Stats: 3,328,435 members, 8,435,622 topics. Date: Monday, 29 June 2026 at 05:24 AM

Rivers State Igbo Stakeholders Demand Presidency Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsRivers State Igbo Stakeholders Demand Presidency Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo (11588 Views)

1 2 3 4 5 Reply (Go Down)

Rivers State Igbo Stakeholders Demand Presidency Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo by Morbeta11(op): 8:04am On Nov 23, 2024
Rivers State Igbo Stakeholders Demand Presidency Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo, Say It's 'Our Turn'

However, the Rivers State chapter's demand for the leadership of the group is seen as a "significant step in filling the gap and ensuring the continuity of the organisation."

The Rivers State chapter of Ohanaeze Ndi-Igbo, otherwise known as (Ogbakor Ndi Igbo Na Rivers) has demanded for the presidency of the apex Igbo socio-cultural organisation, Ohanaeze Ndigbo.

Ohaneze Ndigbo worldwide was in July thrown into mourning following the loss of its President-General, Chief Emmanuel Iwuanyawu, creating a leadership vacuum.

However, the Rivers State chapter's demand for the leadership of the group is seen as a "significant step in filling the gap and ensuring the continuity of the organisation."

"The call for Rivers State to produce the next President-General follows the demise of Chief Emmanuel Iwuanyawu, the 11th President-General of Ohanaeze Ndigbo. With members from seven states, including Igbo-speaking areas of Rivers and Delta, the group seeks unity and representation."

The group reaffirmed Rivers State's status as a statutory member state of Ohanaeze Ndi-Igbo Worldwide, announcing that it was "its turn" to produce the next President-General of Ohanaeze Ndi-Igbo Worldwide come January 10, 2025.

The group explained that the rotation aligns with Article 11 of the Ohanaeze Ndi-Igbo Constitution, ensuring the office of the President-General is shared among seven member states.

The request was contained in a communique from a stakeholders meeting held on Monday 18th November 2024 in Port Harcourt, signed by Livingstone Wechie, Convener of Ogbakor Ndi-Igbo na Rivers) alias Rivers State Igbo Stakeholders.

It was held in conjunction with the National Coordinator of Anyi-Anyi, Barr Anthony Okolo where they stressed that Rivers State Igbos have consistently supported other states in producing the President-General and national officers.

"We strongly believe that a strict adherence to the Constitution will bring about a harmonious, peaceful and prosperous Ohanaeze now and in the future. We so appeal. May God help us all," Wechie said.

As Wechie noted, Rivers State has previously held key positions within Ohaneze Ndigbo, including Deputy Secretary-General, National Financial Secretary, Secretary-General, and Deputy President-General.

The state's experience and dedication to the organisation make it an ideal candidate to produce the next President-General.

"The appeal for a free, fair, and transparent election in January 2025 is crucial in ensuring the legitimacy of the next President-General.

"By adhering to the Constitution, Ohaneze Ndigbo can maintain its unity and strengthen its representation of Igbo interests."

On its part, a pan-Igbo group, "Anyi Anyi" has proposed a symposium, where a wide range of issues pertaining to the choice of a new leadership of Ohaneze Ndigbo would be addressed.

The National Coordinator of Anyi Anyi, Barrister Anthony Okolo said, "This fact must not under any circumstance be compromised or undermined as doing so will eclipse the Igbo identity in Rivers state.

"I suggest a crucial symposium be organised to bring Rivers Igbo stakeholders together to place this right forward and advocate for its enforcement. This slot is for the collective good of Ndigbo worldwide."

The statement further proposed that the symposium takes place on Saturday 7, December 2024, at a venue yet to be determined.

He advocated for wide sensitisation and consultation in the buildup to the symposium.
https://saharareporters.com/2024/11/22/rivers-state-igbo-stakeholders-demand-presidency-ohanaeze-ndigbo-say-its-our-turn#google_vignette

Re: Rivers State Igbo Stakeholders Demand Presidency Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo by tundegan: 8:24am On Nov 23, 2024
This is a clear case of identity crisis. How can you be fighting for Ohanaeze presidency when you are from Rivers?
Re: Rivers State Igbo Stakeholders Demand Presidency Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo by Arobaga:
As long as Rivers State is concerned

I’ll gladly accept the South Easterners as our brothers

Moreover 40% of Rivers people bear Igbo names

If we need more brothers to accommodate we go manage to accommodate the Hausas because they respect themselves in Rivers state

But you see those dirty coward backstabbing people we chase and jettison them in our soil

Retired but never tired SKP Alpha marine says so nobody twatt my orders
Re: Rivers State Igbo Stakeholders Demand Presidency Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo by Fiscus105(m):
Even Ebonyi that's in South East, the original biaafraud, not seeing them as real, dot-nation, not to talk of,farrrrrrrr away Rivers.

Re: Rivers State Igbo Stakeholders Demand Presidency Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo by kennyz247(m): 8:38am On Nov 23, 2024
D's tribe no just trust themselves,too much wahala for them
Re: Rivers State Igbo Stakeholders Demand Presidency Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo by Iceiscold: 8:39am On Nov 23, 2024
Emi lo ka
Re: Rivers State Igbo Stakeholders Demand Presidency Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo by Thewrath: 8:39am On Nov 23, 2024
With members from seven states, including Igbo-speaking areas of Rivers and Delta, the group seeks unity and representation
I hope this same energy will be spent whenever the issues of them being igbos or not comes up,coz they are always quiet and only want to be igbo whenever it suits them!

