Stats: 3,326,981 members, 8,428,895 topics. Date: Thursday, 18 June 2026 at 07:41 AM

Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsDon’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees (6522 Views)

1 2 Reply (Go Down)

Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees by Conciousnigeria(op): 6:13am On Jan 14, 2025
The Senate, on Monday, enjoined nominees for the Governing Boards of the North West Development Commission and the South East Development Commission, not to betray the confidence reposed in them by President Bola Tinubu and Nigerians.

The lawmakers gave this charge while screening the nominees by the Senate Ad-hoc Committee on the Regional Development Commissions, Chaired by Senator Orji Uzor Kalu (APC, Abia-North).

First to undergo grilling were the 14 board member nominees of the NWDC led by Alhaji Lawal Samai’la Abdullahi (Chairman) and Professor Abdullahi Shehu Ma’aji, who retained his position as Managing Director and Chief Executive Officer.

Others are; Dr. Yahaya Umar Namahe, Hon. Aminu Suleiman, Ja’afar Abubakar Sadeeq, Yahaya Aminu Abdullahi, Hon. Engr Muhammad Ali Wudil, Shamsu Sule, Nasidi Ali, Chukwu Chijtoke, Ahmed Mohammed, Engr. Ahmed Rufai Timasantyu, Macdonalds Michael Uyi And Hon. Babatunde Dada.

Also screened are the 18-member nominees of the South-East Development Commission led by Dr. Emeka Nworgu (Chairman) and Hon. Mark Okoye (MD/ CEO).

Others are; Barr. Ugochukwu H. Agballah , Hon. Okey kzenwa , Chief Hyacinth Ikpor , Chidi Echeazu, Barr. Ifeanyi Agwu Ph.D , Nasiru Usman, Hamma Adama Ali Kumo Edward David Onoja , Orure Kufre Inima , Daniel Akwari, Chief (Mrs) Joke Adebayo-Chukwuma, Rt. Hon. Stanley Ohajuruka (E.D. Finance), Chief Sylvester Okonkwo ( E.D. Corporate Services , Hon. Toby Okechukwu ( E.D. Projects ), Sen, Anthony Agbo ( E.D. Commercial and Industrial Development ) and Dr. Clifford Ogbede (E.D. Natural Resources, Agriculture and Rural Development).

In his introduction, Prof Abdullahi Ma’aji, a graduate of the University of Nigeria Nsukka and current Special Adviser to the Deputy Senate President, Barau Jibrin, on Education,1 described himself as a human development specialist and gave an account of his accomplishments in public office positions he held.

Sen. Muntari Dandutse (APC, Katsina), who commended the credentials of the Chairmanship nominee said;

“This appointment is well deserved and he is qualified to be the MD for the NWDC thank the President for nominating him because he is intelligent.

Senator Babangida Hussaini reminded the nominees of the trust entrusted in them by the President and Nigerians, he urged them not to let the President down;

“Candidly speaking ours is to urge you to know that the confidence of Nigerians and Bola Tinubu who found you worthy of this appointment will be on your shoulders. Justify the appointment, and work for Nigerians, we have a lot of challenges, Don’t let Nigeria and the President down.

Shortly after a brief introduction by the nominees of the SEDC, the Chairman of the Committee Senator Orji Kalu, re-echoed the warnings of his colleagues, Kalu told the nominees to prioritise the interest of the people.

He warned them against unethical acts; “I want to warn you people, you are the face of this organisation and we don’t want anything that will bring the name of our President to disrepute. We will not tolerate anything that is against the interest of the people, the Senate committee will oversee you seriously.

“Don’t pay for a job that is not done, we won’t hesitate to report back to the President to sack you. Use the money for the development of the people. So far no member has objected to your clearance.

“Look at the trust these members have given to you, we want you to improve the relationship between you and the National Assembly. We are attending to you because of the budget process, if you don’t do it your Commissions will miss the budget process because the Senate will soon go on recess.
https://newtelegraphng.com/dont-fail-nigerians-senate-tells-nwdc-sedc-nominees/

Re: Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees by Jestin: 6:34am On Jan 14, 2025
They re only there to steal from our common wealth. It has always been the same formula… FTC
Re: Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees by oche2020: 6:34am On Jan 14, 2025
Re: Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees by cbrezy(m): 6:35am On Jan 14, 2025
embarassed
Re: Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees by duduade(m):
Una don dey fail unaselves
Re: Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees by NaijaGoBetter2(m): 6:36am On Jan 14, 2025
Only if they are not politicians... Many of Nigerian politicians think about themselves first before any other thing.

God will help us
Re: Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees by Bright449: 6:39am On Jan 14, 2025
Nice
Re: Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees by KnowAll(m): 6:41am On Jan 14, 2025
And we are trying to cut cost of government. All these fellows would be paid, giving vehicles, provided offices and of course travel expenses for over sight visits to their regions.
Re: Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees by reiddecuti: 6:45am On Jan 14, 2025
Na today!!!

Like the one's before them, they will loot and loot to high heaven.

