Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer - Agriculture (2) - Nairaland
Nairaland Forum › Nairaland General › Agriculture › Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer (7918 Views)
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by GeneralPula: 9:28am On Feb 06, 2025 |
As a farmer with generational experience, there’s no crop that you can venture into.. Most of these news of cow destroying crops, nah only online me dey see them. Cow never destroy any of my farm before o and likewise the people I know, no one is experiencing that shiii in reality.. But as a newcomer wey you be, You can start by maize farming, and while your maize is growing, you can integrate with any vegetables - be it leafy veggies or crop veggies. Give yourself few years, you’ll be raking in money.. The surest ritual on earth is farming ! |
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by lilyheaven: 9:29am On Feb 06, 2025 |
Bandirao:If you have enough money to purchase a cow, you should plan to take care of them and not destroy other people’s livelihood. This statement of yours is dangerously wrong. |
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by Rossychy(f): 9:29am On Feb 06, 2025 |
Tickles001:Exactly! You are on point because stamping on them is as bad as feasting on them. Oil dey your head |
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by Fireoflife: 9:32am On Feb 06, 2025 |
Olives(very expensive) oranges. Grapes. |
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by Judolisco(m): 9:34am On Feb 06, 2025 |
They don't eat melon |
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by ivandragon: 9:35am On Feb 06, 2025 |
OP... The herdsmen-farmers clash as specifically related to crops is much more than what the cows eat. It is also about destruction of the farm land by the trampling on the crops planted, soiling the environment, nutrient pollution and the herders harvesting crops planted for themselves. So, no matter what you decide to plant, as long as herders have access to your farm, there is going to be a problem. |
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by missidy: 9:35am On Feb 06, 2025 |
Can't one fence the farm? Or do these herdsmen force their way into fenced property too? Tickles001: |
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by jojothaiv(m): 9:39am On Feb 06, 2025 |
Iykenuwa:This is the trick we've been using, in fact, I spray those crops surrounding our farm with pure poison, any cow wey eat am rest in pieces, no time to dey make room for person wey wan reason again. |
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by samfrancis1(m): 9:43am On Feb 06, 2025 |
It’s not about cow eating or feeding on them.. their movements in the farm alone will cause lot of damage and destruction |
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by RodgersAkpafu: 9:44am On Feb 06, 2025 |
TOPCRUISE:It's a disgrace |
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by mightyhaze: 9:48am On Feb 06, 2025 |
Plant Pigs ![]() |
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by wizelink: 10:13am On Feb 06, 2025 |
Igbo plant |
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by ebenezary(m): 10:14am On Feb 06, 2025 |
If you're an aspiring farmer in Nigeria and want to grow crops that cows are less likely to eat or destroy, consider the following options: Crops That Cows Avoid Aloe Vera – Bitter taste, unpalatable for cows. Tobacco – Toxic to most animals. Chili Peppers – Spicy and irritating to cows. Garlic & Onions – Strong smell and taste repel cows. Castor Plant (Ricinus communis) – Toxic to livestock. Neem (Dogonyaro) – Bitter leaves discourage grazing. Jatropha (Physic Nut) – Poisonous to cows. Hardy or Less Attractive Crops Pineapple – Tough, spiky leaves deter cows. Sugarcane – While cows eat it, the thick stems are harder to damage. Cassava – Cows tend to avoid its bitter varieties. Plantain & Banana – Large stems can withstand minor grazing. Citrus Trees (Orange, Lemon, Lime) – Woody stems are not preferred. Protective Strategies Live Fencing: Grow thorny plants like cactus, acacia, or jatropha around your farm. Physical Barriers: Use strong fences (bamboo, barbed wire, or concrete). Repellents: Sprinkle chili powder or neem oil around crops. |
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by Entanglement: 10:18am On Feb 06, 2025 |
CyberHustle:oga poison those cow! The herders go get sense! I know say farmer who kill 80 cows with poison spray on the farm! |
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by Cmanforall: 10:21am On Feb 06, 2025 |
Tickles001:Op's State House of Assembly should pass a law banning open grazing! |
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by Entanglement: 10:24am On Feb 06, 2025 |
ebenezary:your protective strategies isn't applicable in dealing with those cow heads ![]() Those cow heads use to go about with cutlass and small Piller! And we have witnessed cases they destroy those fence. The best and effective method is poisoning them. |
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by DeGLORIOUS: 10:24am On Feb 06, 2025 |
there is a variety of Cassava that's poisonous to cows. Any cow that eats it, will surely die. Make more enquiries |
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by Jughead29: 10:33am On Feb 06, 2025 |
Once I starts my own farming... I'll buy a good AK 47 Trespass and see your self in hell... A farmer/hunter deserve a gun 🔫 |