As it stands,the igbos of SE are ready to move on,with or without them.
Re: Rivers State Igbo Stakeholders Demand Presidency Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo by Lifestone(m): 8:40am On Nov 23, 2024
Emilokan
Re: Rivers State Igbo Stakeholders Demand Presidency Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo by Veste: 8:40am On Nov 23, 2024
Ronu people over to una. Let's see how they masturbate over this thread. I can see them writing Toh below.
Re: Rivers State Igbo Stakeholders Demand Presidency Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo by CHAQUR: 8:40am On Nov 23, 2024
To them now, T-pain planted the discord to win 2027.
Re: Rivers State Igbo Stakeholders Demand Presidency Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo by Lateef73: 8:41am On Nov 23, 2024
Thanks to Wike and Arthur Okowa, they would have brought their nonsense sit-at-home to PH & Asaba.

Now I know why Rivers indegenes quickly rename their streets and roads to indegenous names after the civil war.

Rumo this, Rumo that
Re: Rivers State Igbo Stakeholders Demand Presidency Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo by Wickedtruths: 8:42am On Nov 23, 2024
tundegan:
This is a clear case of identity crisis. How can you be fighting for Ohanaeze presidency when you are from Rivers?
It is the turn of Rivers state as a result of zoning and they MUST produce the next Ohaneze leader.
Re: Rivers State Igbo Stakeholders Demand Presidency Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo by Bugatie(m): 8:43am On Nov 23, 2024
tundegan:
There are many people and sections from Rivers state that genuinely identify as Igbos
Re: Rivers State Igbo Stakeholders Demand Presidency Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo by Wickedtruths: 8:44am On Nov 23, 2024
Veste:
Ronu people over to una. Let's see how they masturbate over this thread. I can see them writing Toh below.
You have been mentally colonised by Yorubas. In all you do, you are always concerned with that Yorubas will say.
A single word by a Yoruba person can alter your life history grin
Re: Rivers State Igbo Stakeholders Demand Presidency Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo by PulaPower: 8:44am On Nov 23, 2024
Wahala everywhere..

Adult acting like toddlers..

Tueeeh..
Re: Rivers State Igbo Stakeholders Demand Presidency Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo by IyanAtiEgusi: 8:45am On Nov 23, 2024
Internal Affairs cool
Re: Rivers State Igbo Stakeholders Demand Presidency Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo by TheTundeMuniru: 8:46am On Nov 23, 2024
Alright
Re: Rivers State Igbo Stakeholders Demand Presidency Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo by SmartPolician: 8:46am On Nov 23, 2024
This is not the first time an Igbo man from Rivers State is the president of Ohaneze. If it's their turn, they should have it.
Re: Rivers State Igbo Stakeholders Demand Presidency Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo by achymmania: 8:46am On Nov 23, 2024
Make I bend.
Re: Rivers State Igbo Stakeholders Demand Presidency Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo by OkpaNsukkaisBae(m): 8:47am On Nov 23, 2024
It's a rotational chairmanship. After Imo then it's Rivers
Re: Rivers State Igbo Stakeholders Demand Presidency Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo by DrChukki: 8:47am On Nov 23, 2024
Yes we pray it goes to Rivers state now and our man is Barrister Okwukwu
Re: Rivers State Igbo Stakeholders Demand Presidency Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo by rigid123: 8:48am On Nov 23, 2024
Has the mantra "ikwere no be ibo" changed? When?
Re: Rivers State Igbo Stakeholders Demand Presidency Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo by chiagozien(m): 8:48am On Nov 23, 2024
IyanAtiEgusi:
fools
Efik-Ibibio never be president, they want presidency too.
same as
Igede
Kukunase
Angas
Birom
Bachama
Itsekiri
Ibibio
Tiv
Nupe
Gbagi
etc...

Just imagine these Igbo creatures entitlement mentality
Na why these things should never rule
Igbo will never be president
You are already mad oooh.

Is this News about president of Nigeria or about leadership of Ohanaeze ndigbo?

Hatred for Igbos is what will kee most of you.
Re: Rivers State Igbo Stakeholders Demand Presidency Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo by zereuwa: 8:51am On Nov 23, 2024
Anyhow that will make things better
Re: Rivers State Igbo Stakeholders Demand Presidency Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo by chiagozien(m): 8:51am On Nov 23, 2024
tundegan:
Is Rivers a name of tribe?

Too many Mumu in waste.
Re: Rivers State Igbo Stakeholders Demand Presidency Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo by theophorus(m): 8:52am On Nov 23, 2024
Make una stay one lane joor.

If una like to be Igbo, then make una join dem for their 5 States no be to dey Rivers dey claim Igbo.
Re: Rivers State Igbo Stakeholders Demand Presidency Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo by wizelink: 8:52am On Nov 23, 2024
I hope they had a meaningful discussion with wike before making their demand public
1 2 3 4 5 Reply

Shehu Sani: Southern States Have Moral Rights To Demand PresidencyUmahi, Others Queue Behind George Obiozor, The New President Of Ohanaeze NdigboGeorge Obiozor Emerges President Of Ohanaeze Ndigbo234

N96m Lawan Bribe: I Collected Money Not BribeWhy Presidency Delays Board AppointmentsNigeria Loses $6bn From 'corrupt' Oil Deal Linked To Fraud