks likely to enjoy plenty of support for his political agenda in Congress after his Republican Party regained control of the Senate.

In his victory speech, Trump vowed he would "govern by a simple motto: Promises made, promises kept. We're going to keep our promises".

But in some cases, he has given little detail of how he might achieve his aims.

Asked in 2023 by Fox News whether he would abuse his power or target political opponents, he replied he would not, "except for day one".

"No, no, no, other than day one. We're closing the border, and we're drilling, drilling, drilling. After that, I'm not a dictator."

1) Deport undocumented migrants
While campaigning, Trump promised the biggest mass deportations of undocumented migrants in US history.

He also pledged to complete the building of a wall at the border with Mexico that was started during his first presidency.

The number of crossings at the US southern border hit record levels at the end of last year during the Biden-Harris administration, before falling in 2024.

Experts have told the BBC that deportations on the scale promised by Trump would face huge legal and logistical challenges - and could slow economic growth.

2) Moves on economy, tax and tariffs
Exit poll data has suggested the economy was a key issue for voters. Trump has promised to "end inflation" - which rose to high levels under President Joe Biden before falling again. But a president's power to directly influence prices is limited.

He has also promised sweeping tax cuts, extending his overhaul from 2017. He has proposed making tips tax-free, abolishing tax on social security payments and shaving corporation tax.

He has proposed new tariffs of at least 10% on most foreign goods, to cut the trade deficit. Imports from China could bear an additional 60% tariff, he has said. Some economists have warned that such moves could push up prices for ordinary people.

3) Cut climate regulations
During his first presidency, Trump rolled back hundreds of environmental protections and made America the first nation to withdraw from the Paris climate agreement.

This time, he has again vowed to cut regulations, particularly as a way to help the American car industry. He has constantly attacked electric vehicles, promising to overturn Biden's targets encouraging the switch to cleaner cars.

He has pledged to increase production of US fossil fuels - vowing to "drill, drill, drill" on day one in favour of renewable energy sources such as wind power.

He wants to open areas such as the Arctic wilderness to oil drilling, which he argues would lower energy costs - though analysts are sceptical.

4) End Ukraine war
Trump has criticised the tens of billions of dollars spent by the US on supporting Ukraine in its war with Russia - and has pledged to end the conflict "within 24 hours" through a negotiated deal.

He has not said what he thinks either side should give up. Democrats say the move would embolden President Vladimir Putin.

Trump wants the US to disentangle itself from foreign conflicts generally. Regarding the war in Gaza - Trump has positioned himself as a staunch supporter of Israel, but has urged the American ally to end its operation.

He has also pledged to end the related violence in Lebanon, but gave no detail on how.

5) No abortion ban
Against the wishes of some of his supporters, Trump said during the presidential debate with Kamala Harris that he would not sign into law a national abortion ban.

In 2022, the nationwide constitutional right to abortion was overturned by the Supreme Court, which had a majority of conservative judges following Trump's first presidency.

Reproductive rights became a key campaigning topic for Harris, and several states approved measures to protect or expand abortion rights on polling day.

Trump himself has regularly said states should be free to decide their own laws on abortion, but struggled to find a consistent message of his own.

6) Pardon some Jan 6 rioters
Trump has said he will "free" some of those convicted of offences during the riot in Washington DC on 6 January 2021, when his supporters stormed the Capitol building in an effort to thwart the 2020 election victory of Joe Biden.

Several deaths were blamed on the violence, which Trump was accused of inciting.

He has worked to downplay the riot's significance and recast the hundreds of supporters who were convicted as political prisoners.

He continues to say many of them are "wrongfully imprisoned", though has acknowledged that "a couple of them, probably they got out of control".

7) Sack Special Counsel Jack Smith
Trump has vowed to sack "within two seconds" of taking office the veteran prosecutor leading two criminal investigations against him.

Special Counsel Jack Smith has indicted Trump over alleged efforts to overturn the 2020 election, and over his alleged mishandling of classified documents.

Trump denies any wrongdoing, and managed to prevent either case coming to trial before the election. He says Mr Smith has subjected him to a "political witch hunt".

Trump will return to the White House as the first ever president with a criminal conviction, having been found guilty in New York of falsifying business records.
https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/cev90d7wkk0o.amp

Re: Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC by MondayOmoAdugbo(m): 5:19pm On Nov 07, 2024
Trump
Re: Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC by Kaycee9242(m): 5:20pm On Nov 07, 2024
To him it's always America's interest first which is a good one, the one we have here no send Nigerians.
Re: Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC by franchasng: 5:20pm On Nov 07, 2024
Donald Trump

Re: Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC by heybeebugatty(m): 5:27pm On Nov 07, 2024
Signed
Re: Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC by Racoon(m): 5:46pm On Nov 07, 2024
Number 5 is dear to me as well as Trump's no nonsense no hold barrel approach to all these fanatic terrorists nations and their sympathizers. Congratulations Donald Trump
Re: Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC by TheChameleon: 5:57pm On Nov 07, 2024

8. Help us achieve Biafur0. undecided

He has already worn isi agu to White House.

What remains is giving grown men balls to come out from under the bed every Monday because of a fellow man coughing continents away. grin

Re: Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC by TheChameleon: 5:57pm On Nov 07, 2024
Okay then
Re: Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC by Softmirror: 6:00pm On Nov 07, 2024
Re: Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC by paramakina202: 6:01pm On Nov 07, 2024
He also said he will ban gender switching.....it is either you are man or woman you can't change your gender any more.
Re: Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC by richiemcgold:
Anyway, I only want to advise Nigerian politicians to take some cues from these Americans. We can see how candidates over there have already set out their plans before elections. There's already a blueprint. We already know what they are set to do and how they plan to go about it.