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by OlofofoCorner: 10:44am On Feb 06, 2025 |
CyberHustle:Simply do perimeter fence around your farm...... |
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by OlofofoCorner: 10:45am On Feb 06, 2025 |
Evjara:Lazy youth. Go and look for work.... |
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by EcomogSoder: 11:24am On Feb 06, 2025 |
Jakumo:Before he mature and big nkon i transplant Pam Tree on 5 acre of land after some months they are doing very well and I was very happy. Later after some weeks someone call me that cows enter the village when I got the the farm I was crying they have destroyed everything the one they can’t eat they use there foot to destroy it everything was destroyed. I gather money comot for Nigeria and leave the farm Like that no hope for Nigeria I swear. If you travel comot you go understand that Nigeria no fit better just two thing can change Nigeria. 1. Either revolution or they break the country. I have been in Dakar Senegal for some months now I realize that every company employs only there citizens all white people Company you can not build a company in Senegal and employ an India man or Chinese no never the executive or board of directors can be foreigner but all workers in that company must be there citizens that’s there rules if you can’t employ there citizens carry your company go another country. Every street here there is a standing police office with gun then. I They lie. Senegalese police will never ask you for money if you give them money you are in problem. There is no getto in all Senegal even village are city with 24hrs light. Senegalese people are dirty but there roads are clean will you believe that ordinary cleaner earn same amount with even a doctor they don’t criticize here. If you can get ordinary security job here you will be earning close to a million naira that’s why it is in every places. Is difficult to get a job if you don’t speak Wolof or French good job even Helpers are given to there citizens. Go to apapa see how many foreigners are working there go Many Chinese and India company they will give you hard job and suffers you here they government decide how much you pay your workers and if you can’t carry your company to another country simple as that and they will get you 99% of your workers must be there citizens if you can’t abide carry your company go simple as that. Senegal is far far developed than Nigeria…. Nigeria is a getto for criminals |
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by sexyyoyo(m): 11:25am On Feb 06, 2025 |
inoki247:Cows feed on pineapples. Do your normal farming and have plenty of red chilli in powdered form occasionally mixed with sand and sprinkled around your farm premises. Try that twice a week including night time. Thank me later |
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by AerialMapper: 12:13pm On Feb 06, 2025 |
Sniper |
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by Tohsynetita1(m): 1:16pm On Feb 06, 2025 |
Plant castor |
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by Free2Fly: 1:21pm On Feb 06, 2025 |
Iykenuwa:That's exactly what the bingo should have asked for, but he was busy writing farmers vs herders clash for a one-sided fight the useless herders are waging on innocent farmers across the country. |
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by tizzle(m): 1:45pm On Feb 06, 2025 |
Plantain and banana |
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by olaodun: 1:55pm On Feb 06, 2025 |
paw paw and plantain |
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by lagosrd: 2:14pm On Feb 06, 2025 |
Wbt have you chosen to play with heart attack and hypertension as a young man. Find other niche or fence your land. Shikena |
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by Tickles001(m): 2:20pm On Feb 06, 2025 |
missidy:To fence about 3 acres of farm land that you probably leased will cost you, adding to the cost of the actual farming. I tried fencing with bamboo and they keep taking it down every single night. My neighbour, a smaller farm had a dwarf fence about 5blocks high. The cows break through the fence portion by portion until there's no meaningful barriers left of it. The worst is they come at night. You'd just get there in the morning to see the havoc. |
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by Tickles001(m): 2:23pm On Feb 06, 2025 |
Cmanforall:Even if they do. It won't be enforced. Some states banned open grazing but cows still roam around, even inside govt property and nobody says or does anything about it. |
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by Shikena(m): 2:24pm On Feb 06, 2025 |
Oga Rambo, calm down o it's Nigeria not somewhere in Texas. Know thy environment and don't give anyone opportunity to turn the victim to the aggressor. Freedom of shooting is guaranteed but not freedom after shooting .Jughead29: |
| Re: Suggest crops Cows don't destroy for an aspiring farmer by LOVEGINO(m): 2:30pm On Feb 06, 2025 |
CyberHustle:bitter leaf. |
Man Confronts Fulani Herdsman After His Cattle Invade Farm And Destroy Crops • Are You A Farmer, Aspiring Farmer, Or Investor? This Is For You! • 10 Most Profitable Cash Crops In Nigeria • 2 • 3 • 4
Goat Farming Business: Facts About Pure Boer Goat • Processed Snails Sales : Bulk/retail Buy And Sale Thread • Farm Fresh Eggs At Our Ikotun Depot Lagos