Except there's consequences for the act of looting and every other act committed against the Nigerian state, the country will keep going in circles and the pronouncement of the Senate will just be a rythorics.
Re: Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees by helinues: 6:53am On Jan 14, 2025
Toh

Nnamdi Kanu's method couldn't get this same SEDC as that's what Ipob as a group was all about from the beginning

Method/tactic on approaching issue is really matter

Annoyingly, majority of the people who supported the group, Ipob did not even have a clue about the motives .. We followed everything till date..
Re: Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees by Chegesnd: 6:55am On Jan 14, 2025
Ok!
Re: Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees by Bobloco: 6:59am On Jan 14, 2025
They have failed woefully simply because, to them, it is an opportunity to eat.

In fact, it's now their turn to eat.
Re: Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees by Lateef73: 7:03am On Jan 14, 2025
They should start work immediately, its already a year late.

They should have warn them too not to award sub-standard contracts. That's what killed NDDC
Re: Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees by Judolisco(m): 7:23am On Jan 14, 2025
Lol... All dis useless agencies jst chopping money in Abuja
Re: Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees by Vifx: 7:27am On Jan 14, 2025
Re: Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees by tpain121: 7:29am On Jan 14, 2025
Conciousnigeria:
https://newtelegraphng.com/dont-fail-nigerians-senate-tells-nwdc-sedc-nominees/
plenty committee/agencies depleting scarce resources here and there, yet no progress.

Talk about motion without movement.

TIfnubu must have to emulate person wey get sense like the new Ghanian president and do away with 40 percent of these useless ministries and agencies, otherwise he’s going nowhere. I’m sure he wouldn’t though.

Liegeria Limited.
Re: Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees by Ekehwinz: 7:30am On Jan 14, 2025
FAILURES advising fellow comrades grin grin grin

🤡 🤡
Re: Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees by Verifier(m): 7:35am On Jan 14, 2025
Funny...

If I talk now ehh grin
Re: Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees by Philipmoon2(m): 7:35am On Jan 14, 2025
Story for the gods!
You can't tell a failure not to fail...
Re: Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees by ganilas007: 7:36am On Jan 14, 2025
If all politicians and Goverment workers in Nigeria have at least 40% interest for their country aswear Nigeria will have gone far in development.

It obvious that majority of Nigerians are just selfish because there are once a normal citizens before occupying Goverment offices.

By God grace Nigeria will win above all odds

God bless federal republic of Nigeria 🇳🇬🇳🇬
Re: Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees by saddler: 7:38am On Jan 14, 2025
It won't change a thing.

Just another committee to loot money.
Re: Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees by Kingdavid579(m): 7:39am On Jan 14, 2025
Simply Tif encouraging tif
Re: Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees by watchindelta(m): 7:39am On Jan 14, 2025
Lol comedian outa here.
Re: Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees by Teenaira: 7:46am On Jan 14, 2025
KnowAll:
And we are trying to cut cost of government. All these fellows would be paid, giving vehicles, provided offices and of course travel expenses for over sight visits to their regions.
I see the creation of these commissions as a strategic policy towards Nigerian's development if only this commission 's member can use 50% of the budgetary allocation to each of the commission for the development of the respective region. Of course they can do anything they like with the remaining 50%. I don't think it is too much to request for 50% for real non audio activities. God bless Nigeria
Re: Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees by boxypane: 7:49am On Jan 14, 2025
Normally, this are the duties of Governors handed to these committees, we have lots of dormant Governors in Nigeria. All they do is steal.
Re: Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees by NaijaCrusader: 7:51am On Jan 14, 2025
The commissions were set up to compensate political allies and most of them will see it as their settlement rather than as a worthy means to effect the lives of their people positively. The unfortunate situation we find ourselves in this country
Re: Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees by Shagalinku: 7:54am On Jan 14, 2025
What nonsense!!! It's like an OLODO telling fresh students not to fail their parents.
Re: Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees by epainos: 7:56am On Jan 14, 2025
A strategic move to divide Nigeria internally so that it can split peacefully in the future if necessary.

Now we will know which regions are ready to move forward and which are holding us back.
Re: Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees by ImoleNaija: 7:56am On Jan 14, 2025
Nigeria will be great again!

Yes, Jagaban would set the pace for the greatness.
Re: Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees by harmargedon: 8:02am On Jan 14, 2025
grin funny when it's coming from failures themselves
Re: Don’t Fail Nigerians, Senate Tells NWDC, SEDC Nominees by saintkel(m): 8:05am On Jan 14, 2025
God bless the south east....God bless the south south....God bless the middle belt
1 2 Reply

NASS Nominates Ganduje's Daughter, Wamakko's Son, Others As Directors Of NWDCNWDC: Tinubu Nominates Governing Board For North West Development CommissionWe Won’t Fail Nigerians – Acting CJN, Olukayode Ariwoola (Video)234

15 Months After, EFCC Yet To Release Probe Reports On Edu, SadiyaMy Proposed 7 Year Single Tenure Was Misunderstood – GEJVideo Of Pregnant Child Ese Too Scared And Ashamed To Face Her Family.