But here, candidates are more devoted to winning at all cost. Many don't even have any plan, blueprint or manifesto. There are too many wrong people in the right places and right people in wrong places.
Re: Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC by trium:
They have started the fear mongering. Do you remember when they said he would start a warhuh
North Korea
Russia
Africa

Was there any war under him? Was there any war under Democrats? Your guess is as good as mine.

They lied to us that Russian bots were behind his popularity when they used Facebook in 2008 and we found out what they did with Cambridge Analytica later. They made sure they controlled Twitter until Musk bought it from that Jack guy. Do you know that the embarrassment of Trump's popularity on Tiktok is why they had to push for it to be an American company and they blame China for disinformation when in actual fact, their own people are looking for the truth?

The media is the biggest loser in this campaign. They lost the trust of people, no wonder Biden banned Tiktok because like Nigeria, young people are not sourcing news from traditional media anymore. Stop trying to think for us, let us think for ourselves.

Re: Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC by helinues: 6:21pm On Nov 07, 2024
All the best Donald Trump

At least Trump still have the balls to go outside party policies
Re: Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC by ecomalchemistt(m): 6:23pm On Nov 07, 2024
Propaganda
Re: Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC by BobbieZion(m): 6:27pm On Nov 07, 2024
TheChameleon:
Okay then
OK what?
This thing pain we na die!!!

Na to buy shovel and digger remain..........
Re: Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC by TheChameleon:
BobbieZion:
OK what?
This thing pain we na die!!!

Na to buy shovel and digger remain..........
Check my post history and stop disgracing your lineage.

Not everyone is as hungry as you cheesy

Trump or Kamala. My USD comes every month. I didn't vote but leaned towards Trump a bit.

Better find something to eat. We will ALWAYS remain your Colonial Masters.
Re: Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC by BobbieZion(m): 6:36pm On Nov 07, 2024
TheChameleon:
Check my post history and stop distracting your lineage.

Not everyone is as hungry as you cheesy

Trump or Kamala. My USD comes every month. I didn't vote but leaned towards Trump a bit.

Better find something to eat. We will ALWAYS remain your Colonial Masters.
Yes Massa!!
Re: Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC by PulaPower: 6:38pm On Nov 07, 2024
Okay..

We go dey observe..
Re: Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC by ValCon888: 6:56pm On Nov 07, 2024
You forgot to add reinstate his Muslim Ban.
Re: Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC by Kokorokomanxxl: 6:56pm On Nov 07, 2024
Congrats to Trump once again.
May his America dream come true.

For permanet cure for weak erection, quick ejaculation, erectile dysfunction, Watery and low Sperm Count, infertility and improvement of your girth reach me on WhatsApp with the number on my signature.

If after one week you do not get your desired result you are free to report my details and call me out online.

Its 100 percent herbal and 90 percent bitter kola made without any side effects.

If you have infertility issues, reach out and see the wonders of God in conjunction wifh herbs.
Re: Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC by MANNABBQGRILLS:
GOD BLESS AMERICA 🇺🇸 🙏 ❤️ 😍 💖 ,

and Nigeria also 😉 ❤️ 😍

Re: Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC by unkulu10: 6:56pm On Nov 07, 2024
GOOD LUCK TO HIM AND TO ALL THE PEOPLE OF AMERICA
Re: Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC by Addme: 6:57pm On Nov 07, 2024
Trump, the Entertainer becoming POTUS
Re: Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC by Lordbinsmar: 6:57pm On Nov 07, 2024
Re: Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC by Kennitrust(m): 6:57pm On Nov 07, 2024
The world needs Trump.
Re: Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC by MANNABBQGRILLS: 6:57pm On Nov 07, 2024
This is how sane opponents behave after an election,
Just like Oga Jona did.

Not some pathetic losers and bitter souls in life that will wail to death and curse the nation for losing an election.
Bunch of mad bitter followers make people not even like dem bitter pandora anymore.

Thumbs up to Kamala and Joe for this....

Re: Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC by tolexy007(m):
grin the man has a very good plan.

How can u b living in another mans country ilegaly ? O wrong now
Re: Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC by Angelfrost(m): 6:59pm On Nov 07, 2024
All smart moves, in my honest opinion...!

The immigration mess needs to be sorted fast.
Re: Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC by Basiljoe: 6:59pm On Nov 07, 2024
Nice.

I hope he also commands the FBI to release Tinubu's case file.

David Hundeyin has been constantly pushing for this.
Re: Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC by bigdammyj: 6:59pm On Nov 07, 2024
Noted.
Re: Seven Things Trump Says He Will Do As President - BBC by GRACEGLORY: 7:00pm On Nov 07, 2024
Trump
Trump
Trump
Trump
Trump
Trump
Trump
1 2 3 Reply

How The Electoral College Determines Who Wins The US President - BBCA Running List Of The Things Trump Has Said About CoronavirusCipriano Cassamá Resigns As President Of Guinea Bissau After One Day In Office234

Moscow Has Forgiven $23billion Debts Owed By African Countries – PutinFaces Of The Failed Coup Plotters In Burundi (pics)President Donald Trump Signs New Travel Ban, Exempts Iraq